Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

EquiFit CleanBuckets

EquiFit
- Item #15896
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Equifit's newest addition to the Ag Silver line, the EquiFit CleanBucket minimizes bucket slime! Testing shows that one to two months can lapse in between bucket scrubbings. Horses prefer the taste of CleanBucket water to that of traditional water buckets.

Favorite Features

  • Infused with ionic silver to control bacterial growth and minimize bucket slime
  • Reinforced handles
  • Made in the USA

Sizing It Up

20 qt

 

 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    EquiFit CleanBuckets is rated 4.7619 out of 5 by 42.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from NICE I clean water buckets once a week, dump, rinse, and dry them daily, but my gelding wasn't drinking as much as he does in cooler weather. I bought this bucket and he loves it-drinking better than ever! I tested it by not cleaning it until I felt the slime. Approx. 6 weeks in hot/humid weather I felt a bit of slime. The horse is happy, I'm happy!
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey but worth it! Clean water makes a happy horse. I decided to purchase these for all my horses and have been very pleased. Though I scrub out the water buckets daily, these buckets making cleaning a breeze. I even bought an extra bucket for my outside farm dogs- the price is a bit high, but these are very durable and well made.
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps with Dunkers and Messy Eaters! I have a senior gelding that loves to wash his mouth out in his bucket, splash to cool off and avoid flies, etc. so anything that helps keep his bucket cleaner is a plus! Cuts down on the slime--even in N TX summers where the heat means algae filled troughs--but don't expect it to be nonexistent, just greatly reduced. Just wish it was offered in colors, as each of our horses have their own color/pattern (helps with instant recognition of what item belongs to who, or what child left an item out!). Plus you will want to mark it with your name, as no one seems to notice that the EquiFit name on it means it's not just any ol' black bucket, and at this price you don't want someone at a show or at your barn walking off with it!! (Yes it really happened to me :)
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great bucket to have We finally have our own place for my horse now, and I purchased this bucket for the high reviews it received. It truly is a nice bucket to have. It does what it says, is made well, and I love how large it is!
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from so far so good Well in three weeks of no cleaning, there's still no scum despite dunking. Looking forward to replacing our other bucket too if this trend continues :)
    Date published: 2012-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from better then ever expected i got these last year after the buckets my barn gave me would constantly get grimy and nasty within a matter of weeks. since then i have not had to clean these buckets... at all :) i expected them to be a little less nasty but not spotless all the time! they are amazing and i have ordered another to use as a grain bucket and will be seeing how that goes in the next few weeks. more then i could have ever expected :)
    Date published: 2011-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really does work Have used this bucket for a year now. It really doesn't get slimy and gross like normal buckets so I think it's a good investment. We've never had to scrub this bucket - just rinse it out and it stays clean. Hopefully it continues to last!
    Date published: 2011-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Scum bucket! Hopefully this will limit scum for years to come. No ones special horse wants a dirty drink. Thanks.
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy!!! I must say, I was not sure it would work. It does!! I decided to test it.. it takes about 30days to start to get even start to get slime. We just did empty and refill bucket, just to see how well it does. it did GREAT!!! Now I don't have to worry about bleaching buckets every couple of days. We have well water too and it does help reduce the smell by at least 70% which our pony loves that! It is a time saver for sure, but don't think you can just top off buckets daily and get no slime..you do have to empty daily and refilll. Very easy to re-activate silver just a soft mesh tyoe brillo pad. I would not use the steel, but syn. fiber ones. Hope this helped! : )
    Date published: 2011-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm still waiting I purchased this bucket, hoping my horse would drink out of it more willingly than he did from his previous bucket. It hasn't seemed to make any difference at all in the amount of water he drinks overnight. He is turned out all day with access to a large water tank that I know he uses. I'm waiting to see if he changes his habits. I've had the bucket for a couple of weeks now.
    Date published: 2011-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! I have to say, I am surprised and impressed. Not only is my picky older horse drinking more water from this bucket, but there's no "beet pulp slime" ring from him rinsing his mouth. I still scrub the bucket twice a week and change the water daily, but it isn't nearly as time consuming. The bucket may be a bit more expensive than an average bucket, but if my horse drinks more water, it is SO worth it!
    Date published: 2011-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These people are on to something! I bought 4 of these buckets about 2 months ago. I have been testing them since. These people are on to something! These buckets work the way they say they will. I have only rinsed the buckets out since I've had them because I am testing them and after about 2 months of using them and only rinsing the buckets remain very fresh with no slime or odor. I will be ordering more of these buckets.
    Date published: 2011-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse is drinking 200% more water... I bought one of these buckets. I have three horses, but one drinks very little overnight in her stall. (They are out during the day.) Her consumption has routinely varied from zero to maybe draining two inches off the top. However, immediately after replacing her bucket with the EquiFit bucket, her water consumption skyrocketed. She is routinely drinking at least a half a bucket, and often 3/4 of a bucket of water consistently each and every night! I will buy more to put in the rest of my stalls, and extras to take to shows! FYI this product was also rated as one of the best products of the year by The Horse Journal.
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A success with my 'one rat' experiment I read about these buckets in The Horse Journal.. They were rated as one of the best products of the year. I have one horse who consistently drinks much less than the others - even though buckets are dumped and scrubbed with a brush each and every day. I got it, put it in her stall and immediately she started drinking more - where once about 2 inches would disappear overnight - now she is drinking at least a half a bucket every night - and I anticipate when it gets warmer she'll drink more. I'll be replacing all my buckets with these, and will also buy some to take to shows, since another horse drinks like a fish at home - but not so much at shows.They are $$ but worth it, and they also feel more substantial to me than similar buckets, so I think they will hold up well.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lives up to the hype so far...... I felt like an idiot buying $30 buckets. I felt like an even bigger idiot when they arrived and other than the fancy label they seemed perfectly ordinary. But, they absolutely live up to the hype so far. My horses *love* drinking from these buckets and empty them as soon as I fill them. I purchased them because I was worried about keeping my horses hydrated enough in the deep cold winter. Despite providing ice free water, they're just not eager to drink. But now thanks to these, I watch them empty bucket after bucket every day, and manure stays nice and soft and healthy. I could not be happier and I'll be buying more.
    Date published: 2010-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from slime-buster Really reduces algae buildup even after months of use. Need to brush out the buckets way less than half as often--spraying it w/a strong stream of water usually does the trick. Kind of spendy, but probably worth it.
    Date published: 2010-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Buckets Ever! Love love love these buckets! No more funky water at the end of a 100 degree day plus the water stays cooler - don't know how it works but it does. Just a note here, we dump rinse and refill our stall buckets both morning and night - with the other buckets by the end of the day the water and bucket both smelled funky and buckets had to be scrubbed. These new buckets are a time saver not to mention my horses drink more water! I have used several products from this company and have never been less than pleased!
    Date published: 2010-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best buckets we've had These anti-slime buckets are terrific.I have a regular bucket and one of these buckets hanging side-by-side on a pasture fence and it is the anti-slime bucket that they always use first.
    Date published: 2010-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Slime, Fresh Water, Excellent Item Bought the Equifit bucket after reading a review in the Horse Journal. We have a problem with water going 'bad' after 12 hours here because of the extreme heat in the summer. The horses simply do not drink out of the conventional Fortiflex buckets.I put the Equifit bucket in a stall, filled it and left it all day in 101 degree heat. Water smelled good and remained cool - an added plus - and the horse who has that stall drank it down when he came in for dinner! The water in the other bucket which was filled at noon he ignored.I will be buying Equifit buckets for all the stalls and enjoying the savings on shipping by ordering them to be sent with my usual monthly Smartpaks.
    Date published: 2010-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great idea for controlling bucket slime This was the second equi fit clean bucket I have purchased. I tried the first one, and loved it. While I haven't gone through the hottest part of the summer, it has done its job so far in the slime eliminating category.
    Date published: 2010-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slime Free! My horse dunks everything, and his buckets grow slime that doesn't scrub off as a result. I've had 2 of these in his stall for 5 days now, and they're spotless! Just a rinse everyday keeps them clean as new. The price did seem high for water buckets, but these are worth every cent to keep my horse supplied with slime-free water.
    Date published: 2010-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Horse Knows I hung the EquiFit bucket and a plain plastic bucket in my horse's stall. The EquiFit bucket is always emptied first. My horse is a tireless dunker, but a wad of hay does not deter his draining the EquiFit first.Both buckets are emptied and scrubbed/wiped every day. I've not had to scrub as much as wipe the EquiFit. The plastic bucket gets slimy and requires more elbow grease to keep it slime free, especially in warm weather.
    Date published: 2010-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loving It We have only had this less then a month but I really have noticed a difference between ours and the others at the barn!
    Date published: 2010-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fresh water at last I have two horses that prefer the bucket to their automatic waterers. Never have they emptied their water buckets to the last drop until a few days ago when I gave them their new Equifit buckets. I am excited to use them at shows since they seem to affect the taste of the water in a positive way.
    Date published: 2010-02-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected I expected this bucket to stay cleaner longer than it did. I bought it for a hay dunker and it could not control the slime he created. Being a clean water bucket control freak, I had to wash this bucket as often as the others. It was not the slime control miracle I had hoped for!
    Date published: 2009-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Staple!! This bucket is the best ever. I had two geldings in a barn. The owner used plain plastic buckets that got covered in slime in a short while, even if I scrubbed them. I decided to get these. SO worth the investment. They stayed slime-free for months. And when I did scrub them, it was only to scrub a very minimal amt of slime. Horses drank more, Very pleased! Hope they come out with stock tanks for next summer!
    Date published: 2009-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from buckets love it my horse just drinks out this bucket he doesent like to drink from the other bucket so i just bought another one and its still clean!
    Date published: 2009-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from He actually drinks now! For some reason my horse as always been a picky drinker and doesn't drink much in general. I decided to try this bucket before I commited to any supplements. Believe it or not this bucket has actually increased his water consumption to an amount im comfortable with, not to mention its not getting any slime on it! This bucket is going to pay for itself in no time, because it was either this or an electrolyte I really didn't want to use.
    Date published: 2009-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! When I saw this bucket I had to give it a try! I’m a huge fan of all Equi-Fit products, so I knew this bucket had to be great. It’s a nice heavy duty plastic, with a strong metal handle. As for the slime fighting- it really works! My horse loves to eat a bite of grain, and then sip water. The regular plastic water buckets would get a film on them by the next morning from his grain dunking, but not this one. You can dump the water from the previous night and the bucket is clean! The initial cost does seem expensive, but believe me the quality and convenience are worth it.
    Date published: 2009-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I was a bit leary about purchasing these buckets as I wasn't sure they would do what they said but after reading a few reviews I made the plunge. I ordered 2 buckets, one for each of my horses and they have been great. No slime, no scrubbing and one of my horses is a major hay dunker so his bucket would normally get gunky fast. Not so with the Equifit Clean bucket. I would highly recommend this bucket.
    Date published: 2009-06-09
    • 2015-08-29T01:25CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_40
    • loc_en_US, sid_5896, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.