Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

EquiFit ShouldersBack

EquiFit
- Item #12360
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

ShouldersBack is the only product like it on the market! Designed for the equestrian, ShouldersBack is an all-elastic garment that helps you attain proper equitation in a safe and comfortable manner.  Made in the USA
Favorite Features
  • Researched and developed by a leading orthopedic supply team.
  • Gently pulls, aligns, and holds your shoulders into the "correct" position.
  • The more you slouch, the greater the pull, detering poor posture.
  • 100% elastic construction ensures you the complete freedom of movement to cope with any unforeseen events.
  • In addition to riding, can be worn while working, driving, etc.
  • Recommend wearing over a thin layer

Sizing

To get your size: Measure the circumference of your rib cage just below your chest.
Sizes: Child (up to 24"), Adult/Adolescent (Up to 38"), Large (38"+).

What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Clinically demonstrated to promote relaxation and improve back ...
    Description:
    "Clinically demonstrated to promote relaxation and improve back flexibility, the soft and pliable Equilibrium Massage Pad is designed to provide effective, easy to use, affordable therapy for horses and ponies. Each massage session lasts for 30 minutes, using strokes, vibrations ...
    "Horseware Rambo Ionic Knee Support for humans uses ...
    Description:
    "Horseware Rambo Ionic Knee Support for humans uses tourmaline infused patches to release negative ions. Negative Ions are air molecules that have gained an electron to gain a negative charge. Rambo® Ionic combines the benefits of compression and negative ion ...
    "Top quality, water resistant French leather is combined ...
    Description:
    "Top quality, water resistant French leather is combined with the revolutionary T-Foam liner for a contoured fit, unparalleled shock absorption, superior protection and an exquisite look. T-Foam is neoprene-free, lightweight and pliable. It reduces stress on pressure points and is ...
    "The HDR Advantage Close Contact Saddle is crafted ...
    Description:
    "The HDR Advantage Close Contact Saddle is crafted by renowned leather goods maker, Henri de Rivel, giving you world-class European designs in the finest imported leather-all at a reasonable price! Henri de Rivel saddles and leather goods are not built ...
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
    Description:
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Complete adjustability and comfort for your ...
    "With flap options to fit any rider, the ...
    Description:
    "With flap options to fit any rider, the versatile Gen-X™ saddle offers a great ride for horse and rider with its grippy calfskin covered leather flaps and seat. Test ride this saddle! Click here for details."
    "The VenTech™ Elite Sports Medicine Boot is the ...
    Description:
    "The VenTech™ Elite Sports Medicine Boot is the new standard for equine comfort with all the premium features you expect from a Professional's Choice product. The exclusive new VenTech™ technology is lightweight and multi-layered with a ventilated, limestone-based neoprene exterior ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    EquiFit ShouldersBack is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 52.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Performs well. Well adjusted for posture. Good fit and material performed as mentioned in catalog.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely helps! I am currently working from home recovering from back surgery. I wanted something to "remind" me of my posture while I'm working at my standing desk so I can keep my core strong and heal properly. This works really well. You HAVE to wear it over a shirt....it rubs pretty bad. Working from home, that's not a problem. I don't know how you would wear it outside unless you put a sweater or sweatshirt over it. My daughter hasn't tried it yet for riding but I think it would help based on how much it helps my posture while I'm wearing it. My only complaint is that I wish I could pull it tighter. I'm thin and I ordered the "Adolescent/Adult" size and I have it as tight as it goes and it could be tighter.
    Date published: 2015-04-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sounded great I have returned this as I have sloping shoulders & could not get it to fit correctly
    Date published: 2015-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful Years ago I bought this for my daughters who ride and it helped make them mindful of keeping their poster. My other daughter, an Irish Dancer, also used it to practice for competitions.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good reminder I think this is a pretty good product for the price. It is not going to force your shoulders back, but it does put a gentle pressure, enough to remind you to keep them back. Oddly enough, I don't use it for riding but for when I am working on the computer. I am a little concerned for the durability as everything is adjustable with velcro, but that is probably more comfortable than bra-like adjustors.
    Date published: 2014-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Posture rehabilitator! I've fought with my posture for years and as I age it gets more difficult to maintain correct posture for day to day activities and more so for riding. This product aligns your shoulders so that your shoulder blades are flat against you back and your are in correct posture. I wear it around the house and I can tell a difference in my posture when I take it off. It's easier to stand straight. I'm more aware of correct posture now. My husband was so impressed that I had to buy one for him too. Immediately his coworkers noticed the difference in his posture. It takes a while to get used to it when riding but that only tells me how bad my posture was before wearing it.
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Work in Progress I bought the nude-colored "lite" version in a large because I have developed a bad habit of rounding my shoulders at the computer and it's affecting my riding, especially the sitting trot. (The large straps are quite long and I'll need to cut them off.) The "Shoulders Back" device works to remind rather than force. It's minimally intrusive. Having said that, the "invisibility" of it creates some problems already noted in other reviews: the straps over the shoulders are thin, narrow and dig into your arms; the Velcro attachments that adjust the length of the straps are flimsy. For instance, a little soft padding that one could attach at strategic points near one's arm area would be very helpful.
    Date published: 2013-08-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I put it on over a t-shirt and didn't think it was worth the price. The material felt cheap and the velcro is on small sections at the end of the straps. I returned the item with no hassle.
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product If you have a rider that needs that extra look thisit. If you try it you won't forget it.
    Date published: 2013-04-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Useless Shoulder Back I did not find this brace any help at all:It is awkward to put onIt will rub on the front of your shouldersStraps will slide of your shoulders if not very tightTake a deep breath - pull your shoulders upthen breathe out slowly and roll your shoulders back and down.This works better!!Try some Yoga instead with your riding
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Equitation Miracle I'd been out of riding for about 2 years, and my tendency to round my shoulders (I'm the tall and lanky kind) has gotten even worse now that I'm back in the saddle. I knew I needed some aid in order to help build the correct muscles needed to sit tall on my own, and a friend recommended this product to me. What a device! I wear it every day for a few hours, on or off the horse, and afterwards there is visible improvement. It's like having your own personal chiropractor - as my muscles relax, my back cracks - it's wonderful!If you do decide to buy it, though, be prepared to wear a t-shirt under it, as you won't want to wear it directly on the skin. Wearing two shirts is lighter than show clothes though, so it's not usually a problem!
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent I actually purchased this because I have an extremely weak right shoulder due to scar tissue. I have constant pain, but I have found that while wearing the Shoulders-back nearly all of my pain is alleviated. It's helped improve my balance in the saddle and during weight training as well. Can't say enough good things about it! You do need to wear it on top of a base layer as it will cause chaffing on the skin. I've also found that I can only wear it about 6-7 hours at a time. Totally worth the money. Great device to help you improve your posture!
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase As an "older equestrian", the Equifit shoulders back garment helps with improving my posture when riding as well as when I'm working on the computer. It doesn't "force" your shoulders into the correct position automatically, but helps "remind" you what good posture feels like. As a result, it has helped reduce shoulder pain overall and assists in improving my seat and balance when on my horse. Thanks!
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped me regain my posture I tore my rotator cuffs a few months ago, and even after physical therapy my shoulder stayed kind of caved in. I bought this in hopes it would "train" my shoulder to be in the right position. I started wearing it around the house, and noticed a change in my posture after just a few uses (30 minutes at a time, while I did household chores). I then started riding in it, and my posture improved and my shoulders were no longer making me unbalanced.
    Date published: 2012-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ShouldersBack This really works! It keeps my shoulders back and my trainer is saying less and less about my position. The stitching on one of the velcro straps did come up, but my mom easily sewed it back down. It might have been my own fault, though.
    Date published: 2012-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product but needs to be changed to make it more comfortable especially by the underarms as it gets a bit sore even with a shhrt underneath. I do like the way it helps my upper body but i felt that if i used it every day by underarms would get chaffed
    Date published: 2012-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool to help ride with shoulders back,head up.
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shoulders Back I recently purchased your Shoulders Back - I love it and have recommended it to everyone I know. I wear it riding, driving, working on my ranch. I haven't had any chafing at all, it's very comfortable. I can't imagine anything happening to it because it's very well made - but if something did I would immediately order another. It's so worth the price and has made my life so much easier and pain free.
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from shoulders back I purchased this item actually not for riding but to help correct my habit of slumping my shoulders while on the computer, desk, etc. which a lot of times would end not only sore shoulders/neck but a headache. It does work. My only suggestion is the way it cuts under the arms. I first purchased a youth/adult, then the large because it cut under my arms, but went back to the youth/adult because there was no difference in the width of the back between the straps so they both cut equally sharp under my arms. The difference in size was just the band length. It definitely works, but personally I think it would annoy me while riding.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Schooling I've been using a Shoulder's Back for years and always recommend them to people who may have trouble maintaining good posture, and who tend to ride more on their own than in lessons. Its a great reminder to lift your chest.Do wear it over at least a short sleeve shirt. I used to wear it under my shirt and it caused rub marks in my armpit area. Also if you tend to have bad posture all the time I recommend wearing all day for several days.
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy :) I really love this, but you have to wear it over a tshirt or else you'll get rubs.
    Date published: 2011-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Can Really Feel The Difference! My trainer is always telling me to keep my shoulders back, so this seemed like an obvious purchase. Ever since I bought it my trainer has complained about my position less and less and I can really feel the difference. The only negative is that the material rubs the skin so you have to wear it over you shirt.
    Date published: 2010-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product When I first received the Shoulders Back in the mail my initial impression was "Oh I just spent nearly $50 on some material and strips of velcro". However, after riding in it, my view totally changed and it was soooo worth the money.Both my trainers remarked what a huge difference it made to my upper body in terms of my shoulders not being rounding and as a result opening up my upper body. It has also hugely helped to reduce my shoulder and back pain.Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2010-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from You Don't Have to Be A Rider to Appreciate ShouldersBack has helped alleviate my upper back pain both on and off the horse. It's really improved my posture and helped me build muscle memory to be able to maintain it without wearing the brace. My only complaint is that it chafes under my arms, so you have to wear an undershirt with it. With the summer heat, I've had to devise another solution. Cut the toes off a pair of bobby socks and stick the straps of the ShouldersBack through the "sock tube" and adjust the socks from there. Adds some bulk but really helps.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A winner!! My first lesson while wearing my EquiFit was the first lesson I didn't hear, "Shoulder's back," constantly. It doesn't replace good technique, nor can it make a bad rider good, but it can make a good rider better. I found out that my trainer even uses one once in a while for herself... Since I spend so much on aids for my horse, it makes sense to spend a little on aids for myself!
    Date published: 2010-06-04
    • y_2017, m_2, d_23, h_19
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_46
    • loc_en_US, sid_2360, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders