Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

EquiFit Gel Bands

EquiFit
- Item #18100

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

EquiFit Gel Bands protect rider's heels, ankles and legs from rubs and irritation while riding and are ideal for breaking in new boots! The Equifit Gel Bands stay in place while riding and fit comfortably and unobtrusively under tall boots, chaps and half chaps.  The EquiFit Gel Bands are made of a unique stretchable fabric lined with a polymer gel that gradually releases a soothing mineral oil into the skin. Imported.

Favorite Features

  • No more suffering through breaking in your boots!
  • Very stretchy outer lined with a polymer gel for comfort
  • Dermatologist tested
  • Hand wash after use, mild soap and air dry

Sizing It Up

Short: 3" x 5" (pair)
Tall: 3" x 10" (individual)

**If you have any circulatory problems or diabetes, please consult your physician before use. Discontinue use if irritation, rash or pain occurs.

Made in the USA

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Noble Outfitters XtremeSoft Boot Socks offer cushioned ...
    Description:
    The Noble Outfitters XtremeSoft Boot Socks offer cushioned comfort on the foot bed while still maintaining breathability. This innovative sock is especially great for hot weather riding with stretch mesh inserts that aid in increasing airflow. Favorite Features Cushioned comfort ...
    EquiFit Heel Lifts allow you to get the ...
    Description:
    EquiFit Heel Lifts allow you to get the fit and comfort you need to perform your best Add up to 3/8" of lift instantly, or peel away one or two layers to create a 1/4" or 1/8" lift in just ...
    Riding is an athletic endeavor - and these ...
    Description:
    Riding is an athletic endeavor - and these socks are developed for the needs of the rider! The SmartPak Tall Boot Compression sock improves the blood flow by gently squeezing legs, which moves blood back up and boosts circulation. Exclusive ...
    The Pikeur Stripe Boot Socks are super stylish ...
    Description:
    The Pikeur Stripe Boot Socks are super stylish and perfectly wearable both in and out of the barn! Knee high.   Made from 80% Cotton/ 20% Nylon. Machine Washable.   Made in Germany.
    Why We Love This The Noble Outfitters Over ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Noble Outfitters Over the Calf Peddies Boot Socks fit perfectly under tall boots or half chaps!  Innovative design gives you protection in the areas where you need it most while still providing an ultra-thin calf ...
    The Noble Outfitters Best Dang Boot Sock is ...
    Description:
    The Noble Outfitters Best Dang Boot Sock is the perfect lightweight performance sock. Heel-to-toe padded protection and an arch compression band keeps you comfortable all day long. The prefect fit top keeps socks from sliding down, even for a quick ...
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    EquiFit Gel Bands is rated 4.3448 out of 5 by 58.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING I'm so happy I bought this before breaking in my new tall boots! It has saved me from tons of bad blisters!
    Date published: 2015-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase ever! I bought these on the recommendation of the Smartpak representative to break in a new pair of boots. I bought the tall one and cut it in half to use on both feet. I was able to wear my new boots without getting blisters on my ankles or heels. I even used them around my knees after the ankles were broken in to prevent rubs from the boot height. They work great and make your skin nice and soft underneath. I've been using them for about 1 month and they are still like new. I will never break in new boots again without them!
    Date published: 2014-11-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected! This product did not live up to the description of it. Of no help to me at all.
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I bought these for my daughter on a recommendation from one of her teammates. Her new boots were rubbing. She says, "They're amazing! I now ride in my new boots and don't feel a thing!" Meaning, no pain, no rubbing, no blisters!
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a charm! I actually use this for fencing. I ruptured a tendon in my elbow and was unable to fence until it healed. I got the gel band and use it on my elbow. It provides compression and support to the elbow and let's me fence again. I have purchased two already and will continue to use it.
    Date published: 2014-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Prevented blisters Recently my tall boots and muck boots have been giving me tons of blisters on my heel. No blisters when wearing these
    Date published: 2014-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are aaaamazing Based of another review I bought these to help with breaking in new tall boots. love the sqooshy feel in the boots. I tend for my ankles to rub on the back of new boots. Not with these on! just do yourself a favor and buy one. I bought the tall set not realising it was a pack of one only. really since i was only using it to protect my ankles i just cut it into two pieces. I don't have them long enough to comment on longevity but so far so good.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from They will do! It was recommended to me to get these gel bands to break in the Tredstep Donatellos, which tend to rub everyone's heels off! They're the only reason I can ride in my tall boots, I can't bear it without them. However, they pill very easily, and are pretty bulky on your ankle. They don't stay in place, so about halfway through the ride my boots are already rubbing. and they really irritate my skin if I wear them for very long! So, unless I get new tall boots, these will work. But I wouldn't get them if you don't absolutely have to.
    Date published: 2014-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works perfectly No more sore ankles in my English or western boots. They seem thick but fit into the boots with no problem. My English boots have full zippers and my western boots pull on and the bands work fine with either pair of boots. I wear them over my boot socks and they work great like that.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for breaking in boots! I've be struggling with breaking in my new boots. I've tried about everything. This works! I'm so excited. A little thicker than I thought, but they work!
    Date published: 2014-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must-have for all boot wearers!! These are the BEST. They're a life-saver when breaking in new boots, and just a terrific comfort-enhancing accessory with any boots. Love these. Comfortable!!
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are a lifesaver! These have made wearing my Tredstep DaVinci boots possible. I'd be lost without them. The zipper has caught the fabric a few times and it has a few pulls now, but overall a well made product.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from saving my heels! I bought these in tall because I am breaking in new tall boots (Tredstep Donatellos). I wore them in my tall boots around the house about 5 times and rode in them once and then I decided my boots were probably pretty well broken in. Big mistake! I rode without these gel bands once and ended up with blisters on both heels. Since, I have gone back to the gel bands while my blisters are healing and am able to keep riding. I may use them permanently because they are so nice and squishy. They have held up well after a week or so of regular use; I haven't noticed any thinning of the gel or stretching out of the fabric, but I do have a couple of mild issues with them. First, they make my feet so bulky I can't fit in my barn shoes very well when I am not in my tall boots. Not a huge issue, but mildly inconvenient. They also tend to slip down around my ankles a little; again not a big issue and it hasn't compromised the fit of anything or caused any additional rubbing, but be aware of potential slipping. Finally, they don't breathe or wick sweat away at all. Your feet will be wet when you take them off. That said, it's only a mild inconvenience and easy to take them off and let your feet dry when you're done riding and they have saved my heels and feet from massive blisters. I would still recommend them for the breaking in period of tall boots.
    Date published: 2014-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific product! These gel bands allowed to continue to ride while my ankles healed from rubs from new paddock boots. Did not move around or bunch up as I half expected they would, unobtrusive under the boots. Super...
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW - I may never ride without them! I bought these for my daughter who is breaking in a new pair of boots. She has proclaimed that they are AMAZING, and she may never ride without the gel bands (even once her new boots are broken in)!
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Protection from Blisters Love these gel bands -- especially while breaking in a new pair of boots. They are comfortable and don't get in the way of my boot fit. I love wearing them even when my boots are broken in as they provide a soft cushion around my ankle. Highly recommend them!
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Blister Protection! My tall boots give me nasty blisters on my heels and behind my knees, to the point that the blisters usually end up bleeding. I cut the tube in half, and wore these at the horse show on Saturday around my knees. After 12 hours in the boots I had absolutely no blisters, not even soreness or bruising behind my knees. A miracle! I did not wear any around my heels on Saturday, which turned out to be a huge mistake. I ended up getting awful blisters on my heels to the point that I thought I could not ride on Sunday. I went out Saturday night and bought another one of these, and Sunday I wore them around both my knees and heels. Even with the huge blisters on my ankles, I was very comfortable in my boots! Again, a miracle! They are durable, and after 2 days of 12 hours of wear, they are just a little stretched out but no holes, and can definitely be worn again. The gel is moist and will make your skin feel wet, like you are sweating, but I did not mind this at all. In fact, it really helped make my open blisters feel better on Sunday, similar I believe to a burn bandage. Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2013-09-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Felt awesome while I had them on. Took off my boots and both bands had holes in them. I wasn't even wearing them with new boots, just boots that moved too much around my ankle. Very disappointed in the quality.
    Date published: 2013-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money These gel bands are amazing! I always have had trouble with my tall boots rubbing and the last pair I have had rubbed my heels raw. I have had the gel bands for 3 months and I have seen a huge difference! My heels have heeled up and have not gotten anymore rubs, I ordered the short height and I love how they fit. I have washed these and worn them a lot so the durability is fantastic. I was woking at my barn's summer camp 2 weeks ago and i was on my feet all day and doing a lot of leading horses and one day I didn't wear them for an hour and my heels were already were already rubbed raw. So I saw excellent quality for the price.
    Date published: 2013-08-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good protection, sweaty ankles! I received the gel bands this weekend and wore them under my new tall boots yesterday. I had two rides in the tall boots previously, and the zipper in the back definitely dug in to my ankle.The gel bands do a nice job of absorbing the rubbing that would otherwise be going into your ankle, but they really made my legs sweat. The linings of my boots were soaked with sweat where my heel goes. The sweat is a decent trade-off for saving my ankles.Not sure on durability yet - will report back after several more rides.
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOT sold in pairs! Had I read I would have realized this, I was just so desperate for something to make my boots work I took the advice of other reviewers and bought these but over$50 for both feet! I am glad I ordered the tall. I was able to cut it and use it for both feet. Saddly with them on my boots don't fit, they didn't rub though! lol I will be keeping these as I had to mutilate them to make them work. Maybe they will work for something in the future...
    Date published: 2013-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Wear Them Every Day! The only way I can wear my dress boots is with these gel bands. I put them under my breeches and socks and they stay in place well! I've hand washed them and they came out well. I have basically worn them every day (including in the winter with my winter boots) for 2 years and they are a bit stretched out now so I'm considering replacing them soon. I also use them on my horse's legs to prevent rubs on his cannon bone!
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I love these! The help a lot. The only thing is that they deform quickly. But other the that I LOVE them!
    Date published: 2013-04-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for breaking in boots but wear out quick I am overall happy with my purchase as they have allowed me to break in my new tall boots without developing blisters. However after about 4 uses they have become ripped and I don't suspect they will hold up much longer which is disappointing considering the price of the tall style, of which I bought two. I wear mine on the outside of my sock as they're easier to adjust while getting your boot on, which may have contributed to the ripping. I would deffinately recommend these if you have a pair if tall boots that are simply to painful to break in.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from On the fence with this one... At first I LOVED this product. Great idea...feels great on your ankle/feet/wherever. BUT...wear thru & deform QUICKLY. If they were less expensive, I'd recommend them and buy more.
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Meh... I had ordered the short pair in order to wear around my ankles because I was getting really bad blisters on the back of my heels. I wore them once for about 4 hours just standing and walking around at work and when I got home, there was a hole all the way through them from where my heels had rubbed against my boot. They do feel fantastic and work, but they wear through REALLY quickly. It probably wouldn't be so bad if you wore them around your calves for tall boot rubs and stuff like that.If you have a problem similar to mine, I'd just recommend thicker socks and big band aids around your heels because it would be far cheaper and just as effective.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous item! Great item to get you through new boots, rubs from breeches, anything that needs protection. Perfect size for around ankle, knee, heel or forefoot! Absolutely a great idea that really works!
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great idea! I returned these but they are a great idea! Decided to just keep the short ones for around my ankles with new boots and around knee that had a rub. But it's a great great product with bad marketing because I never heard of them until a few weeks ago!
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would NOT recommend This product wore thru after a very few times of wearing. It was way over priced and way over rated.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my boots! I bought these because my boots were too big in the ankle and really rubbing. I was about to give up on those boots but then I found the Gel Bands.They have completely solved the problem. My boots fit great now. And the Gel Bands themselves are very comfortable and they stay in place.I only gave the durability a 4 because I have only had these for about a month and don't know how they will last.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    • 2016-02-12T14:53CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_53
    • loc_en_US, sid_8100, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.