Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

EquiVisor

Item #15446

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Say goodbye to sun in your eyes!

The EquiVisor® is a sun visor for riding helmets that is a modern version of an old idea that was conceived by an innovative West coast rider, Kim Bronson.

Favorite Features

  • Easy to attach to any helmet with its patented gripper system
  • Stays securely in place while you ride (even at a full gallop)
  • Shades face and ears without obstructing your vision
  • Washable for easy care
Sizing It Up

One size fits most helmets.
Wide, 4" brim that tapers.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Why We Love This Don't let windy weather ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Don't let windy weather keep you from enjoying your time at the barn! This practical and stylish windbreaker folds handily into front pouch pocket with belt loop for easy carrying. Favorite Features Complete with cozy white ...
    Why We Love This The Helly Hansen Aden ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Helly Hansen Aden Jacket is both stylish and versatile, the perfect combination for a barn jacket! Waterproof, breathable and windproof with sealed seams to protect you against the elements. Its quick-dry, lightweight lining adds comfort ...
    Why We Love This The Asmar Tofina Soft ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Asmar Tofina Soft Shell Vest meets your needs in different seasons. Made from a lightweight softshell material, this vest has a distinguished high standing collar for a bit of flair. There are zippered side pockets ...
    Say goodbye to helmet hair! This versatile and ...
    Description:
    Say goodbye to helmet hair! This versatile and durable 100% brushed cotton cap is great at the barn or around the show grounds. Complete with lovely embroidered SmartPak logo. Self-fabric closure has a D-ring slider and tuck-in strap. Navy.
    The Helly Hansen Aidan Long Insulated Jacket is ...
    Description:
    The Helly Hansen Aidan Long Insulated Jacket is the ultimate jacket to protect yourself from whatever mother nature throws your way! A best seller for Helly Hansen for several seasons. Waterproof, breathable and windproof with fully sealed seams to protect ...
    Why We Love This Mountain Horse brings you ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Mountain Horse brings you a jacket combining fashion and practicality.  Favorite Features Made from waterproof, windproof and breathable fabric Detachable hood Elastic insert at waist on backside for a better fit Fully taped seams with riding slits ...
    Why We Love This The Helly Hansen Vertrex ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Helly Hansen Vertrex Full Zip Stretch Midlayer is a light weight slickface fleece jacket for high paced activities. The slickface fleece material with air channels built in ensures air circulation and improved moisture management. A ...
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    EquiVisor is rated 4.541 out of 5 by 61.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I bought this a couple of weeks ago. I love it so much. It really helps keeps the sun out of my face. It keeps me from getting sun burned and it keeps me a little cooler.
    Date published: 2015-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I just bought this and have ridden in it a couple of times. I think it was a great purchase! My face and chest are shaded! My only problem is that it rubbed some of my monogram off my helmet, but I think it is from sliding it on and off instead of velcro-ing it on and off. It also has a lot of extra velcro. It fits great on my GPA speedair and some of my friends have tried it on their Charles Owen and Samshield.
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really protects from the sun I usually wear a cowboy hat with a wide brim, but 4-H requires that all equestrians wear helmets. When wearing just the helmet, I really burned my lips--I was able to put sun block on the rest of my face. Now with the visor, my face is well-protected, and I haven't burned my face or lips since I started using it.However, I still much prefer my cowboy hats, but the visor does a great job of providing sun protection for my face and ears. It works well in the rain, too.
    Date published: 2015-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This product is totally worth the money! Very sturdy and surprisingly stays on ,even without a helmet on.
    Date published: 2015-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from not dorky I didn't want to wear sunglasses, and was tired of sunburn-so I tried this visor. Much more comfortable than I expected, and I got used to the sun bonnet loook quickly.Stays on well using the method described in another review-tightening it while off the helmet and forcing it down. I've come to appreciate this visor.
    Date published: 2015-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it I bought this a month ago and I love it it works so well. I definitely recommend this product
    Date published: 2015-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for those that are sun-sensitive Got this because I always have to wear sunglasses while riding and get burned easily, certainly does it's job. Make sure you have a helmet that fits otherwise this will make your helmet tip forward.
    Date published: 2015-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Sun Protection! I was hesitant to buy this because I've always imagined them to be too clunky and cumbersome. However, I am very happy I finally bought one! The EquiVisor provides excellent sun protection and eliminates the need to ride in sunglasses. Once you learn that you need a little extra space, it's really not hard to get used to. Definitely recommend!
    Date published: 2015-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from wonderful product! I just bought this a week ago and it just arrived today, so I thought I'd use it in my lesson. I really enjoyed it but it took some getting used to. It does its job and I think it looks pretty stylish. I sometimes have a habit of dropping my eye when riding, so this kind of forces me to keep my eyes up look where I'm going.
    Date published: 2015-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sun protection I bought this a few weeks ago and am very happy with the product thus far. I have even ridden with the visor in some pretty substantial wind and it didn't budge at all. It definitely takes some getting used to...I keep bumping into my horse with it!
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps the sun out of your eyes I really like this visor and it fits well on my helmet. I will admit I feel like a total dork wearing it but I DO NOT want sun damage on my face and have totally changed my outlook on sun protection. Gone are the days of getting tan! I've had it for over a month and use it on a regular basis.
    Date published: 2015-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great!!! This is great! I live in South Florida, and this has really helped me throughout the summer! It won't slip off your helmet, very secure, and can be adjusted as a regular visor when you are off your horse too!
    Date published: 2015-05-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Visor It keeps the sun out of your eyes, but it is pretty dorky looking. It is also much less curved than in the pictures, but I guess you could fix that. It is also much bigger looking than the angle of this picture, but serves the purpose.
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does its job It keeps the sun out of your eyes but it is very large and weighs down the front of your helmet. It takes a little getting used to but that's no big deal. I was also happy to find you can use it as a regular visor when you are not wearing your helmet.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really does the job I bought this because I ride with a mounted posse and our bimonthly trainings run 8 hours. That's a lot of time in the Florida sun! I can't speak to the durability yet, but the quality seems excellent and the fastening system is very secure even on a slippery helmet. It stays on even with cantering and provides shade on both the front and sides of the face.
    Date published: 2015-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Served my purpose exactly I'm very pleased with my visor. It stays attached to my helmet well and fully shades my face which is what I was trying to accomplish. The first visor I purchased was a different brand and would fly off my helmet if I went any faster than a trot.
    Date published: 2015-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I LOVE IT !!!!!! I love it so much, I`m quite pale and recently burned really bad on my face that left blisters so i decided to purchase this and I love it. The only con is that I look kinda dorky but who cares cause I`m not burned.
    Date published: 2015-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit for both my daughter and my helmuts! Desperately needed to protect us from the harsh Montana sun as we ride as often as possible in the outdoor arena during the warmer months. Great coverage with this visor and it fits perfectly on both my helmut, and that of my daughters.
    Date published: 2014-10-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from works but in the canter Love this product. the only problem that I had is when I cantered the visor flipped up. I haven't been able to fix it.
    Date published: 2014-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from keeps the sun of your face I do like the idea of the visor and it does block the sun well. It is sturdy, but I find it a bit heavy and I start to feel the weight in my neck after a short ride. Would love if it was a bit lighter in weight.
    Date published: 2014-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect in the sun! I bought this because the sides of my face, my chin, and my chest would always get burned when I rode. This is exactly what I needed. It blends in with my helmet (a Samshield Shadowmat) and it fits very well and stays on as long as you remain upright. It will fall off if I bend over to kiss my horse, but that is to be expected. It blocks so much sun and I don't get nearly as hot. I love this!
    Date published: 2014-07-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like it... I like this product. However I don't LOVE it, because it makes me look like im on Little House on the Prairie, and its fairly expensive for a visor! I like it, though, because it keeps the sun out, which is great because I always end up burned despite SPF 100+! Great idea I just wish it wasn't so BIG!
    Date published: 2014-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! I have had my equivisor for almost a month now and I use it all the time! It blocks the sun well and is great for keeping the rain out of my face as well. The only problem I have is that it falls off if the wind gets under it (during rollbacks or when I'm hand galloping mostly) so I tied it to the strings on the back of my CO, which I've found works great :)
    Date published: 2014-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product! I bought this about a month ago and I cannot say enough good things about it! Super easy to put on, stays on well and is kinda cute!
    Date published: 2014-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like the protection fro the sun on my face I like the protection from the sun on my face and ears but I have a slight problem when moving at a trot or canter it has blown off twice I have to figure something out like tape it is velcroed on snugly but still popped off.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks Stupid, Works Awesomely. No, seriously. It makes me look like I'm trying out for a Little House on the Prairie remake. However I got sick of burning despite SPF 1000 sunblock, and it solved the problem nicely.My trainer and several friends have now purchased after seeing my non-lobster like state.
    Date published: 2013-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I love the equivisor! It's a great idea. It definitely reduces sun exposure and glare. It does come off my GPA occasionally, but it definitely is worth the reattachment. It is too expensive for my tastes, but hopefully it will last long enough to make up for the cost.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from How did I ever ride without it? Love my visor! I don't know how I have made it through so many summers without it. Keeps my face shaded (both with and without my helmet) and doesn't move around.
    Date published: 2013-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT This is a great product! It may however, make you realize your helmet does not fit properly! I originally put it on my helmet that I had been using for a while and it made the helmet shift back and forth A-LOT. I had some shifting problems before the visor so this just amplified them. I realized that I did NOT have a properly fitting helmet so I ordered the Troxel Intrepid (A-MAZING Helmet!) The helmet fits like a glove so I have ZERO shifting problems! I did follow another reviewers suggestion and put the visor on the helmet and removed the visor and tightened it another inch then scooched it back down over the helmet to make it snug. Works perfectly. The coverage it offers is just what I need for the Hawaiian Sun! I didnt find it impeded my vision any more than a baseball cap would.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Visor yet This visor is more like the brim on a baseball cap. It is large enough to shade my ears and face. Does not flop around like other visors I have tried.It fits both of my helmets and stays put. I used a damp cloth to clean the dirt and dust off the helmet before fitting the visor. The inside of the visor has a tacky like finish that helps it "stick" to the helmet.So far I'm very pleased with this purchase.
    Date published: 2013-05-08
    • 2016-02-12T14:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_57
    • loc_en_US, sid_5446, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.