Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Equi-Spot Fly Control

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13412
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

AutoShip and Save 5% (Details)

days
You'll save $ per shipment, or $ per year!
(Discounted price will be reflected in your cart)
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Equi-Spot Fly Control kills and repels houseflies, stable flies, face flies, horn flies, eye gnats and ticks on horses.

Made in USA

Each package contains 3 x 10 ml applications. Apply 5 ml along back line, 1 ml to top of forehead and 1 ml to the back of each leg.

Equi-Spot has only been tested for use on basic domesticated, average size horse breeds. EquiSpot cannot be used on minis, ponies, or donkeys.

Stable Packages comes with 6 applications

Do not re-apply for 14 days. Not for use on foals less than 12 weeks old.

Contains 45% permethrin. 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Favorite Features

  • Equi-Spot Fly Control is waterproof and sweatproof
  • Also aids in the control of horse flies, deer flies, mosquitoes and black flies on horses

Ingredients

  • ACTIVE INGREDIENTS:
    .
  • Permethrin* (CAS #52645-53-1)
    45.0%
  • OTHER INGREDIENTS:
    55.0%
  • TOTAL
    100.0%
  • * cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+) cis and min 45% (+) trans
    .

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
DO NOT USE ON HORSES INTENDED FOR FOOD USE DO NOT USE ON FOALS UNDER 12 WEEKS (3 MONTHS) OF AGE Remove Product tubes from package. Fold along perforation between tubes and tear off one tube. Return unused tubes to package. Holding tube with notched end pointing up and away from face and body, snap off narrow end at notches. Apply one tube (10.0 ml) of Product solution as follows: •5 ml along the back line starting at the poll (top of head behind the ears), along the base of the mane, down the dorsal midline to the dock (base of the tail) •1 ml to the top of the forehead under the forelock•1 ml, as a stripe, to the back of each foreleg, from the ankle up to the knee (2 ml total) •1 ml, as a stripe, to the back of each hindleg, from the ankle up to the hock (2 ml total) • Do not allow the Product to contact horse’s eyes or mucous membranes. •Wrap tube and put in trash. • Do not reapply for 14 days (2 weeks). EquiSpot cannot be used on a mini, pony, or donkey
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "SimpliFly with LarvaStop is a highly palatable additive ...
    Description:
    "SimpliFly with LarvaStop is a highly palatable additive to prevent the development of stable flies and house flies in the manure of treated horses. LarvaStop breaks the fly life cycle by preventing the formation of fly larvae's exoskeletons when they ...
    "Uniquely shaped Bite Free Stable Fly Trap provides ...
    Description:
    "Uniquely shaped Bite Free Stable Fly Trap provides an ecomonical solution to those persistent and potentially harmful Stable Flies. Also known as Dog Flies, these pesky flies attack horses, livestock, dogs, and humans, leaving you and your animals prone to ...
    "The Captivator Fly Trap patented formulation uses fly ...
    Description:
    "The Captivator Fly Trap patented formulation uses fly pheromones to attract flies, the one-way entry system keeps them in the trap. Reusable and economical, heavy-duty plastic jar. Trap comes complete with 1 tube of attractant, just squeeze in and add ...
    "Endure Sweat Resistant Fly Spray stays on and ...
    Description:
    "Endure Sweat Resistant Fly Spray stays on and keeps working, even in wet conditions. Endure Sweat Resistant Fly Spray contains special conditioner that binds to hair shaft - won't sweat off. Protects against biting and nuisance flies, gnats, mosquitoes, deer ...
    "Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, ...
    Description:
    "Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, in barns, stables, corrals and homes. The Fly Stik™ contains no insecticides, no poisons and no hazardous chemicals. Can be used around animals, kids and pets."
    "The Fly Terminator Pro is a durable plastic ...
    Description:
    "The Fly Terminator Pro is a durable plastic gallon jug traps up to 35,000 flies. Fly Terminator Pro is insecticide-free - ideal for use around livestock operations. Reusable. Patented, NO-RUST plastic top won't rust when exposed to the elements and ...
    "Ready-to-use, economical Repel-X formula is effective against six ...
    Description:
    "Ready-to-use, economical Repel-X formula is effective against six fly species, mosquitoes, gnats, chiggers, fleas and ticks, including deer ticks which may transmit Lyme disease. View Product Label"

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Equi-Spot Fly Control is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 206.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Equi-Spot is Spot On! Equi-Spot is an "Every Month" thing around here now! It Just Plain WORKS! We treat every horse at the barn monthly. It is affordable and easy to apply. Since they created the "Stable" size pack, we are even more impressed!
    Date published: 2016-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff I use this in conjunction with fly sprays, masks and feed through fly supplement. Face flies are atrocious in kentucky. Seems to work.
    Date published: 2016-04-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stopped the ticks I used this last summer. My mare gets abscesses when she gets tick bites, so I thought I'd try this. I think she had only one or two bites all summer. The other horses in the barn, in the same pasture, got many ticks and bites. I can only assume this product helped keep the ticks off. I applied it once a month.
    Date published: 2016-03-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hate it!!!! Does not get rid of ticks or even repeal them. Very disappointed in the product.
    Date published: 2015-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked well I bought this because my Ottb was getting abscesses from tick bites. It worked well, I didn't see another one after applying this.
    Date published: 2015-11-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Has been working, but horse doesn't like it My area has had a huge number of ticks this year, so I have been using this product every 2-3 weeks throughout the summer. I'm pressed with the results, as I have not seen a single tick on her. She is pastured in a very wooded area that my dog picks ticks up in all the time, so I know they are around. On the downside, I don't think my mare likes it. She usually stands perfectly still for all manners of grooming, but starts wiggling around as soon as I start putting it on. I continue to use it though, since she is not sore/sensitive following its application, and the momentary discomfort is outweighed by the benefit of no ticks.
    Date published: 2015-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I love using the Equi-Spot fly control on my two horses. Super easy to apply and I think it provides better protection than sprays. I recommend this product wholeheartedly!
    Date published: 2015-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! It really does keep the flies away. The packaging isn't great you have to be careful you save enough for the legs. But other then that its great!
    Date published: 2015-07-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decreased number of ticks Definitely is working, but had an expensive trial run. One of my 4 horses had an allergic reaction to the product and required veterinary attention. He needed medicated shampoo and an injection of dex as well as Banamine paste.
    Date published: 2015-07-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A must for heavily Tick Populated Areas I've been using this product for years since we live in a heavy tick populated area of the US.It really works on preventing ticks from attaching to your horse. I have two horses and both of them hate the application more so this year than past years. Im wondering if something was changed in the formula of the product. This year I'm actually applying to the top of their necks with my fingers while wearing a glove since they fuse to the point of not being able to apply the product . Then I'm able to follow the rest of the instructions on the package.
    Date published: 2015-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! I boarded at a stable where 4 out of six horses contracted Lyme Disease last year. The treatment is very expensive, not to mention the adverse affects it can have on a horse undetected. I use this product religiously since my mare tested positive four years ago. I opted to treat knowing we had the possibility of recurrent exposure. I have never had an issue since although the other horses had to be retreated for Lyme over again a couple of years later as their owners didn't take proactive measures. The price is very reasonable vs the cost treatment/physical cost involved. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Three people at my barn recommended this product to me so I recently purchased it for my horse and I love it. It seems to really help keep the bugs off so far!
    Date published: 2015-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for ticks! Bought this beginning in May when the ticks just start acting up on Long Island and I'm happy to say this is the BEST for stopping the tick bites. My OTTB has no problem with the application. I apply every 10-12 days instead of the 14 because I feel that it wear off a bit.
    Date published: 2015-06-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective but my horse hates it... It is always a fight to put this on my horse but I know it works so I do it! He hates the smell and how it trickles so I do it right before taking him back out to pasture. One thing that does not make sense about this product is they tell you percentages to put on different parts of the horse's body but I have no idea how you could possibly figure it out while you are trying to get this on a moving horse. It would be better if there were lines on the outside of the product showing how much should be emptied on each part.
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worse than flies I recently purchased this item for my thin -skinned APHA gelding that breaks out in little hives from bug bites. I thought this would be great to add in addition to fly spray, sheets, masks, etc. Boy was I wrong. I placed a few dots on his leg first and immediately he began lifting his leg up and setting it down. Up down up down until I washed the product off. To double check I put a drop in his hip. Immediately he began swishing his tail at it and trying to bite the area. I washed it off immediately and he looked back at me and sighed, obviously thankful I got this awful stuff off him. I don't care how good it is at repelling bugs, this stuff bothers him much more than they ever have.
    Date published: 2015-06-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure what will work this year. I have used this in the past but this year after finally getting rain, well, it isn't working quite as well as it has in the past. It has killed the ticks, that I do know. I will still recommend it as it does work sometimes.
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good fly control One mare I keep over in a neighbor's pasture just to keep their retired horse company, and the flies can get horrendous. She's a big thoroughbred, 16.3 and built like a warmblood, so I use 1.5 tubes on her. One whole tube from poll to tail, and half of a second one on her legs as directions say to apply. The remaining half I put on the legs of the other horse. Works really well, and does last most of 2 weeks unless you get some really, really heavy rain or a couple days of steady rain. I use this all summer in addition to a fly mask to help keep her comfortable.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to Apply It's easy to apply and quick to use. It's hard to judge it's long term effectiveness for flies, but it has kept ticks off my horse since I've started using it.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Very Well This product works so well. My horses had bad problems with ticks, so I purchased this product. I went from finding multiple ticks on my horses daily, to not seeing any ticks on them AT ALL!! The only problem, is that one of my horses was tender the day after I applied it. But it still works great on him, too!
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed feelings ... I have mixed feelings about Equi-Spot for 2 reasons: (1) I do think it works but does not last 2 weeks. The reality of riding in hot weather is that we hose off our horses after the ride ... so perhaps it lasts about 9-10 days. (2) The little containers are clever and clearly, efficient. However, there's a learning curve to getting the liquid onto my horses legs and not on my hands. There's a fair bit of waste. My horse is in Florida ... maybe it would work better in a climate with less humidity.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from did not work put my horses out in pasture and the flies and ticks were terrible. put this on and went back the next day and they were covered in flies. did not notice any difference at all. waste of money
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Make sure you do a test-spot When using this product PLEASE make sure you do a test spot on your horse. I bought this product on sale, and ended up having to pay a vet bill because my horse had an allergic reaction to it. He had very sensitive huge hives all along his neck and back where this product was placed. I believe it works in terms of insect repellant because I did see a noticeable difference in the amount of insects on him, but unfortunately I cannot use it.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product really works I've used Equi-spot for a number of years. I never see a fly in my barn. I don't see flies on my horses. It works well for our mosquito problem and even helps with ticks. Occasionally during a rainy period when the giant horse flies get vicious, I may have to add a little bit of spray once in a while. But, I really don't know anything that keeps those giant horse flies off.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from What a mess! There is no possible way to apply this without getting it everywhere. When you snap the applicator to open it, it leaves a sharp edge that annoys the horse when you try to apply to the back of the legs. Thankfully none of the horses I tried it on is a kicker - but one came close with this. Not sure it did any good at all. We are not heavy into fly season yet. I was hoping to see a difference, even early so I knew whether or not to continue. Based on my experience, I will not use it again - too messy, little change in fly status.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Reaction to product The product arrived quickly, however my horse had a reaction to the product and was EXTREMELY itchy, throwing his body into the wall and swishing his tail like crazy. We had to rinse him off with different products for 4 days before he finally started settling down and seemed to be better. Smartpak customer service was amazing and took the products back. I know 2 other horses that had no reaction to this product, I think it just depends on the horses skin sensitivity
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! The flies can get really bad here in MI so decided to give this a try. I've used on only 3 of our horses first so I could get an idea of how well it works. The 3 with are definitely swishing/stomping less than those without so I am happy. I don't want to use on nursing mares but once the babies are weaned in a week or so they'll be getting this treatment too.
    Date published: 2015-06-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprised! I bought this for the buy 5 get one free, and to give it a try. Well, we were surprised how well it worked at keeping the flies off the horses, for the advertised 2 weeks. On the grays be sure to but UNDER the mane, did leave a bit of a residue, but was great on the big black import who is deathly afraid (still) of fly spray. Plus once every two weeks! pretty pleased with this, not going to lie....
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! This seriously works for keeping flies off. Way better than fly spraying them! And it lasts! With regular hosing off, I reapply about every 3 weeks.
    Date published: 2015-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! I started putting this on my horse over a month ago and I very happy with the way the product is working. Where I board my horse and ride there are a lot of ticks and so far I have found none on him. I will continue using this product through the summer and into fall.
    Date published: 2015-05-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from BUYER BEWARE I recently moved my horse to a new barn that has grass turnouts so I bought this product to maybe decrease the amount of ticks he would collect while in the long grass. I had heard good things from my friend who tried this on her horse who was pasture boarded, she said it didn't completely get rid of the bug bites and ticks but it definitely did make a difference. So I applied some and within two minutes he was already scratching and rubbing himself on the sides of his stall. I wasn't sure if it was normal or not at first but I started getting concerned that he was going to rub his tail out. I had to give him bath, washing him twice, making sure to scrub the areas where there was product applied. I noticed that his coat had faded/burned to a red against his dark bay in the spots I put the product on. I'm not sure if I'm the only one who has this problem but I definitely would test it on a small area and wait a hour or so before applying it to the whole body, especially if you have a thin skinned horse, in my case a thoroughbred. I am very disappointed in what it did to him, maybe some less harsh chemicals would help. Even though it does protect from bugs it's not worth the discomfort that your horse might experience. Also I'm not too happy that I spent $15 on it and now I have to give it away:/ . Overall I would by pass this product and invest in some fly boots and a fly sheet if you are too concerned about bugs pestering your horse.
    Date published: 2015-05-24
    • y_2018, m_1, d_22, h_8
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_187
    • loc_en_US, sid_3412, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders