Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Deo Lotion

Item #11518
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Deo Lotion is easy to use and environmentally safe. Deo Lotion is made with 100% natural ingredients. Deo Lotion Fly Repellent prevents any contact- no more flies, horseflies or gnats spoiling your ride!

Favorite Features

  • Easy to Use
  • Environmentally safe

Sizing It Up
Deo Lotion is offered in concentrate, gel or roll on

View Product Label

You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Deo Lotion is rated 4.6181 out of 5 by 144.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well Since I don't use harsh chemicals on my horse this product is a good alternative. It repels flies and mosquitoes, and smells nice too!
    Date published: 2014-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Non-irritating spray for sensitive coats Bought a small bottle for my allergic Haffie, trying to rule out allergens, and saw this product recommended on a Smartpak discussion forum. Citronella smell is pleasant, and it is non-irritating, and good defense against bugs! I just ordered a bigger bottle!
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite fly spray I have used this for years. My horses prefer it because it keeps the flies away but it is not harsh like the ones with alcohol.
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly protection So far I have bought three bottles of CLAC this year. It's amazing how different my horses will react to a fly spray that is not horrible for them. CLAC is so safe I can use it. When I spray my horses they just stand still waiting for me to finish, but if I approach them with a horrible chemical spray they fuss and leave me. I apply CLAC in the morning and again at night around dinner time it keeps the bugs at bay. I can actually breath while spraying them without a problem which is also something I can not do with the horrible chemical sprays. I will wheeze for days. I use the cream and the roll on also. It's a safe product.
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! I bought this product a month ago after trying the cream, which worked wonderfully.We have a lot of biting flies at our barn because there is a dairy facility just down the road. I have several horses who are showing sensitivity to the flies. One won't keep his fly boots on, and even Final Fly-T wasn't doing the job; I was also very concerned about using such a strong and harsh product on already irritated skin.I used the Deo lotion, and we noticed a decrease in the flies and gnats right away!Since I teach lots of kids, some of which have special needs and can be very sensitive to chemicals, I am thrilled to find a product that I can feel better about using with children around.This product contains no harsh unpronounceable chemicals, just plant based oils, and it is safe enough to use on yourself ;-)I only wish they made a spray formulation and sold it by the gallon!
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A long time favorite This product not only works but both the horses and I like it - I sometimes even spritz a little on the back of my neck before heading out for a trail ride. It lasts a long time if you dilute it correctly.
    Date published: 2014-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great, even helps with greenheads! I love the gel, it comes with a sponge in the container. I put it all over my horses belly, chest, ears and parts of neck when the greenheads are bad when I ride and especially at shows. I do the same for turnout as well and keeps even the greenheads away from any area he has this on. Just try to use every other day or be sure to wash off. My horse is sensitive and will burn if I use this too often. Still the best stuff I have found. One of the gel containers usually lasts most of a fly season for me.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Effective! I purchased this product less than 1 month ago ago and it is super effective! I have a very sensitive thoroughbred who can't stand flies, and he barely notices them when we are riding because of this product. I am so thankful for the customer service representative at smartpak who recommended it to me
    Date published: 2014-07-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Effective...a little messy I ordered the gel and I have found this to be a super product and very effective! Repels flies, gnats and mosquitoes. I bought it for the face and figured it would be not very messy being a gel, unlike other gunky products like SWAT. Although it isn't greasy like those products and doesn't seem to leave buildup its still a bit messier than I imagined plus the lid was hard to close with icky hands. I would say its more of a lotion than a gel. Likewise, because it is not thick, it doesn't seem to last very long.Since I was essentially happy with it, I just scooped some out and got it into a spray bottle and mixed with water and use it like that. Overall, good product! I'm ordering the roll on this time!
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Foal safe I bought both the concentrate (rated here) and the roll-on, knowing that I would have a mare and foal needing protection from midsummer flies.Both have done well with the concentrate, showing no major swelling, scabs, or other sign of fly problems--although I do have to renew the Clac application after a couple of hours. No irritation from the product, either--I would hesitate to use stronger, harsher chemicals on the mare and foal.Had used this product some years ago, and glad to have returned to it.
    Date published: 2014-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Foal safe I bought both the concentrate and the roll-on (the latter rated here), knowing that I would have a mare and foal needing protection from midsummer flies. The roll-on has worked well on ears, rolling on easily and apparently working well (no fly-bite scabs inside the ears of the now 3-week-old foal) with no irritation. Also stayed on well on the mare's face, since I didn't want to put a mask on her right away.Hadn't used Clac in a few years, but glad to have gone back to it.
    Date published: 2014-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps flies at bay I don't like to slather my horse in bug dope - I know some of the fly spray chemicals are really toxic to humans and horses. This seems to work ok, I usually apply it right before a ride and she seems fairly calm for the hour or so that we're working. I definitely need to re-apply daily to keep the black fly bites from getting too bad. I mixed it in a 5-1 ratio and it seems to do the trick.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad I tried it! When the Smartpak representative recommend this to me, I'd never heard of CLAC or DEO before. When it arrived, I was very pleased with the ease-of-use and the effectiveness of this product.
    Date published: 2014-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! Easy to use and really works well!
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow & Wow I have used this the past 3 days on my OTTB mare. She is super sensitive to the no-see-ums/little gnats that like to burrow & in the past I have used every other fly spray on the market, plus home-made concoctions. 3 days ago, she was starting to swell & the bugs were burrowing in her chest like they do-I used this spray on her chest, belly & between her back legs (underneath) & by that afternoon, the swelling was GONE, the bugs were GONE, & she is not rubbing her tail like in past summers! I am so excited to have found this-I love the way it smells with it's essential oil ingredients. If you have a sensitive horse-this is worth a try. I hope it continues thru the summer. Hooray!
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for sensitive horses. I have used this product before and was excited to find it on the smartpak site.Love the smell and the way it keeps bugs at bay.
    Date published: 2014-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best Fly Repellants I've used all the forms of Deo Lotion--Concentrate, the cream that you can apply w/a sponge (GREAT for applying to the midline of the belly and the back of the ears), and the roll on, which is what I'm reviewing here.I bought the roll on to apply to the inside of my mares' ears. The minute it starts to get slightly warm, small, gnat-like bugs arrive and start biting and bloodying their ears. It's awful. Deo roll on allows me to apply the repellant comfortably in their ears and the gnats and bites vanish. It only takes A LITTLE and you don't want it to drip down their ears. Just get the roller dampened and spread it around the the ear; a little goes a long way AND lasts about 3-5 days.
    Date published: 2014-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Sensitive Horses. I have used this product many times, love the scent and the horses love the way it works! Would recommend to anyone who has thin skinned horses.
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from CLAC Fly Spray I've used CLAC on and off for years and tried other products but I keep coming back to my old stand by. During peak fly season it may need to be reapplied more often but it's worth it considering I can use a fly spray where I don't have to worry about what chemicals my horse and I are exposed to.
    Date published: 2014-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Natural Fly Spray I've used this product for years. The scent is pleasant, and I feel better about daily use with this product given that it has known, identifiable ingredients. It's not the best at keeping all flies off my horse during the sweaty summer months, but when the flies aren't so prevalent, it certainly works. It also comes at a great price. I get about 3 bottles of fly spray out of one bottle of this concentrate, making it one of the cheapest fly sprays around.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from clac gel This was an awesome product. I used it on the face and nose not covered by the fly mask- and no flies.Great product
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best "natural" flyspray This product works great for my sensitive mare and keeps gnats away from all of my horses.
    Date published: 2013-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Flyspray I love this flyspray! It's affective almost all season (I just start the season mixing it less strong then when we are at the height of the season). I love that I can spray my horses and then use it myself and on my dog. And the gel is AMAZING!!!! You don't have to worry about getting it in their eyes! It is super easy with the sponge to get all the right places.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from No effect on bugs I have purchased Clac in the past without good results, but got swayed to try it again by all of the good reviews. It was a waste of money. I made the concentrate 7:1, and then 4:1 and it didn't repel flies for one second. I wasn't even able to drown them by spraying them directly!Maybe the bugs in other parts of the country respond, but the gnats, green heads, deer flies, and stable flies here are completely undeterred.
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy I am very happy with this product. I bought the gel for my geldings belly and sheath, works well. He doesn't have the welts on him from the gnats, it smells pleasant and comes with an easy application sponge. Just a word of caution, to NOT use the gel on fair skined or white noses because it is mostly oil and will cause sunburn!!
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite fly spray I've tried cheap and expensive sprays but I keep coming back to this one. Tried to make my own essential oils concoction last year based on the Deo formula but it just clogged up the sprayers.Really good value - the 1-litre bottle makes 2 gallons.
    Date published: 2013-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from At last ! Something that works! Nothing else kept the flies away.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so great I was expecting more from this after reading some reviews. Although it smells nice, it really only repels flies for about 3 minutes after you apply it. I tried doubling the suggested strength, and I think that helped some, but not enough to get me to buy any more. I think Ultrashield is probably better, and have tried Adams fly spray with good results.
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Economical You dilute the concentrate at a ratio of 1:7. So it goes along way and works as good as more expensive chemical sprays.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love using this natural fly spray instead of the harsh chemicals and it seems to work just as well.
    Date published: 2013-06-11
    • 2015-05-22T08:25CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_129
    • loc_en_US, sid_1518, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.