Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

ELT Saphira Thermo Coat

ELT
- Item #21322
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ELT Saphira Thermo Coat is the ultimate cold weather riding coat!

Favorite Features

  • Wind & water repellent material featuring diagonal quilting seams keeps you warm in the toughest of conditions 
  • Reflective details make it perfect for the trails and low light conditions
  • Two large patch pockets with reflecting piping seams and additional side pockets
  • 2 breast pockets with zipper 
  • Shortened 2-way zipper and long riding vents with leg loops to keep the riding flaps in place
  • Arm pit ventilation openings 
  • Detachable hood 
  • Soft fleece collar, adds extra coziness against your chin 
  • Machine washable!

73% polyester, 27% nylon
Liner and Fill: 100% polyester

Sizing It Up

XS (6)
S (8)
M (10)
L (12)
XL (14) 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    ELT Saphira Thermo Coat is rated 4.88 out of 5 by 25.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and wonderful I bought this product on a friend's recommendation. I am glad I did. It is warm and very funtional on and off the horse. The zippers allow you to sit comfortably in the saddle, there are lots of pockets, it's washable and very warm. My biggest complaint is our weather has been warm so I'm not wearing the coat much.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from heavy coat very warm just received the coat and was surprised how heavy it is. Very well made I am 5 9 and 140 pounds bought size large plenty of room to layer up.
    Date published: 2014-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS COAT! The perfect purchase - I wanted a long coat that would be very warm, look fantastic, and fit me very well. That's exactly what I got, across the board. One day shortly after it arrived (quick ship, thank you SmartPak!), we had a super cold snap where I didn't even want to go outside at all. Had to feed the horses, and get to the job. Threw this coat on, hit the barn, drove to work, did all the necessary outside stuff, and couldn't have been more pleased at how well this coat performed, looked, moved with me, kept me toasty. I suppose it's a bit warm for temps above 35 degrees, but no complains will be coming from me! It remains to be seen how sturdy it is, how long it'll stay nice, but I'm up for finding out. Great product, again, thank you SmartPak for providing it!
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Value I bought this coat a month ago as my winter barn coat and I'm toasty warm despite the -10C degrees and foot and a half of snow. Its an excellent value and I've ordered another one to use as my around town coat. You can't beat the price. I'll be interested to see how it holds up to some washings.
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have for your Winter Wardrobe Just buy it, you'll thank yourself everytime you wear it. I live in Iowa and have worn this coat in temperatures from +20° all the way to -50° with wind chill. I don't know how I survived before this coat. Regardless of the temp, I always seem to stay warm. And, the vents help keep you from over heating on those 'warm' Winter days. I've ridden indoors and outdoors in this coat. Even the strongest winds have yet to drive a chill through this coat. It is well made and sized appropriately. I've worn a sweater and vest under it before with plenty of room to move. The leg straps do an excellent job of keeping the coat in place and out of the way... even while posting. It is going on its second year with me and still looks new.
    Date published: 2014-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Daughter Loves It. She received many compliments Honestly, this is not a coat that I would buy for myself. It is thick and long. But my daughter who rides hunt seat adores it. She is almost 13 and is hart to fit. The XS size fits her very well. It is plenty warm for cold barns and has lots of storage pockets. My daughter even thinks the horse likes having the coat drape over his hind end a little too :-) Another mom in the barn asked me where I got it because her daughter now wants one.
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great coat!! Bought this coat a month ago and I'm glad I did as it's already getting cold in Denver in the evenings. This coat fits true to size, I got a medium and it's a close fit which I like. If you need to layer a lot underneath or like to have more room then go up a size but I wear normally a vest and maybe a fleece and it works fine. There are several pockets, two inside, two chest pockets, two hand warmers and two cargo pockets under the hand warmers. The sleeves are long, they go over my wrists (and I have long arms) which is nice. The coat itself reaches to my knees (I'm 5"8) and has a great two way zipper with lots of snaps. It does have a really cool feature with the skirt of the coat which opens up with a couple of zippers. I haven't tried it yet but it looks fantastic nevertheless. So in closing this is a very well made coat with a lot of features and the price point is definitely lower than other brands.
    Date published: 2014-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter barn coat I've ever owned! I bought this coat last year when there were long stretches of windy, below freezing temperatures. This coat is incredibly warm (almost too warm at times!), stylish (I considered buying a second for non-barn adventures!), and tough (still looks brand new after a season of barn chores and riding plus washings!). A friend remarked that it was like wearing a sleeping bag. A stylish, wonderful sleeping bag. The rear vent zippers and two-way front zip make riding in this coat easy and comfortable. Even keeps your upper leg warm without the need for bulky winter breeches. Bonus: Pockets. So many pockets!!
    Date published: 2014-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect coat! I just moved to Parker, CO from southern CA and needed a coat that would make the transition a bit warmer! This coat not only has been very warm but is nicely fitted as well. I haven't ridden in it yet since my horse is enjoying the spring in CA but it has great zippers in the back for movement in the saddle and straps to keep the coat covering your legs. All this and the price is about 100$ less than other long coats!
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thermo indeed! I purchased this for riding, and also to use while working around the barn during our recent below zero weather. I had my doubts about a polyfill coat being able to deliver the serious warmth that I need, but it really is super warm and windproof. Very well made, and the split skirt and riding loops for the thighs are not bulky and do not interfere with riding at all. So nice to have coverage for my legs from a coat! Wish the patch pocket was more than a thin piece of the nylon material - some fleece lining or additional polyfill would have made this perfect. I usually wear a medium in most products (5'7" 130lbs) but ordered this one in XL so I can layer some bulkier clothes underneath. I'm glad I did - the sleeve length and coverage is great, and altho' fit is generous, it fits well. Did I mention it's beautiful? I've gotten multiple compliments while wearing this on my way out to the barn.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this coat! Wonderful coat for cold weather riding! And super cute to boot!
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I love this coat. I wear it all the time. To the barn and out in the world. It's very functional and fashionable. 
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So warm, but flattering cut! I bought this coat on clearance thinking I would wear it only to the barn for chores and winter riding.  Loved the idea of back zippers to let coat open over saddle and the leg straps with velcro hidden in the front panels. I live in upstate New York where winters are COLD.  Once I got the coat I was amazed at how attractive it was.  The cut is very flattering. It is one of the warmest coats I have ever owned.  The hood, which Is typically just a nuisance on most coats, is well fashioned and warm.  Just enough pockets.  Zippers are sturdy.  The only problem now is that the coat is too attractive to do chores in!I am very small, Five foot five, 101 pounds.  The XS fits perfectly with a medium sweater or fleece underneath.  It was the only size left, suspect it is why I got a great deal.  I never would have thought to try this coat at full price, but after getting it on clearance, I feel very lucky, as it is worth the full price!
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this coat! This coat is great! It's well made, warm and looks great. As a trainer, I'm in the barn long days and this is just what I needed to stay warm in this very cold winter.
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Lookin Coat I bought this as a gift for myself - more for the office than the barn. I've gotten several compliments on it. Only issue I've had is the double zipper which sometimes takes a while to catch. Otherwise its very nice.
    Date published: 2014-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love Love!! Super warm and stylish too! Did I mention that I love it?
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional Warmth, Features & Quality! Just got in from doing chores with the temperature about -6 below, -20 below if you add in the windchill. This coat kept me plenty warm. First time all Winter that I can claim that. Last time the temperature got to just 0 I had 2 coats plus a heavyweight Winter blanket on when I went outside. I haven't had a chance to ride in the coat yet. But, I've tested out the features and have no doubt it'll work great. All the zipper and snaps seem to be of high quality. And, in general, it just seems to be a well thought out coat. Even my non-horsey husband is impressed by it. If you want/need a warm coat, buy this one!
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful coat , very warm Bought this coat because I have a student that had one and loved it. It's very warm and easy to ride in. 
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This coat is SO much better than you can imagine! My husband bought this coat for me after  complaining about riding my horse in the cold weather. There are so many more features on it than are truly described online. The panels on the sides open up to reveal an almost circular skirt. This allows me to comfortably ride my horse without the coat hindering me AT ALL! Also, the coat is so warm and stays place so well, that after I briefly warm up my horse, I no longer have to use a cooler blanket on my clipped horse because the coat serves double duty for me and my horse. The cuffs at the wrist are perfect for keeping the drafty air out of the sleeves and are plenty long to allow you to bend your arms to ride properly. This coat is so warm that I often find myself sweating while taking my dressage lesson. In 20 degree weather, I consider that a huge accomplishment! I love this coat so much and I highly recommend that everyone who isn't wintering in Florida go buy one RIGHT NOW!
    Date published: 2013-12-12
    • 2015-08-26T13:18CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_24
    • loc_en_US, sid_11322, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.