Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Equi-Spot Fly Control

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13412
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Equi-Spot Fly Control kills and repels houseflies, stable flies, face flies, horn flies, eye gnats and ticks on horses.

Favorite Features

  • Equi-Spot Fly Control is waterproof and sweatproof
  • Also aids in the control of horse flies, deer flies, mosquitoes and black flies on horses

Made in USA

Sizing It Up

Each package contains 3 x 10 ml tubes. Apply 5 ml along back line, 1 ml to top of forehead and 1 ml to the back of each leg.

Stable Packages comes with 6 applications

Do not re-apply for 14 days. Not for use on foals less than 12 weeks old.

Contains 45% permethrin. 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Swat Fly OintmentProtects wounds, open sores, scratches and ...
    Description:
    Swat Fly OintmentProtects wounds, open sores, scratches and abrasions from dirt, filth and disease-carrying flies. Botanically-derived pyrethrin formula repels house flies, stable flies, face flies and horn flies, and kills them on contact. Ideal for use on the ears and ...
    Flysect Super-C is an economical concentrated flyProtection contains ...
    Description:
    Flysect Super-C is an economical concentrated flyProtection contains 2 repellents, plus pyrethrins and permethrin. Favorite Features Contains aloe and lanolin to condition the coat PABA sunscreen providesProtection from harmful UV exposure Sizing It Up 16 oz. or 32 oz. View ...
    TheQuikStrike Fly Abatement Strip is easy to use. ...
    Description:
    TheQuikStrike Fly Abatement Strip is easy to use. Uses an advanced, patented, triple action attractant that brings flies in to feed on the station. 2 pack. Advanced, triple action attractant Attractant lures flies from feeding areas Curved surface design facilitates ...
    Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, ...
    Description:
    Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, in barns, stables, corrals and homes. The Fly Stik contains no insecticides, no poisons and no hazardous chemicals. Can be used around animals, kids and pets. Favorite Features Fly Stick Jr is ...
    ? Uniquely shaped Bite Free Stable Fly Trap ...
    Description:
    ? Uniquely shaped Bite Free Stable Fly Trap provides an ecomonical solution to those persistent and potentially harmful Stable Flies. Also known as Dog Flies, these pesky flies attack horses, livestock, dogs, and humans, leaving you and your animals prone ...
    Ready-to-use, economical Repel-X formula is effective against six ...
    Description:
    Ready-to-use, economical Repel-X formula is effective against six fly species, mosquitoes, gnats, chiggers, fleas and ticks, including deer ticks which may transmit Lyme disease. Favorite Features Repel-X is a long-lasting water-base formula containing natural pyrethrins Newly designed superior spray bottle ...
    Protects from House Flies, Face Flies, Horn Flies, ...
    Description:
    Protects from House Flies, Face Flies, Horn Flies, Stable Flies, Black Flies and Biting GnatsFavorite Features Includes sunscreen and coat conditioners Convenient, ready-to-use Endure Roll-On's easy-grip bottle features a large ball for easy, even application Works up to 5-7 days ...
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Equi-Spot Fly Control is rated 4.1069182389937104 out of 5 by 159.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worse than flies I recently purchased this item for my thin -skinned APHA gelding that breaks out in little hives from bug bites. I thought this would be great to add in addition to fly spray, sheets, masks, etc. Boy was I wrong. I placed a few dots on his leg first and immediately he began lifting his leg up and setting it down. Up down up down until I washed the product off. To double check I put a drop in his hip. Immediately he began swishing his tail at it and trying to bite the area. I washed it off immediately and he looked back at me and sighed, obviously thankful I got this awful stuff off him. I don't care how good it is at repelling bugs, this stuff bothers him much more than they ever have.
    Date published: 2015-06-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure what will work this year. I have used this in the past but this year after finally getting rain, well, it isn't working quite as well as it has in the past. It has killed the ticks, that I do know. I will still recommend it as it does work sometimes.
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good fly control One mare I keep over in a neighbor's pasture just to keep their retired horse company, and the flies can get horrendous. She's a big thoroughbred, 16.3 and built like a warmblood, so I use 1.5 tubes on her. One whole tube from poll to tail, and half of a second one on her legs as directions say to apply. The remaining half I put on the legs of the other horse. Works really well, and does last most of 2 weeks unless you get some really, really heavy rain or a couple days of steady rain. I use this all summer in addition to a fly mask to help keep her comfortable.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to Apply It's easy to apply and quick to use. It's hard to judge it's long term effectiveness for flies, but it has kept ticks off my horse since I've started using it.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Very Well This product works so well. My horses had bad problems with ticks, so I purchased this product. I went from finding multiple ticks on my horses daily, to not seeing any ticks on them AT ALL!! The only problem, is that one of my horses was tender the day after I applied it. But it still works great on him, too!
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed feelings ... I have mixed feelings about Equi-Spot for 2 reasons: (1) I do think it works but does not last 2 weeks. The reality of riding in hot weather is that we hose off our horses after the ride ... so perhaps it lasts about 9-10 days. (2) The little containers are clever and clearly, efficient. However, there's a learning curve to getting the liquid onto my horses legs and not on my hands. There's a fair bit of waste. My horse is in Florida ... maybe it would work better in a climate with less humidity.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from did not work put my horses out in pasture and the flies and ticks were terrible. put this on and went back the next day and they were covered in flies. did not notice any difference at all. waste of money
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Make sure you do a test-spot When using this product PLEASE make sure you do a test spot on your horse. I bought this product on sale, and ended up having to pay a vet bill because my horse had an allergic reaction to it. He had very sensitive huge hives all along his neck and back where this product was placed. I believe it works in terms of insect repellant because I did see a noticeable difference in the amount of insects on him, but unfortunately I cannot use it.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product really works I've used Equi-spot for a number of years. I never see a fly in my barn. I don't see flies on my horses. It works well for our mosquito problem and even helps with ticks. Occasionally during a rainy period when the giant horse flies get vicious, I may have to add a little bit of spray once in a while. But, I really don't know anything that keeps those giant horse flies off.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from What a mess! There is no possible way to apply this without getting it everywhere. When you snap the applicator to open it, it leaves a sharp edge that annoys the horse when you try to apply to the back of the legs. Thankfully none of the horses I tried it on is a kicker - but one came close with this. Not sure it did any good at all. We are not heavy into fly season yet. I was hoping to see a difference, even early so I knew whether or not to continue. Based on my experience, I will not use it again - too messy, little change in fly status.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Reaction to product The product arrived quickly, however my horse had a reaction to the product and was EXTREMELY itchy, throwing his body into the wall and swishing his tail like crazy. We had to rinse him off with different products for 4 days before he finally started settling down and seemed to be better. Smartpak customer service was amazing and took the products back. I know 2 other horses that had no reaction to this product, I think it just depends on the horses skin sensitivity
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! The flies can get really bad here in MI so decided to give this a try. I've used on only 3 of our horses first so I could get an idea of how well it works. The 3 with are definitely swishing/stomping less than those without so I am happy. I don't want to use on nursing mares but once the babies are weaned in a week or so they'll be getting this treatment too.
    Date published: 2015-06-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprised! I bought this for the buy 5 get one free, and to give it a try. Well, we were surprised how well it worked at keeping the flies off the horses, for the advertised 2 weeks. On the grays be sure to but UNDER the mane, did leave a bit of a residue, but was great on the big black import who is deathly afraid (still) of fly spray. Plus once every two weeks! pretty pleased with this, not going to lie....
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! This seriously works for keeping flies off. Way better than fly spraying them! And it lasts! With regular hosing off, I reapply about every 3 weeks.
    Date published: 2015-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! I started putting this on my horse over a month ago and I very happy with the way the product is working. Where I board my horse and ride there are a lot of ticks and so far I have found none on him. I will continue using this product through the summer and into fall.
    Date published: 2015-05-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from BUYER BEWARE I recently moved my horse to a new barn that has grass turnouts so I bought this product to maybe decrease the amount of ticks he would collect while in the long grass. I had heard good things from my friend who tried this on her horse who was pasture boarded, she said it didn't completely get rid of the bug bites and ticks but it definitely did make a difference. So I applied some and within two minutes he was already scratching and rubbing himself on the sides of his stall. I wasn't sure if it was normal or not at first but I started getting concerned that he was going to rub his tail out. I had to give him bath, washing him twice, making sure to scrub the areas where there was product applied. I noticed that his coat had faded/burned to a red against his dark bay in the spots I put the product on. I'm not sure if I'm the only one who has this problem but I definitely would test it on a small area and wait a hour or so before applying it to the whole body, especially if you have a thin skinned horse, in my case a thoroughbred. I am very disappointed in what it did to him, maybe some less harsh chemicals would help. Even though it does protect from bugs it's not worth the discomfort that your horse might experience. Also I'm not too happy that I spent $15 on it and now I have to give it away:/ . Overall I would by pass this product and invest in some fly boots and a fly sheet if you are too concerned about bugs pestering your horse.
    Date published: 2015-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing alternative to daily fly spray! I have used this product on my horse a few times, and it is amazing!!! It is an amazing alternative to daily fly spray when I can't get out to the barn. Living in Sacramento when our summer months can be brutal and I feel bad when I can't get out there. This allows my boy to be comfortable and my mind at ease!
    Date published: 2015-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease of use. Peace of mind. Equi spot lets me relax knowing my horses are protected. 5 minutes of my time is all it takes!
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is GREAT for tick control Early in the season, when coming back from a trail ride, my horse had clusters of ticks on him. The bites really blew up on him, and I had to give him dex to get the swelling down. I read many reviews on many site about Equispot working for tick control, and they're all right ! Have not had one tick on him since I started using this product. We ride through woods that are heavily infested with ticks. I wish I could put it on myself ! Highly recommend this product !
    Date published: 2015-05-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Worth It! I bought this product and am sad to say that it did not work at all.
    Date published: 2015-04-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really works for ticks! I needed something to help keep ticks off my mare because she would come in with 2-3 on her per day. I read the reviews and decided to try this. It's been a week since I put it on my mare and I have not found any ticks so I believe it definitely works if you are looking for a tick preventative. I will continue using it. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2015-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy application I like that I can apply this to my horse and she'll be protected from insects for up to 2 weeks. And it's not overly expensive.
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Knock out ticks! I have been using this product for two years during the warmer season. Though I do NOT think it repels flies, I have not found a tick on my 3 horses since I began applying this product every two weeks. Unfortunately, I have to use 4-5 "doses" to cover 3 large horses every 14 days. This is rather expensive. Also, the packaging is lousy which means some of the product ends up spilling onto the ground/stall floor. I have twice reported these concerns to the manufacturer. Wear gloves while applying as you don't need concentrated insecticide on your skin! I will keep using this product as we are plagued by many ticks in Northerm Minnesota.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No more flies I have been using this for a year and it does a great job for the most part. If it is really hot out it does not seem to last quite as long as it is suppose to. Saves a lot of time because you do not have to treat horses daily or weekly like other products.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome Product!!!! This product is great!!! This works great when you can be out at the barn every day! This product last for 2 weeks, way longer than fly spray. Way worth the money!!!!!
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great when pastured near water I've had my mare at a couple barns with water (river/lake) nearby, and that definitely makes the bugs worse. I've found much fewer ticks on her after using Equi-Spot than without it, and I don't feel as bad if I don't fly spray her as often.Several friends and I split the value pack and it's been great!
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works for Biting Flies This works for those nasty little biting flies we get in Montana. This alone is the reason I spend the money on this. These nasty buggers can eat up your poor horse’s chest, face and neck in no time. It helps against the horse fly but doesn’t keep them away entirely, not sure anything really does. I like this because when my horses are out to pasture and I don’t get a chance to spray them they are still protected.
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps the ticks away! I have been using Equi-Spot all summer long, reapplying it every two weeks on my horses, and it has been very effective in keeping the ticks away this year. It doesn't seem to do much for the flies, and I do use a regular fly spray in addition, but it is very effective against the ticks. Usually, I find ticks in their manes and tails during the summer months and this seems to do the trick to keep them away. As a result, we don't have bald patches where they have rubbed their hair out because of the ticks and I don't have to deal with picking them off of the horses. Great product!
    Date published: 2014-08-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doesn't last I know this product is suppose to be water proof and sweat proof, but once I washed my horse a few days later, the flies were back on her. Since you can't reapply the product for 14 days, I was back to using fly spray from that point on. The 2nd time I used the product, I think it worked better. It seems to last a little longer, but still once I got into the 2nd week my mare was being bothered by flies, I was back to using fly spray. I don't have a tick problem where I live, so my main focus was the flies and gnats. Probably overall less flies were bothering her, anything is better than nothing. But I was hoping for a bigger difference. I didn't feel it repelled gnats at all which really bother my mare more than flies. I am hoping that the 3rd application will make more of a difference.
    Date published: 2014-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from On our second dose and so far so good. There are a lot of tics this year and this product seems to help.
    Date published: 2014-07-19
    • 2016-07-26T11:32CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_143
    • loc_en_US, sid_3412, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders