Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Effax Mildew-Free for Leather

Schweizer-Effax GmbH
- Item #17364
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Effax Mildew-Free for Leather reliably prevents leather from being attacked by mildew and fungi on the basis of a natural care oil mixture. The addition of lanolin also means the leather receives the ideal nourishment of high quality resins.

For best results, remove any remains of dirt and mildew and apply Effax Mildew-Free for Leather evenly. The Effax Mildew-Free for Leather will be absorbed into the leather and will leave no residue.

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Made in Germany

Favorite Features
  • Natural Care Oil
  • Ideal Nourishment
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Belvoir Leather Balsam Intensive Conditioner has a soft, ...
    Description:
    "Belvoir Leather Balsam Intensive Conditioner has a soft, waxy formula that is ideal for restoring moisture to fine leather goods. Beeswax and lanolin are natural leather preservatives that protect, nourish, and soften all of your leather, from saddles to boots. ...
    "Chamberlain's Leather Milk Saddle Washing Soap is a ...
    Description:
    "Chamberlain's Leather Milk Saddle Washing Soap is a natural, water-based me´lange of vital emollients and nutrients created to clean and lightly condition leather saddles and bridles. Recipe No.7 is the perfect recipe to maintain your saddle and tack leather; made ...
    "Effax Boot Miracle Cleans synthetic, patent leather and ...
    Description:
    "Effax Boot Miracle Cleans synthetic, patent leather and rubber surfaces, removes stubborn dirt and is sustainably dirt-repellent. Horse boots are protected against dirt, dampness and wear and tear by means of the easy-to-clean effect. It has a caring effect on ...
    "Effax Boot Polish - Clear is easy to ...
    Description:
    "Effax Boot Polish - Clear is easy to use and great for all colors of leather! Simply apply using the integrated sponge and then polish for a glossy shine. Because Effax® Boot-Polish is extremely dirt and water repellent, the leather ...
    "Effax Glycerine Soap cleans all types of smooth ...
    Description:
    "Effax Glycerine Soap cleans all types of smooth leather quickly, gently and thoroughly. Obstinate dirt as well as dust and sweat marks can be removed easily. Cares for the leather, makes it smooth and gives it a new shine. Incl. ...
    "For the most thorough leather cleaning, Leather Combi ...
    Description:
    "For the most thorough leather cleaning, Leather Combi is a great alternative to traditional saddle soap. Leather Combi's grease free formula penetrates leather and does not attract dust. With regular use, leather is non-slip, tear-resistant, smooth and insensitive to water ...
    "HEY Leather Combi Wash is a specially designed ...
    Description:
    "HEY Leather Combi Wash is a specially designed detergent for leather-textile combinations. This amazing product cleans leather and all leather-textile combinations without a detrimental effect on color. It also preserves the function of material combinations and is kind to seams ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Effax Mildew-Free for Leather is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 26.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product ! Unfortunately in our barn the tack room isn't climate controlled and tack can be subject to mold/mildew. I am a person who cleans tack after every ride. However in a moist environment, even the cleanest tack Can be subject to mildew. I have used this product for many years and I love it. After a good cleaning, I spray this on my tack and it does a really good job of holding the mildew at bay! I especially love to use it on tack that I am putting into storage as well as taking out of storage! One bottle will last you quite a while. I am excited to use my new bottle as the design is different and it has a trigger sprayer versus a pump spray
    Date published: 2017-05-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tiny bottle Haven't used it yet because I was debating retuning it. Will update if I use it. Did not realize it came in such a small size :(
    Date published: 2016-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps tack looking better longer! Love this stuff! Living in the south I'm constantly battling mold and mildew on my stuff and this has definitely helped.
    Date published: 2016-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product Ever! Last year I had a terrible time with mold on my saddle and tried frequent cleaning with many different products with no success. I finally started bringing my saddle home instead of leaving it at the barn. I reluctantly ordered the Effax product, expecting it not to be any better than the others, but was pleasantly surprised. This product works! One application and the mold was gone. Several weeks later a tiny bit appeared and I reapplied the product and have had no more issues at all - even during hot, humid and wet weather. Yes, it's pricey, but I don't mind paying for something that actually works.
    Date published: 2016-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! I tried everything on my older dressage saddle - even (in a desperate moment) covering the entire thing in Lysol - and white mold would still come back after a day or two. This stuff works! I have sprayed the saddle down twice and let it be, and the mold is drastically contained. It isn't completely gone yet, especially on the seams and small crevices, but I think another treatment or two will do the trick. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2016-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Especially for rainy summers to cut down mold on tack!
    Date published: 2015-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Houston Humidity Happiness Houston rider here ... mildewed tack is our middle name. Just bought a vial of this, relatively cheap and figured eh, what could it hurt? Applied to my horse's bridal once about 2 weeks ago - so far so good, and usually mildew is a daily/every few days occurance in the spring/summer here. Gonna try it on my saddle next.
    Date published: 2015-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just used this for the first time on a girth that had some previous mold/mildew issues. It left the leather looking and feeling wonderful, supple, without any signs of the mold.
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I used this product three weeks ago, and haven't had a mildew recurrence yet! I had tried (twice) just cleaning my saddle with Leather CPR, but the mildew came right back. This stuff smells kind of like a Sharpie marker, but it seems to have worked with only one application! The bottle is small, but I think it will last awhile, depending on how bad your problem is and how many items you need to clean.
    Date published: 2015-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped Grossness in its tracks! After riding in the rain and a good clean, all my tack got moldy. No matter how well I cleaned and dried it off, there would still be a hint of green fuzziness on all my leather. I did some research and this was the only product I found with a good rating, so why not give it a try? With 1 application, I have yet to see any kind of grossness on my saddles and bridles! I will keep this product with the rest of my cleaning supplies and recommend to everyone to use this product, especially if your tack room gets a little muggy in the spring/summer months!
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Mildew Yet... I haven't ridden my horse in his double bridle for a couple of months, and mold and mildew was growing on it, especially around the stitching. With the rainy winter weather and keeping it in my tack locker, I thought this might help keep the mildew from growing even when I'm not cleaning it regularly. I used the product about two weeks ago, and so far no mildew has returned! Was easy to use - I ended up just spraying it onto the sponge and then rubbing it on the bridle like a conditioner. Wish it was a little cheaper though - I can only probably use it 2-3 times with the size of the bottle.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps slow down mildew growth I love the Effax product line so I was excited to see they made a Mildew Free for leather because we were in desperate need of it. We are in Virginia near VA Beach and we have a lot of humidity. Have a horrible mildew problem in our tack room. I take good care of my tack, cleaning it often but the mildew would be back within 5 days. I started using this and it significantly slows it down (can go 1-2 weeks without reapplying) but does not keep it from happening. But I don't think that's the product's fault, I think we just have a serious humidity and mildew problem. I am happy it slows it down because otherwise I have to clean the mildew off my tack to ride and then clean again after. It smells ok, does add shine to tack. I only gave it 3 stars for value because it is a small bottle and is kind of pricey- I go through a lot. Every time I go to order, it is backordered. I think I will stock up the next time it comes in. Very impressed with the Effax line.
    Date published: 2013-07-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effax I love the Effax line! So I didnt even think twice about purchasing the mildew-Free. This past year has been pretty rough on my english tack. Even though my edgewood bridles are very well taken care of, the crazy weather left them very open to mold and mildew. Since applying this product I have not seen any more!! Plus it smells great and leaves the leather feeling soft! I use a sponge to rub the product in after leaving it set for a few min. The bottle is smaller than I thought and I am not sure how long it will last that is why the value got 3 stars. But it is an Effax product so the quality is great!
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Help for humid weather Useful during humid weather to help keep mold on leather at bay
    Date published: 2012-10-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Probably good for run-of-the-mill mold I'm thinking this would be good for your every day run of the mill mold, but it's not quite enough for the industrial strength radioactive super human mold I tried to use it on! A crazy humid and hot summer in a new climate and a perpetually wet tack locker has caused some of the fastest growing mold I've ever seen in my life. Literally 24-48 hours after a full cleaning and everything is covered in a thick layer of green mold. I don't blame the Effax -- it actually does seem to slow it down a bit, but unless I just DRENCHED everything it it every day (and it's too expensive to use that much every day) it doesn't seem to hold it at bay. So in conclusion, I think it actually is a good product, but from now on I'll use it 1) to prepare tack for long term storage, and 2) in seasons other than the summer. But other than that, I'm going to just start keeping nothing extra made of leather in my locker and realize that in the summer at least I'm going to have to clean my bridle before I ride, as well as after.
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Florida Summer Test Passed Florida in the summer is very very humid. I have a few pieces of leather tack that don't get used every day that used to get moldy in 2 or 3 days. The underside of my saddle used to get moldy every day too. After using this spray I haven't had any mold appear on anything. I've only applied it once so far so I'm pretty sure it's going to last me a very long time. It isn't greasy and you can't even tell it's on the leather!
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works like a charm! Works great! My tackroom at the barn I board at is not enclosed from the rest of the barn -- so it is exposed to many elements (hot, cold, humidity, dust, etc) and this stuff protects my bridles and saddles. Would love to see more Effax products from SmartPak!
    Date published: 2011-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Effax was recommended to me for use on a Stubben saddle that had become very dry. The Effax conditioned the leg flaps and made them soft and supple again!
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works In the tack room my bridle was covered in mold, I had to wipe it down every couple days. I even hung a Damp-Rid bag in my locker. A girl at my barn suggested Effax so I ordered one the same day from SmartPak. Just in time, as we are having one of the hottest Junes in history here in Virginia. Humidity is 73% with a heat index of 101. I checked today and no mold in sight!
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Failed the ultimate test After cleaning a bridle I almost never use that was very mildewed and applying this product, I waited to see what would happen. Within a few weeks, the mildew was back. But the conditions the bridle were extreme. Shortly after cleaning the bridle my area was plunged into a very, very wet period. Water would collect in empty buckets kept inside the barn and the interior walls of my tack room looked like they'd been rained on. I don't know that anything could have kept mildew from growing.
    Date published: 2010-01-10
    • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_25
    • loc_en_US, sid_7364, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders