Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Elastic Breastplate

Item #16539
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Leather and elastic breastplate with removable running attachment and stainless steel hardware.  Brown, horse size.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Elastic Breastplate is rated 4.1837 out of 5 by 49.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good purchase for price This is a good breastplate for the price..I bought this specifically to use with draw reins that attached to a breastplate. The only thing that I didn't like was that I had to make my own holes since the ones provided were in position for a very small horse...I would consider my 16 h TB an average size but I had to put in holes for the girth attachment as well as the saddle attachments. other than that I really like how easy it is to attach the clips are good quality and easy to use
    Date published: 2010-08-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from a little tight - but it was my mistake As stated in the previous reviews, the quality of the breastplate was well worth $40. It looked durable and the leather was surprisingly great quality (I would recommend oiling it first). Unfortunately it did not fit my 17hh Friesian x Paint Warmblood, BUT I should have known better. So, I immediately sent it back. I was kind of hoping it was immensely adjustable but I was dead wrong, but I'm sure it would fit every other type of medium horse.I wish it came in different sizes, and I would have just exchanged for a larger size.
    Date published: 2010-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breastplate - LOVE IT! Love it. It fits great. I should have oiled the leather first, though. Also wasn't quite sure if the plastic should come off or be left on the padding. Took it off and am delighted with the breastplate.
    Date published: 2010-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Buy Great breastplate. Fit my 17.2 hand TB with a bit of room to spare either way. Nice color and the snaps are a nice addition.
    Date published: 2010-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really impressed!! I needed a breastplate with a running martingale, but didn't want to shell out $150+ for a few straps of leather and elastic. I took a chance on this cheaper version - and I LOVE it! Fits the horse perfect, the snaps are easy to use, and the quality is great. Worth more than $40 that's for sure!Also, if your girth does not have a D ring like mine, you can simply remove the girth snap attachment and loop it over the girth like most standing martingales.
    Date published: 2010-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a very nice product. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and value. I especially like the snaps instead of buckles to attach breastplate to the saddle and the fleece where the breastplate is up against the horses chest. I have already recommended this product to a friend!
    Date published: 2010-03-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fit not right for our horse I like the color of the elastic and the leather seems to be good quality for the price. However it didn't fit our horse at all. Granted he's a large (over 17h) and narrow built, so it may fit an average horse just fine. the strap from chest to girth was about twice as long as needed which meant some drastic reworking of the leather. The side straps were too short, so we had to punch holes at the very ends of those straps. A nice value and attractive if it fits your horse.
    Date published: 2010-03-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Defective product The breastplate was of decent quality, but the product came defective. One of the elastic straps was sew on backwards! Sent it back without an exchange
    Date published: 2010-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this breast plate I use this every day. From flat work to jumping, it does the trick, and the elastic is perfect! I love this product!!! I use it in the show ring and at home on long hard trails.
    Date published: 2009-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Merchandise This elastic breastplate was exactly what my daughter wanted. It was priced very affordably and was shipped ahead of schedule. The whole shopping experience was a great one, no disappointments!
    Date published: 2009-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase Works great for any discipline! Really keeps my saddle in place, I love the elastic design!
    Date published: 2009-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good purchase This breastplate with martingale, is easy to use, everything just snaps into place, without buckles which are inconvenient and take time. Center attachment is padded and comfortable for the horse, elastic is strong, and leather is of a good quality, on attachements. Excellent product, plus the price was very reasonable.
    Date published: 2009-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best buy! Great quality, fits my TB perfectly. Nice leather and good elastik. I like the dark brown color and I think it is good to thave to option to use the running martingal which comes with the breastplate.
    Date published: 2009-06-15
    • 2015-08-30T14:34CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_48
    • loc_en_US, sid_6539, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.