Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

EcoGold Stabilizer™ Hunter Pad

EcoGold
- Item #17389
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The EcoGold Stabilizer™ Hunter Pad is a the ultimate pad for professional and show circuit riders who desire a sharp looking pad with all the bells and whistles. All parts are 100% breathable and provide the maximum protection from impact while preventing unwanted saddle movement. The saddle pad is designed with a forward shape and without padding on the flaps to allow a closer leg contact.­­


Made in Canada


1-ULTRA-GRIP: This breathable non-slip fabric keeps the saddle stable.
2-BREATHABLE EXTRA-COMPACT FOAM: (SEAT AREA ONLY) 100% breathable material that offers the best protection against impact
3 – LYCRA (underside): This soft high-tech fabric prevents rubbing on the withers.
4- ULTRA-GRIP (underside): Holds the saddle pad in place.



Care instructions: Wash in a domestic washing machine with cold water or by hand in warm water and a mild detergent. Hang to dry. Do not put in a dryer. Do not wash with items with hook and loop closures or sharp edges. Do not use chlorine or other corrosive bleaching agents.

Key Specifications
  • Material: Fleece, Underside Lycra with Teflon
  • Spine Measurement: Medium - 19.5", Large - 21"
  • Drop Measurement: Medium - 18.5", Large - 19"
  • Style: All-purpose

Sizing

Medium: 19.5” x 18.5", fits 16 – 16 ½” saddles
Large: 21” x 19”, fits 17 – 17 ½” saddles

What Customers Say:

Specifications

Material Fleece, Underside Lycra with Teflon
Spine Measurement Medium - 19.5", Large - 21"
Drop Measurement Medium - 18.5", Large - 19"
Billet Straps/Girth Loops None
Style All-purpose
Special Features Machine washable, prevents rubs, absorbs impact, moisture wicking, breathable ultra light weight, anti slip properties
Customizable No
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Give your cold-backed horse (or any horse, for ...
    Description:
    "Give your cold-backed horse (or any horse, for that matter) the edge with Back on Track's western pad. Top riders worldwide have found that using this thin pad under their regular pad greatly improves their horse's performance."
    Why We Love This A great combination of ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This A great combination of fabrics make this our most popular saddle pad! High quality Medallion polyester fleece top is combined with a thick layer of breathable/wickable polyester batting quilted to a brushed 100% cotton fabric. Unlike ...
    "The Lettia Collection Baker All Purpose Saddle Pad ...
    Description:
    "The Lettia Collection Baker All Purpose Saddle Pad has taken the most recognized pattern in the equestrian world and applied it to some of Lettia's best lines of products to produce a winning combination. Imported."
    "The ACavallo Spine Free Gel & Memory Foam ...
    Description:
    "The ACavallo Spine Free Gel & Memory Foam Half Pad is made with your horse in mind. Specifically designed to fit their conformation, this pad features a unique two piece construction. This construction eliminates spinal pressure and improves saddle fit. ...
    Why We Love This Create your own unique ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Create your own unique look with the Tango Wave Dressage Pad! This pad features a cushioning foam fill with nylon girth straps and nylon billet straps with Velcro. The pad has a contoured topline for a ...
    "The Equine Comfort Products Wool Classic Half Pad ...
    Description:
    "The Equine Comfort Products Wool Classic Half Pad is made of Wool which is a 3-dimensional protective fiber that forms pockets of air quickly wicking away moisture. Wool’s natural springiness relieves pressure points and provides soothing support and naturally soothes ...
    "Built to last, this saddle pad is an ...
    Description:
    "Built to last, this saddle pad is an investment in your horse's comfort. It contains 100% virgin wool which offers superior quality, wicking, cooling, and compression protection. The cut of the pad, a French curve back line with wither slope, ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    EcoGold Stabilizer™ Hunter Pad is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 43.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from questionable effectiveness The first time I tried the pad, I only had 10 min. for riding. The saddle didn't slip when I dismounted. The next time I rode, it did slip when I dismounted. My pony is shedding, I don't know how much that has to do with it.
    Date published: 2016-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the price No more saddle slipping! Its lightweight and airy with a little extra padding along the back, but not so bulky that the saddle won't fit properly. I purchased a medium pad right before I got a new 17" saddle, they still work just fine together.
    Date published: 2016-04-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as happy as I thought I bought this pad for my horse who's saddle slides back a lot. We have had saddle fitting issues and thought this would be perfect to show. Right away I noticed that there is no billets for your girth & people commented on them saying that they aren't needed. As soon as I got around my first turn of my course, the saddle pad was already slipped behind my leg. The pad is much thinner than I thought. Super disappointed and I will be returning this pad immediately.
    Date published: 2016-03-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's decent My mare doesn't care for it, my gelding love it! Pricey for what it is in my opinion
    Date published: 2016-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hunter/Equitation Pad I've Ever Had! At first I was a little concerned that the pad would slide because there weren't any keepers on it but the saddle did NOT move at all. My thoroughbred's high withers usually move pads back a good four inches but it was like this pad was glued to his back. Looks great and adsorbs sweat well during a long competition. The medium pad fit both my 16.5 saddle with a forward flap and my 17.5 regular flap saddle (barely)
    Date published: 2016-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my second Eco Gold pad. The other lasted for years and they are great.
    Date published: 2015-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great show pad These are the only saddle pads I use in the show ring. Always exceptional quality and durability!
    Date published: 2015-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect show pad!!!!! this pad does not move at all, even in 90 degree weather!!!
    Date published: 2015-06-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I ordered this for my daughter. She has 17" Junior Circuit saddle. I ordered the large one and it was way to small had to return it. A larger one was not available.
    Date published: 2015-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Pad I bunch of people at my barn have this pad and I groom for them so I can attest to the fact that this pad really does prevent any kind of slipping. It seems to fit the high-end french saddles (voltaire, antares, CWD) very well, and I'm sure it would work well with any similarly shaped forward flap saddle. I ride in Voltaire with an AAA flap (very forward) and it fit perfectly. There is foam in the seat area, but it's not very thick so if you have a horse with a bony back this pad alone will not replace a half pad. However it is nice to have the bit of extra padding for saddles that already fit well. The flap area contains no padding which is nice in that it allows a closer feel. Overall, I think this is the best hunter show pad on the marked. It is extremely expensive, but this is the horse world - anything of quality is extremely expensive. I just got mine so I can't personally attest to the durability, but from what I've seen from people in my barn they hold up well.
    Date published: 2015-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems like a nice pad Seemed like a nice pad, but did not fit my saddle. I have a 17.5" forward flap Antares that has the wide gusset panels. The flap fit well but the seat area wasn't wide enough so had to return. I ordered the large.
    Date published: 2015-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely pad The Ecogold pads are all wonderful. I wish they had a black one for schooling though
    Date published: 2014-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Show PAD! I used this pad at a three day horse show and my saddle did not move, and the pad still looked great after the three days at the show! I washed it when I got home and it came out looking like new! I am happy I decided to spend the extra money and get a nice show pad. It fits my horse and saddle perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Pad! I bought this item just in time for my first rated show... worked FANTASTICALLY! I am very pleased with how well it really held my saddle in place and even more pleased because I could tell that it made my OTTB more comfortable. Now that it is almost winter time and on the off side of show season I have been using it just for training and it holds out through even the toughest lessons!
    Date published: 2014-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from PICKY HORSE APPROVED My horse is very picky, does not like thinlines or anything fluffy, strictly likes a minimalist approach to all her gear. This pad does not move and looks great. Only complaint is that I cannot clean it easily and it doenst come in other colors for ever day use!
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Non-slip pad I used this pad for a three day horse show. It didn't slip at all, kept my horse's back cool and looked great. I cleaned it in the washing machine with cold water and let it air dry. It looks brand new. I won't comment on the durability because I have only owned it for two weeks.
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely show pad Pricey, but this is a very trim, professional looking pad for hunter classes - shows just right amount evenly around saddle flap like it is custom fit. Stayed in place perfectly and provided good cushion for my high withered fellow. My trainer really liked it and others in barn are ordering. Not sure about durability, as fleece seemed to show rub under girth area. Washed well.
    Date published: 2014-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful pad, fits my super forward flap I use the Ecogold Triple Protection half pad daily, so I splurged on this pad for show when I purchased a new saddle. The new CWD is a 17.5" 4C forward flap, so I was worried about finding the right pad fit to get the perfect hunter look. The large size pad fit the bill. Only used once so far, but it stayed in place and looked great. Very expensive compared the Wilker's fleece pad I used on the old saddle, so I hope it holds up to many years of showing!
    Date published: 2014-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from non slip hunter pad I finally found a non slip saddle pad that is a perfect fit for my cwd 2gs with a forward 3 flap.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This pad does NOT slip! I was having trouble with saddle & pad slippage on my young & growing horse. Itried many different pads, and everything slipped. So, I splurged on the EcoGold. It did not slip/move one bit. It is a forward flap pad, so it does not fit my regular flapsaddle as well as I would like. My saddle is a size 16 Antares, and the EcoGold pad is a small. I definitely would not want the pad to be any bigger. I have not washed it yet, so can't comment on that.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great show pad This pad is fabulous for showing! No more black anti slip pad wrangling- this pad stays perfectly in place and keeps my saddle from slipping. Love that it is no slip on both sides. Worth the money!
    Date published: 2013-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO good for saddle fitting and comfort! When I ride in this saddle pad it feels like I'm riding on a cloud. One of the local saddle fitters came out and did one of those pressure imaging things under the saddle of the horse, and with an Ecogold saddle pad the pressure points were alleviated. I wish they had a more regular pad for schooling, but I LOVE this one!!! And it looks so nice!
    Date published: 2013-08-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Skeptical - but impressed After reading all of the reviews here, I chose to purchase this pad. I have to say - my trainer and I were both skeptical, but really impressed with the pad. The only caveat I will give is sizing. I have an Antares 17" saddle (which sort of compares to 16" in other brands), and it baaaarely fit. We were afraid to order the larger size (I ordered a medium) for fear it would be too large. But - the saddle doesn't budge. I have not washed it yet (that's always the test - right?), but I've ridden in it a dozen times, and it's even managed to stay relatively clean. I will likely purchase a second one for my hubby.
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A GREAT SADDLE PAD! DESIGNED FOR ULTIMATE COMFORTFOR THE HORSE'S BACK,NON SLIPAND GORGEOUS UNDER SADDLE.HOWEVER,IT DOES RUN A LOT LARGERTHAN INDICATED AND I HAD TO ORDERA SMALLER SIZE.THE SIZING CHARTNEEDS TO BE MUCH MORE ACCURATE.OTHERWISE, GREAT PAD FOR THE PRICE.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for warm weather hunting I like this pad because it slips less and has circulation. Hunting in Virginia can mean riding up and down hills in sometimes hot weather.
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from top of the line I was looking for the best english saddle pad I could find. Had been researching the ones that use real lamb skin when I found this one. The fact that it would be easier to keep clean and the high tech materials used convinced me to try it and I feel confident that I made the right decision. Our show mare needed the extra protection that even a thick fleece pad cant provide. It really stays in place too even when she works up a sweat. And there is the peace of mind knowing that her back is protected and she is confortable even though she was never one to complain. One less thing to worry about.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it great pad - perfect for showing, lovely padding in it and then the no slip - what more could you ask for?
    Date published: 2012-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad I just used this pad for the first time in a rated hunter/jumper show. We rode in two divisions in sloppy wet weather and surprisingly enough it held up for four days of showing. I was concerned that there weren't any billets for the girth but it ended up not being a problem. The saddle stayed in place and the overall look under the saddle was much better than the old white "fluffy" pads of the past. It also was not bulky so I always had leg contact with my horse. A little pricey but well worth the money spent.
    Date published: 2012-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Non-Slip Show Pad My 17'2 hand Warmblood always has saddle slippage problems. This pad is the key for keeping the saddle in place at shows! It is very well made. My only wish was that the fleece was made with real wool. However, the fleece around the edges doesn't look horrible, I still am showing with it at the rated shows. That's my only critique.
    Date published: 2012-02-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Pricey but is Durable I bought this for foxhunting, as my horse is very wide and the saddle slips, even with a breastplate. This looks really good when you put the saddle on, and does stick. It doesn't leave anything on your horse like markings or what not (you never know with this type of material), the quality is very good. I think this is extremely expensive for a saddle pad, but it's functional, gets the job done, and looks good. Does what it promises and it has held up well - my tack gets very beaten up foxhunting.
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    • y_2017, m_1, d_19, h_2
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_40
    • loc_en_US, sid_7389, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders