Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Equine Couture Raleigh Soft Shell Hunt Coat

Equine Couture, LLC
- Item #20291

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Equine Couture Raleigh Soft Shell Hunt Coat is made of a light weight, innovative fabric which offers incredible four-way stretch for total rider comfort in the saddle. This coat comes with stretch lining for easy movement while riding. Ultra suede collar and classic black buttons create an elegant look at an affordable price.

94% Micro Nylon, 6% Lycra.

Favorite Features 

  • Lightweight material
  • Four-way stretch
  • Ultra suede collar
Imported.

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    A solid black softshell shadbelly with stretch lining, ...
    Description:
    A solid black softshell shadbelly with stretch lining, the Xtreme Kids Soft Shell Hunter Shadbelly is an excellent choice of shadbelly for a child equestrian. Favorite Features Stretch lining for additional room and comfort Soft shell material is easy to ...
    The Raleigh Children's Show Coat is a classic-looking ...
    Description:
    The Raleigh Children's Show Coat is a classic-looking show coat made with innovative soft shell fabric for premium comfort and performance. Favorite Features Lightweight, innovative soft shell fabric offers incredible four-way stretch for total rider comfort in the saddle and ...
    If you are ready to expand your soft ...
    Description:
    If you are ready to expand your soft shell show coat wardrobe, you can't go wrong by adding this lovely green coat. As part of the RJ Classics Grey label XTREME collection, this garment is made of a solid green ...
    If you want to add a soft shell ...
    Description:
    If you want to add a soft shell coat to your show wardrobe but are still looking for traditional styling, this is the perfect choice! The RJ Classics Soft Shell Hunt Coat is made of a solid stretch soft shell ...
    You don't have to sacrifice your style to ...
    Description:
    You don't have to sacrifice your style to stay dry with the Equine Couture Regatta Rain Shell! Favorite Features Durable waterproof windbreaker Two-way zip, hood, and Equine Couture detailing on the front and back. 100% Polyester Imported Sizing It Up ...
    Out with the old, in with the new! ...
    Description:
    Out with the old, in with the new! The RJ Classics Washington Xtreme Soft Shell Show Coat is not your traditional show coat - it delivers both competitive performance and revolutionary style! The high tech fabric and innovative style makes ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Equine Couture Raleigh Soft Shell Hunt Coat is rated 4.1304 out of 5 by 46.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Kinda disappointing... When I got this coat I was so excited it was exactly what I was looking for- fit great and was so lite weight, but after only a handful of times showing in it and a couple washes it is already starting to come apart at the seams. I hoping to be able to fix the seams (by the pockets) to be able to get a few more shows out of it but Im afraid this coat was a waste of money. Such a bummer too because I really did love this coat and it fit great.
    Date published: 2015-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great soft-shell coat! I bought this coat 1 year ago (see prior review) and have shown in it 6-7 times since. I have both the black and navy and LOVE them! After wearing my ($300) traditional Ariat coat for hunter classes, putting on my Equine Couture soft shell in black for the Derby or navy for Eq is a relief. This coat is NOTICABLY lighter, cooler, more breathable, and stretchier (and my Ariat coat does have some stretch). Perfect for hot Texas horse shows, but not too cool for the winter shows. I have not tried machine washing as a prior reviewer had an issue with how the collar looked afterwards. No problems with dry cleaning and I'm confident that to wear the coat for multiple days in a row one could just dust off/spot clean, spray with Febreze and let it sit on a hanger overnight. Trainers at my barn have some of the more expensive softs shells and I cannot tell the difference between theirs and mine when on a horse. I primarily show locally due to work/family time restraints, but (as my hubby and barn friends can confirm) I'm skilled at equine shopping and picky about gear/grooming/appearances - I would not hesitate to wear this coat at an A/AA show. I was worried that the lack of structure to the coat would end up looking sloppy or put me at a disadvantage for Equitation, but it hasn't been a problem at all. I would highly recommend sizing DOWN on this hunt coat as it goes by dress size. I know trying to figure out sizing in different brands while online shopping is a challenge (thank goodness for SmartPak's return/shipping policies!), so for reference...I am 5'7", 120lbs, 32" chest, busty, slender frame but with broad shoulders and hips and I wear a 10 in Ariat coats, 4-6 dress size, and ended up fitting the size 4 in the Equine Couture coat after multiple exchanges to SmartPak (including one after I wrote my first review). With the stretch in this coat don't be afraid to try the next size smaller than you think will fit, it actually looks better/more structured if there isn't any extra fabric to wrinkle.
    Date published: 2015-05-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits, moves, looks nice. A week before my horse trial, I decided to buy a new jacket. I needed something affordable and that fit. I picked SmartPak because of the shipping options and return policy. The jacket arrived a day early. I love that it shipped with a coat bag. Seems simple, but that's SmartPak's customer service taking care of all products. Yes, the jacket is not every expesive, but it fits, it moves, it is comfortable. I only wear a jacket 7-8 times a year so this is perfect for all of my events and whatever weather may occur. I'm a 16 and not easy to fit. Yes, it could look more tailored, but it isn't unflattering. Mission accomplished!
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Economy Jacket!! I bought this jacket on short notice, I needed a hunt coat, I only have dressage coats. Being "blessed" in the chest area makes it a challenge to find a nice fitting coat and this had the perfect amount of stretch to accommodate the "girls". This was my second coat to try, my first was a RJ Classics "Plus Size".....it was cut totally wrong! This Equine Couture was almost perfect! Very easy to move in. I haven't ridden in it yet, but I bet it is very comfortable. Only thing I don't like is the vents aren't cut high enough, very small complaint for a nice jacket (especially for the price!!) ...oh and the sleeves are too long...... :)
    Date published: 2015-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect first show coat Just wore this for my first show... It was perfect! Stretchy and not too hot. I got a size 6 and it was a tad big but better too big than small! I'm just under 5'3" and about 135lbs. Very pleased with the coat!
    Date published: 2015-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from lightweight, great fitting jacket Bought this jacket for my daughter. She loves it. It is lightweight and very easy to care for. It fits her great. She loves that it is not super heavy or lined. It is great for her shows, as it does not trap in the heat. She has only worn it a few times since receiving it, but seems to be durable and holds up well. Great coat for the price!
    Date published: 2015-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought the jacket for my daughter. She love it because it was comfortable when going over jumps. Smartpak is a great company to buy from. I got free shipping and free shipping to return item. I did return the first jacket because I bought the jacket to small. Smartpak also sent me a replacement with no shipping fee. Great product and great company.
    Date published: 2015-01-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from It just didn't work for me... On first glance this jacket looked like it had it all. Flattering cut, soft color, and nice length were there but the seams on the bottom of the jacket were coming undone and it had a strange texture. Now, it may be that I'm not used to the soft shell type yet and that is my issue that I'll need to get over or just go with a more traditional (sadly, more expensive) wool. I like the price and recommend others give it a try especially since if it works for you you're saving a bunch and Smartpak has a great return policy but it was not a match for me.
    Date published: 2014-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great comfort! I bought this for IHSA, and have loved it so far. It doesn't have as much form as I'd like it to, but I'd trade that for the comfort and stretchiness of this coat any day!
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits perfectly! I'm a pretty small young woman (5'1") and have trouble competing in more conventional jackets; they tend to hide my posture and shoulder movements. I am delighted with the close fit and movement in this jacket! The size 2 fits me wonderfully and the length being a bit shorter than usual suits me perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome coat! I bought this coat a few weeks ago and I absolutely love it! I can't comment on durability because I have not had it for too long but it seems to be very well made. The fabric is light and breathable and also a little stretchy. I'm 5'4" and 105lbs and the smallest size fits me well. This coat seems to be very versatile and I'm very happy with my purchase.
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from You would never know its under $100! Everyone at the barn wants one now. A hair short if you are closer to needing a Tall but great fit, very stretchy and comfortable. Soft, dirt comes right off with wet towel if you don't have time to wash it and dries fast. Not heavy/hot. Awesome coat that is so much more comfortable than the old school wool ones. I highly recommend! Fits true to size but it is a hair short compared to what most traditional style coats are.
    Date published: 2014-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable Jacket for the Price! My daughter wanted a Soft Shell Show Jacket but I wasn't ready to pay over $400 for one! This jacket is lovely and fit her perfectly! It looks expensive, it's light and you can wash it! Best show jacket we have ever bought~
    Date published: 2014-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lightweight and flexible coat. I love this coat. I live in Florida and having a lightweight flexible coat is so nice. The fit on me was perfect. True to dress size. Material is a little shiny but it didn't bother me. Does wrinkle a bit but overall I love it for showing in this super hot climate and it is so affordable.
    Date published: 2014-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice surprise! I bought this jacket for my daughter who has just really gotten into riding. I've ridden for years and have had MANY high-end jackets, but we aren't sure how long she will be into it, so we didn't want to spend a bunch of money if she doesn't stick with it. I was a little nervous about ordering after reading some of the other reviews, but was PLEASANTLY surprised when it came. The jacket is well made and has great lines. The fabric seems durable and extremely easy to care for. I tried it on and am typically a GP size 10 and the 2 fit perfectly. I am thinking of ordering another for myself for rainy shows!! Not sure how it will do in the humid SC weather, but we will see soon!
    Date published: 2014-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from awesome for tall riders I just bought this and was super happy to find that the sleeves are long enough, which I have a really hard time finding. I am 5'11" and have long arms. The coat is nice and stretchy and fits true to size ( I normally wear a 12/14 and the size 12 coat fits perfectly, whereas my other coat is an 18) Haven't shown in it yet, but seems like a great coat for the price and will hopefully be much cooler than my wool coat for the summer
    Date published: 2014-06-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice for the money It is definitely cut big. Thought based on size would need an 8 but a 6 was perfect. That said build probably factors in too-I'm lean, med chested, longish arms. But I think it is definitely cut larger than average. Really liked the stretch in it. I'm a fan of the soft shell! Just got it so can't speak to how it holds up yet. Inside isn't lined so will prob be good for warmer weather-but it doesn't look as nice from the inside. But that's ok-no one is seeing that side
    Date published: 2014-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely for the price Bought this and the Horseware soft shell coat to compare. I much prefer this one. It's more classic for the hunter ring. If I were doing jumpers, I'd probably prefer the Horseware since the fabric is lighter. I won't be able to speak to comfort in this coat compared to wool until the spring, really hoping it's cooler. The sizing on this item is much closer to dress size than typical hunt coat size. I wear a 4-6 dress size, size 10 in Ariat hunt coats, medium in the Horseware, and a 6 in the Equine Couture. I'm 5'7", 120 lbs, 32" chest and busty with broad shoulders and a smallish frame. Hope that helps someone, I had a tough time figuring out sizes! I bought both the black (for the Derby at schooling shows), and the navy (for Eq). The fabric is fine, from a distance I don't think you'll be able to tell it's under $100. I can't wait to see what folks think at my next show in 2 weeks. I really like the navy color. It's blue enough that it doesn't look black at first glance, but still a true navy. The pic makes it look like the top part of the collar is a different, shinier fabric but it's not - the coat is all the same fabric, though it does has a slight sheen to it as it is a soft shell.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a great value I ordered several jackets in the $90-$120 price range and this was by far the 'cheapest.' It fit OK - I usually wear a 12 and it fit fine - but the styling isn't flattering and the structure is flimsy.
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! A soft shell coat for $99, really? After speaking with a Smartpak rep who showed at HITS in this coat, I decided to give it a try. Free ship and free return, what the heck! I was amazed!! As was everyone else I showed the coat too. No bells and whistles like the really expensive soft shell coats, but still awesome!! The first one I ordered didn't fit (my fault, I always order too big), and everyone and their brother tried it on and wanted to buy it from me! I ordered a size down and it fit perfectly. Showed in it on a warm day, it was so much cooler than those horrid wool hunt coats and much stretchier too for those bigger jumps! Love, love, love this coat!
    Date published: 2013-07-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Coat hangs poorly This coat is very comfortable...has nice give and take, ran true to size for me...(buyer needs to realize it is shorter than most coats, look at the photo!) - but that didn't bother me at all. Its just the material looked cheap...and I know it isn't an expensive jacket, but I just expected better quality overall I guess. The collar and buttons hung poorly. Too bad - because it was really comfortable - would have been nice for those warm show days!
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average I expected a better jacket after reading the reviews. Not sure why I expected it to be so great at this price. This Jacket is a true example of "you get what you pay for"! In the past, I have ordered value priced items through SmartPak and have been surprised at the great quality.The sizing was fine and from a distance I'm sure the jacket will look fine. I could see how it would also be cooler than the wool type jackets. I found the back flap to kick out a bit to much and the fabric was a bit bunched at the seams.Would have loved to have found a good soft shell coat at this price, but it just was not for me. I sent it back. I will be saving my money for the ridiculously higher priced but better quality soft shell jackets!Thanks to SmartPak for the super fast and easy return.
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this jacket I can't wait to wear this jacket this show season. The style and fit are amazing. It's light weight..exactly what I was looking for at an affordable price. I could not rate durability as I have not worn it yet. Definitely would recommend this purchase.
    Date published: 2013-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it really is the " Best Purchase Ever" I purchased this coat last year and I have finally been able to put it to use. The material is by far the best in terms of look, comfort, and quality. "What more could you ask for" :) I plan to take a trip to the cleaners since it is now dirty from my last show as I am afraid to wash it after reading one of the reviews. Just a final note....I noticed many people disliked the long length of the sleeves. I have long arms anyway but I personally prefer a longer sleeve as it allows for a better jump without the coat sliding past my gloves.( I am pretty sure they designed the coat this way to accommodate just about everyone as it is easier to just hem your sleeves whereas; the rest of us are usually left with little to no option)Thank You Equine Couture! I plan to order another one
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Soft Shell Coat Yes, But Not This One This is a very inexpensive soft shell show coat so I gave it a try. You get what you pay for. The coat arrived wrinkled (crinkled) and did not hang out over night. I don't know if you can iron it and I didn't steam it. I thought wrinkles would be a problem anyway.I would never discourage someone from trying a product from Smartpak. It might work for you.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Show Coat I haven't had this coat for long and it is my first coat. I will be doing my first Hunter show in April. While searching for my perfect coat I was asking friends and they all recommended different brands but the prices were all too high. This coat has GREAT ventilation and really does look good. I live in Florida and believe me, riding can get hot but this coat keeps me cool. I cant say much relating to the durability since I haven't had it long.The only down side of this coat was that when I received it the arms were too long. My friends grandma fixed that right up for me though! I recommend this coat to anyone who will listen.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS JACKET I Love the fit of this jacket. I ordered it because I knew I could send it back free if I didn't like it. It's adorable and light weight. Exactly what I was looking for for show season this summer. Thanks smart pak
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous and so comfy! I just bought this, and it is lovely. Fits great (I agree with other reviewers - order your dress size!), and is so comfy and stretchy. The fabric is very nice. I am so happy with this coat, as I had been looking for both a new navy coat & a soft shell, but didn't think I would find that in the price range I had. I'm 5'1, and it fits perfectly - maybe a little longer than I prefer in the sleeves, but it definitely isn't long enough to be a bother when riding. I can't wait to try this out! Can't comment on durability as it's brand new.
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This is the first show coat I've ever owned and I don't think I would want any other coat. I ordered it in navy, and it's beautiful. The material is super stretchy and really gives me room in the back and shoulders to give a release over my horse without worrying that it's going to rip. I went to Equine Couture's website and followed the size chart from there. The suggested size for me was a size 10 but I ordered it from Smartpak in a size 12 since I'd read that most show coats run small. The size 12 is actually a little big on me though, so it seems to run true to the size chart. However at the same time I'm glad I ordered the 12 since the smaller the coat, the shorter the back of the coat is, and the size 10 coat back would have been too short.I read from a previous review that this coat is not machine washable like it says it is #good to know) so I'll just take it to the dry cleaners instead when needed. I also read another review where someone lost a button off the coat at a show, so I just took a needle and thread and reinforced the buttons to make sure that they stay on. Besides those couple things, this is a great coat. I even received a free Smartpak garment bag! I gave it 5 stars.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good price I purchase this coat to replace my wool hunter coat. The material is very different and stretchy, which I was not expecting. I'm tall 5'9" and the sleeve length was perfect, but the jacket length was too short. I also loved the details on it coat. Wish it can in another material. Had to return and purchase another brand. Love Smart Pak's customer service and return policy :)
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    • 2016-02-10T15:09CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_44
    • loc_en_US, sid_10291, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.