Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Dura-Mesh Detach-A-Neck Fly Sheet

Weatherbeeta Blankets
- Item #19464
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A durable and versatile fly sheet that is accompanied by a free fly mask, the Dura-Mesh Detach-a-Neck Fly Sheet is a favorite for horses and their owners alike.

Favorite Features

  • Detach-a-neck offers the option to remove or detach the neck wrap
  • Removable belly flap for additional protection and versatility
  • Super strong PVC-covered mesh is durable and confirms to your horse's body for close-fitting protection
  • Full wrap tail flap for complete coverage
  • Traditional gusset provides freedom of movement without rubs
  • Twin front chest straps for secure closure
  • Removable web leg straps
  • FREE matching Dura-Mesh Fly Mask included

Imported.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Dura-Mesh Detach-A-Neck Fly Sheet is rated 4.5424 out of 5 by 59.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from industrial strength I've been using this sheet for about 3 weeks now. The 81 fits my draft cross very well, with the neck reaching comfortably to just behind her ears. The material is quite strong, and I expect it to vastly outperform softer sheets I have tried in the past, which were promptly destroyed by her rubbing (she has allergies, hence the need for the sheet). It is pretty heavy, as others have noted, between the robust material and the abundance of hardware. I like the rear log straps for keeping it in place, however one ripped off in the first week of use, which was a little disappointing and the reason I yanked a star.
    Date published: 2014-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet After purchasing an Amigo fly sheet that fell apart, I decided to buy the Rambo sheets that were "indestructible." They were like armour, and weighing a ton my mare hated them! I wasn't sure what to do, not liking the "fly-screen" sheets or the super softies, which made my girl sweat, I purchased this Weatherbeeta Dura Mesh sheet. It's been great! It's a little stiff, but it keeps my mare cool and bug free. The fit is great, with no rubs, and I find the belly strap a nice feature along with the leg straps instead of a single tail strap. The fly mask fits nicely after I made a slight adjustment with the velcro. The only negative is the neck piece, it's way too long. I really like this sheet and am so glad I purchased it.
    Date published: 2014-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my Fresian I have a three year old pure fresian big girl that treats life like her playground including fly sheets. A destructive kinda gal. This fly sheet has held up this year with the exception of the tail flap. With all her rubbing it is coming apart at the seam. It has excellent protection keeping her jet black which last year was more of a bay horse. The neck fits her perfect! She wears a 75 normally and I got a 72, perfect fit. Belly too large but still functional. Only issue I have is she rubs neck and her mane no matter if you braid it or not gets in tangles. Buy the time I work it out she has lost a few inches of hair this year. Major bummer. If u have a fresian and like hair I would suggest taking neck cover off. Definetly worth the money and it is not hot like u would think but not for extreme hot weather
    Date published: 2014-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dura-Mesh Detach-A-Neck Fly Sheet This is a great fly sheet. It covers my horse well. It has an excellent fit.
    Date published: 2014-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great purchase!! After reading the reviews saying how large this fly sheet is, I went ONE size down. I own a 14hh haflinger mare, and she ideally wears a size 75 blanket. I do have a weatherbeeta winter blanket for her, and it is a size 75, which is why I decided to just go down to a 72 rather than go two sizes down like many reviewers said to do. The 72 fits her absolutely BEAUTIFULLY in the sheet area. The neck cover is slightly too long, but I can just fold it over a couple inches up by her ears. I have had this fly sheet over a month now, and with almost constant wear, it still looks brand new. It even withstands a rigorous roll! The only thing is this fly sheet has given her one small rub mark on the right side of her chest, so maybe the nylon lining should also cover part of the shoulders. Also, just to make the sheet perfect, I think they should attach a bigger piece of Velcro on the front, rather than just that little dinky strip, to keep the fly sheet from bunching in the front. Other than those small imperfections, the fly sheet is wonderful quality and I believe will hold up for summers to come, which is why I am giving it 5 stars, even though there are small things that could be improved upon. The free fly mask was also another great feature! At first sight out of the box, I thought it would never fit her smaller head, but when I tried it on and tightened it up it fit perfectly, and I simply cut off all of the extra Velcro. Another wonderful purchase made at Smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny My draft cross lives in weatherbeeta blankets and sheets. After his last one came to a demise after two seasons, I decided to try this one hoping it would be a little more durable, which it totally is for my tough guy. (he loves to destroy his blankets!) the quality is awesome as expected, and fits perfectly. Weatherbeeta typically fit wider horses best in my experience, and goose is a true 81 and the fly sheet is no exception. If you had a narrower horse (tb, etc) try a size down but if you have a chunkier guy the right size should work! I ordered this one a Monday and received it one day later, free shipping and a bonus fly mask. Love weatherbeeta, especially from smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good. I really like this fly sheet. I'm really happy with this fly sheet so far. My horse itches and scratches out his mane and the top of the tail without it. This sheet has worked wonders. No more rubbing on his shelter. Putting it on and taking it are no problem. Unfortunately there's no hope for my guy to keep a fly mask on no matter how hard I try so I can't speak to that.For what it's worth, I read all the sizing comments and sized down as suggested. Unfortunately, that didn't work out for me. I had to return and order in his normal size.
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super durable fly sheet Super durable fly sheetSurvived 2 seasons of pasture abuseOne thing you should know before ordering!!!RUNS HUGE!!!Size 81 horse needs 75Size 78 horse needs 72Size 75 horse needs 69On the picture 17' horse, that usually wears 81 blankets, wearing size 75 fly sheet.
    Date published: 2014-03-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from looks like it will wear like iron I've only had this for a few days due to the fact that I ordered a 78 the first time around. My horse usually wears an 80 and I had been told that these run big...well, big is not a quite big enough word!!! I had to return the 78 and order a 75 which fits him perfectly...who'da thunk a 16'3 hand horse would wear a 75! Otherwise it looks like it will be a keeper.
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very durable, good fit, no rubbing! I bought this fly sheet after returning the Weatherbeeta Airflow Detach-A-Neck Fly Sheet due to the mane liner seems detaching after 12 hours of use. The Dura Mesh sheet has held up very well so far. My horse has worn it 24/7 for over 1 month. He likes to rub on things, as he has sweet itch, and his pasture mate likes to occasionally bite and pull his blankets/masks for fun -- but no rips or snags and it still looks almost new! For those with sweet itch suffers: It does not cover quite as well as the Boett Blanket or Snuggy Hood on the belly and between the front legs, but it is much more durable, much less expensive and provides almost as good coverage (and definitely more coverage than a shredded $330 Boett Blanket!!!) A few minor things about the DuraMesh: The loops connecting the fly mask and neck cover are just loops (no velcro) they are meant only to be used with a halter to 'correctly' attach the free/matching fly mask to the neck cover. However it works just fine with out a halter as I don't routinely use one for pastured horses. I originally bought a 75' in the airflow after reading reviews that said Weatherbeeta sheets ran large and my horse wears a 78' in the Horsewear Ireland (Rambo) blankets. However, the 75' was too small in the AirFlow sheet, but when I exchanged it for the DuraMesh in a 78' it fit perfectly. Overall, the Dura Mesh is a strong durable fly sheet with good coverage and no rubbing so far! I would tweak a few minor things on it for perfection :), but I will buy it again, and plan to stock up when it (hopefully!) goes on sale!
    Date published: 2013-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, attractive flysheet The mesh is rugged and durable, yet conforms to the horse's body. The dura-mesh stays much cleaner, holds less water, is much more tear resistant and breathes much better than a soft mesh sheet - however it does not provide as much UV protection. My mare usually wears an 86-87 but the 82 fit, and was even a bit large on her.
    Date published: 2013-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sheet This sheet is great! My mare really doesn't get too warm when she's wearing it, unless it's really hot and everyone else is sweating anyway. Even though it's a stiffer sheet, it hasn't caused any rubs so far. The free fly mask is a nice bonus as well :).
    Date published: 2013-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weatherbeeta Quality and Fit Our bug season came quite suddenly in Ontario, so I needed to get a fly sheet quickly. My gelding is on pasture board so I needed a sheet with good coverage that was also very durable.I'm glad I read the reviews before ordering, as this sheet does run large. I have a WB turnout for my horse in an 81, but ordered the sheet in a 78 and it's just right. He would have been swimming in the 81.So far, the sheet has held up to near-daily use with no visible wear at all. Our weather hasn't been extremely hot yet, but I haven't found him overheated or sweating at all. The material is the heavier, plasticy mesh but there has been no rubbing, although his coat is a bit scruffy rather than smooth as it would be under a nylon sheet. However, a grooming smooths the hair down without any problems.I recommended this to a barnmate already and SmartPak shipped both extremely quickly to my mail drop.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. Washes well. Just needs to be hosed down!
    Date published: 2013-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from True to word This is really a nice fly sheet- I was looking for something to help keep the flies and hopefully mosquitoes from welting my guy up with bites this spring. He's a playful gelding turned out with other playful geldings, so is hard on anything. So far, other than a tear at the tail flap from where the other boys are biting and pulling back and trying to yank the whole thing off him, it's holding up fantastic. Better yet, it's taking the beating so my guy doesn't look quite so beat up from their silly rough-housing. The fact that it includes a neck piece and a mask for the price is just icing on the cake. I too bought a size smaller than I normally would and it fits him perfectly.
    Date published: 2013-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like it so far I haven't had to use the sheet since fly season hasn't started. Though I do like the way it fits my mare. I read the reviews and decided to listen and ordered a size smaller than I usually get her. She usually fits a 75 but I bought the 72 and it fits perfect, not tight around the chest and she seems to have room to move. I didn't rate the durability since we haven't used it. Though it does feel sturdy like the kensington sheet and tougher than the rambo that didn't make the full season last year.
    Date published: 2013-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable Fly Sheet This is a very durable fly sheet! The sheet is a nice pick for the horses that destroy fly blankets with regularity! It is quite heavy, but it is interesting as it is ALWAYS self righting and I have yet to have one get sideways or even tear. My horses never have bite marks due to the construction of this sheet! The only thing that I wish was that the belly band was a tad more adjustable as they seem to be a bit low to be useful in the belly area. Owned 6 of them for the year and not one rip or tear! Overall a very useful and durable product.
    Date published: 2012-12-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dura-Mesh Detach-A-Neck Fly Sheet I recently ordered a Dura-Mesh Detach-A-Neck Fly Sheet. It arrived in great condition.The size I ordered was a size smaller than I would have ordered because it was stated by other customers who said it runs big . It fit perfectly.The neck piece just wouldn't stay on no matter what I did. I would go out to check on my horse and the neck piece would either be over his head or completely off. So I returned it. I wanted the complete protection and I just couldn't get it because I couldn't keep the neck protection in place.
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Fly Sheet Trying to find a blanket, let alone a fly sheet, that can hold up to the abuse my mare puts them through is almost impossible. Luckily this fly sheet has held up to biting and kicks from pasture mates, and to being rubbed and scratched on trees. Also love all the coverage it gives her from insects and the sun.
    Date published: 2012-09-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needs generous sizing this product is made to work when full folds can be tented over the horse, allowing air to flow through the material, acting like an air cooler. The tight construction does not allow for generous "fluffing" and tenting to make best use of the idea behind this textilene material! Order at least two sizes larger, which means my horse needs an 88-90.....which I can't find!
    Date published: 2012-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasted All Summer! I usually have to purchase two or more fly sheets to get through the summer, since my hard-playing gelding rips blankets for fun. This fly sheet (and mask and neck cover) lasted ALL summer! Just this week, he (with help from his neighbor) finally managed to rip it at the back seam, but I think it will last until the end of this month.Great color, fits big (he's an 81, wears a 78 in this product). I'm buying another one now for next year!
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Coverage This was an excellent value for the price and durability. The drop and fit is super, which is so hard to find. I have a 16.2 Irish Sport Horse, who is now extremely happy during this summer season. The color combination is equisite. This will last for years to come.
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Size 75" Fits My 81" Horse The size 75" fits my 81" horse but the size 72" was too small for my other horse who usually takes a 75".
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This fly sheet is very durable and eliminates the need for fly spraying. My horse wears a size 84 in all other Weatherbeata sheets/blankets but the 84 was too big on him. The 81 fits perfect. I was amazed that even on the hotest of days, he did not sweat under this sheet. The fly mask has a very generous velcro closure and stays nicely in place.
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Awesomeness Best fly sheet ever. Durable on my naughty 4yo. He hasn't ripped or tore any part of it. It protects him perfectly from mosquitoes, flies, etc in Florida AND he doesn't sweat under it (unless it's so hot that even those without sheets are sweating).Love the detachable neck. Love the neck buckles. Tail flap covers the rump/back of thighs.I can't say enough great things about this sheet!
    Date published: 2012-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great set I would recommend this fly sheet set to anyone. It does run large so by 2 sizes smaller. Good ventilation especially during hot humid days.
    Date published: 2012-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pleased with purchas After reading the reviews, I ordered a size smaller than the chest-to-tail measured. When I tried them on, my horses couldn't comfortably graze. I exchanged them for the size closest to the chest-to-tail measurement and now the horses can graze comfortably. The lime/gray color is like "pasture camo" and looks great. We've used them a couple of weeks in the mountains and they have a couple of small holes and a tear at the tail seam from rubbing on trees. The bottom-line is that my horses are not bothered by the deer flies anymore.
    Date published: 2012-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous!! The quality of the fly sheet and neck piece is excellent. The fly mask was an extra bonus and completes the coverage. I ordered the smallest size and it fits perfectly. The only thing that I find a tiny bit troublesome is all the buckling that needs to be done. Other than that small small item, the outfit is working perfectly for me.
    Date published: 2012-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Still Very Pleased These sheets are still doing the job, still look good. The gap at the throat between the mask and neck attachment and neck attachment and breast cover allows some flies to get at them, but for the most part, I am very pleased with these sheets. The tail covers are wonderful and have ceased tail rubbing. Hallelujah! Do order smaller size, they run big. I was concerned about the masks being too big, they almost always are for my Morgans, but they fit nicely. Only complaint is that I wish they were fitted longer down the nose.
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product This blanket is great for turnout-durable but not too hot. The stitching and hardware are top quality. The fit is large, but this allows for adequate shoulder room and tail cover.
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    • 2015-05-28T10:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_58
    • loc_en_US, sid_9464, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.