Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Elastic Breastplate

Item #16539
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Leather and elastic breastplate with removable running attachment and stainless steel hardware.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Arc De Triomphe® leather goods are made from ...
    Description:
    "Arc De Triomphe® leather goods are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smooth soft finish. Imported"
    "Tradition meets technology in this innovative new girth. ...
    Description:
    "Tradition meets technology in this innovative new girth. High quality leather gives a sophisticated look, while our breathable VenTECH™ technology provides your horse with the comfort they need to perform. The non-slip, neoprene VenTECH™ liner conforms to your horse, allowing ...
    "Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
    Description:
    "Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Carefully crafted to our own specifications and available exclusively at SmartPak. Traditional style with raised and fancy stitch accents. Stainless steel hardware. ...
    "Coordinates perfectly with the Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch ...
    Description:
    "Coordinates perfectly with the Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle. Rich Brown leather is accented with delicate off white fancy stitching. Stainless steel hardware."
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
    Description:
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Complete adjustability and comfort for your ...
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
    Description:
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Traditional standing raised standing martingale, with ...
    "Arc De Triomphe® strapgoods are made from the ...
    Description:
    "Arc De Triomphe® strapgoods are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smooth soft finish. Imported."

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Elastic Breastplate is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 60.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice quality I was surprised by the good quality of both the leather and the elastic. The clips seem sturdy too, and the swivel feature is very nice. So far we've used it on several pretty tough xc courses and for schooling, and it is holding up well. The ony criticism I have is that the elastic seems short - or the straps to the saddle could be longer. I bought a full size for my skinny 16.2 TB, and it is already a bit tight. However, I'm sure that a leather shop will be able to redo the straps to give us more room as he grows.
    Date published: 2011-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ordered as a gift I ordered this breastplate as a gift for a friend of mine. i had it shipped to me first to see if the quality was good and if it would be something she liked. The Leather quality was excellent! Vey soft and supple, and lovely rich brown color. The elastic was subtle and had just enough "give" to it. The fleece padding on the disk was conservatively put on, but i guess it;s better than nothing. they stitched a plastic cover onto the fleece which could be a pain to take off if it gets stuck in the stitching... overall seems to be an excellent value for the price.Though it does have conway buckles, many higher end breastpplates use conway buckles because they are more durable than regular buckles - it has been my experience that many times the tongue of a regular buckle will fall off at a very bad time!!! Anyway, everything looks fine, very good quality. Seems like it will hold up to daily schooling.
    Date published: 2011-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not bad for the price I got this for my jumper mare who tends to jump out of her tack on a regular basis. It fits her well (although I did take off the clip at the girth and only had to punch 2 extra holes) and seems to be quite good quality for the money. The only 2 things I didn't like are the buckles (they're the punch hole style, more often seen on western tack) and the plastic that is sewn over the fleece on the center of the chest of the breastplate. However, that being said, I'm considering buying another and taking it to the leather repair shop down the street from my university to see if he can alter it to 'normal' buckles...it would make it look exactly like other breastplates that cost upwards of $150.
    Date published: 2011-03-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth it I received this yesterday, and it's clearly low quality. I am returning it. I wish SmartPak would put up a better photo and description. First of all, there are no traditional buckles - they are the "pin in hole" type, which are not that secure IMO. The snaps feel lightweight and cheap, and I can just imagine them getting rusty after a few rides in the rain. The leather is OK - indian leather. The elastic seems fine. My least favorite part is the cheap hardware, followed by the pin attachments, which should've been in the item's description.
    Date published: 2011-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality, Amazing Price I love my new breastplate. The leather is surprisingly high quality and it fits my 16.2hh thoroughbred with room on both sides. It does the job and looks great too! I just cannot tell how pleased I am with this product. If you need a breastplate, don't spend more than you have to. Buy this one!
    Date published: 2011-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nicely Made Only downside is that it needed extra holes punched in both sides of the attachments, alogn with girth strap. Very nice besides that.
    Date published: 2011-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Quality This is a very nice breastplate for the price. The leather is soft and seems like it will hold up well. I love how easy it is to clip onto the saddle. It's kind of annoying to adjust, but it works well if you don't need to adjust every two minutes. The girth strap is long, but theres about a foot worth of leather to punch holes in. Overall, it's a great breatplate.
    Date published: 2010-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expecting less quality I needed a schooling breast plate for my eventer, and this does the job! the middle strap it a tad too long, but not bad. for $40, I was expecting less quality than I got! I wasn't sure if you were supposed to take the plastic off the fleece but it started coming off anyway. Love it!
    Date published: 2010-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase this is a fantastic partial leather breast collar - I have a large quarter / arab gelding that is hard to fit,
    Date published: 2010-10-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good value if you can get it to fit Did not fit my 16.3 hh guy. He is big boned, but full sized tack usually fits him. The strap that attaches to the girth was too long (although you could fix that) and the straps that connect to the saddle were WAY too short even on the longest setting. The leather was acceptable, and it would be a great value if you have a horse that it will fit.
    Date published: 2010-09-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for the price The Elastic Breastplate is about what I would expect at this low price. It's perfect for schooling and everyday use, and the running attachment is easy to quickly clip on or off. The leather is decent quality and has cleaned nicely and stayed supple after tough workouts, and the brown elastic really hides dirt well. Perfect fit for my 16.2 TB. The chest pad could use a little bit more fleece, and the rings are also starting to leave wear marks on the leather.
    Date published: 2010-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value I had originally ordered a more expensive breastplate that was defective when it arrived, so I ordered this one instead. I have only used it a few times but it seems to be of good quality. I had to punch new holes in the girth attachment as it was too large for my 17h thoroughbred. Fits well now that I have made those adjustments.
    Date published: 2010-08-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good purchase for price This is a good breastplate for the price..I bought this specifically to use with draw reins that attached to a breastplate. The only thing that I didn't like was that I had to make my own holes since the ones provided were in position for a very small horse...I would consider my 16 h TB an average size but I had to put in holes for the girth attachment as well as the saddle attachments. other than that I really like how easy it is to attach the clips are good quality and easy to use
    Date published: 2010-08-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from a little tight - but it was my mistake As stated in the previous reviews, the quality of the breastplate was well worth $40. It looked durable and the leather was surprisingly great quality (I would recommend oiling it first). Unfortunately it did not fit my 17hh Friesian x Paint Warmblood, BUT I should have known better. So, I immediately sent it back. I was kind of hoping it was immensely adjustable but I was dead wrong, but I'm sure it would fit every other type of medium horse.I wish it came in different sizes, and I would have just exchanged for a larger size.
    Date published: 2010-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breastplate - LOVE IT! Love it. It fits great. I should have oiled the leather first, though. Also wasn't quite sure if the plastic should come off or be left on the padding. Took it off and am delighted with the breastplate.
    Date published: 2010-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Buy Great breastplate. Fit my 17.2 hand TB with a bit of room to spare either way. Nice color and the snaps are a nice addition.
    Date published: 2010-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really impressed!! I needed a breastplate with a running martingale, but didn't want to shell out $150+ for a few straps of leather and elastic. I took a chance on this cheaper version - and I LOVE it! Fits the horse perfect, the snaps are easy to use, and the quality is great. Worth more than $40 that's for sure!Also, if your girth does not have a D ring like mine, you can simply remove the girth snap attachment and loop it over the girth like most standing martingales.
    Date published: 2010-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a very nice product. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and value. I especially like the snaps instead of buckles to attach breastplate to the saddle and the fleece where the breastplate is up against the horses chest. I have already recommended this product to a friend!
    Date published: 2010-03-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fit not right for our horse I like the color of the elastic and the leather seems to be good quality for the price. However it didn't fit our horse at all. Granted he's a large (over 17h) and narrow built, so it may fit an average horse just fine. the strap from chest to girth was about twice as long as needed which meant some drastic reworking of the leather. The side straps were too short, so we had to punch holes at the very ends of those straps. A nice value and attractive if it fits your horse.
    Date published: 2010-03-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Defective product The breastplate was of decent quality, but the product came defective. One of the elastic straps was sew on backwards! Sent it back without an exchange
    Date published: 2010-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this breast plate I use this every day. From flat work to jumping, it does the trick, and the elastic is perfect! I love this product!!! I use it in the show ring and at home on long hard trails.
    Date published: 2009-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Merchandise This elastic breastplate was exactly what my daughter wanted. It was priced very affordably and was shipped ahead of schedule. The whole shopping experience was a great one, no disappointments!
    Date published: 2009-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase Works great for any discipline! Really keeps my saddle in place, I love the elastic design!
    Date published: 2009-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good purchase This breastplate with martingale, is easy to use, everything just snaps into place, without buckles which are inconvenient and take time. Center attachment is padded and comfortable for the horse, elastic is strong, and leather is of a good quality, on attachements. Excellent product, plus the price was very reasonable.
    Date published: 2009-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best buy! Great quality, fits my TB perfectly. Nice leather and good elastik. I like the dark brown color and I think it is good to thave to option to use the running martingal which comes with the breastplate.
    Date published: 2009-06-15
    • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_4
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_59
    • loc_en_US, sid_6539, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders