Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Deo Lotion

Item #11518
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Deo Lotion is easy to use and environmentally safe. Deo Lotion is made with 100% natural ingredients. Deo Lotion Fly Repellent prevents any contact- no more flies, horseflies or gnats spoiling your ride!

Favorite Features

  • Easy to Use
  • Environmentally safe

Sizing It Up
Deo Lotion is offered in concentrate, gel or roll on

View Product Label

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Deo Lotion is rated 4.6039 out of 5 by 154.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic fly spray - less expensive than many, and actually works! Smells good too, although I've heard some horses can be allergic to citronella. Not sure if that's a main ingredient, but it sure smells like it. Really non-greasy, which is fabulous because greasy fly sprays annoy me with how they attract dirt and concentrate in one spot.
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Natural Product I was kinda skeptical when I first heard about this fly spray but I figured i would give it a try. I absolutely LOVE it! It smells like citronella but I like the smell. You can make it stronger or weaker depending on your preference since it is a concentrate. If a fly does land it leaves right away. The spray is very gentle on her coat and keeps her shiny to boot.
    Date published: 2011-09-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from DeoLotion I'm not impressed with this fly spray. I mixed it according to directions and sprayed my horses. 1 minute later they were covered with fies. Granted, our flies seem to "fly through" most fly sprays after a few hours, but the DeoLotion provided basically no protection. I had been using another all natural fly spray and will go back to using it, even though it is considerably more expensive.
    Date published: 2011-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Repellent ever Works well, smells great, goes a long way and no chemicals. Perfect!!
    Date published: 2011-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Nothing works better than this stuff. I have tried just about everything else out there and this is about as good as it gets. The smell is the most pleasant and the ability to buy it as a concentrated formula gives you the most bang for your buck.
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty good! I have never been a strictly all-natural person with the horses, but after my guy had an allergic reaction to some chemically-based fly spray, I found this product. So far so good! I have the spray for body/legs and the gel for his face. It smells VERY good, and has been pretty effective so far. I feel much better spraying this around kids and students in the barn and don't worry that everyone is breathing in chemicals. I can't really comment on how long it lasts, but I imagine it at least works for several hours. With the face gel we don't see a single fly even when he sweats. However, it isn't as effective with the big horseflies. Still a keeper though! I use it frequently on the dogs and even myself.
    Date published: 2011-08-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well This works well, it's a little oily which helps in keeping the black flies away. Definitely a good concentrate, cheaper than buying already mixed. I find it must be applied daily.
    Date published: 2011-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love the smell, and I can use it on myself too.
    Date published: 2011-08-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like it I would describe the gel as really more of a cream; it was different than I expected. The smell is very strong citronella which is pleasant. It seems to work decently and I like that it's natural. Flies are pretty bad right now but plan to keep using it; perhaps greater quantities will help.
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad, but not what I'd hoped for. I bought this product for my horse who hates fly spray. I wanted to use this on the horses' lower legs so they don't stand there stomping all day while flies bite their legs.I like the applicator sponge (I bought the jell). I like everything about this product as far as texture/consistency/ease of use/scent.However, I think I'd have spent my money better on a new pair of Kensington flyboots. I just don't think the Deo Lotion works much better than any of the other products I've tried and SWAT is sure less expensive.So overall, I'd say this product works OK but not worth the $20.
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! I am a big fan of Deo Lotion...it's hard to find but I'm so happy SmartPak carries it now! It's a great value and very effective, highly recommended!
    Date published: 2011-07-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from really not sure I have used this product for a week and have mixed it up as directed and a second time a bit stronger. It smells great but it does not seem to repel those nasty biting stable flies. I do not know if it works on other insects just that those nasty little flies still bite and bother my gelding. I clean up around my barn and pasture but those little flies just bother my guy to no end.
    Date published: 2011-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff really WORKS Smells good, natural and works - Never thought that was possible but it is... Def a great buy and will continue to use!! Awesome price too for concentrate.
    Date published: 2011-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product This product is awesome, as are all the other deo lotion products. this one is great because it comes with a special sponge for applying, it is great for ears, around senstive areas, or if your horse doesnt like spray.Great fly production
    Date published: 2011-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff! I love this stuff! The scent is very pleasant, it is concentrated so I can dilute to my needs (1 to 4 to 1 to 7) and mix fresh regularly. My husband uses it on himself when he is working in the garden.Not oily, great value, pleasant scent - a winner in my book.We use Deo-Lotion fly spray in the early to mid-part of summer, and switch to Repel-X for the "bomber bugs" of August.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good value I always try to find "natural" flysprays and this one is one of the stronger, more long-lasting ones. It is a good value, being a concentrate so I will definitely use it again.
    Date published: 2011-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Protection My horse is skittish with sprays, so application of this gel lotion has been great for him. I am able to apply to all of his sensitive spots without a fuss. Even better, it works so well against those nasty and persistent NJ flies.
    Date published: 2011-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Really Works! My horse is sensitive to chemical fly repellents but I had not had much success with natural products. Until I tried Deo -- I apply Deo morning and night and I am pleased to say that it repels face flies and gnats as well as the chemical based products -- and no flaking skin!
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from deodorant gel It works great, especially applied between front and hind legs and underside. Sprays just do not do it there. The quality rating of ONE STAR is for the sponge provided: it disintegrates readily. Not a big deal.
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic For My Sensitive Chestnut I just love DEO Lotion. My chestnut is very sensitive to insects and many bugsprays. This does the trick. It keeps bugs at bay and isn't too harsh. An added plus is the price. Since you dilute the DEO Lotion 1:7 with water, it is very cost effective. So far, I have not found another spray that works as well as DEO Lotion does at protecting the horses from horseflies and deerflies!
    Date published: 2011-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deo Lotion Best fly spray ever... Used it in Germany.... brought it home, still worked like a charm. Then I couldn't get it anymore... my current horse is allergic to flys and fly spray... but not this stuff! THANK YOU SmartPak for carrying it. I LOVE it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deo is my secret weapon I have been using Deo lotion for years. It has never irritated my horses, or myself. It actually repels flies; without an oily, dirty film, and it smells great. What more can you ask? I am going to try the gel this year, since I end up wiping the roll-on onto my hand to put it on anyway.
    Date published: 2011-04-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product - Don't put in Spray Bottle! I found this product works best if I dilute in another bottle that I can pour onto my hand & I use it on my horse's face and legs. I just smear all of her.It will clog ANY spray bottle - even those that say lifetime guarantee.
    Date published: 2011-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought before I've used this before and love it. It's hard to find anymore but works great.
    Date published: 2011-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best fly gel ever I bought the deo gel because the girls at my barn used it. it is awesom. you can wipe it anywhere. the flies are gone for hours.better than the most expensive fly spray i have ever bought.
    Date published: 2010-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from economical"natural" option We are always searching for a "natural" product in one of my "green" barns-we switched to this after our latest was causing skin flaking,during the summer, plus the "desperate to survive" Fall flies are out. So far we are doing well in conjunction with a riding fly mask and fly wisk. No complaints about sensitivity among our several horses(7)
    Date published: 2010-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Deo Lotion! This product works! It smells good and is easy to apply. It doesn't irritate my horse's skin either! You can mix the concentrate at different levels, depending upon the time of year and the level of insects. Try it, you'll like it!
    Date published: 2010-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from By Far the Best Fly Spray Ever!! Deo-Lotion is, by far, the best fly spray I've ever used. I have a flea-bitten gray with very sensitive skin. If I use regular fly spray on him, his skin peels like crazy. I can safely use this fly spray on him. Whenever I trail ride with my friends, we laugh about how this spray probably protects everyone within a 5-mile radius, and it actually has a pleasent smell. I love it. It's the only fly spray I use. I've tried others, including other natural brands, and I always come back to this one. I highly recommend it to everyone!
    Date published: 2010-09-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a miracle, but works well enough I've tried every kind of fly spray under the sun. I love that this is all natural. It smells great. It is not long lasting, but I know it works for a short time. I sprayed my horse one night (I do put it on heavily) and then took him outside for a quick graze. The flies were buzzing around him, but wouldn't land. I do love that I can many bottles out of 1 liter of concentrate.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! We've been using this product since we first read about in Horse Journal, in the 80s, when it was called "Clac." It's the absolute best; it's only drawback is that it's water-based, but that's okay! We just re-apply as needed. Over the years trail riding, we've discovered it works quite well on PEOPLE and DOGS, too!! Better than anything else we've ever tried, and glad that SmartPak is now selling it.
    Date published: 2010-07-27
    • 2015-08-29T01:57CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_138
    • loc_en_US, sid_1518, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.