Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Equi-Spot Fly Control

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13412
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Equi-Spot Fly Control kills and repels houseflies, stable flies, face flies, horn flies, eye gnats and ticks on horses. Also aids in the control of horse flies, deer flies, mosquitoes and black flies on horses. Equi-Spot Fly Control is waterproof and sweatproof! Each package contains 3 x 10 ml tubes. Apply 5 ml along back line, 1 ml to top of forehead and 1 ml to the back of each leg. Do not re-apply for 14 days. Not for use on foals less than 12 weeks old. Contains 45% permethrin. 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Equi-Spot Fly Control is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 105.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly control Living in AZ with a dry climate this product works well. I got about 10 dys to 2 wks out of each application. It helps dramatically with sweet itch on my one horses belly caused by no see ums bug bits.
    Date published: 2012-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I apply this every 2 weeks to the horses and while I am not sure it lasts that long I know it lasts at least a week. While it is not on me I can say I think it works due to the lessened fussing from the horses.
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't Work Very Well I purchased this product because I was pulling 30+ ticks off my horses each day. According to the box, Equi-spot is supposed to ward off flies as well as ticks; it did nothing for the flies and I only saw a small reduction in ticks, pulling roughly 20-25 off each horse per day. I will say that my horses were in seriously tick-infested areas, which I'm sure made it more difficult for the product to work efficiently, and it did seem to work a little better the longer I used it, but I've had much better results by simply washing them once per week in a Dawn dish detergent solution--and it's a whole lot cheaper that way. My dogs were also on a product very similar to Equi-spot, with the same active ingredient, and it didn't do anything for the ticks on them, either.
    Date published: 2011-07-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT for Ticks Works FANTASTIC to help keep the ticks off. I have a horse that just gets infested with them and now I will only pull off 1 or 2 each time he comes inside. Not sure how well it works to repell the flies. I still have to spray him daily to help with that.
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No more ticks! I bought this product primarily because our pony is on pasture with lots of ticks. I've been using it for three weeks & haven't seen any ticks on her. The flies don't seem to bother her as much as well. The first time I applied it to her back legs, however, the sweet old gentle thing started kicking, so it must have stung. During the second application two weeks later she didn't react, so who knows. I'll use this the rest of the summer and then decide about next year. Great if you can't fly spray every day before turn out!
    Date published: 2011-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for ticks! My horse hasn't had a tick in his mane or tail since I applied this product a couple of weeks ago. It doesn't seem to repel flies though, but it is hard to say, maybe it helps a little.
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT very good product--keeps flys and ticks at bay--mostly. very good addition to other products to combat flies and ticks.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver! The ticks are terrible in our area and my poor horse seems to be a tick magnet! Unfortunately he's also highly allergic to the tick bites and gets huge oozy, itchy welts from their bites. I've tried various tricks to keep the ticks at bay and this year has been an especially bad year. After pulling 23 ticks out of his crotch area in one sitting (he was swelled up like a balloon between his back legs and wouldn't move!), I knew I had to do something different. I decided to give Equipspot a try after hearing others recommend it. After I applied it, he has been immediately tick free for the last 3 weeks. It's amazing!! My only dislike is that the liquid is a little hard to apply to the backs of the legs as the package recommends and dirt sticks to his topline where I've applied it. But it's hard to complain when it has worked so well on repelling the ticks. Seems to work great on flies too at first but the flies have since returned while the ticks have still stayed away.
    Date published: 2011-06-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tough fly year I have used this product in the past with great results. This is the first time that it seems the flies are worse than ever. It seemed that it quit working on day 10, ticks were even back on the horses. I am going to use it as it really helps when it is working, however if things keep going the way they are I may be looking for something else.
    Date published: 2011-05-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product I use this on my TB and it really cuts down on how much the flies and ticks bite him. He has significantly less welts now. I would recommend this product.
    Date published: 2011-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Topical for your Horse I have used Equi-Spot fly control in addition to the sprays and it works very well at keeping the deer ticks as well as other pests off my mare. I count on this product in the summer months. I find it lasts longer then the 2 weeks. Worth every penny!
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from simplified fly control Easy to use. Keeps flies and ticks off for approximately two weeks. Price was less than local suppliers, especially with bonus free with purchase.
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have been using this product for several years. It does a great job of protecting my horse from fly bites.
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Tick Control I have a OTTB who has very sensitive skin. He has intense reactions to tick bites. I purchased this product to help deter the ticks. It has worked very well. Before receiving the Spot-On my horse was covered and I was pulling them off by hand. After the treatment, I have only seen one and it was dead. Additionally, my sensitive skinned horse did not have any reactions to the treatment. My only hesitation is the chemical base, which requires a strong warning against getting it on your skin. I gave 4 stars instead of 5 because applying can be tricky and have had some of the treatment get on my hand twice. You really need to wear gloves to prevent any mishaps.
    Date published: 2011-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from KEEPS LIME DISEASE AT BAY WE ARE LOADED WITH LIME DISEASE IN NY, SUFFIX. ALL US TRAIL RIDERS USE THIS PRODUCT. I RIDE ON TRAILS FOR TWO YRS NOW AND I HAVE NOT FOUND A TICK YET. APPLY AS DIRECTED AND REAPPLY AS DIRECTED, I PROMISE YOU WILL HAVE A BETTER SHOT AT KEEPING LIME DISEASE AT BAY.
    Date published: 2011-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much easier than sprays My horses hate to be sprayed with fly spray. I'm not too fond of it either, since you have to apply it every other day it seems (at least in humid NC weather). I started using Equi-spot two years ago and haven't looked back. The horses don't mind me putting it on them and I usually don't have to re-apply for about three weeks. It definitely helps with the fly control. I used to put fly masks on my horses in the summer, but with Equi-spot I haven't had to. I absolutely love it.
    Date published: 2011-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for Ticks I have a horse who gets horrible reactions to tick bites - swells up, and often requires antibiotics! While I have used this other summers, I was somewhat lax on re-applying every 2 weeks -so results were mixed.This past summer I was religious about applying every 2 weeks (after the first tick infection of the season) from then on we had no tick bites all summer. I got lazy (!) late Sept, thinking ticks were over, and sure enough - he got another bad tick bite/reaction. Went back to every 2 wks application (until the 1st freeze) and not a bite! This stuff really works!
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for ticks I swear by this stuff for keeping ticks off my horse. I use it every two weeks in the summer. Recently, I skipped a few doses when the weather cooled off, then we got a warm spell. In one day, I picked 6 ticks off my horse. Went back to Equi-Spot and haven't seen another tick since (same warm temps).My horse does seem to be mildly sensitive when it is first administered. He rubs his tail a little, but is fine the next day. No hair loss or other symptoms.
    Date published: 2010-11-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This stuff works! I pasture board my horse and he really suffers with the insects. Fly spray just wasn't cutting it. He got immediate relief from Equi-Spot Fly Control. Now he's the only one of his pasture-mates who's not constantly stomping and swishing. The product is messy - mainly because the dispenser is poorly designed and hard to use. But - so far - I really like the results.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from worthless This product does not help with fly control for more than 3-4 days, but you cant reapply for 14 days. It is not worth the money. Find me a spot on that works, and I will purchase it.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prefer these to sprays My horses hate sprays and I use one of these on each horse every two weeks (have smaller horses than most). My mares seem to have fewer flies on them than other horses and these really do last. I've been using them for years.
    Date published: 2010-07-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I bought this product & did a spot test on both my horses rumps & no reaction. So I applied it to both horses. Within minutes of applying it to my quarter horse he began frantically stomping & kicking. My friesian seemed fine (i put it on her first) but about a half hour later I found her rubbing out her gorgeous mane!!!! She has never rubbed before & her keuring is in 6 weeks!!! I will be contacting the companiy with a complaint. I will NEVER use or recommend this product!
    Date published: 2010-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Noticed Big Difference in Ticks on my Horse I've been using Equispot on my 3 horses and so have 3 of my boarders on their horses. We usually have a big tick problem and have had several horses in the past with Lymes Disease. Since using Eqiuspot we have all noticed that we rarely see ticks on our horses this summer. Not so many flys either and we use a natural fly spray when we ride if needed.
    Date published: 2010-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for ticks! I used to find a couple ticks on my horses daily, but since I started using this product on their legs, I've only found a couple ticks a month.
    Date published: 2010-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very useful product Equi-spot has been very useful for cutting down on the number of flies that land on and bite my horse during turnout. I have also noticed a significant decrease in the number of ticks I am pulling off of her after rides through the woods. I would estimate that it has repelled 90% of the ticks I am used to seeing on her.
    Date published: 2010-06-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from horse reacted to it used it last yeat no problem. noticed the packaging is different this year. within 5 minutes of putting it on my horse he started scratching and rubbing as it was itching/burning his skin. a 30 minute bath took care of it but I will never use this product again. I don't know it they changed the formulation since last year because I loved the product last year but will not risk causing my horse discomfort and will be returning what I already bought.
    Date published: 2010-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Equi-Spot Fly Control Less mess, horses don't mind having it put on and it is not offensive in smell. Less flies than with regular spray.
    Date published: 2010-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Far So Good I've only done one application so far of Equi-Spot, and while it wears off over the 2 week period, the first 10 days or so it seems to make a difference. I was really interested in this product because of ticks - it was either this or guinea hens for us. If this product helps protect our horses from Lyme and Ehrlichia, I will be very happy!
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great backup plan. I apply this for several weeks before I go on vacation and than just before I leave. That way my daughter who cares for my horses in my absence doesn't have to worry about spraying the horses. It seems to help keep the flies off, but I also feed a garlic supplement as well. But it is a great backup, especially when the mosquitos are bad.
    Date published: 2010-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be a good product My horse is in a VERY buggy area, and she still gets bitten, even with Equispot. But I think that would happen with any product. And she gets bitten less than others in the same paddock, so I would give it a thumbs up.
    Date published: 2010-04-20
    • 2015-05-25T10:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_93
    • loc_en_US, sid_3412, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.