Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

ELT Saphira Thermo Coat

ELT
- Item #21322
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ELT Saphira Thermo Coat is the ultimate cold weather riding coat!

Imported.

Favorite Features
  • Wind & water repellent material featuring diagonal quilting seams keeps you warm in the toughest of conditions 
  • Reflective details make it perfect for the trails and low light conditions
  • Two large patch pockets with reflecting piping seams and additional side pockets
  • 2 breast pockets with zipper 
  • Shortened 2-way zipper and long riding vents with leg loops to keep the riding flaps in place
  • Arm pit ventilation openings 
  • Detachable hood 
  • Soft fleece collar, adds extra coziness against your chin 
  • Machine washable, 73% polyester, 27% nylon, Liner and Fill: 100% polyester
Key Specifications
  • Style: Long winter coat
  • Material: 100% Polyester
  • Waterproof: No

Sizing

Available in sizes:
XS (6)
S (8)
M (10)
L (12)
XL (14) 
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Style Long winter coat
Material 100% Polyester
Waterproof No
Insulated Yes
Hood Yes
Special Features Shortened 2-way zipper and long riding vents with leg loops.
Customizable No
You Might Like

    Reviews

    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    ELT Saphira Thermo Coat is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 63.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it love it love it My new favorite jacket. Super warm and cozy. I wanted room for layers so I got a medium instead of small (5'10, 145#) and it fits great. Slightly tight in the shoulders sometimes, but I always have that issue. Seems like it will hold up for a long time. Great to ride in too
    Date published: 2016-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter coat out there! I've coveted this coat for awhile, and after hearing reviews from friends that own this coat, I decided to make the purchase. I received it days before the latest "polar vortex"- and I'm so glad I did! This coat is super warm, the exterior shell feels like a rip stop material and it blocks those blistery winds that whip across barren corn fields. I love the extra pockets, but I have had a little trouble getting the zipper to connect before zipping it up, which is why I dropped the quality by a star. I've worn this coat in 0* weather and was warm while doing chores and tacking up. I've also used it during our warm-up before peeling it off during harder work. I can't recommend this coat highly enough. If you live in the northern part of the country- this coat is an essential!
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice heavy coat I bought this coat to ride outside durning the winter, it is very nice, though I wish it had leg straps. When it is windy, it will blow up off of my legs... brrrr. It is also very good for teaching, as it is heavier than my other one.
    Date published: 2016-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great styling and price! Great coat for snowy Colorado winters. Love the back zips and styling is GREAT!
    Date published: 2016-11-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Very disappointed, Keeps me warm however the seams around the front pockets came undone. The pockets are hanging off the jacket and are useless. I look homeless. The jacket is made of a very thin material so any time it slightly gets caught on something it rips and can not be re-sewn because of the type of material. I got most use out of the jacket this year even though it was bought 2 years ago. I usually have very good experiences with smartpak customer service however this time was not the case. I sent in pictures as asked after the first phone call. Then had to follow up and call 3 more times until someone would give me an answer or get back to me. Then after about 2 weeks I was told most they would do for me is give me $20.00 off buying a new one even though they had not seen the pictures (which I had sent in 2x at that point as requested by customer service to 2 different representatives). I would be paying more then I did when I originally bought it being it was on sale. Not happy and all I want at this point is a long north face- better for your money
    Date published: 2016-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional Winter Barn Coat I've had this coat for about a month now and have put it to good use. I purchased the jacket at a discounted price and for the cost it has been a worthwhile investment. It's great for my long days of teaching and looks professional and stylish in the barn. It's very functional for saddle time but I find that I get too warm while riding in it and often take it off before my ride is over. The craftsmanship could use improvement, after the first wash a few thread ends started appearing here and there and a hole started in the inner lining of one sleeve. I agree with the other reviews re: the zipper but that's not a deal breaker to me. For the sale price purchase this jacket has been awesome and everyone loves it.
    Date published: 2016-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Warm I got this for those early morning feedings and riding in the winter. I havent been able to try it out riding but love feeding in it, I am so warm and toasty, even in 30mph wind!
    Date published: 2016-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best coat. Made for the serious rider! I bought this for a Xmas present for myself. I wanted a coat that would be warm and work in the saddle. What I really like about this is that it is long. Something you don't often find in riding wear. It covers my legs so there is no need for overpants. Clearly made for riders, this coat has nice features and works in the saddle. This is very important when you ride often and in the cold and dark as I have to while working full time. This coat looks so good you could wear it places other than the barn, but who goes anywhere but the barn? I did think the sizes ran small no had to exchange it for a larger size. The Smartpack return process was awesome!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2016-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy it! I am actually disappointed the temps have warmed up and I can't wear this coat any longer! This coat is so warm, perfect for barn chores and riding! I actually found that in temperatures much above freezing it was actually TOO warm! Really well made, deep pockets, and all the bells and whistles you would need. Perfect for cold weather climates! I normally wear a small in most jackets, but I ordered a medium since I knew I would be layering. The fit is perfect--my only complaint is that its not very tailored at the waist, but then for the purposes of barn chores and schooling in the ring I will forgive this :)
    Date published: 2016-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this coat! This is a great coat for cold weather! It's so nice you almost want two! One for the barn and one to wear into town. I originally bought the small based on the measurements given but I found it a little tight through the shoulders for me. SmartPak was great about taking it back and sending me a size up right away at no additional charge in shipping. I love that about SmartPak!
    Date published: 2016-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So warm! This coat is amazing! So many great features, very well designed. Definitely the warmest coat I have ever owned. The sizing is a little weird, small if you go by the number (6, 8 etc) but normal if you go by the s, m, l sizing.Very comfortable in the saddle and also great for ground work. A great find!
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great to ride in! This coat has a flattering fit, I bought a 12, fits perfectly! Lots of great benefits, 2 way zip, washable, hood, back zippers open to allow to wear while riding, very warm! It is a 10!
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm but poor zipper design I was looking for a warm coat that would cover more than just my upper body and after reading all the great reviews I purchased this one!The Pros:- it is very warm, granted I live in Texas but it can get into the occasional 30s and to us that feels cold! :-)- I like the design of the skirt, the leg straps and the material in general!- It definitely covers more than my torso, which on a 5'3 vertically-challenged-frame can look a bit overwhelming, but I am definitely warm from head-to-toe (literally!).The Cons:- I cant believe no one else mentioned it (or maybe it's just my particular coat) but the front zipper sucks!!! Two issues: it's a pain to align the 2-part zipper, took me literally 5 min to get it to zip up the first time around! The other issue is that once you get it to zip up, the zipper gets caught into the inside lining! You have to be quite careful zipping up and down! So that's a bit too "high maintenance" for me coming from a riding piece of apparel...The zipper issue was not enough of a deal breaker to return it, but definitely enough to knock a star out! No one likes to wrestle with a zipper! :-) But other than that it's great and I now look forward to cold days at the barn!
    Date published: 2016-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unexpectedly WARM! I bought a Large, as that was the largest size still available. When I ordered, I thought I would have preferred an XL, to give me more room for layers, but it turned out it was a moot point. I can fit a sweater and "padded" vest underneath the coat without losing ease of movement. We have had nights lately in the sub-zero range (Fahrenheit scale) and there have been times where I almost get too warm while doing my basic barn chores (feeding and checking on 3 horses). It also is very comfortable for riding in (generally limited to times when temperatures are at least in the high teens). No more frozen thighs and butt. The only negative is that the coat doesn't come in sizes for "fluffy" ladies.
    Date published: 2016-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic quality Super well made, very warm. Fit is flattering and very comfortable.
    Date published: 2016-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great winter riding / teaching coat! I bought this coat about a month ago and have been pretty impressed with it! It does not require a ton of layers underneath to keep me warm! I love how long it is when riding or standing! I am a Riding instructor and wanted a longer coat for when I am standing and teaching lessons and this coat does the job. I am also the manager of a boarding facility and use this coat when feeding and turning horses out. The only thing I would say is for other barn chores (such as cleaning stalls) the coat may be a bit bulky. Other then that it's the best winter riding coat I've ever owned!
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very High Quality! I love the quality of this coat - the construction is superior to many products today - with seam backing, double stitching in many places, and high quality fabric. The sizing is accurate - I ordered a small and it fits me well if I don't wear a big sweater under it. I'm 5'4", 115', and have broad shoulders for my frame. I highly recommend this ELT brand and hope SmartPak continues to carry their high quality line.
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best coat ever!!! I purchased this coat after the horrid winter of 2014 and absolutely LOVE it! It is warm and very versatile.
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm! I bought this coat to wear in the cold while at the barn and I love it! It's very warm and fits very well! I love it!
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth it! I am obsessed with jackets. But I didn't have this one. When this was on sale and I realized I "needed" a warm LONG winter jacket, I thought I'd try it. Then we were hit with a major rain storm here in Northern CA (yay!!) and when I had no choice but to do ranch chores in the pouring rain, I reached for this coat. I wore it for over 2 hours outside (raining the whole time, in the low 30s) and combined with my Hunter wellies, I was dry and warm almost all over. The only part that got a little wet was behind my knees because I was walking around a lot. The coat covers the tops of my wellies when I'm standing or sauntering, but not when I'm doing the barn-chore-power-walk. You know the one. The back unzips in two spots with a generous skirt that will be perfect for riding and is nice when you're moving around a lot (The Hubs said I looked like Evie from Assassin's Creed... gamers, anyone?) The hood has fill also so is nice and warm. The downsides: the hood is almost too shallow, but I find that with a lot of coats. I just wear a headband/ear warmer and it's fine. The drawstring helps size it so it stays on. Also, the elastic cuff inside the sleeves isn't super comfortable, but it keeps the water and wind out. The snaps on the lower part of the coat won't stay closed unless you're just standing, but the cut is generous enough (esp with the back zippers undone) it didn't bother me. Fit: I am 5'7", 128# and got the small (my usual size). According to the size chart, I should have been in a M but went with my gut and I'm glad I did. the M would have been huge. I do wish the sleeves were a tad longer but I always have that problem. I like the way it fits; it is snug and I don't have a lot of layering room, but all I needed was a fleece top underneath. Overall, I would get this coat again and I am glad to have an option for riding when it's raining.
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Function and style I bought this coat right after Christmas when temps in TX were starting to drop and my other barn jackets weren't cutting it. The second I tried it on after delivery I was a fan. It's very warm and the two back zippers that allow the coat to be worn in the saddle put it over the top. I like the blue. I bought the medium. It's generous on my frame, but I figured the small might have been tight in the shoulders if i needed to layer and freedom of movement in the arms is more important to me. The hood lays flat and doesn't interfere with your helmet which is great. All in all a great buy.
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great coat!! This coat has really come in handy now that it has gotten much colder all of a sudden. It has many features and is very warm and comfortable. I especially love how the leg flaps keep my legs warm while riding and how the cuffs have the inserts that keep the wind out. The only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 is because I keep having trouble with the long zipper that zips up the front. I keep having trouble getting it to zip. I am not sure why it is so hard to get it to do that as I have several jackets with the same kind of double ended zipper and have never had a problem. It worries me that the bottom of the zipper might not last and I will need a costly replacement. Other than that, I absolutely love the coat.
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warmer than expected I hesitated buying this, and only gave it 4 stars because I think it should be a little bit roomier around the arms/shoulders, there is not room to layer a puffy down vest underneath, and if I went up a size I would be swimming in it. But, it was surprisingly warm enough. I'm 5'1", size small. I love the insulated front over the thighs, and the drape did not bother the horses.
    Date published: 2016-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My "MAGIC" Coat I bought this as a Christmas present to myself knowing that winter had to show up sooner or later. I'm so thrilled I did!! I've been able to teach lessons after dark and not freeze!! When you combine this coat with smartpaks winter over breech and the mountain horse high rider boots, there's no way you'll get cold even in below freezing temps!!I bought a L, 5'7" and 28 in breeches. fits perfect even over another short coat.
    Date published: 2016-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The MOST features of any coat! Impressed by:heavy-duty zipperspockets everywherewraps that go around your legs to keep the coat on while ridingzippers that open the hem up large so you can ride without taking off the coatit's warm!looks impressivehood - however you want itsleeves that have inside elastic so no cold air goes up your sleevesI look good in it!
    Date published: 2016-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for clinic wear I have had it for two weeks and love it. true to size lots of pockets and stays closed around your legs when walking at a clinics.
    Date published: 2016-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm!!!! I received this coat for Christmas. It is nice and warm - I am almost never warm enough in Denver, CO and this was definitely warm! I like all the features, with the exception of the zipper - it is hard to start the zipper because of the way the lining is cut. Other than that this is a great coat! As I have only had it a few weeks, I cannot address durability.
    Date published: 2016-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I purchased this a month ago since our weather out West has been cold. It is beautifully made and tailored. Very comfortable.
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from quick shipping, great jacket I'm not a rider but I needed a really warm, polyester- (non-feather) filled jacket and this ones great! it's stylish to wear as an every day winter coat and its functional with all its pockets. id say it runs true to size (I'm 5'3, 120lbs and I fit a Small perfectly), but the back unzips for a fanned effect and allows for layering. the zippers are a bit stiff, but I think it'll go away as its worn in.I also wanted to say customer service at smaet pak equine is fantastic. I placed my order and then a day later needed to adjust it, and the customer service rep took care of it immediately without any hassle. thank you! highly recommended!!
    Date published: 2016-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a terrific coat, seems very well made and I was very warm in a thin shirt while standing outside in 19deg to test warmth. I ordered a Small which I was told is a sz 8, but is too snug at my hips and definitely too small for layers. Am exchanging it for a Medium and look forward to being warm while teaching for hours.
    Date published: 2016-01-05
    • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_62
    • loc_en_US, sid_11322, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders