Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Dura-Mesh Detach-A-Neck Fly Sheet

Weatherbeeta Blankets
- Item #19464
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A durable and versatile fly sheet that is accompanied by a free fly mask, the Dura-Mesh Detach-a-Neck Fly Sheet is a favorite for horses and their owners alike.

Favorite Features

  • Detach-a-neck offers the option to remove or detach the neck wrap
  • Removable belly flap for additional protection and versatility
  • Super strong PVC-covered mesh is durable and confirms to your horse's body for close-fitting protection
  • Full wrap tail flap for complete coverage
  • Traditional gusset provides freedom of movement without rubs
  • Twin front chest straps for secure closure
  • Removable web leg straps
  • FREE matching Dura-Mesh Fly Mask included

Imported.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Dura-Mesh Detach-A-Neck Fly Sheet is rated 4.5217 out of 5 by 69.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable My horse tears through everything immediately but not this !! Would purchase again and again....
    Date published: 2015-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally found a winner! I have been looking for years to find a fly sheet that fits my 18h TB/percheron, doesnt shift or strech out, is durable, and doesnt make him too hot. He is a big boy, but also super sensitive to bugs and "things touching him" and after almost two weeks of wearing this sheet nearly 24/7, he is happy as a clam. So glad i finally found a winner.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems super durable I have only used this sheet a few times, but its super durable. The fit is good and I like that the belly band is fully detachable. I dont know why I wasn't aware, but it came with a matching fly mask too! The only think about it that I dont love is the buckles on the chest and on the neck. They just dont seem like quality hardware.
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No lining on tail flap I bought this for my gelding who has a turnout buddy who thinks it's his job to destroy blankets. So far, even with A LOT of roughhousing, the sheet has held up great - not even a little tear. Unfortunately, the tail flap is not lined, so my gelding is rubbing his tail off there. If the tail flap were lined with nylon like the shoulder area, I think this wouldn't be an issue.
    Date published: 2015-05-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable, great coverage, does get warm Bought this for my "allergic to nature" horse, also functions as a "best friend don't bite me" sheet. Impressed, as NOTHING lasts on this horse without tears occurring soon, but this fly sheet is 100% intact after about a month of daily wear. All others I've tried have started to tear by that point. If it keeps holding up, then I will be ok with paying that much for a fly sheet!Fit is a bit odd, ordered one size smaller after reading other reviews. Cut of chest is a bit weird for my big-boned, turf-bred OTTB, but it fits after some fiddling. Fasten the chest buckles tighter than normal b/c velcro piece is oddly tiny & wimpy. Nylon shoulder lining does not rub even this sensitive guy.I needed durable material, so it's a bit heavy & does get warm, but gets more airflow than any other I've tried & is cooler than comparable durable sheets. He won't be able to wear it in 110 degrees with 95% humidity, alas, but the detachable neck does allow me to keep his body still mostly protected but be a bit cooler.Neck is insanely long, even for uphill, upright horse, but took advice of another reviewer & folded top of neck cover back & fabric is stiff enough to stay, it works. Everything stays put nicely, solid hardware.Only changes I'd make: bigger velcro, a snap front PLEASE, esp at this price point. And included free flymask is also oddly sized for some draft sized head (16.2 OTTB has big horse-sized head) so velcro strap sticks way out & he rubbed through the soft ear mesh in one day by itching. But I may just cut off ears, rest of mask is good.
    Date published: 2015-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love this product. My guy is quite big and needed an 84 because his others were rubbing him. I love that this one fits but it also doesn't rub him.
    Date published: 2015-05-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from was truly hopeful...but my horse won I bought this after reading the reviews hoping this would last a season or two. My horse is a terror with his blankets (I swear he has a personal vendetta against them). He had an 'L' shaped tear on his rump after wearing this for 4 days and a gash down the front gusset. One of his buddies tore off the leather shoulder piece (watched him grab and yank it off as I went to catch him in the paddock). Did some repair work on it and on the 11th day I pulled him out of his stall to find his front leg through the chest piece (the lining was ripped out and behind his leg but the front buckles were still in good order). The trainer said it was fine when she brought him in that morning. My guess is he laid down in the stall and getting up somehow stepped on it. The mesh seems strong, it doesn't continue to tear and really on tore at the seams (with exception of the 'L' shaped one). The 'L' tear didn't continue to unravel or shred. He doesn't appear uncomfortable or get sweaty in it. My horse is an 84 but has a massively wide chest (3/4 draft) and the chest just doesn't fit him well on this. Rubs him, so I have the buckles set all the way out and it leaves his chest exposed to the flies. For body length, it is great and it doesn't hang too low (not sure how he stepped on it).I think because he's young, he just really likes to play (we won't discuss how many halters he's destroyed playing halter tag). It makes it hard to find indestructible products when you have a horse dead set on destroying them. I don't think there is a blanket out there he can't shred.
    Date published: 2015-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What? No holes? Last year I bought an Amigo fly sheet, which was recommended to me by a friend for its lightness and breathability. I loved it. For about a week.My mare is allergic to everything (noseeums, flies, mosquitos, etc.) and living in a hot, humid environment doesn't much help. She tore up the lighter fly sheet in no time.The Dura-Mesh sheet, on the other hand has held up phenomenally. Right now it she wears it for at least 12 hours a day. The reviews on this sheet all seemed to say that it ran large, and maybe it does for most. My mare is a size 76 so I bought a 75. My mare is a large-bodied horse with a wide chest. It fits well.So far, this sheet has no holes in it at all. I'm not sure if that is because it is made of a stronger material or because it is more effective at keeping the bugs at bay. The belly band is a plus, and the neck cover stays in place, unlike the neck cover of my other fly sheet that kept sliding down her neck.The fly mask that came with the sheet is nice, but my mare has a huge head so I used it for one of the other horses in my barn.I was also worried that the heavier material would be horribly hot during the summer, but so far that hasn't been the case. In fact, the holes in the mesh are larger than on my other sheet.
    Date published: 2015-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT FLY SHEET It was a great sheet well made and I was very pleased with it except for the fact that it runs very large.
    Date published: 2015-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very happy I bought this for my TBxApp mare, and am happy with the purchase. We've had no rips or tears, and no real problem rubs (rubbed her hair rough at withers, but not raw and doesn't seem to be uncomfortable). I've never gotten a neck cover before, but this one seems to attach securely to the blanket. I've also been using a halter to keep the top portion in place, but I'm not entirely sure the halter is even needed for that. For my mare, who's 15.3hh, the body is a bit deep so there's kind of a "skirt" effect happening, but it doesn't cause any problems. I ordered the 78" and have all the straps/buckles adjusted as snuggly as possible, so I probably could have ordered a 76".
    Date published: 2014-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! Durable!! This fly sheet is a comfortable fit (but not so roomy that it shifts around). Stays in place well even during overnight turnout!!
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy material This is the fly sheet for the horse who loves to ruin fly sheets. It's tough!
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from industrial strength I've been using this sheet for about 3 weeks now. The 81 fits my draft cross very well, with the neck reaching comfortably to just behind her ears. The material is quite strong, and I expect it to vastly outperform softer sheets I have tried in the past, which were promptly destroyed by her rubbing (she has allergies, hence the need for the sheet). It is pretty heavy, as others have noted, between the robust material and the abundance of hardware. I like the rear log straps for keeping it in place, however one ripped off in the first week of use, which was a little disappointing and the reason I yanked a star.
    Date published: 2014-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet After purchasing an Amigo fly sheet that fell apart, I decided to buy the Rambo sheets that were "indestructible." They were like armour, and weighing a ton my mare hated them! I wasn't sure what to do, not liking the "fly-screen" sheets or the super softies, which made my girl sweat, I purchased this Weatherbeeta Dura Mesh sheet. It's been great! It's a little stiff, but it keeps my mare cool and bug free. The fit is great, with no rubs, and I find the belly strap a nice feature along with the leg straps instead of a single tail strap. The fly mask fits nicely after I made a slight adjustment with the velcro. The only negative is the neck piece, it's way too long. I really like this sheet and am so glad I purchased it.
    Date published: 2014-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my Fresian I have a three year old pure fresian big girl that treats life like her playground including fly sheets. A destructive kinda gal. This fly sheet has held up this year with the exception of the tail flap. With all her rubbing it is coming apart at the seam. It has excellent protection keeping her jet black which last year was more of a bay horse. The neck fits her perfect! She wears a 75 normally and I got a 72, perfect fit. Belly too large but still functional. Only issue I have is she rubs neck and her mane no matter if you braid it or not gets in tangles. Buy the time I work it out she has lost a few inches of hair this year. Major bummer. If u have a fresian and like hair I would suggest taking neck cover off. Definetly worth the money and it is not hot like u would think but not for extreme hot weather
    Date published: 2014-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dura-Mesh Detach-A-Neck Fly Sheet This is a great fly sheet. It covers my horse well. It has an excellent fit.
    Date published: 2014-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great purchase!! After reading the reviews saying how large this fly sheet is, I went ONE size down. I own a 14hh haflinger mare, and she ideally wears a size 75 blanket. I do have a weatherbeeta winter blanket for her, and it is a size 75, which is why I decided to just go down to a 72 rather than go two sizes down like many reviewers said to do. The 72 fits her absolutely BEAUTIFULLY in the sheet area. The neck cover is slightly too long, but I can just fold it over a couple inches up by her ears. I have had this fly sheet over a month now, and with almost constant wear, it still looks brand new. It even withstands a rigorous roll! The only thing is this fly sheet has given her one small rub mark on the right side of her chest, so maybe the nylon lining should also cover part of the shoulders. Also, just to make the sheet perfect, I think they should attach a bigger piece of Velcro on the front, rather than just that little dinky strip, to keep the fly sheet from bunching in the front. Other than those small imperfections, the fly sheet is wonderful quality and I believe will hold up for summers to come, which is why I am giving it 5 stars, even though there are small things that could be improved upon. The free fly mask was also another great feature! At first sight out of the box, I thought it would never fit her smaller head, but when I tried it on and tightened it up it fit perfectly, and I simply cut off all of the extra Velcro. Another wonderful purchase made at Smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny My draft cross lives in weatherbeeta blankets and sheets. After his last one came to a demise after two seasons, I decided to try this one hoping it would be a little more durable, which it totally is for my tough guy. (he loves to destroy his blankets!) the quality is awesome as expected, and fits perfectly. Weatherbeeta typically fit wider horses best in my experience, and goose is a true 81 and the fly sheet is no exception. If you had a narrower horse (tb, etc) try a size down but if you have a chunkier guy the right size should work! I ordered this one a Monday and received it one day later, free shipping and a bonus fly mask. Love weatherbeeta, especially from smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good. I really like this fly sheet. I'm really happy with this fly sheet so far. My horse itches and scratches out his mane and the top of the tail without it. This sheet has worked wonders. No more rubbing on his shelter. Putting it on and taking it are no problem. Unfortunately there's no hope for my guy to keep a fly mask on no matter how hard I try so I can't speak to that.For what it's worth, I read all the sizing comments and sized down as suggested. Unfortunately, that didn't work out for me. I had to return and order in his normal size.
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super durable fly sheet Super durable fly sheetSurvived 2 seasons of pasture abuseOne thing you should know before ordering!!!RUNS HUGE!!!Size 81 horse needs 75Size 78 horse needs 72Size 75 horse needs 69On the picture 17' horse, that usually wears 81 blankets, wearing size 75 fly sheet.
    Date published: 2014-03-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from looks like it will wear like iron I've only had this for a few days due to the fact that I ordered a 78 the first time around. My horse usually wears an 80 and I had been told that these run big...well, big is not a quite big enough word!!! I had to return the 78 and order a 75 which fits him perfectly...who'da thunk a 16'3 hand horse would wear a 75! Otherwise it looks like it will be a keeper.
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very durable, good fit, no rubbing! I bought this fly sheet after returning the Weatherbeeta Airflow Detach-A-Neck Fly Sheet due to the mane liner seems detaching after 12 hours of use. The Dura Mesh sheet has held up very well so far. My horse has worn it 24/7 for over 1 month. He likes to rub on things, as he has sweet itch, and his pasture mate likes to occasionally bite and pull his blankets/masks for fun -- but no rips or snags and it still looks almost new! For those with sweet itch suffers: It does not cover quite as well as the Boett Blanket or Snuggy Hood on the belly and between the front legs, but it is much more durable, much less expensive and provides almost as good coverage (and definitely more coverage than a shredded $330 Boett Blanket!!!) A few minor things about the DuraMesh: The loops connecting the fly mask and neck cover are just loops (no velcro) they are meant only to be used with a halter to 'correctly' attach the free/matching fly mask to the neck cover. However it works just fine with out a halter as I don't routinely use one for pastured horses. I originally bought a 75' in the airflow after reading reviews that said Weatherbeeta sheets ran large and my horse wears a 78' in the Horsewear Ireland (Rambo) blankets. However, the 75' was too small in the AirFlow sheet, but when I exchanged it for the DuraMesh in a 78' it fit perfectly. Overall, the Dura Mesh is a strong durable fly sheet with good coverage and no rubbing so far! I would tweak a few minor things on it for perfection :), but I will buy it again, and plan to stock up when it (hopefully!) goes on sale!
    Date published: 2013-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, attractive flysheet The mesh is rugged and durable, yet conforms to the horse's body. The dura-mesh stays much cleaner, holds less water, is much more tear resistant and breathes much better than a soft mesh sheet - however it does not provide as much UV protection. My mare usually wears an 86-87 but the 82 fit, and was even a bit large on her.
    Date published: 2013-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sheet This sheet is great! My mare really doesn't get too warm when she's wearing it, unless it's really hot and everyone else is sweating anyway. Even though it's a stiffer sheet, it hasn't caused any rubs so far. The free fly mask is a nice bonus as well :).
    Date published: 2013-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weatherbeeta Quality and Fit Our bug season came quite suddenly in Ontario, so I needed to get a fly sheet quickly. My gelding is on pasture board so I needed a sheet with good coverage that was also very durable.I'm glad I read the reviews before ordering, as this sheet does run large. I have a WB turnout for my horse in an 81, but ordered the sheet in a 78 and it's just right. He would have been swimming in the 81.So far, the sheet has held up to near-daily use with no visible wear at all. Our weather hasn't been extremely hot yet, but I haven't found him overheated or sweating at all. The material is the heavier, plasticy mesh but there has been no rubbing, although his coat is a bit scruffy rather than smooth as it would be under a nylon sheet. However, a grooming smooths the hair down without any problems.I recommended this to a barnmate already and SmartPak shipped both extremely quickly to my mail drop.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. Washes well. Just needs to be hosed down!
    Date published: 2013-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from True to word This is really a nice fly sheet- I was looking for something to help keep the flies and hopefully mosquitoes from welting my guy up with bites this spring. He's a playful gelding turned out with other playful geldings, so is hard on anything. So far, other than a tear at the tail flap from where the other boys are biting and pulling back and trying to yank the whole thing off him, it's holding up fantastic. Better yet, it's taking the beating so my guy doesn't look quite so beat up from their silly rough-housing. The fact that it includes a neck piece and a mask for the price is just icing on the cake. I too bought a size smaller than I normally would and it fits him perfectly.
    Date published: 2013-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like it so far I haven't had to use the sheet since fly season hasn't started. Though I do like the way it fits my mare. I read the reviews and decided to listen and ordered a size smaller than I usually get her. She usually fits a 75 but I bought the 72 and it fits perfect, not tight around the chest and she seems to have room to move. I didn't rate the durability since we haven't used it. Though it does feel sturdy like the kensington sheet and tougher than the rambo that didn't make the full season last year.
    Date published: 2013-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable Fly Sheet This is a very durable fly sheet! The sheet is a nice pick for the horses that destroy fly blankets with regularity! It is quite heavy, but it is interesting as it is ALWAYS self righting and I have yet to have one get sideways or even tear. My horses never have bite marks due to the construction of this sheet! The only thing that I wish was that the belly band was a tad more adjustable as they seem to be a bit low to be useful in the belly area. Owned 6 of them for the year and not one rip or tear! Overall a very useful and durable product.
    Date published: 2012-12-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dura-Mesh Detach-A-Neck Fly Sheet I recently ordered a Dura-Mesh Detach-A-Neck Fly Sheet. It arrived in great condition.The size I ordered was a size smaller than I would have ordered because it was stated by other customers who said it runs big . It fit perfectly.The neck piece just wouldn't stay on no matter what I did. I would go out to check on my horse and the neck piece would either be over his head or completely off. So I returned it. I wanted the complete protection and I just couldn't get it because I couldn't keep the neck protection in place.
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    • 2015-08-29T01:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_67
    • loc_en_US, sid_9464, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.