Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
7:00am - 10:00pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Ear Puffs

Equine Comfort Products
- Item #11696
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Too many distractions for your horse? Help him tune out noise with these 100% Merino Sheepskin Ear Puffs. These Ear Puffs are super soft! If the Ear Puffs don’t curb the spooking we highly recommend the Sekur-Grip. Black and Brown.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Firm in the hand, reliable in function, individual ...
    Description:
    "Firm in the hand, reliable in function, individual in design FLECK dressage whips assist professional riders and occasional riders around the world to achieve their objectives. The lightweight design of this whip combined with a soft rubber grip makes this ...
    "Smarter gear for smarter riders! Great for training ...
    Description:
    "Smarter gear for smarter riders! Great for training the young horse. This rolled noseband is tapered under the chin and was designed utilizing the same smarts, obsessive attention to detail, and insight of world champion riders as our other Rockin' ...
    "FLECK bats and crops are individual one-off items. ...
    Description:
    "FLECK bats and crops are individual one-off items. First-class raw materials, perfection in manufacture, and an eye for form and colors to satisfy the demands of any rider. Woven nylon cover, soft wrapped grip, nickle mushroom cap."
    "The Fleck Riding Bat w/FLECK-grip is the perfect ...
    Description:
    "The Fleck Riding Bat w/FLECK-grip is the perfect hunter jumper bat! This bat is super light weight with a solid synthetic core. FLECK-grips are also non-slip making them ideal for all weather conditions. A solid leather flapper gives this bat ...
    "Another great innovation in spurs! The Stubben Soft ...
    Description:
    "Another great innovation in spurs! The Stubben Soft Touch spurs feature an extremely smooth gliding, stainless steel roller end! A perfect spur for the horse that just needs a slight encouragement. Imported."
    Why We Love This The Polar Equine V800 ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Polar Equine V800 is the ultimate training companion for any equestrian sport!  In addition to tracking speed, distance, and route with the integrated GPS, it measures heart rate (even in water!).  You can plan and ...
    "Smarter Gear for Smarter Riders The ultimate training ...
    Description:
    "Smarter Gear for Smarter Riders The ultimate training tool! The soft and supple Rockin' SP Draw Reins help encourage flexion at the poll. Utilizing the same smarts, obsessive attention to detail, and insight of world champion riders Tim McQuay and ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ear Puffs is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 47.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from My horse didn't like them I bought these because my farm can be noisy at times but I tried to use them the other day and my horse kept shaking his head and itching his ears which he never does with ear balls. I took them out and he still seemed a little itchy from the sheepskin.
    Date published: 2016-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ear plugs Easy to put in and take out esp for a guy that doesn't like his ears messed with too much.
    Date published: 2015-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use I love these ear plugs for our horse because they are really easy to put in his ears and especially easy to grab the fluff and pull out of his ears.
    Date published: 2015-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recommendation I called to buy a different set/type of ear plugs. Customer services recommended these for the ease of getting them in and out of the ears. Boy am I glad I listened to them. My stud that will not let anyone touch his ears now loves these and allows me to put them in and more importantly get them out. I hunt and shoot off horses so ear plugs are important to saving the horse's hearing. The same set works on my 14 year old stud and on his yearling son. And they are easy to slip into my pocket when not in use. The horses see me get a gun out and they put their head down for me to put the ear plugs in!
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps young horses focus These work great for horses that get distracted or tend to spook at noises.My horses don't mind them in their ears. They seem comfy.
    Date published: 2015-04-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible! I was very disappointed with this product. Cheaply made, hard center and not nearly big enough for my horse. Might work for a small pony. I guess you get what you pay for. Would return them if I could do so without having to pay for return shipping.
    Date published: 2015-04-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bizarre shape and size These things are HUGE! They are two pieces of sheepskin sewn together, so they are nice and soft, but they are a weird shape and giant! I couldn't get them to stay in my horses ears to save my life. I finally got one to "sort of" sit in his ear, and it was so gigantic it looked ridiculous! He is a 16.3h TB with small ears for his size, but he is no pony! I wouldn't buy these again.
    Date published: 2014-08-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from hard center caused bigger distraction than noise Had been stuffing ears with drug store cotton and having great results. Tried these, hoping for a luxurious upgrade. Very disappointed. There seemed to be no comfortable position or fit with these. My horse just shook his head in protest until I removed them.
    Date published: 2014-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works well for us Have been using these a few times on my noise sentsitive dressage horse and will say I like them. It seems to just block out enough distractions to keep him focused, they are easy to put in and out and don't roll away if he shakes them out and they end up on the floor. The POMMS will do that, I bought them both but this set is the winner! I do not have the feeling that he doesn't hear anything any more, it's just subdued. I am riding inbetween without them so he does not get dependant on the low noise surroundings and so far I really like it. Much better horse to ride when a lot is going on.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hard lump I ordered these thinking they would be better than the synthetic ones but they had a very hard, fairly large lump in the middle of the puff. It was the hide of the sheepskin. Way too hard to stuff in a sensitive ear. I'll be returning them and getting the synthetic ones.
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ear Puffs! These ear puffs are great! They are the only ones my mare lets us put in. They last forever, and are SO soft and fluffy! They are small and very convenient. I take these to shows, but I also use them around the barn if something scary is happening, like snow falling off the indoor roof!! For me, they have stayed in very well, which I can't say about a lot of the other ear puffs!
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality for the price. However I had to trim them. They were too big for my warmbloods, tbs, etc. They might fit a draft!
    Date published: 2013-04-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality but too large Good quality for the price. However I had to trim them. They were too big for my warmbloods, tbs, etc. They might fit a draft!
    Date published: 2013-04-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Way, way too big My TB / WB mix is easily spooked and gets ear plugs for pretty much any out of stall activity. I can't really tell you if these plugs work, because they were WAY to big to even get in his ears. I noticed they were a lot larger than standard ear plugs when I got them, but there is some hard embedded in them. So I though maybe these have something special to them and would fit somehow. But no. The best I could get them in was to rest them in his ears (much too large to push them deep in), and they fell out as soon as my horse turned his head. I was laughing so much at their size that a barnmate decided to try them on her 17h Hanoverian. They were still too big. My only guess is that these are made for draft horses.
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are mandatory for a few of my horses that are troubled by horses approaching from behind or other distracting noises. They truly make a difference in the horses' behavior and are so easy to apply and remove. I highly recommend them.
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Ear Plugs These re nice ear plugs, but bigger than I excepted, and they're basically just alot of faux fur in a ball. Wish they where cheaper, but they get the job down.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT my horse is very sensitive when clipping his ears, these help sooo much!!
    Date published: 2012-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have! These puffs are great for keeping my horse focused - especially when snow starts falling off the roof of the indoor!
    Date published: 2011-12-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not useful My horse hated having the ear puffs in so much they were far more of a distraction than anything else could be. She wouldn't stop shaking her head until one or both puffs popped out.
    Date published: 2011-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from they help they fit my 17h appy/tb well, although he does have narrow/small ears. he shakes his head only once when i put them in, but after that he is fine. they have definitely helped him with spooking at small random noises, but he can still hear me, which i think is important. along with smart calm ultra its like i have a new horse :)
    Date published: 2011-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ear Puffs When my horse has his ear puffs in, he pays attention to me. When I try to ride without them every little noise distracts him. Cheap and easy to use/reuse.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nicely made product These puffs are soft and seem comfortable for my horse. I haven't yet used them, but I am hoping, like a previous reviewer, to muffle noise during ferry travel. He does not seem to mind them being in, which I was concerned about.
    Date published: 2011-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A titch small These are a bit small for my giant Oldenburg - I can get them in there, and they will usually stay for my lesson, but when we get back to the barn and he starts really shaking his head, they will sometimes pop out in his stall. He's not a big fan of them when I put them in, shakes a lot, but he usually gets over it once we start working. I'm not sure whether I will stick with these, or go back to regular sheet cotton - these are definitely more convenient, but the cotton seems to annoy him less.
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not a fan These puffs are a little large, my horse can't stand having them in her ears. Also, they only come in a package of two most come in a package of three in case one is lost.
    Date published: 2010-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect we have been using the rubber ones and he hated them - had to fight to get them in & out. We bought these and no more fighting! They do not make his ears hurt or pull his hair!
    Date published: 2010-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completely worth the money This was the best $5 I have invested in a long time. I have tried numerous supplements to try and keep my horse from spooking and getting nervous to no avail. I tried these out and the spooking and shying has been reduced tremendously. The puffs are soft and appear comfortable for my horse.
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Small Investment This is one of those products that makes you wonder..."it costs so little, REALLY what could it do? How effective is it?" Well for a Green pony or horse at a show...that has a hard time focusing on the rider and trainer, THEY WORK WONDERS. It blocks out the external noise and helps for the pony/horse to concentrate on the rider. Just have to remember to remove them when you are done riding!
    Date published: 2010-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yay!! Perfect for my jumpy, reactive "looking for an excuse" gelding.
    Date published: 2010-03-29
    • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_6
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_43
    • loc_en_US, sid_1696, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders