PLEASE NOTE: You may experience errors on our site when using Internet Explorer 10 or lower. Please consider updating your browser, or download Google Chrome.
Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

ELT Saphira Thermo Coat

ELT
- Item #21322
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ELT Saphira Thermo Coat is the ultimate cold weather riding coat that will keep you toasty warm this season! Made for long days at the barn, this is the ultimate trainers coat but is perfect for any equestrian! Complete with wind and water repellant material, the diagonal quilted seams keep you warm in even the harshest conditions. The shortened front zipper and long riding vents are perfect for in the saddle use as it will still allow for freedom of movement while the snaps below the zipper allow you to have full length coverage.

Imported.

Favorite Features
  • Wind & water repellent material featuring diagonal quilting seams keeps you warm in the toughest of conditions 
  • Reflective details make it perfect for the trails and low light conditions
  • Two large patch pockets with reflecting piping seams and additional pockets on side as well as 2 breast pockets that zipper
  • Shortened 2-way zipper and long riding vents with leg loops to keep the riding flaps in place
  • Arm pit ventilation openings 
  • Soft fleece collar, adds extra coziness against your chin 
  • Machine washable- Warm, hang to dry- do not iron
Key Specifications
  • Style: Long winter coat
  • Material: 73% polyester, 27% nylon, Liner and Fill: 100% polyester
  • Waterproof: No

Sizing

Available in sizes:
XS (6)
S (8)
M (10)
L (12)
XL (14) 
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Style Long winter coat
Material 73% polyester, 27% nylon, Liner and Fill: 100% polyester
Waterproof No
Insulated Yes
Hood Yes, detachable
Special Features Shortened 2-way zipper and long riding vents with leg loops.
Customizable No
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Cozy Coat is the perfect cozy fleece ...
    Description:
    "The Cozy Coat is the perfect cozy fleece for cool days. The Cozy Coat has extended chest and abdomen protection, generous hook and loop adjustment through the girth, an adjustable collar, and an opening to attach a leash. Material: Polyester ...
    "The Kerrits Half Halt Rain Jacket is just ...
    Description:
    "The Kerrits Half Halt Rain Jacket is just like a good half halt, looks simple but is actually loaded with technique and planning. Hydroteck fabric keeps you dry white the two-way front zip and spit tail provide functionality in the ...
    "The Personalized Journey Parka is a fashionable, breathable ...
    Description:
    "The Personalized Journey Parka is a fashionable, breathable and warm winter jacket that is durable and will last for years! Sure to be a go-to favorite, the feminine silhouette is a refreshing change from other bulkier, non flattering options. Keep ...
    Why We Love This Practical and stylish, this windbreaker ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Practical and stylish, this windbreaker folds handily into front pouch pocket with belt loop for easy carrying. Front half zipper makes this windbreaker a snap to slide on or off over a helmet. Imported. Favorite Features White ...
    Why We Love This The Reflective Bands provide ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Reflective Bands provide high visibility for horse and rider protection. Adheres to European safety standard EN-471. Comes in pack of 2. It is a 2" wide elastic with reflective strips. Fits up to 10" in ...
    Why We Love This Don't let windy weather ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Don't let windy weather keep you from enjoying your time at the barn! This practical and stylish windbreaker folds handily into front pouch pocket with belt loop for easy carrying. Imported.   Favorite Features Complete with ...
    "The Ultra-Heat™ reflective thermal liner inside the Weathermaster® ...
    Description:
    "The Ultra-Heat™ reflective thermal liner inside the Weathermaster® coat and snowsuit reflects the dog’s body heat for extra warmth. The waterproof outer material is printed with original designs and is soft, pliable, and also durable at 400 grams. The lower ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    ELT Saphira Thermo Coat is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 78.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this coat! I’ve had this coat a couple of weeks and am very happy so far. I occasionally have a slight problem getting the front zipper to zip but have had no other issues. I haven’t needed to wear my insulated pants while teaching because it completely covers my legs down to my boots even with temps in the 20s!
    Date published: 2018-01-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst purchase This coat was warm, but, not well made. The first time I wore it, all of the snaps popped off. It was also extremely difficult to zip up. I plan on sending it back.
    Date published: 2018-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best coat you will ever own I live in Colorado and this is the best coat I have ever owned. Love all the features. Keeps you and your horse warm! If you ride in cold weather you NEED this jacket.
    Date published: 2018-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great investment I've had mine for a little over a month now and it's definitely appreciated with this recent cold snap. Great coverage, easy to move in, not heavy or cumbersome like some other heavy winter coats. Very pleased with my purchase and would recommend it far and wide!
    Date published: 2018-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This really deserves 10 stars I bought this a couple years ago and it is the best winter coat ever. It's so warm, and comfortable, yet somehow still flattering. It keeps me warm in the saddle and on the ground standing for hours, and better yet, it's held up well these past two years!
    Date published: 2017-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome coat! This coat is a must have for winter riding in NY. It is warm, attractive, has pockets for everything, and covers you to the top of your boots while riding or walking. The hood fits nicely and the coat keeps your neck warm. It is beautifully made, they have thought of everything. I only wish I had bought one sooner.
    Date published: 2017-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Coat...Perfect for my needs... I have debated this coat for about a year as it went in and out of stock. When I saw it was in stock in my size this year, I went for it. I ordered the large. I am middle-aged with typical figure changes, about 165 and around 5'7". This coat is not too sloppy or too fitted. I can zip it up over a shirt and a hoodie. The quality and attention to detail is exceptional, particularly for this price tag. It is really warm and good for days that are truly cool. I have ridden in it and the zips in the back adjust easily to open up the coat and cover the back of the saddle and beyond to your horse's hips, depending on his/her size. Lots of big pockets too for cell phones, treats and the miscellaneous stuff that ends up in the pockets of horse people.
    Date published: 2017-12-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost exactly what I have been looking for Bought this a couple weeks ago and am happy I did. I am broad shouldered and large arm and chested, so I feel claustrophobic in most coats. This is warm enough I only need a base under, and runs big. I am easily a large and I ended up with a medium. Warm, opens up perfectly to ride in. Don’t even have to use the leg straps. My only complaint is the hood isn’t generous enough for my helmet and therefore doesn’t make any sort of windblock for my face. I wear it to teach, ride, and do chores. My thighs get very cold, and I can wear this and not need snow pants over my breeches. Rating durability high but I don’t know for sure as I’ve not had long enough.
    Date published: 2017-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Winter Staple Can't say enough good things about this coat. I bought my first one a few years ago and the zipper finally broke on it (It has been used and abused). I was prepared to replace it but when I saw that they offered it in black this year, I decided to get a new one when they went on sale (though I still plan on keeping and using the only one too) This is a very warm coat. I use it all winter for all of my horsey chores. The zippers in the back have been life changing - I am an avid trail rider and ride all year in all types of weather. This coat is comfortable to ride in and WARM. I don't like the cold but can ride comfortably even on windy mid 20-low 30 degree days. Highly recommend based on the fact that the zippers in back mean you can ride in this coat and keep your legs covered (and at least part of your horses rump)
    Date published: 2017-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great buy! I bought this for my daughter to wear between classes at her IEA shows as it gets COLD! The quality is amazing and the price is considerably less than you would pay for a North Face-type parka and frankly, these are a much sturdier material. I highly recommend this product and will be purchasing one for myself for an upcoming trip to Iceland!
    Date published: 2017-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't live without it! By far, the warmest coat I have ever had! For that alone, I am in love with it. I have been wearing it all winter and there is no damage after hard barn use. Love the full length. Wish the hood fit over a helmet (my only complaint!). HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!
    Date published: 2017-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter coat EVER! I live in South Dakota and this coat has literally been a life saver for me. In the three years I've owned mine it has gotten me through some rather horrific winter conditions. I love this coat and should it become damaged beyond repair I fully intend to replace it with another one just like it. I just can't express enough how essential this one coat is for me.
    Date published: 2017-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Jacket Bought this jacket, but worried about the fit. Fortunately it fits like it was made for me! I am 5'10" and a slimmer build. I purchased a small and it fits great. I have enough length in the sleeves and the coat length goes just below my knees, with a flattering fit. Nice detailing makes it look expensive too. Warmer than I expected too.
    Date published: 2017-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my daughter nicely when she rides. Very Warm!!!
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great length I bought this coat a month ago and it has been really Cold ever since. Nothing worse than standing in a cold ring teaching with a short coat. The only thing that keeps me from making it 5 stars is that the arm pit area is too tight. My old coat was big through that area allowing me to wear any manner of coat under it. This one is more form fitting so thin coats are the only ones that will work under it. The length is great and it is warm even in 8 degrees feeding mashes.
    Date published: 2017-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it love it love it My new favorite jacket. Super warm and cozy. I wanted room for layers so I got a medium instead of small (5'10, 145#) and it fits great. Slightly tight in the shoulders sometimes, but I always have that issue. Seems like it will hold up for a long time. Great to ride in too
    Date published: 2016-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter coat out there! I've coveted this coat for awhile, and after hearing reviews from friends that own this coat, I decided to make the purchase. I received it days before the latest "polar vortex"- and I'm so glad I did! This coat is super warm, the exterior shell feels like a rip stop material and it blocks those blistery winds that whip across barren corn fields. I love the extra pockets, but I have had a little trouble getting the zipper to connect before zipping it up, which is why I dropped the quality by a star. I've worn this coat in 0* weather and was warm while doing chores and tacking up. I've also used it during our warm-up before peeling it off during harder work. I can't recommend this coat highly enough. If you live in the northern part of the country- this coat is an essential!
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice heavy coat I bought this coat to ride outside durning the winter, it is very nice, though I wish it had leg straps. When it is windy, it will blow up off of my legs... brrrr. It is also very good for teaching, as it is heavier than my other one.
    Date published: 2016-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great styling and price! Great coat for snowy Colorado winters. Love the back zips and styling is GREAT!
    Date published: 2016-11-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Very disappointed, Keeps me warm however the seams around the front pockets came undone. The pockets are hanging off the jacket and are useless. I look homeless. The jacket is made of a very thin material so any time it slightly gets caught on something it rips and can not be re-sewn because of the type of material. I got most use out of the jacket this year even though it was bought 2 years ago. I usually have very good experiences with smartpak customer service however this time was not the case. I sent in pictures as asked after the first phone call. Then had to follow up and call 3 more times until someone would give me an answer or get back to me. Then after about 2 weeks I was told most they would do for me is give me $20.00 off buying a new one even though they had not seen the pictures (which I had sent in 2x at that point as requested by customer service to 2 different representatives). I would be paying more then I did when I originally bought it being it was on sale. Not happy and all I want at this point is a long north face- better for your money
    Date published: 2016-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional Winter Barn Coat I've had this coat for about a month now and have put it to good use. I purchased the jacket at a discounted price and for the cost it has been a worthwhile investment. It's great for my long days of teaching and looks professional and stylish in the barn. It's very functional for saddle time but I find that I get too warm while riding in it and often take it off before my ride is over. The craftsmanship could use improvement, after the first wash a few thread ends started appearing here and there and a hole started in the inner lining of one sleeve. I agree with the other reviews re: the zipper but that's not a deal breaker to me. For the sale price purchase this jacket has been awesome and everyone loves it.
    Date published: 2016-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Warm I got this for those early morning feedings and riding in the winter. I havent been able to try it out riding but love feeding in it, I am so warm and toasty, even in 30mph wind!
    Date published: 2016-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best coat. Made for the serious rider! I bought this for a Xmas present for myself. I wanted a coat that would be warm and work in the saddle. What I really like about this is that it is long. Something you don't often find in riding wear. It covers my legs so there is no need for overpants. Clearly made for riders, this coat has nice features and works in the saddle. This is very important when you ride often and in the cold and dark as I have to while working full time. This coat looks so good you could wear it places other than the barn, but who goes anywhere but the barn? I did think the sizes ran small no had to exchange it for a larger size. The Smartpack return process was awesome!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2016-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy it! I am actually disappointed the temps have warmed up and I can't wear this coat any longer! This coat is so warm, perfect for barn chores and riding! I actually found that in temperatures much above freezing it was actually TOO warm! Really well made, deep pockets, and all the bells and whistles you would need. Perfect for cold weather climates! I normally wear a small in most jackets, but I ordered a medium since I knew I would be layering. The fit is perfect--my only complaint is that its not very tailored at the waist, but then for the purposes of barn chores and schooling in the ring I will forgive this :)
    Date published: 2016-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this coat! This is a great coat for cold weather! It's so nice you almost want two! One for the barn and one to wear into town. I originally bought the small based on the measurements given but I found it a little tight through the shoulders for me. SmartPak was great about taking it back and sending me a size up right away at no additional charge in shipping. I love that about SmartPak!
    Date published: 2016-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So warm! This coat is amazing! So many great features, very well designed. Definitely the warmest coat I have ever owned. The sizing is a little weird, small if you go by the number (6, 8 etc) but normal if you go by the s, m, l sizing. Very comfortable in the saddle and also great for ground work. A great find!
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great to ride in! This coat has a flattering fit, I bought a 12, fits perfectly! Lots of great benefits, 2 way zip, washable, hood, back zippers open to allow to wear while riding, very warm! It is a 10!
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm but poor zipper design I was looking for a warm coat that would cover more than just my upper body and after reading all the great reviews I purchased this one! The Pros: - it is very warm, granted I live in Texas but it can get into the occasional 30s and to us that feels cold! :-) - I like the design of the skirt, the leg straps and the material in general! - It definitely covers more than my torso, which on a 5'3 vertically-challenged-frame can look a bit overwhelming, but I am definitely warm from head-to-toe (literally!). The Cons: - I cant believe no one else mentioned it (or maybe it's just my particular coat) but the front zipper sucks!!! Two issues: it's a pain to align the 2-part zipper, took me literally 5 min to get it to zip up the first time around! The other issue is that once you get it to zip up, the zipper gets caught into the inside lining! You have to be quite careful zipping up and down! So that's a bit too "high maintenance" for me coming from a riding piece of apparel... The zipper issue was not enough of a deal breaker to return it, but definitely enough to knock a star out! No one likes to wrestle with a zipper! :-) But other than that it's great and I now look forward to cold days at the barn!
    Date published: 2016-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unexpectedly WARM! I bought a Large, as that was the largest size still available. When I ordered, I thought I would have preferred an XL, to give me more room for layers, but it turned out it was a moot point. I can fit a sweater and "padded" vest underneath the coat without losing ease of movement. We have had nights lately in the sub-zero range (Fahrenheit scale) and there have been times where I almost get too warm while doing my basic barn chores (feeding and checking on 3 horses). It also is very comfortable for riding in (generally limited to times when temperatures are at least in the high teens). No more frozen thighs and butt. The only negative is that the coat doesn't come in sizes for "fluffy" ladies.
    Date published: 2016-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic quality Super well made, very warm. Fit is flattering and very comfortable.
    Date published: 2016-01-20
    • y_2018, m_2, d_21, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_77
    • loc_en_US, sid_11322, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders