Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Farriers' Fix Hoof Oil

Farriers' Fix
- Item #19729

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Developed by Farriers for Farriers!

Farriers’ Fix Hoof Oil is a therapeutic, topical treatment that benefits the entire hoof from the coronary band to the sole and frog. It is great for use on horses with hoof issues like sore feet, quarter cracks, laminitis, and thrush. It's also great for general hoof maintenance and use on your horse's hoof pads.


Favorite Features

  • Made from all natural ingredients (complies with FEI guidelines) 
  • Helps prevent thrush and other bacteria build up

Sizing It Up

16oz.
Half Gallon

Made in the USA

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Farriers' Fix Hoof Oil is rated 4.8736 out of 5 by 87.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more pulled shoes! This is the second bottle of Farrier' Fix Hoof Oil that I have purchased. It has helped harden my show horse's soles and he has not pulled a shoe since, which used to be a regular occurrence. Well worth the price for the benefits, and much cheaper than having my farrier out all of the time to tack shoes back on! My only complaint is the bottle design. Being tall and narrow it would be easy to knock over. The bottle is also messy. Still, this is the only hoof oil I will buy from now on!
    Date published: 2014-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Product!! Started using Farrier's Fix during our very wet winter here in Florida on the horses at my new job and the farrier said he hadn't seen their feet look this good in a long time! Really does help, wether your dealing with wet conditions or dry :)
    Date published: 2014-05-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smells wonderfully; takes a while to soak in This hoof oil has a lovely wintergreen smell; much nicer than most of the hoof products I've used. It is one of the more expensive oils and I hope it turns out to be worth it. It takes a really long time to soak in; longer than other products. It is a bit thin, just like other hoof oils; I wish the container could be improved to prevent it from dripping down the sides as you apply it. Overall, I like it and hope it helps the hooves of the American Warmblood I ride. There's a lot of weight on his poor hooves; I am hoping this will keep his hooves healthy!
    Date published: 2014-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks good so far! I just received this in the mail yesterday and it seemed to soak into my horse's hooves pretty well. He is a draft cross with huge feet that tend to get brittle and crack. I will update on how this product holds up in the next few weeks. Also: it smells really nice and minty!
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hoofs, hoofs, hoofs. This seems to be a good product. I will keep using it.
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Absolutely amazing I have been using this product on a school - horses' hooves for about a month now and my goodness it works so well I will never go back to Effol (for this horse in particular, at least) I noticed changes IMMEDIATELY for his feet. For a year he was riddled with thrush despite his feet being picked and his stall cleaned multiple times a day. I went through many bottles of thrush buster, which made his hooves dry and brittle. I've been putting this stuff on before and after I ride, which is 6 times a week. I wish I had before pictures, his feet look terrific!
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick and easy,fast delivery My thoroughbreds hoofs were looking pretty split/ cracked. This product started showing signs of improvement by my second order! He likes the supplement ,and the packaging is convenient.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fixes pain in soles! My mare suffers from weak soles...TB...of course..and I used this for a couple of days and noticed her trot was much better...like she wasn't in pain! I was instantly in love with this product. My friend recommended it to me so I recommended it to others!
    Date published: 2014-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am a forever customer. I am in love with this product. I refuse to use anything else. I have used this product for a few years now and have always had great results, especially for a few of the more touchy thoroughbreds I'm around. My farrier recommended it to me and thank goodness he did! :)
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A-M-A-Z-I-N-G My horse tripped and completely tore his cornary band in half. Both the vet and farrier said it would most likely not heal. I starred to use this daily around the area, and a month later we are back in action!! So happy with this product. He also got thrush because of the winter dampness, but this took it right away!
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice product--very good actually I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars b/c the container is terrible. Easy to tip over and for product to run down the sides. I had to buy a metal hoof oil container abd dump it in there. Shouldn't have to do that for $20. However the product is fantastic. Makes my horse's feet look amazing abd healthy.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff! I discovered this at Equine Affaire several years ago. Easy to apply and the wintergreen smell is terrific. It's great for Stella's hooves and feet and every application createsan aromatherapy session for the whole barn.
    Date published: 2014-01-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love this product but… …I hate the container. Too narrow and easy to tip over when using. Also, there is no lip around the top of the can to prevent product from running down the sides. It would be great if they sold it in a refill option like Freibing's does. Pretty pricey but does a terrific job keeping my horses frogs and soles healthy.
    Date published: 2014-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells good, Not sticky My horse was always shod before I owned him. I previously tried to convert him to barefoot twice. This is the third time I have pulled his shoes, but this time I used farriers fix. He has not had any problems with foot soreness and I am able to ride him as normal without shoes. I love this product.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Treatment I have always been a skeptic of hoof oils & treatments, so I never really used them. However, when my horse was put on stall rest for an injury and I pulled his shoes, his feet started to get really thrushy and tender. Using this oil daily on his whole hoof had him sound again within 2 weeks, which was amazing. A year later, when he got a bad stone bruise while jumping, I used this oil every day and he was sound again way faster than I expected. Now I just use it regularly to keep his feet healthy, since the ground here is super dry and hard year round. It also smells way better and isn't as annoyingly sticky as a lot of the other hoof treatments.
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof product I've used so far My horse was very tender footed while trail riding on small pebbles. I have tried products more expensive than this one with not much improvement. Rode the trail I usually do and he did not even miss a step...I am sold . I apply it about 3 times a week.
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Product I have been using this products for many years. It contributes to a healthy hoof. My horse loves to have it applied to his soles.
    Date published: 2013-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprised how well it works I have been using this for 6 weeks. I purchased this product because my horses feet are sore and hooves are cracked from stomping flies in hard, dry dirt. The soreness goes away shortly after application. I had a farriers visit today and got 2 thumbs up! My farrier said there is less bruising and her hoof walls were in the best shape they have ever been in! He told me to keep using it and is recommending it to others.
    Date published: 2013-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! I bought this product because my geldings hoofs were cracking and getting sore from the flies and hard ground. I did not want to put shoes on him so I started using this 4 weeks ago right after a trim. I have used it 4 ish days a week, and they have not cracked. He seems happier and has healthy hoofs! Though it is expensive, it it the only oil that has worked!
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof product on the market I have used this product for over 2 years now with a horse that has thin soles, and with another that I pulled shoes on. Both horses responded extremely well with this product toughening and strengthening the soles quickly.
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product toughens tender hooves and it is very easy to apply.
    Date published: 2013-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff I got this hoof oil on the recommendation of my farrier. It's expensive, so I hadn't looked at it before but I am so glad I spend the extra money. I only use it 1-2x a week, so the small bottle will definitely last. My horse has very weak hoof walls and easily pulls shoes. This product has helped him immensely - this last round of shoes has stayed on snuggly (I real feat for us!) and he's been less foot-sore
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hoof Saver My horse has pretty weak hooves, I put this on him everyday and I have already noticed some improvement after only a few weeks.
    Date published: 2013-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good hoof oil I tried using this oil after my horse developed a superficial crack is his hoof. The product helped to close the crack a little and does absorb into the hoof wall well- takes about 15 to 20 minutes. Great product to use in conjunction with proper nutrition and supplementation.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective hoof oil This oil has great ingredients to help with maintaining a healthy hoof. Both my farrier and I recommend!
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Stuff! I'm really pleased with how this hoof oil is working out. My senior mare's feet were really, really flaky on the outside and her heels were soft and almost mushy. She's had some stone-bruising and recently had to get front shoes after years going barefoot.I've been painting this on every part of all four hooves from the coronary band to the sole and letting it soak in (which takes a good 20-30 minutes-- and you don't want them walking in dirt or shavings during that time, so I apply it as soon as I put her in the cross-ties and then take my time grooming or cleaning her stall while it dries). It's moisturized the outside and resulted in less flaking. Her heels/frogs are noticeably tougher and more cohesive. I think her feet feel at least a little better and she seems to be moving easier. It also looks great right after application-- gives the hooves a softly shiny, golden-honey glow.The consistency is just right. Not too watery like some dressings, so it doesn't just run right off and pool on your barn floor. But also not so thick you can't swipe it on fluidly. The brush is somehow doing a great job of not getting filthy.Smells like herbal wintergreen or spearmint. Not strong, not chemical. Can't imagine that it would be at all offensive to the horse.A little expensive for the amount, and I think I'll go through it pretty quickly, so I can't quite give it full marks for value, but I can't deny that I would buy it again given how well I like it so far.
    Date published: 2013-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Oil Ever, Smells great too! Natural, safe, and it Works! Farrier Recommended.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for Barefoot horses! My mare is barefoot and it helps keep her feet from getting sore and it moisturizes them. Her feet look great! Farriers' Fix Hoof Oil seems to be the best hoof oil I have EVER used!!!
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes a Huge Difference! The venice turpentine in this is very effective on feet that are too soft- my horse's feet are much tougher. Between this and his smart pac hoof suppliments, he's finally keeping shoes on and doesn't limp when we are on gravel. I use it two or three times a week, inside and out.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hooves look brand new! I've been using this product on both my horses hooves for the past two months and I am AMAZED. I started they day they were both shod, and by the next time they were due to be shod their hooves still looked like the day I started.One of my horses usually has a recurring thrush issue, and with the extremely wet conditions this winter I wanted to be fully prepared. His feet are holding up perfectly!I keep both horses on Double Strength Farrier's Formula, and I use the Farrier's Fix once daily on every part of the hoof - I've never seen hooves this healthy. Definitely recommended!
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    • 2016-02-09T14:54CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_82
    • loc_en_US, sid_9729, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.