Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

EquiFit ShouldersBack Lite

EquiFit
- Item #16744

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A summerweight version of the original ShouldersBack!

ShouldersBack Lite gently pulls, aligns, and holds your shoulders into the “correct” position, training your mind and muscles to keep a taller stance even after you slip it off -- just like the popular original.

Favorite Features

  • Made from PowerMesh it is a soft sheer variation on the original
  • Lightweight and flexible
  • 100% elastic construction with VELCRO® closure ensures complete freedom of movement

Hand wash, line dry.
Made in the USA

Sizing It Up

Measure the circumference of the rib cage just below the chest for size.
Small (Child up to 24”)
Medium (Adult and Adolescent up to 38”)
Large (up to 50”)

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    EquiFit ShouldersBack Lite is rated 4.15 out of 5 by 60.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too hard to wear and adjust. I am in the process of sending this item back. It did not work for me.
    Date published: 2014-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful product I bought this for motorcycle riding to give me some shoulder support. After about an hour of riding I would get tension across my shoulders but the Equifit ShouldersBack helped that and extended my ride with less tension but does not eliminate the tension. Glad I bought it.
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Useful Rider Training Aid My grandmother fussed at me for slouching as a child, now my instructor fusses at me for slouching as an adult! The ShouldersBack has been a useful training aid for myself to assist in creating new (better) habits!
    Date published: 2014-05-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just o.k. I have worn this a few times and don't really like it.  The straps do cut into your arms even with a shirt under it.  I think this is partly caused by the velcro that is used, there is no padding on it or finished edges, andy by the way it is constructed.  The straps get pulled toward the center of your body causing it to cut into your arms.  If the back were put together differently it could pull the straps more away from the center of your body and sit on the front part of your shoulder.  I think this would also make it more effective in pulling your shoulders back.  I'm going to see if I can take it apart and sew it together better and put some padding on the straps.  If that doesn't work I will make my own.
    Date published: 2013-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! LOVE IT! Purchased this for my daughter after months of begging to get it. Now that she has it, she wears it everytime she rides. It definitely does what it's designed to do; it prevents her from letting her shoulders come forward when her & her horse are jumping! Not to mention, it has even improved her posture OFF her horse! That makes me one happy Momma!
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product! I have bought 3 of these and they always end up disappearing, i think my barn mates are taking them! Great product, it really does help get your shoulders back.However, a little disappointed with the sizing. Don't order a small if you're an adult. I'm 5'3" about 100lbs and ordered what i thought was an adult small, nope, its a child's size. it does fit me but if you're an average adult order a medium. I called SmartPak and Liz told me if it doesn't ft just send it back and they'll send me a medium.I can always depend on SmartPak, they have the best customer service!
    Date published: 2013-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from You will enjoy....!! Best purchase I made! I have been told not to get this because they did not see the value of it. I first started noticing that I needed to keep my shoulders back with riding but I even found myself needing it at work. And it wasn't that I REALLY wasn't putting my shoulders back but that I was putting them back WRONG! INSTANT RELIEF of back pain! I was so glad that I got this! I gradually worked myself to wearing it 6 hours a day so far to get my muscles use to it and hopefully train them to not need it soon! Really helped correcting it though. Would recommend wearing a t-shirt underneath it!
    Date published: 2013-03-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Comfortable for Riding I tried wearing this over my shirt once while riding (it was a 1 hour jumping lesson) and I did think it helped keep my shoulders back, however, it rubbed my underarms raw. I still use it occasionally when I'm sitting at my desk to remind me not to slouch, but it's not comfortable enough for moving around in.
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful for a desk jockey like me! I spend most of my time hunched over a computer at work. This has led to a general decline in my posture, which unfortunately carries over into my riding - basically, I've developed the bad habit of rounding my shoulders forward, and it actually hurts to roll them back and down. On a friend's advice, I bought the shouldersback lite, to help correct my posture at work and thus correct my riding posture. I'm glad I got it. When I am wearing it, it serves as a constant "reminder" to correct my posture. I don't know how people can ride in it, given it does intentionally inhibit your range of motion which i think would be uncomfortable in the saddle, but to each his/her own! Be sure to gradually adjust the length of time you are wearing it and the traction applied to your shoulders as too much too soon can make you very sore! Also, it is not meant to be worn next to the skin and will chafe. I wear it over a very thin t-shirt and under the rest of my clothes, and it is invisible. Granted, it is winter here in Ohio so we are all bundled up against the cold...so I may have to rethink the layer idea come summertime!
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from An okay buy. While this does help with my posture problem, the fit to the armpits does hurt. If I where it on top of a shirt it is better, however I would like to wear it under my clothes so that I can wear it more often.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Always Ride With It! I wear this gadget nearly every time I ride, especially when I'm jumping. I have a terrible tendency to round my shoulders over a fence. My ShouldersBack does help, but I think you also have to be conscious of your position. I wish it were a bit more rigid to perfect my posture even more.I've washed and even dried this thing; it's really durable. I did have to trim the straps because they were too long. And I do wish I had ordered the black version. The velcro straps absorb all sorts of animal hairs! Yay.
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Eh... The overall quality of this product is excellent. Maybe I should have gotten a size smaller? I was expecting more of a forced action to keep my shoulders back. I felt like i could still still round if I wanted to. The material is lightweight and comfy! I would recommend this product, but be careful of the size you buy.
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Useful but itchy I bought this because i work at a computer all day and find it really hard to keep my shoulders back. I got it in white to keep me cooler during the hot summers. It does it's job, but it's not a miracle worker by any means. Defiantly need to wear it over a shirt to itchy to wear next to the skin. I would never buy the regular one. Get the lite version even for winter use since you need a camisole on under it anyway. The lite is pretty breathable and when I ride I forget it's on, which I feel like it should be pulling more on my shoulders. It does adjust under the bust and across the shoulders, but it can only do so much. Perfect practice makes perfect not artificial aides. I have hand washed it a bunch since its white it shows all the dirt so far it holds up well to hand washing. I think it's a little expensive for what it does and the comfort level.
    Date published: 2012-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great help for hunter princess this item is just like advertised. it really helps rider's posture & imperceptible under a jacket. it's a little lighter for summer shows. we've run it through the washing machine and it was fine (rider does still sweat!)
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very helpful it's not a substitute for being fit, but it really does help! the best thing is that my shoulders are back, my posture is better, without forcing it to happen, so my muscles are relaxed, as they would be if i were simply more fit or naturally upright. definitely helps learn the "muscle memory", and without it, i can more easily relax into a better posture. i do wear it over a thin undershirt, and it feels fine. was a little awkward to put on the first time, but then i got the hang of it, and it's easy. the label goes on the outside, which might confuse some at first. i think it's great, and am glad i got it.
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wise Buy! With 3 thoracic compression fractures and from the advice of my physical therapist, I purchased this item for the purpose of helping to improve my posture. This support helps to remind me to stand up straight and roll my shoulders back, thus helping to relieve some of my pain. As recommended in other reviews, I must wear this over a light T-shirt to avoid the straps rubbing on my shoulders. Hopefully, I will be back in the saddle soon.
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders I have osteoprosis and the shoulders back really gives me the help to keep my shoulders in a better position when riding and I very often wear it even when I am not riding.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy I've tried another version of this product and found it uncomfortable. This lightweight version is easier to convince myself to wear. Easy to adjust and apply.
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Price I agree with the prior positive reviews of this item.It is now a part of my everyday riding gear. For this reason, I don't think the price is too bad for something that works. I am a tall adult with a thin frame, and I found the only minus to be the lack of velcro (it should have more). After positioning the straps- I had extra material left over that doesn't stay as flat as it should. With the colder weather, I found a silk shirt works perfectly underneath it.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Help for Posture The shoulders back really has made a difference for me. It does not force your shoulders back; it simply helps create new, healthier muscle memory.
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight and WORKS! Was not really sure how this product would work but I decided to give it a try and was pleasantly suprised! It really does remind you to keep your shoulders back and it is so lightweight that you can easily wear it under shirts comfortably. Would recommend if you have an issue with rounding your back and hunching your shoulders. This gentle reminder will help.
    Date published: 2011-09-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed feelings This product will definately change the position of your shoulders. I would give a word of caution to the adults like myself out there...you know whose shoulders may be tight due to stresses over the years....I put it on the first day and pulled it nice and tight and man, did it work...only it caused me to overcompensate and I pulled a muscle in my back pretty good! User error though not the product, be smarter than myself!! The material is a little scratchy, as other reviews have stated, given the price point of the product and all the "equifit technology" this was a little disappointing. That being said the product does definately work...though pricey.
    Date published: 2011-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good purchase Just received the shoulders back but could feel a difference on the first ride. My trainer also felt it made a difference in my posture.
    Date published: 2011-08-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from SHOULDER BRACE Difficult to put on. Straps roll very easily. Not really too impressed. I suppose it will do the job.
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from shoulders back lite Once you get used to putting it on correctly it makes an incredible difference in posture of shoulders which affects the back, hips, and core of the rider. I had a broken back and neck injury. scoliosis, and spinal stenosis and am pretty much in pain constantly however when using this brace everything is lined up correctly and actually stops the pain when on in everyday activities as well as riding. well worth the price if you want something that really works! I wear it all day whether riding or not and it also centers you in the saddle. Excellent product may want to wear over a thin t shirt at first for comfort..also trains you to be aware of your posture when not in use.
    Date published: 2011-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good buy The shoulders back does what it says--keeps your shoulders back. It is best to wear over a light shirt as the velcro can rub a bit. Overall however, it is comfortable.
    Date published: 2011-07-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Save your money I personally did not like this product. I thought that it did make my shoulders go back, but I would not use this as a crutch. I would recommend taking the $50 and investing that with a good equitation instructor.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to do the trick! My 16 year-odl daughter needed to improve her posture before show season. She feels more confident and her trainer sees improvement.
    Date published: 2011-03-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works! This product works as advertised, my riding instructor is definitely very happy with my better posture! The only thing I don't like is the price. There's really not much to it and I'm not sure what exactly warrants the $50 price tag. But, I guess it's worth it to ride better.
    Date published: 2011-02-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from useful tool I thought the EquiFit Shoulders Back product was good; made well; does place shoulders back and helps you sit more erect; found it made me stick out my bum more so need to find happy medium. I was collapsing my shoulders as I got tired so it is aiding my posture; was a little more expensive than I would have liked to pay but luckily I had a coupon so that helped; should hold up; seems well designed and of good quality.
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    • 2016-02-13T14:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_55
    • loc_en_US, sid_6744, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.