Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

EquiFit Gel Bands

EquiFit
- Item #18100
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

EquiFit Gel Bands protect rider's heels, ankles and legs from rubs and irritation while riding and are ideal for breaking in new boots! The Equifit Gel Bands stay in place while riding and fit comfortably and unobtrusively under tall boots, chaps and half chaps.  The EquiFit Gel Bands are made of a unique stretchable fabric lined with a polymer gel that gradually releases a soothing mineral oil into the skin. Imported.

Favorite Features

  • No more suffering through breaking in your boots!
  • Very stretchy outer lined with a polymer gel for comfort
  • Dermatologist tested
  • Washable and reusable

Sizing It Up

Short: 3" x 5" (pair)
Tall: 3" x 10" (individual)

**If you have any circulatory problems or diabetes, please consult your physician before use. Discontinue use if irritation, rash or pain occurs.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    EquiFit Gel Bands is rated 4.3333 out of 5 by 54.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from They will do! It was recommended to me to get these gel bands to break in the Tredstep Donatellos, which tend to rub everyone's heels off! They're the only reason I can ride in my tall boots, I can't bear it without them. However, they pill very easily, and are pretty bulky on your ankle. They don't stay in place, so about halfway through the ride my boots are already rubbing. and they really irritate my skin if I wear them for very long! So, unless I get new tall boots, these will work. But I wouldn't get them if you don't absolutely have to.
    Date published: 2014-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works perfectly No more sore ankles in my English or western boots. They seem thick but fit into the boots with no problem. My English boots have full zippers and my western boots pull on and the bands work fine with either pair of boots. I wear them over my boot socks and they work great like that.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for breaking in boots! I've be struggling with breaking in my new boots. I've tried about everything. This works! I'm so excited. A little thicker than I thought, but they work!
    Date published: 2014-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must-have for all boot wearers!! These are the BEST. They're a life-saver when breaking in new boots, and just a terrific comfort-enhancing accessory with any boots. Love these. Comfortable!!
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are a lifesaver! These have made wearing my Tredstep DaVinci boots possible. I'd be lost without them. The zipper has caught the fabric a few times and it has a few pulls now, but overall a well made product.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from saving my heels! I bought these in tall because I am breaking in new tall boots (Tredstep Donatellos). I wore them in my tall boots around the house about 5 times and rode in them once and then I decided my boots were probably pretty well broken in. Big mistake! I rode without these gel bands once and ended up with blisters on both heels. Since, I have gone back to the gel bands while my blisters are healing and am able to keep riding. I may use them permanently because they are so nice and squishy. They have held up well after a week or so of regular use; I haven't noticed any thinning of the gel or stretching out of the fabric, but I do have a couple of mild issues with them. First, they make my feet so bulky I can't fit in my barn shoes very well when I am not in my tall boots. Not a huge issue, but mildly inconvenient. They also tend to slip down around my ankles a little; again not a big issue and it hasn't compromised the fit of anything or caused any additional rubbing, but be aware of potential slipping. Finally, they don't breathe or wick sweat away at all. Your feet will be wet when you take them off. That said, it's only a mild inconvenience and easy to take them off and let your feet dry when you're done riding and they have saved my heels and feet from massive blisters. I would still recommend them for the breaking in period of tall boots.
    Date published: 2014-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific product! These gel bands allowed to continue to ride while my ankles healed from rubs from new paddock boots. Did not move around or bunch up as I half expected they would, unobtrusive under the boots. Super...
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW - I may never ride without them! I bought these for my daughter who is breaking in a new pair of boots. She has proclaimed that they are AMAZING, and she may never ride without the gel bands (even once her new boots are broken in)!
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Protection from Blisters Love these gel bands -- especially while breaking in a new pair of boots. They are comfortable and don't get in the way of my boot fit. I love wearing them even when my boots are broken in as they provide a soft cushion around my ankle. Highly recommend them!
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Blister Protection! My tall boots give me nasty blisters on my heels and behind my knees, to the point that the blisters usually end up bleeding. I cut the tube in half, and wore these at the horse show on Saturday around my knees. After 12 hours in the boots I had absolutely no blisters, not even soreness or bruising behind my knees. A miracle! I did not wear any around my heels on Saturday, which turned out to be a huge mistake. I ended up getting awful blisters on my heels to the point that I thought I could not ride on Sunday. I went out Saturday night and bought another one of these, and Sunday I wore them around both my knees and heels. Even with the huge blisters on my ankles, I was very comfortable in my boots! Again, a miracle! They are durable, and after 2 days of 12 hours of wear, they are just a little stretched out but no holes, and can definitely be worn again. The gel is moist and will make your skin feel wet, like you are sweating, but I did not mind this at all. In fact, it really helped make my open blisters feel better on Sunday, similar I believe to a burn bandage. Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2013-09-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Felt awesome while I had them on. Took off my boots and both bands had holes in them. I wasn't even wearing them with new boots, just boots that moved too much around my ankle. Very disappointed in the quality.
    Date published: 2013-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money These gel bands are amazing! I always have had trouble with my tall boots rubbing and the last pair I have had rubbed my heels raw. I have had the gel bands for 3 months and I have seen a huge difference! My heels have heeled up and have not gotten anymore rubs, I ordered the short height and I love how they fit. I have washed these and worn them a lot so the durability is fantastic. I was woking at my barn's summer camp 2 weeks ago and i was on my feet all day and doing a lot of leading horses and one day I didn't wear them for an hour and my heels were already were already rubbed raw. So I saw excellent quality for the price.
    Date published: 2013-08-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good protection, sweaty ankles! I received the gel bands this weekend and wore them under my new tall boots yesterday. I had two rides in the tall boots previously, and the zipper in the back definitely dug in to my ankle.The gel bands do a nice job of absorbing the rubbing that would otherwise be going into your ankle, but they really made my legs sweat. The linings of my boots were soaked with sweat where my heel goes. The sweat is a decent trade-off for saving my ankles.Not sure on durability yet - will report back after several more rides.
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOT sold in pairs! Had I read I would have realized this, I was just so desperate for something to make my boots work I took the advice of other reviewers and bought these but over$50 for both feet! I am glad I ordered the tall. I was able to cut it and use it for both feet. Saddly with them on my boots don't fit, they didn't rub though! lol I will be keeping these as I had to mutilate them to make them work. Maybe they will work for something in the future...
    Date published: 2013-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Wear Them Every Day! The only way I can wear my dress boots is with these gel bands. I put them under my breeches and socks and they stay in place well! I've hand washed them and they came out well. I have basically worn them every day (including in the winter with my winter boots) for 2 years and they are a bit stretched out now so I'm considering replacing them soon. I also use them on my horse's legs to prevent rubs on his cannon bone!
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I love these! The help a lot. The only thing is that they deform quickly. But other the that I LOVE them!
    Date published: 2013-04-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for breaking in boots but wear out quick I am overall happy with my purchase as they have allowed me to break in my new tall boots without developing blisters. However after about 4 uses they have become ripped and I don't suspect they will hold up much longer which is disappointing considering the price of the tall style, of which I bought two. I wear mine on the outside of my sock as they're easier to adjust while getting your boot on, which may have contributed to the ripping. I would deffinately recommend these if you have a pair if tall boots that are simply to painful to break in.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from On the fence with this one... At first I LOVED this product. Great idea...feels great on your ankle/feet/wherever. BUT...wear thru & deform QUICKLY. If they were less expensive, I'd recommend them and buy more.
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Meh... I had ordered the short pair in order to wear around my ankles because I was getting really bad blisters on the back of my heels. I wore them once for about 4 hours just standing and walking around at work and when I got home, there was a hole all the way through them from where my heels had rubbed against my boot. They do feel fantastic and work, but they wear through REALLY quickly. It probably wouldn't be so bad if you wore them around your calves for tall boot rubs and stuff like that.If you have a problem similar to mine, I'd just recommend thicker socks and big band aids around your heels because it would be far cheaper and just as effective.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous item! Great item to get you through new boots, rubs from breeches, anything that needs protection. Perfect size for around ankle, knee, heel or forefoot! Absolutely a great idea that really works!
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great idea! I returned these but they are a great idea! Decided to just keep the short ones for around my ankles with new boots and around knee that had a rub. But it's a great great product with bad marketing because I never heard of them until a few weeks ago!
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would NOT recommend This product wore thru after a very few times of wearing. It was way over priced and way over rated.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my boots! I bought these because my boots were too big in the ankle and really rubbing. I was about to give up on those boots but then I found the Gel Bands.They have completely solved the problem. My boots fit great now. And the Gel Bands themselves are very comfortable and they stay in place.I only gave the durability a 4 because I have only had these for about a month and don't know how they will last.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed! When I trail ride for a few hours doing a fair amount of trotting I always get a rub on the front of my ankle/shin area from my half chaps. Although it doesn't hurt it looks awful and lasts several days then I do it again. I didn't even know this gel band product existed until I was browsing the SmartPak website. This is another example of what a great resource SmartPak is for all things horse & rider. I've used the bands three times now and they are just the ticket and even in hot weather I don't notice them. I can't say how durable they will be but I'm pretty sure I'll get at least one season of use.
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more rubs! I have suffered many stirrup leather rubs while jumping and got into the habbit of wrapping my calfs with guaze to prevent them. I was skeptical that these would work, but they do, no more rubs! I have worn them under 1/2 chaps and in 90 degree heat, with complete success. You do have to order 2, but they cover from knee to ankle. Can't say how long the elastic will last. Will have to do an update.
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my legs The inside of my knees rub really bad on occasion (we're talking 1/2 inch wide, 1 inch long# and my britches look like a bloody mess #especially white ones!). I got these and LOVE them. They have saved my legs. I've already recommended them to friends.
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't live without them I constantly get rubbed/pinched on the back of my knee and these have been a lifesaver! Before I would have to use large bandaids that often fell off. I use these everyday, and my first band lasted me 2 months plus, and now has stretched out too much to use. So while they are pricey, if you care for them as instructed they are well worth it!
    Date published: 2012-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They Really Work I purchased my first pair of these over a year ago and wore them under my tall boots at least 8-9 shows before they had to be replaced. They really work and don't add bulk to even the snuggest fitting boots. They releive the pressure at my heel where the zipper bunches and allows me to walk around in my show boots all day with no pain. I was recently at a show and a friend was complaining about knee pressure-I suggested a pair which we found in one of the tack trailers and he loved them! You just need to try them for yourself.
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can wear my tall boots with no back of the heel rubbing any longer! I might have liked them longer but they were not available when I ordered, but they protect well. Great product.
    Date published: 2012-05-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Must have for breaking in Boots I bought this product because breaking in tall boots is not fun. My ankles killed where the leather was droping at the ankle and behind my knees didn't fell the greatest either. My friend saw these in a smartpak catalog and suggested I try them, glad i did! I noticed a difference the first time I wore them, but didn't know if they made that much of a difference, so the next time i rode, I rode without them....yea huge difference, from then on out I have worn them everytime. Next time I have to break in boots, I might get a pair for behind my knees as well!!I subtracted a star because I wish they were longer.
    Date published: 2012-05-14
    • 2015-05-24T08:24CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_49
    • loc_en_US, sid_8100, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.