Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

EquiVisor

Item #15446
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Say goodbye to sun in your eyes!

The EquiVisor® is a sun visor for riding helmets that is a modern version of an old idea that was conceived by an innovative West coast rider, Kim Bronson.

Favorite Features

  • Easy to attach to any helmet with its patented gripper system
  • Stays securely in place while you ride (even at a full gallop)
  • Shades face and ears without obstructing your vision
  • Washable for easy care
Sizing It Up

One size fits most helmets.
Wide, 4" brim that tapers.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    EquiVisor is rated 4.4773 out of 5 by 44.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit for both my daughter and my helmuts! Desperately needed to protect us from the harsh Montana sun as we ride as often as possible in the outdoor arena during the warmer months. Great coverage with this visor and it fits perfectly on both my helmut, and that of my daughters.
    Date published: 2014-10-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from works but in the canter Love this product. the only problem that I had is when I cantered the visor flipped up. I haven't been able to fix it.
    Date published: 2014-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from keeps the sun of your face I do like the idea of the visor and it does block the sun well. It is sturdy, but I find it a bit heavy and I start to feel the weight in my neck after a short ride. Would love if it was a bit lighter in weight.
    Date published: 2014-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect in the sun! I bought this because the sides of my face, my chin, and my chest would always get burned when I rode. This is exactly what I needed. It blends in with my helmet (a Samshield Shadowmat) and it fits very well and stays on as long as you remain upright. It will fall off if I bend over to kiss my horse, but that is to be expected. It blocks so much sun and I don't get nearly as hot. I love this!
    Date published: 2014-07-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like it... I like this product. However I don't LOVE it, because it makes me look like im on Little House on the Prairie, and its fairly expensive for a visor! I like it, though, because it keeps the sun out, which is great because I always end up burned despite SPF 100+! Great idea I just wish it wasn't so BIG!
    Date published: 2014-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! I have had my equivisor for almost a month now and I use it all the time! It blocks the sun well and is great for keeping the rain out of my face as well. The only problem I have is that it falls off if the wind gets under it (during rollbacks or when I'm hand galloping mostly) so I tied it to the strings on the back of my CO, which I've found works great :)
    Date published: 2014-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product! I bought this about a month ago and I cannot say enough good things about it! Super easy to put on, stays on well and is kinda cute!
    Date published: 2014-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like the protection fro the sun on my face I like the protection from the sun on my face and ears but I have a slight problem when moving at a trot or canter it has blown off twice I have to figure something out like tape it is velcroed on snugly but still popped off.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks Stupid, Works Awesomely. No, seriously. It makes me look like I'm trying out for a Little House on the Prairie remake. However I got sick of burning despite SPF 1000 sunblock, and it solved the problem nicely.My trainer and several friends have now purchased after seeing my non-lobster like state.
    Date published: 2013-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I love the equivisor! It's a great idea. It definitely reduces sun exposure and glare. It does come off my GPA occasionally, but it definitely is worth the reattachment. It is too expensive for my tastes, but hopefully it will last long enough to make up for the cost.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from How did I ever ride without it? Love my visor! I don't know how I have made it through so many summers without it. Keeps my face shaded (both with and without my helmet) and doesn't move around.
    Date published: 2013-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT This is a great product! It may however, make you realize your helmet does not fit properly! I originally put it on my helmet that I had been using for a while and it made the helmet shift back and forth A-LOT. I had some shifting problems before the visor so this just amplified them. I realized that I did NOT have a properly fitting helmet so I ordered the Troxel Intrepid (A-MAZING Helmet!) The helmet fits like a glove so I have ZERO shifting problems! I did follow another reviewers suggestion and put the visor on the helmet and removed the visor and tightened it another inch then scooched it back down over the helmet to make it snug. Works perfectly. The coverage it offers is just what I need for the Hawaiian Sun! I didnt find it impeded my vision any more than a baseball cap would.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Visor yet This visor is more like the brim on a baseball cap. It is large enough to shade my ears and face. Does not flop around like other visors I have tried.It fits both of my helmets and stays put. I used a damp cloth to clean the dirt and dust off the helmet before fitting the visor. The inside of the visor has a tacky like finish that helps it "stick" to the helmet.So far I'm very pleased with this purchase.
    Date published: 2013-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great in idea and function. Stays in place well and really makes a difference. Have jumped with it quite a few times and don't have a problem.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Protection, period. This may not be the most glamorous thing to wear, but it's easy to put on your helmet and WORKS to keep the sun out of your eyes and off your face. Who needs melanoma? Plus, before I bought this, I had sweat running into my eyes this summer--again, not about glamour, but very practical, and soft, so it seems quite safe. I highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2012-09-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keep the Sun Out of Your Eyes Nice boad brim keeps the sun out of your eyes. Use with caution when jumping though as the visor can become loose and fall off. This product is best used for flat work, hacking and trails.
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second to None To size the visor correctly - With your helmet on, put the visor on and attach the velcro together. Now slide the visor off, without undoing the velcro, and make the visor smaller by about an inch. Put the visor back on, readjusting smaller or larger until it is mildly difficult to slide the visor into position. Visor should not lie flush against the top of the helmet brim, but should rest firmly on the side edges of the brim. In back, the bottom of visor should be even with the bottom edge of the hard shell of the helmet. The trick is, once visor is fitted snugly on helmet do NOT undo the velcro. Remove/secure visor by scooching it on/off with both hands.Biggest downside - the sun has faded mine to a sandy brown color. A non issue as far as I'm concerned for riding at home.As far as the issue of it blowing off, yes strong wind will blow it off. But strong wind can also blow a snug baseball cap off of my head too. I simply use good judgement regarding the current weather situation as to whether to ride with it on or not.I would not suggest the use of it to beginners as it does limit peripheral vision and if you have a habit of looking down... Well, keep working with a good trainer before riding with this visor.It does provide excellent protection from the sun for my face, ears, and a good portion of my neck too. I still pour on the sun block though! Sun damage can prematurely age the skin, may cause skin cancer, is life long and irreversible.
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Funny looking but functional. Much better than sunglasses that are always slipping and sunburned face and ears.
    Date published: 2012-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! I was hesitant when I read the reviews that the wind would catch it and blow it off, but I have ridden when it was VERY windy, and the visor stayed put! It is easy to put on and off, and did not block my vision (I wouldn't want to jump over 3' with it, but low level stuff was fine). I spend allot of time in the sun, and my doc says - stay out. I leave it on my helmet. It fits my Tipperary great. My face is in total shade. Just a bit of getting used to.
    Date published: 2012-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't live without! I have had my two EquiVisors for 6 years and they still work GREAT! The Velcro is tight fitting and very secure while riding in the wind or jumping. I have a black one on my show helmet and a navy blue one on my everyday schooler. I highly recommend this product to all riders as the shade and SPF protection is a MUST! They even double as rain gear for me when I'm out on the trail!
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it is better to feel good than to look good! I have to admit I have snickered at friends in the past who rode past me looking like the flying nun in these get ups, but after my latest sunburn, this 50 yr old fashionista said "where do I get one?" The fit is great, you forget it's there as soon as you put it on. The sun relief is priceless.
    Date published: 2011-06-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from flies off regularly In California this visor has become fairly commonplace. I need to stay out of the sun and have no access to a covered arena, so this was what I hoped would be the solution. However, it has flown off my helmet repeatedly, with just a light breeze, if it catches the breeze right. At first I thought it was my GPA helmet, so I relaced the GPA with a Charles Owen helmet that I had professionally fitted (so that a too large helmet would not be the underlying reason for the movement which might be catching the breeze just right), only to find the same problem. When it flies off I just hope my horse or another horse doesn't see it and spook. So far I've been lucky but in writing this am questioning why I have continued to use it.
    Date published: 2011-04-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from like the look I used to use the cashel visor but wanted to try something nicer so I bought this. I ordered a helmet at the same time that has to be returned so I hopeful, whatever helmet I buy, this will fit. But it looks nice and will keep the sun off my face.
    Date published: 2011-03-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed Visor might blow off in a stiff wind. Also too much weight in the front of the helmet--keeps the helmet tipping forward. These problems make an already over-priced item hard to use--don't know if either can be fixed.
    Date published: 2010-08-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better Than Sunglasses This visor is heavy when on and significantly reduces your peripheral vision while riding. Be sure to keep your head up or you'll have a few collisions! I've also had it come flying off if it catches a breeze (usually when keeping my head up), fortunately it hasn't spooked any horses. It does really help with the sun or bright environments and I think it can look good on some riders. Removed some stars for value because really, it's just a visor, and it shouldn't cost more than a baseball hat.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice This visor definately keeps the sun off your face a nose. It is a little goofy looking, but worth it to keep from getting a sunburn
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective Sun Protection I live in the desert and would often choose a wide-brimmed hat over a helmet on sunny days. Now I don't have to make that choice! It stays in place on windy days, too. I only wish it were available in a lighter color.
    Date published: 2010-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sun visor I like the sun protection but wish it could be lighter weight. Also, I think it would blow off on a windy day. I haven't figured out how to attach it securely.
    Date published: 2010-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beat the sun love it! ! can even get away without sunglassesanything to keep the sun damage awayHowever, I do recieve alot of jabs at my new look. So I would not recommend it for anyone who cares if they look less than a fashion plate or cares what others think.
    Date published: 2010-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sun protection This product provides great sun protection with a wide brim. It covers the ears too. It does not obstruct your vision. All my friends are getting theirs after seeing mine.
    Date published: 2010-03-22
    • 2015-05-28T09:48CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_43
    • loc_en_US, sid_5446, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.