Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Deo Lotion

Item #11518
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Deo Lotion is easy to use and environmentally safe. Deo Lotion is made with 100% natural ingredients. Deo Lotion Fly Repellent prevents any contact- no more flies, horseflies or gnats spoiling your ride!

Deo Lotion is offered in concentrate, gel or roll on

View Product Label

Favorite Features

  • Easy to Use
  • Environmentally safe

Ingredients

Gel: Lauryl Sulfate, Citronella Oil, Clove Oil, Thyme Oil, Cedar Oil, Geranium Oil, Olive Oil, Grape Seed Oil, Vitamin E, Water, Hydroxymethyl, Cellulose, Water$0$0Liquid: Lauryl Sulfate, Citronella Oil, Clove Oil, Thyme Oil, Cedar Oil, Geranium Oil, Olive Oil, Grape Seed Oil, Vitamin E, Water$0$0Roll On: Lauryl Sulfate, Citronella Oil, Clove Oil, Thyme Oil, Cedar Oil, Geranium Oil, Olive Oil, Grape Seed Oil, Vitamin E, Water
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Garlic & More is nature’s best packed into ...
    Description:
    "Garlic & More is nature’s best packed into one special supplement. It contains a unique, powerful blend of garlic, seaweed, herbs, oil, salt, and vitamins that benefits all horses and ponies. This blend smells as good as it tastes and ...
    "The new Bite-Lite Insect Indoor Light Trap will ...
    Description:
    "The new Bite-Lite Insect Indoor Light Trap will silently and discreetly catch indoor house flies, moths, wasps, and other nuisance flying pests. Called the Armadilha, from the Portuguese word ""trap"", this is a beautifully designed and attractive unit for your ...
    "Add our Equiderma Skin Lotion to your favorite ...
    Description:
    "Add our Equiderma Skin Lotion to your favorite must have’s and you’ll have a new champion by your side. With power, predictably and gentle grace it will quickly conquer the skin problems that leave your horse uncomfortable. Rain rot, scratches, ...
    "Maintain a professional and polished look while keeping ...
    Description:
    "Maintain a professional and polished look while keeping flies at bay. The EquiFit Ear Bonnet keeps the ears, poll and head cool and dry with its multi-dimensional air-mesh. The EquiFit Ear Bonnet is the finishing touch to a winning uniform!" ...
    "Aloe Herbal Flay Spray Ready To Use A ...
    Description:
    "Aloe Herbal Flay Spray Ready To Use A gentle blend of ingredients, including botanical oils to repel flies, gnats, and other flying insects on horses. Contains coat conditioners and sunscreen which promote a healthy coat and protection from the sun. ...
    Why We Love This The environmental solution to ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The environmental solution to pesky flies! Fly Predators are beneficial insects and the natural enemy of flies. These insects never bother humans or animals but feed on fly larvae to interrupt the breeding cycle of flies. Sprinkle on manure ...
    "OutSmart® Fly Spray is new and improved! OutSmart ...
    Description:
    "OutSmart® Fly Spray is new and improved! OutSmart is a next generation insect repellent effective against house flies, stable flies, mosquitoes, and ticks. Engineered to be smarter, it’s powered by Nature's Technology®, a patent-pending, innovative combination of plant-based ingredients. Active ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Deo Lotion is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 175.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from At last ! Something that works! Nothing else kept the flies away.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so great I was expecting more from this after reading some reviews. Although it smells nice, it really only repels flies for about 3 minutes after you apply it. I tried doubling the suggested strength, and I think that helped some, but not enough to get me to buy any more. I think Ultrashield is probably better, and have tried Adams fly spray with good results.
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Economical You dilute the concentrate at a ratio of 1:7. So it goes along way and works as good as more expensive chemical sprays.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love using this natural fly spray instead of the harsh chemicals and it seems to work just as well.
    Date published: 2013-06-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Trying this out So far I'm not sure this works as well as the reviews stated. I mixed the concentrate 50/50 and when applied it keeps the flies away for about an hour. I usually apply when the horses are stalled eating to help with the stomping. I am going to continue experimenting with the ratio. The smell is pleasant.
    Date published: 2013-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Product but..... It is a concentrate and there isn't any directions on how to mix it. I've just been mixing it 6oz water to 1oz deo. It seems to work well at that ratio.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only repellent I use! I started using this full time 3 years ago for a horse who is very sensitive to topicals. I have tried almost every herbal fly repellent made, as well as making my own concoction, and the Deo-Lotion is by FAR the best. I use both the concentrate (dilute it according to how bad the flies are at the time) and the gel. About once a summer I have tried a different fly spray (an expensive chemical one) and always come back to the Deo-Lotion. Sometimes I add in some Skin-So-Soft to help a little more with the gnats for my horse that has sweet itch.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Fly Spray I originally bought this product for a horse who started having reactions to pyrethrin based fly sprays. It is amazingly hard to find a fly spray without pyrethrin but a comparison article rated this product better than even the synthetic and natural pyrethroids. Ten years later I no longer have that horse but I still preferentially use this product for my current horse. It honestly does work better than anything else I've ever used and I recommend it to all my clients.
    Date published: 2013-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever For seven years I have been searching for a safe, natural product that would last longer than 6 hours. I am thrilled to say Deo keeps the midge at bay for a good 18 plus hours. My horse is so much more comfortable. If I want longer protection, I rub the gel on her belly. This gives her an easy 30 - 36 hours of protection. It smells nice and it is not a sticky mess. Great product.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best stuff ever! I love the gel! It is very easy to apply. A couple of wipes down the flanks, legs, and neck and your horse is bug free. Doesn't take much and container lasts one horse a whole, long, hot, Texas summer.
    Date published: 2013-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Doesn't do much for mosquitos Really enjoy that Deo Lotion is natural and I feel safe putting this on my horse and myself. Mixes up easily and one 500ml makes at least 4 32 ounce bottles of spray. Does well on the flies and I love the smell! My Thoroughbred has no problems with this spray on his skin.
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very strong Citronella! I really liked this product because it is natural. It really smells good. The flies don't like it, but it does not repel all of the flies. Plus you should not put the stuff near your horses eyes or ears. It has worked better than anything else I have tried. So overall, I liked it!
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff really works! We have been using DeoLotion concentrate and Clac gel for several years at our barn. It does a great job repelling those annoying flies and even the most sensative-skinned horses have had no reaction to these products. I like the fact that DeoLotion can be either diluted for use in a spray or used as a wipe when the flies are especially persistant.
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Flys This product for Arizona heat was just so-so
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the only insect repellent I will use on my horse. I love the smell and the fact it is made from all natural ingredients. I find it works better than most other fly sprays and gels on the market. I dilute the liquid so one bottle goes a long ways. I love the gel for application on the poll, ears, and face.
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from helps, but.... As with all fly sprays I've ever tried, this helps but doesn't last. I think our flies 'get used to it' and become immune to it! So therefore I rotate fly sprays, even use two brands-one on top of the other. Right now I have five brands of fly spray in the barn! I use them everyday along with fly sheets, masks, and booted front legs and my horses still stomp a lot.
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good at first but... My mare has sweet itch and the first time I ordered this I was really happy with the bug protection. I like the idea of natural protection. However, on the second order my horse had a skin reaction, so I stopped using it. I called Smartpak and they looked into it for me - yay Smartpak- and they did find that the makers did indeed change the "recipe". Unfortunately I can no longer use it, but Smartpak gave me a refund. :)
    Date published: 2012-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING!!! This is by far the best fly spray out there. It is all natural so it is great even for horses with sensitive skin! It keeps the flies away!!!! I also bought the gel (which was more of a cream) last year for the firt time and it was great for putting on their ears, around their eyes and under my mare near her udders where she always gets bitten! This is a fabulous product I highly reccommend it!
    Date published: 2012-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Spray! My QH gelding broke out last summer (itchy, peeling skin) after I switched to a stronger spray. After going back to Deo his skin quickly returned to normal. I love that this is a concentrate because I can mix it stronger during really heavy fly seasons. I would definitely recommend this to anyone!
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from exceptional product I've used this fly spray for years. It's all natural and one light spray is effective in keeping flies off of my horse for at least three days. I dilute it about half and half, and even spray the inside of his paddock lightly with it. It's well worth the price.
    Date published: 2011-12-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than most The clac is definitely better than most products. Diliute more than it suggests and it helps even more. The worst part about this product is that the tail ends up getting greasy and hard to brush.
    Date published: 2011-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for horses with sensitive skin My mare had a bad reaction to stronger sprays - lots of peeling and itching. This does a good job of keeping flies off of her without the problems. It doesn't last as long per application, but that's an okay trade off for me. I really like that it is a concentrate - one bottle lasts a good long time.
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No More Pealing or Flakey Skin Chemical-based insect repellents caused peeing and flakey skin on my QH gelding. This product has eliminated this malady and restored a healthy coat.It does not repel gnats and mosquitoes very well. It needs to be reapplied frequently.Until I can find a safer repellent, I will continue to use this product in order to avoid skin peeling again.
    Date published: 2011-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic fly spray - less expensive than many, and actually works! Smells good too, although I've heard some horses can be allergic to citronella. Not sure if that's a main ingredient, but it sure smells like it. Really non-greasy, which is fabulous because greasy fly sprays annoy me with how they attract dirt and concentrate in one spot.
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Natural Product I was kinda skeptical when I first heard about this fly spray but I figured i would give it a try. I absolutely LOVE it! It smells like citronella but I like the smell. You can make it stronger or weaker depending on your preference since it is a concentrate. If a fly does land it leaves right away. The spray is very gentle on her coat and keeps her shiny to boot.
    Date published: 2011-09-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from DeoLotion I'm not impressed with this fly spray. I mixed it according to directions and sprayed my horses. 1 minute later they were covered with fies. Granted, our flies seem to "fly through" most fly sprays after a few hours, but the DeoLotion provided basically no protection. I had been using another all natural fly spray and will go back to using it, even though it is considerably more expensive.
    Date published: 2011-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Repellent ever Works well, smells great, goes a long way and no chemicals. Perfect!!
    Date published: 2011-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Nothing works better than this stuff. I have tried just about everything else out there and this is about as good as it gets. The smell is the most pleasant and the ability to buy it as a concentrated formula gives you the most bang for your buck.
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_158
    • loc_en_US, sid_1518, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders