Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Equi-Spot Fly Control

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13412
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Equi-Spot Fly Control kills and repels houseflies, stable flies, face flies, horn flies, eye gnats and ticks on horses.

Made in USA


Each package contains 3 x 10 ml applications. Apply 5 ml along back line, 1 ml to top of forehead and 1 ml to the back of each leg.

Stable Packages comes with 6 applications

Do not re-apply for 14 days. Not for use on foals less than 12 weeks old.

Contains 45% permethrin. 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Favorite Features

  • Equi-Spot Fly Control is waterproof and sweatproof
  • Also aids in the control of horse flies, deer flies, mosquitoes and black flies on horses

Ingredients

  • ACTIVE INGREDIENTS:
    .
  • Permethrin* (CAS #52645-53-1)
    45.0%
  • OTHER INGREDIENTS:
    55.0%
  • TOTAL
    100.0%
  • * cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+) cis and min 45% (+) trans
    .

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
DO NOT USE ON HORSES INTENDED FOR FOOD USE DO NOT USE ON FOALS UNDER 12 WEEKS (3 MONTHS) OF AGE Remove Product tubes from package. Fold along perforation between tubes and tear off one tube. Return unused tubes to package. Holding tube with notched end pointing up and away from face and body, snap off narrow end at notches. Apply one tube (10.0 ml) of Product solution as follows: •5 ml along the back line starting at the poll (top of head behind the ears), along the base of the mane, down the dorsal midline to the dock (base of the tail) •1 ml to the top of the forehead under the forelock•1 ml, as a stripe, to the back of each foreleg, from the ankle up to the knee (2 ml total) •1 ml, as a stripe, to the back of each hindleg, from the ankle up to the hock (2 ml total) • Do not allow the Product to contact horse’s eyes or mucous membranes. •Wrap tube and put in trash. • Do not reapply for 14 days (2 weeks).
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Swat Fly Ointment protects wounds, open sores, scratches ...
    Description:
    "Swat Fly Ointment protects wounds, open sores, scratches and abrasions from dirt, filth and disease-carrying flies. Botanically-derived pyrethrin formula repels house flies, stable flies, face flies and horn flies, and kills them on contact. Ideal for use on the ears ...
    "The SuperMask ll Classic Collection fly mask w/o ...
    Description:
    "The SuperMask ll Classic Collection fly mask w/o ears brings you the same great features as the original but on a whole other level. After carefully listening to customer feedback, they've added 15% more of the same great mesh styling ...
    "Endure Sweat Resistant Fly Spray stays on and ...
    Description:
    "Endure Sweat Resistant Fly Spray stays on and keeps working, even in wet conditions. Endure Sweat Resistant Fly Spray contains special conditioner that binds to hair shaft - won't sweat off. Protects against biting and nuisance flies, gnats, mosquitoes, deer ...
    "The reliability of Repel-X in a smooth, spreadable ...
    Description:
    "The reliability of Repel-X in a smooth, spreadable lotion. Repel-X Lotion is excellent for spot treatment around eyes, muzzle, ears and wounds. Cypermethrin formula with botanically-derived pyrethrins to repel and kill biting flies, filth flies, biting gnats, ticks and lice. ...
    "Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, ...
    Description:
    "Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, in barns, stables, corrals and homes. The Fly Stik™ contains no insecticides, no poisons and no hazardous chemicals. Can be used around animals, kids and pets."
    "Uniquely shaped Bite Free Stable Fly Trap provides ...
    Description:
    "Uniquely shaped Bite Free Stable Fly Trap provides an ecomonical solution to those persistent and potentially harmful Stable Flies. Also known as Dog Flies, these pesky flies attack horses, livestock, dogs, and humans, leaving you and your animals prone to ...
    "The Captivator Fly Trap patented formulation uses fly ...
    Description:
    "The Captivator Fly Trap patented formulation uses fly pheromones to attract flies, the one-way entry system keeps them in the trap. Reusable and economical, heavy-duty plastic jar. Trap comes complete with 1 tube of attractant, just squeeze in and add ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Equi-Spot Fly Control is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 174.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not so great after just a couple of days, had to use regular fly spray. Save your money!!
    Date published: 2016-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Equi-Spot is Spot On! Equi-Spot is an "Every Month" thing around here now! It Just Plain WORKS! We treat every horse at the barn monthly. It is affordable and easy to apply. Since they created the "Stable" size pack, we are even more impressed!
    Date published: 2016-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff I use this in conjunction with fly sprays, masks and feed through fly supplement. Face flies are atrocious in kentucky. Seems to work.
    Date published: 2016-04-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stopped the ticks I used this last summer. My mare gets abscesses when she gets tick bites, so I thought I'd try this. I think she had only one or two bites all summer. The other horses in the barn, in the same pasture, got many ticks and bites. I can only assume this product helped keep the ticks off. I applied it once a month.
    Date published: 2016-03-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hate it!!!! Does not get rid of ticks or even repeal them. Very disappointed in the product.
    Date published: 2015-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked well I bought this because my Ottb was getting abscesses from tick bites. It worked well, I didn't see another one after applying this.
    Date published: 2015-11-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Has been working, but horse doesn't like it My area has had a huge number of ticks this year, so I have been using this product every 2-3 weeks throughout the summer. I'm pressed with the results, as I have not seen a single tick on her. She is pastured in a very wooded area that my dog picks ticks up in all the time, so I know they are around.On the downside, I don't think my mare likes it. She usually stands perfectly still for all manners of grooming, but starts wiggling around as soon as I start putting it on. I continue to use it though, since she is not sore/sensitive following its application, and the momentary discomfort is outweighed by the benefit of no ticks.
    Date published: 2015-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I love using the Equi-Spot fly control on my two horses. Super easy to apply and I think it provides better protection than sprays. I recommend this product wholeheartedly!
    Date published: 2015-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! It really does keep the flies away. The packaging isn't great you have to be careful you save enough for the legs. But other then that its great!
    Date published: 2015-07-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decreased number of ticks Definitely is working, but had an expensive trial run. One of my 4 horses had an allergic reaction to the product and required veterinary attention. He needed medicated shampoo and an injection of dex as well as Banamine paste.
    Date published: 2015-07-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A must for heavily Tick Populated Areas I've been using this product for years since we live in a heavy tick populated area of the US.It really works on preventing ticks from attaching to your horse. I have two horses and both of them hate the application more so this year than past years. Im wondering if something was changed in the formula of the product. This year I'm actually applying to the top of their necks with my fingers while wearing a glove since they fuse to the point of not being able to apply the product . Then I'm able to follow the rest of the instructions on the package.
    Date published: 2015-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Provided great relief for my girl!
    Date published: 2015-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! I boarded at a stable where 4 out of six horses contracted Lyme Disease last year. The treatment is very expensive, not to mention the adverse affects it can have on a horse undetected. I use this product religiously since my mare tested positive four years ago. I opted to treat knowing we had the possibility of recurrent exposure. I have never had an issue since although the other horses had to be retreated for Lyme over again a couple of years later as their owners didn't take proactive measures. The price is very reasonable vs the cost treatment/physical cost involved. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Three people at my barn recommended this product to me so I recently purchased it for my horse and I love it. It seems to really help keep the bugs off so far!
    Date published: 2015-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for ticks! Bought this beginning in May when the ticks just start acting up on Long Island and I'm happy to say this is the BEST for stopping the tick bites. My OTTB has no problem with the application. I apply every 10-12 days instead of the 14 because I feel that it wear off a bit.
    Date published: 2015-06-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective but my horse hates it... It is always a fight to put this on my horse but I know it works so I do it! He hates the smell and how it trickles so I do it right before taking him back out to pasture. One thing that does not make sense about this product is they tell you percentages to put on different parts of the horse's body but I have no idea how you could possibly figure it out while you are trying to get this on a moving horse. It would be better if there were lines on the outside of the product showing how much should be emptied on each part.
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worse than flies I recently purchased this item for my thin -skinned APHA gelding that breaks out in little hives from bug bites. I thought this would be great to add in addition to fly spray, sheets, masks, etc. Boy was I wrong. I placed a few dots on his leg first and immediately he began lifting his leg up and setting it down. Up down up down until I washed the product off. To double check I put a drop in his hip. Immediately he began swishing his tail at it and trying to bite the area. I washed it off immediately and he looked back at me and sighed, obviously thankful I got this awful stuff off him. I don't care how good it is at repelling bugs, this stuff bothers him much more than they ever have.
    Date published: 2015-06-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure what will work this year. I have used this in the past but this year after finally getting rain, well, it isn't working quite as well as it has in the past. It has killed the ticks, that I do know. I will still recommend it as it does work sometimes.
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good fly control One mare I keep over in a neighbor's pasture just to keep their retired horse company, and the flies can get horrendous. She's a big thoroughbred, 16.3 and built like a warmblood, so I use 1.5 tubes on her. One whole tube from poll to tail, and half of a second one on her legs as directions say to apply. The remaining half I put on the legs of the other horse. Works really well, and does last most of 2 weeks unless you get some really, really heavy rain or a couple days of steady rain. I use this all summer in addition to a fly mask to help keep her comfortable.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to Apply It's easy to apply and quick to use. It's hard to judge it's long term effectiveness for flies, but it has kept ticks off my horse since I've started using it.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Very Well This product works so well. My horses had bad problems with ticks, so I purchased this product. I went from finding multiple ticks on my horses daily, to not seeing any ticks on them AT ALL!! The only problem, is that one of my horses was tender the day after I applied it. But it still works great on him, too!
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed feelings ... I have mixed feelings about Equi-Spot for 2 reasons: (1) I do think it works but does not last 2 weeks. The reality of riding in hot weather is that we hose off our horses after the ride ... so perhaps it lasts about 9-10 days. (2) The little containers are clever and clearly, efficient. However, there's a learning curve to getting the liquid onto my horses legs and not on my hands. There's a fair bit of waste. My horse is in Florida ... maybe it would work better in a climate with less humidity.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from did not work put my horses out in pasture and the flies and ticks were terrible. put this on and went back the next day and they were covered in flies. did not notice any difference at all. waste of money
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Make sure you do a test-spot When using this product PLEASE make sure you do a test spot on your horse. I bought this product on sale, and ended up having to pay a vet bill because my horse had an allergic reaction to it. He had very sensitive huge hives all along his neck and back where this product was placed. I believe it works in terms of insect repellant because I did see a noticeable difference in the amount of insects on him, but unfortunately I cannot use it.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product really works I've used Equi-spot for a number of years. I never see a fly in my barn. I don't see flies on my horses. It works well for our mosquito problem and even helps with ticks. Occasionally during a rainy period when the giant horse flies get vicious, I may have to add a little bit of spray once in a while. But, I really don't know anything that keeps those giant horse flies off.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from What a mess! There is no possible way to apply this without getting it everywhere. When you snap the applicator to open it, it leaves a sharp edge that annoys the horse when you try to apply to the back of the legs. Thankfully none of the horses I tried it on is a kicker - but one came close with this. Not sure it did any good at all. We are not heavy into fly season yet. I was hoping to see a difference, even early so I knew whether or not to continue. Based on my experience, I will not use it again - too messy, little change in fly status.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Reaction to product The product arrived quickly, however my horse had a reaction to the product and was EXTREMELY itchy, throwing his body into the wall and swishing his tail like crazy. We had to rinse him off with different products for 4 days before he finally started settling down and seemed to be better. Smartpak customer service was amazing and took the products back. I know 2 other horses that had no reaction to this product, I think it just depends on the horses skin sensitivity
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_158
    • loc_en_US, sid_3412, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders