Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Deo Lotion

Item #11518
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save 5% (Details)

days
You'll save $ per shipment, or $ per year!
(Discounted price will be reflected in your cart)
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Deo Lotion is easy to use and environmentally safe. Deo Lotion is made with 100% natural ingredients. Deo Lotion Fly Repellent prevents any contact- no more flies, horseflies or gnats spoiling your ride!

Deo Lotion is offered in concentrate, gel or roll on

View Product Label

Favorite Features

  • Easy to Use
  • Environmentally safe

Ingredients

Gel: Lauryl Sulfate, Citronella Oil, Clove Oil, Thyme Oil, Cedar Oil, Geranium Oil, Olive Oil, Grape Seed Oil, Vitamin E, Water, Hydroxymethyl, Cellulose, Water$0$0Liquid: Lauryl Sulfate, Citronella Oil, Clove Oil, Thyme Oil, Cedar Oil, Geranium Oil, Olive Oil, Grape Seed Oil, Vitamin E, Water$0$0Roll On: Lauryl Sulfate, Citronella Oil, Clove Oil, Thyme Oil, Cedar Oil, Geranium Oil, Olive Oil, Grape Seed Oil, Vitamin E, Water
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Amigo Fine Mesh Fly Mask with ears ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo Fine Mesh Fly Mask with ears is ready to help you battle those pesky flies this coming season! Lightweight and stretchy, it protects from flies with its contoured fit and large, soft ears. Breathable, fine mesh outer with ...
    "Bite-Lite brings pest control indoors with the introduction ...
    Description:
    "Bite-Lite brings pest control indoors with the introduction of the Armadilha Insect Indoor Light Trap. What's in a name? The word ""armadilha"" means ""trap"" in Portuguese. If you need to control indoor house flies, moths, wasps, and other flying pests ...
    "CalmCoat® Natural Fly Repellent is a water based ...
    Description:
    "CalmCoat® Natural Fly Repellent is a water based formula that is designed to repel biting insects. The unique combination of Citronella and other botanicals naturally repel biting insects including fleas, ticks, mosquitoes, black flies, no-see-ums, gnats, chiggers, and deer flies. ...
    "Add our Equiderma Skin Lotion to your favorite ...
    Description:
    "Add our Equiderma Skin Lotion to your favorite must have’s and you’ll have a new champion by your side. With power, predictably and gentle grace it will quickly conquer the skin problems that leave your horse uncomfortable. Rain rot, scratches, ...
    "Aloe Herbal Flay Spray Ready To Use A ...
    Description:
    "Aloe Herbal Flay Spray Ready To Use A gentle blend of ingredients, including botanical oils to repel flies, gnats, and other flying insects on horses. Contains coat conditioners and sunscreen which promote a healthy coat and protection from the sun. ...
    "A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece ...
    Description:
    "A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece Fly Mask is constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene® fabric, a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable. It's made to withstand tough outdoor use. The densely woven ...
    "The Kensington Fly Mask without ears will have ...
    Description:
    "The Kensington Fly Mask without ears will have you ready to combat flies this season! Made from textilene, its specially formulated to withstand fading, soiling, wear and tear as well as being mildew resistant. It will not only protect against ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Deo Lotion is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 181.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice alternative Purchased this product to rotate with other bug repellents that we use at the barn. The roll-on seems to be very effective on the head and ears. Have used the lotion on and off for years, it repels bugs just as good as other products and smells nice too.
    Date published: 2017-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very convenient applicator I bought this product with the sponge applicator at the recommendation of my mare's former owner. The bugs were eating up her belly near her back legs. She is not too excited about people applying things to her midline, but tolerates the application sponge. The product definitely helps. Her midline comes in from the pasture looking normal, not all puffy.
    Date published: 2017-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great! Best flt spray, especially for the end of season when flies are the worst!
    Date published: 2016-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Non-chemical Fly Repellent that Works! This fly repellent concentrate is easy to mix with water and it WORKS. The best feature is that I no longer have to worry about spraying chemicals on my horse - or on myself. The price is reasonable because each bottle of concentrate makes several spray bottles when mixed with water.
    Date published: 2016-09-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works on my very very sensitive mare I ran out of an old bottle in my barn and tried something else and my horse broke out in hives and welts! So I ordered from SmartPak and it literally came overnight
    Date published: 2016-09-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will no longer use wipe on gel I have been a loyal Clac gel user for many years. I was at a tack shop in Maine in early June and wanted to get one for this season.They no longer carried it and told me some customers had complained of skin rashes on their horses. I did not believe them since I had always had a good experience, si I ordered it from Smartpak. Well, I was wrong. My horse started to develop scuz on his body which I chalked up to the heat and excessive sweat this summer. Then, I realized it was only on the areas I wipe the gel. Stopped using the gel, washed the areas with betadine a few times and it is all gone. He has a tiny bit lingering in front of his girth area between his legs, but that is it. It most definitely was the gel. So, be aware, even if you, like me, were a loyal fan of the wipe on gel.
    Date published: 2016-09-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smells yummy I love the smell of this stuff. The only issue I have with it is that you have to mix it fairly strongly in order to combat the worst of the fly season; therefore it doesn't last as long. It does not kill flies on contact either. But, it's not loaded with chemicals either. I spray couple times a day, more during the height of fly season.
    Date published: 2016-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff!! I like this stuff!! Works better then Most products and my horse doesnt react to it. 2nd year using it.
    Date published: 2016-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great to keep away green heads and yellow flies! Works well and keeping green heads and yellow flies from biting!
    Date published: 2016-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from non-toxic protection Living right next to some cattle, flies can be brutal. I was looking for something without toxic chemicals since I have a tendency to be a little over the top when it comes to my animals. This product can be diluted 7:1 so for the price I'm getting multiple bottles of non-harmful spray, mostly essential oils. I spray twice a day, but I'm finding that my horses are enjoying the cool mist and I like the interaction with my horses. They seem overall more comfortable, too. I'm ordering more!
    Date published: 2016-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great!! This is very good to swab on my horses belly, legs and around his head, before turn out. It has helped all the stomping at flies, and it smells great!
    Date published: 2016-07-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from doesn't work product doesn't work. the fly spray i previously made with Avon Skin So Soft worked better, which i'll be making again
    Date published: 2016-07-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love that it's Natural!! This works very well for fly control!! It doesn't cause my sensitive horse to react to the product!
    Date published: 2016-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works immediately. repels bugs Love this product in all its firms, the gel is great
    Date published: 2016-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deo Gel is great I use the deo lotion gel on my horses' midlines where the flies like to bite and also around lower legs. It works well. I have also used the spray concentrate for over 15 years and find it works as well as the ones with toxic chemicals - and it smells great!
    Date published: 2016-07-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing and expensive After reading reviews, thought this might be worth a try. Directions suggest dilution of 1/7 but I opted for 1/5. First of all, the concentrate does not mix easily or well with water, and separates every time you let it sit. But what is worse, it does NOT do a particularly good job of repelling flies. It smells great--but maybe the flies think so too. I don't think it works for longer than 30-45 mins. I'll stick with something cheaper.
    Date published: 2016-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product at a great price I was hesitant at first but tried it and I love it. Works as well or better than more expensive brands.
    Date published: 2016-06-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works well by thought it was a concentrate I thought I was buying a concentrate test could be mixed with water It works but is expensive
    Date published: 2016-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good - I'm re-ordering I just can't use chemical sprays. I'm sensitive to something in them, every time I try using a traditional spray, I feel yucky the rest of the day. So I need to use alternatives. Plus, the bugs are so bad right now, it doesn't even seem to matter what you put on: nothing stops a horse fly. I think this stuff works relatively well, at least for a short time. This stuff is a better value than stuff like the Absorbine Green. That stuff costs $20 or so a bottle, while this concentrate will get you several bottles worth. The packaging says you can dilute it up to 1:7, but as a previous reviewer said, I dilute it about 1:4. I've tried making my own fly sprays but they usually smell funky, and this stuff smells nice. Plus, by the time you buy your own essential oils, which are $$ by themselves, you're not really saving any money. This stuff smells nice and is easy to mix up.
    Date published: 2016-06-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A better dilution solution... After committing to using only non-toxic repellents a couple of years ago, and having a horse with pretty severe culicoides allergies (sweet itch, or whatever you want to call it), I have tried nearly every natural repellent on the market. I vastly prefer anything that comes in a concentrate so that I don't have to have giant bottles of mostly water shipped to me all the time- so CLAC gets a lot of points for that right off the bat. In terms of performance, I'd call it satisfactory for the natural repellents- which are never as effective as the uber-toxic ones, but hopefully won't give you or your animals brain damage if you have to use as much repellent as I do with an allergic mare. BUT... I find it works best at approximately a 1:4 dilution (I use a little less than 1 cup concentrate plus a little less than 4 cups of water in a 32 oz spray bottle), applied at least twice a day, to be effective for mosquitoes and gnats- which are the main species I need to repel in my area. At this dilution it costs about the same as most mid-range fly sprays on the market. If you use it stronger it's definitely more effective, but gets a bit cost prohibitive.
    Date published: 2016-05-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing I was hoping DEO lotion would be much more effective on my two horses. One is retired but the other one I ride. I doused my riding horse with the lotion via spraying it on and it kind of worked for one ride. It also left blotches of wet spots on his hair (we weren't showing so it was no big deal). My biggest insect issue this year is a small biting/stinging fly that attacks the lower front legs and belly. Our climate this year has been vastly different from before and I'm not sure what these critters are or how to stop them. My horses have been doing lots of stomping in their stalls and turnouts. Mosquito Halt didn't work either!
    Date published: 2015-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Efficient against gnats and smells great This product helps against the tiniest flies that eat my horse alive in unmentionable areas. I like the smell too. It probably should be diluted a bit if your horse has sensitive skin.
    Date published: 2015-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works Our trainer recommended Clac. It is working great against biting insects in MO. We also sent some to my sister in SC where she says it is great for their biting nats! A little goes a long way too.
    Date published: 2015-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the price! This is my go to fly spray in the summer in Michigan. Works great for flies at roughly $5 per spray bottle (28 oz using 1 to 6 ratio). Just note it doesn't do much for mosquitoes. I use Mosquito Halt for that.
    Date published: 2015-07-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing outstanding for such high-priced stuff. Expected way more protection because of the description (and price), but the 1:7 ratio didn't keep the flies away any better than any other product I've used. Feel like I wasted my money. Next batch I'll mix 2:6 and see if that makes a difference. It may be all natural stuff but it's got a very strong chemical smell.
    Date published: 2015-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even repels horseflies I've used this product for over 15 years, and love it. There is ONE BIG concern that people need to be aware of. If you have a lot of Japanese Beetles in your area, understand that this product will ATTRACT them to your horse. I use it in the years we have low JB populations. Some horses react rather violently to a JB landing on them as if it was a horsefly. It's a dark flying insect, similar size to a horsefly. Horses aren't so good at identifying insect species - they're just worried it's going to bite them. No repellent works better, IMO.
    Date published: 2015-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff!!! Used this spray it in a buggy area and the bugs did not even come near my horse. This spray is awesome.
    Date published: 2015-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far working really well! We used this stuff years ago and for the longest time I couldn't find it. I remembered it as being potent and effective. So I ordered it. It's REALLY potent- when the box arrived I could smell it and thought that maybe it had spilled in the box. It hadn't. I was just able to smell it through the sealed bottle, the plastic bag, the crumpled paper AND the cardboard box. It's strong but doesn't have a horrible smell. So I watered it down 1:4 to see how effective that would be and determine if that was too strong/weak. It seems to work well for me at this concentration level. Repels flies well and when I manage to actually spray a fly it falls over and dies. It seems to hold up to mild sweating but I can't say for sure after heavy sweating- I usually just reapply. Very cost effective- the initial bottle is kinda pricey but when you water it down you get many more bottles out of that one.
    Date published: 2015-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good alternative to chemicals This actually works ok for a chemical free repellent. I got the concentrate so I can mix it appropriately acording to my horses sensitivity.
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally affordable bug spray that works Concentrated to give more effective bug prevention
    Date published: 2015-06-13
    • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_164
    • loc_en_US, sid_1518, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders