Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Fieldsafe™ Halter

Horseware Ireland
- Item #13886

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Fieldsafe Halter is durable and has VELCRO brand breaking points that release at a given pressure. 

Favorite Features

  • Made from a durable nylon
  • Quick release cheek clip
  • Adjustable noseband and crown piece
  • Velcro breaking points that release when under a given pressure
  • Reflective labels to help find your horse in the dark

Sizing It Up
 
Pony (fits average ponies)
Cob (fits average horses)
Horse (fits large horses and warmbloods) 


Please note, all breakaways halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Fieldsafe™ Halter is rated 4.42 out of 5 by 50.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handsome halter! This is a very well-designed and sturdy halter with plentiful adjustment buckles. The nose and has a soft lining, and after about a month of outdoor use, it still looks new. I'm very happy with its overall quality and design.
    Date published: 2015-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter Bought this to put a grazing muzzle on and needed the breakaway feature. I like the Velcro as it won't have to be replaced if it breaks away. Padded crown is nice, too. Bright color red to be easy to find in the pasture!
    Date published: 2015-09-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing I have used several of the "original" version of this halter for many years on my two horses. I was drawn to this halter because it offered me an alternative to the leather crown piece on most breakaway halters. The concept of the halter works well and I have been pleased with the strength of the breakaway velcro on the older model. I have found the quality of the "new" version to be lacking with regard to the materials used and overall construction. The cheek pieces on the original halter are triple layered, made of a more sturdy material and the fittings, (buckles, rings, etc.) are of an inferior metal and appear to be much lighter in density. I am disappointed that Horseware has condoned this overall reduction in quality product made for their company. Unfortunately, for those of you who have never used this halter before, you will not be able to have a standard by which you can compare the halter.
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good So I have a had this halter for about a month now. As soon as I pulled it from the box I loved it, the red color looks so good on my dapple bay mare, the reflectors on the cheek pieces even look nice and don't catch the eye too much (in daylight) I do have 2 complaints though, the first being that the aforementioned cheek pieces have already started to break, little pieces from the edges at least. The second is that I wish the clip for the throatlatch were a bit more sturdy, it's not going to break any time soon but I feel like if given the chance the clip might break before the velcro for the safety release pulls apart. Other than those two, I'd hardly call them problems, things, the halter has performed wonderfully and I am happy knowing my mare is as safe as she can be.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter! This is a great halter! It was large enough to fit my warmblood's head comfortably. I love the reflective strips on the cheek pieces. I was a little concerned about the velcro not being held together strongly enough. I tried pulling it apart myself and it wouldn't budge. I feel better about the fact that it'll take a really good tug on it for my horse to break it (he just broke a leather break away). It's holding up just great in the rain and snow that we've been having.. Price is right for a halter which is going to be out in the elements!! Thanks!
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features The help i recently had on sizing this halter was great. love this halter. Made well.
    Date published: 2014-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from watch the lining I bought this halter about a month ago, I liked the idea of Velcro. Within a week my horse had removed the lining... and tried to eat it...I trimmed the lining off.Other than that it was nice to find a halter that fit my large-headed quarter horse with room to spare.
    Date published: 2014-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent halter We bought three, one for each horse. They hold up very well, clips maintain their integrity, even with lots of rolling. ;)The breakaway is the best! My mare got upset while waiting for another horse to load. She started pulling, getting upset, could have been pretty ugly. The halter let loose and she "unloaded" herself. The best part was I was able to reattach the velcro piece and put her halter right back on! No loose horse with only a lead rope to hang on to her!We had another one break away in the pasture, caught on something, but the horse was free and safe.They are a bit more expensive than your run-of-the-mill break away halters but worth every penny!!
    Date published: 2014-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Halter Bought this about three weeks ago and it has worked great. It is padded so no run marks after long periods of wearing. I love that it has a safety release made of Velcro. If it breaks I can just put it back together without working to another leather piece and trying to fix the halter. I got the blue halter, which looks great, but wish there were more color options.
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great idea I bought this to have on hand when my horse looses the current halter. He goes through several a year. This appealed to me because of the breakaway feature.
    Date published: 2014-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good alternative to leather crown So far I've only used this halter a handful of times but I am very happy with it. I can't really rate the durability until I use it more often after my leather halter dies.
    Date published: 2013-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Breakway Halter I needed to replace a halter with one with a breakaway release. I've only used it for about a month, but it is very nice, and has stood up to our weather in the Pacific Northwest. I very much liked that there were two different pressure relief options. The material is of a good quality, and my mare appears to enjoy it as well (no doubt because she gets told how pretty she looks in it). Our barn owner liked it so much that she is thinking of asking other folks at the stable to get this type when they need to replace a halter.
    Date published: 2013-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Breakaway Halter for Frequent Flyers I have a horse who learned some very naughty behaviors prior to my owning him, one of which was breaking halters. Love the velcro feature as if he pops it you just attach the velcro and Voila! you have a whole halter again without chasing down another little leather strap. This is a repeat purchase to replace one that finally looked a little too worn. I was pleasantly surprised to find the new one came with two replacement velcro pieces that had two different break strengths. We've worked hard to eliminate this behavior with much success, so we can acutually use the lower strength piece. Highly reccomend this halter!!
    Date published: 2013-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent solution i like this halter and i think it will be a good solution to my mare's "pull back" when tied to the trailer. i have tried other halters but none seem to be as well constructed as this one for the price.
    Date published: 2013-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Halter Ever If you have to leave a halter on your horse during turnout, this is the one to have! It has 2 different velcro breakaway straps with different levels of pull needed to release them. If they do come loose, you can easily snap them back together. Other safety halters have pieces that must be replaced.
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as expected Definitely heed the guidance and order a full size down. My 16 hand thoroughbred fits the Cob - on the second to last hole. Originally ordered the Full size thinking it couldn't be 'that' big but was wrong. Said thoroughbred learned a long time ago how to sit down and break lead ropes, ties and halters, so after the last episode decided to get this one so I at least I would worry less about an injury. I ordered the red and and it's a nice true red. She likes it well enough and after pulling it off once seems to now know she's not 'trapped' and hasn't attempted again. The large labeling is a bit obvious but I would recommend for the safety it provides and value of not having to replace any parts....
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Saving Money on Leather Pieces While a calm horse generally, my horse does seem to panic if he feels pressure on his head. If the pressure doesn't release, he's at a serious risk of flipping over. I bought this halter to try to avoid having to constantly replace leather breakaway pieces. So far, it's working perfectly for that reason!A couple of critiques: 1. The padding on the halter is exceptionally low quality. My horse doesn't wear this halter except when in the barn (he is turned out and stalled bare-headed), but if he wore it more often I would worry about rubs. 2. The hardware does seem like it might break easily. 3. From an asthetics view, the halter is kind of ugly, especially with "Fieldsafe" written so largely on the side.All in all, I'm happy with the halter. It does it's job and easily releases my horse when he panics, and is very easy to immediately reattach. If I want something nicer, I just use our nice leather halter.
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great safety halter I bought this for my older horse after he started having trouble in cross-ties after an unfortunate incident. Long story but he was going through safety halters like mad. The leather pieces are expensive to replace. One time the leather breakaway didn't break, he pulled back so hard that one of the metal pieces on the halter broke and he slightly injured himself. I liked the idea of a Velcro piece so you don't have to replace leather. I only had one time where this halter relesed since my horse is *mostly* cured of his head-tied problem now. And I was glad that the halter released before my horse pulled hard enough to hurt himself! I use the lesser of the two attachments so it releases sooner. They do run small, as I bought the cob for an average horse head and it fits well. I have been using this halter for almost a year and it has held up well. I bought one for my other horse because it works so well.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great halter for my escape artist Love this halter for my 1600 pound draft cross. He hates being caught so I need to leave a halter on him. I feel safe with him wearing this at all times. The only reason I had to get a new one was that he brokethe throat clip.
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst purchase My horse wore this for 1 week. He caught it on something in his stall. The velcro did not pull apart but one of the rings broke and pulled apart. So disappointed because it was more money then I wanted to spend but it came in red and He looks great in that color. This is the first time I have been unhappy with a Smartpak product.
    Date published: 2012-02-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't fit XL horses The halter is described as fitting large horses, but it doesn't. I have a shire x with a typical draft head. The nose band was way to tight to use.
    Date published: 2011-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good safety halter This halter is a great idea, the velcro releases if necessary and you dont have to keep buying replacement leather pieces. I have not had mine release yet so I can't comment on how that works, but the halter is pretty well made, only issue I can see is that the thin padding inside the noseband and crown piece doesn't look like it will stay intact for very long. It does run large, my horse usually does fine in a regular horse size, but the cob size they recommended fits well.
    Date published: 2011-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, safe halter The Fieldsafe Halter is an excellent quality product with an extra safe design. One word of caution - the sizes run partially large. The customer rep did explain that to me, but I was still surprised by how large they ranNormally I would order the "horse" size for my quarter horses. Due to the customer rep's recommendation, I ordered a "cob" for this particular young horse. It was still too large.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will not buy again I have ordered 4 of these halters. All four have fallen apart from halter tag games within three months. This is not a durable halter in my opinion.
    Date published: 2011-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter Yeah!! It works! No more broken head stall strap! Use only on the crossties, so I use the lessor strength breakaway tab, and it works!
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter Great quality, very hardy. Velcro works great and I like the 2 options you have (breaking free with different levels of pressure). I use this to trailer and tie our horse so if she freaks out she will get free before she hurts herself. Love it !!
    Date published: 2010-08-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just ok, but practical Wasn't blown away by this halter, it's o.k., durable, gets the job done. Runs large. Wish they had it in better colors and then I think I'd like it better. But, I do have to remember it's not a show halter, but a practical halter for pasture safety.
    Date published: 2010-05-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Idea.......... I bought this halter for my horse when he was at a training facility that required halters 24/7. He's a gray and his hair rubs out instantly from a halter. I tried sheepskin and pretty much everything else. Yes this halter still rubbed him bald. It may have been better than some other ones, but it isn't perfect in that aspect. Also there was an incident where the halter broke, there is a piece missing and I can't find a place to order the spare parts. It's useless now, so for the price it only lasted about 6 months. Good idea, but needs better execution!
    Date published: 2010-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product If your horse has to wear a halter when turned out all day then this is the halter for you. The velvet inside the halter is so soft and doesn't rub the hair. I feel so safe with the velcro that she will never be caught and no annoying replaceable leather straps. Safe for the trailer too because of the break away feature. Fully adjustable and I love that it has the snap under the throat. Best Halter.
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Concept Bought this halter to replace halter with breakaway crown. I bought the recommended size for my 17h horse, and it fits him beautifully. The green color is your standard hunter green. The velvet-type lining seems a bit cheap (why not regular padding?), and the nylon webbing of which the halter is made is slightly less substantial then your average nylon halter--feels like single ply instead of double ply. I just got it, so I can't attest to its durability yet. The horse has only worn it for 3 days, but without any rubs so far. All in all, though, it seems like it will do its job and unless it doesn't hold up well to regular use, I would happily buy another one.
    Date published: 2010-04-20
    • 2016-02-07T15:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_47
    • loc_en_US, sid_3886, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.