Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Deluxe Grazing Muzzle

Item #13693
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Deluxe Grazing Muzzle is a combination grazing muzzle and breakaway halter all-in-one.

Favorite Features 

  • Unique design of the Deluxe Grazing Muzzle utilizes a plastic side-release buckle as its breakaway feature
  • Durable rubber bottom with small opening limits grass intake while allowing unlimited water
  • Padded for comfort
  • Lightweight and resists rubbing and chafing

Imported

Sizing It Up

Cob, Horse, or Large

Sizes run slightly large so please order a size down if your horse may be in between sizes.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Agreat tool to help with weight management for ...
    Description:
    Agreat tool to help with weight management for the easy keeper, this muzzle limits your horse's intake of grass and hay without obstructing his ability to drink or breathe. This muzzle easily attaches to your own leather or breakaway halterwith ...
    A great tool to help with weight management ...
    Description:
    A great tool to help with weight management for the easy keeper! This halter with built-in muzzle provides a comfortable way to limit your horse's intake of grass and hay without obstructing his ability to drink or breathe. Favorite Features ...
    Looking for a muzzle that is lightweight and ...
    Description:
    Looking for a muzzle that is lightweight and humane, yet allows your horse to eat freely? The Cribbing/Free to Eat Muzzle Limits unwanted behavior, such as cribbing and biting, noteating and drinking. Ultra-lightweight aluminum grill and nylon webbing is resistant ...
    TheOriginal Grazing Muzzle is a great tool to ...
    Description:
    TheOriginal Grazing Muzzle is a great tool to help with weight management for the easy keeper. The Grazing Muzzle attaches to your own leather or breakaway halterand includesfour adjustable hook-and-loop straps. To attach the grazing muzzle to your halter just ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Deluxe Grazing Muzzle is rated 3.9111 out of 5 by 90.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from My Mare Said, "No Thanks." Overall, this is a nice muzzle. However, my mare broke the snap within a week. I'm going to look at a craft/fabric store to see if I can find something to fix it up..or duct tape ;) I'm sure it's fine for horses who aren't as..opinionated..about wearing muzzles!
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable & adjustable I switched from the regular grazing muzzle to the muzzle/halter in one after my horse was ditching the muzzle. This one is much lighter, more comfortable looking, and provides more places to adjust the size than a regular halter. So far it has held up very well. I wish that smartpak would also carry the sheepskin liners made for these muzzles.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good and sturdy This grazing muzzle is the 2nd one I have purchased for my Paso Fino. She is always hungry and puts on weight easily. This cob size muzzle with halter attached is easy to fit, break-away and does slow down her grazing. She enlarged the hole on the first one I bought 5 or 6 years ago and she needed the new one with the small hole. She has had no trouble with laminitus and while fat, isn't obese thanks to this muzzle.
    Date published: 2012-10-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Deluxe grazing muzzle The snap broke right away. The plastic teeth broke off making the muzzle useless. I am going to return it.
    Date published: 2012-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grazing muzzle I have used grazing muzzles for the past 4years. I have two horses with laminitis and the muzzles allow them to go out with the herd and not eat too much grass.
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from essential I've been using Best Friend grazing muzzles for about 8 years. I have lush irrigated pastures that my horses, pony and miniature donkey can not be on for indefinite periods. they are pulled off at night but the grazing muzzles allow me to extend their grazing time significantly which keeps them much happier. My vet says I have one of the few miniature donkeys in western Montana that hasn't foundered because of the dedicated use of the muzzle. I sometime put a piece of carrot in the muzzles to give them more incentive to want to use them. The breakaway feature keeps them safe and works perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy Love this muzzle and so do the horses. Soft around the nose so it's super comfortable. It helps to keep our horse trim even though we have a ton of grass.
    Date published: 2012-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I love the padding around the top of the muzzle and so do the horses. We have an abundance of grass and we have to be careful they don't get too much grass. This muzzle is perfect!
    Date published: 2012-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome muzzle !! I was really nervous to order this product be cause I have a large pony with a wide muzzle. It fits wonderfully with plunty of room for agustibity. I just love it!
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thought This Was the Best Friends Muzzle My gelding is on his third season with his old BF Deluxe Muzzle. I ordered another as this one is showing signs of wear. This is not a BF grazing muzzle, the quality is not there and it looks smaller than what I now have. There also is no spare break away clip. I will be sending it back as soon as I can get another BF muzzle ordered from someplace else.
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Large Muzzle Good quality, fair fit. Tried Arab size and too small around the muzzle. Went to horse size and it is HUGE. Too bad it's not adjustable around the muzzle. Also, my horse can't figure out to get the grass through the hole so it is very frustrating for her. Our grass is long so doesn't stand up to go through hole. Is there a way to teach them how it works?
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recommend with qualification The muzzle works as it should, helping to minimize the effects of living in a lush pasture all day. It fits fine, but it does rub my horse's face. It needs some padding on the bridge of the nose - I have put vet wrap on mine and it seems to be working well enough.
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Get the Best Friend muzzle instead I purchased this thinking it was the Best Friend brand, then saw it was made by SmartPak. Tried it anyway. After several weeks, the bottom is already starting to wear through. My horse has worn Best Friend muzzles for several seasons before they began to wear through. Also, he has rub marks on the nose and cheeks with the Smartpak muzzle and only got a small chin rub with the Best Friend brand. The Best Friend also comes with a replacement breakaway snap. I immediately ordered more Best Friend muzzles and will not order Smarkpak's muzzle again. I do not recommend it.
    Date published: 2012-05-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst purchase ever I thought I was ordering the Best Friend's All-in-One Grazing Muzzle (which I've had for the last 3 years). When I received it, it was designed exactly like what I've had but it was much lighter (cheaper) & no where near as wide as the horse size I had (& needed). I kept it only to have as a backup & went & bought the Best Friend's All-in-One Grazing Muzzle the next day at the local tack store.
    Date published: 2012-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product!!! I had been using the Best Friends muzzles and it was always rubbing my mare. I had to make shift a fleece barrier to cushion it. I needed to replace the muzzle this year and decided to go through Smart Pak since I buy my dog food through here too. I have been using the muzzle for a few days and there are no rubs!!! The BF muzzle rubbed her the first day. The basket is so soft! I'm super happy with it so far.
    Date published: 2012-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good grazing muzzle I bought the small size for a pony. It fits him well. He's been wearing it several weeks and it has only come off once. It came off because the throat latch strap was not through the loop from the back of the muzzle. When putting on this muzzle you have to make sure the two pieces are attached as they easily slip apart when removing the grazing muzzle. That is my only complaint.
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delux Grazing muzzle I care for a Tennessee Walker that suffers from Cushings Syndrome and keeping her weight down and stable is a key to controlling her condition. She is turned out daily and the Delux Grazing muzzle humainly restricts her intake but still gives her the freedom of her pastuer. This aids her overall disposition. The results are excellent.
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grazing muzzle Really help me manage my laminitic mare and overweight gelding during pasture turnout. Easy to clean. Eventually the hole gets enlarged and the muzzle needs to be replaced but overall good value. Generally last 1 to 1 1/2 grazing seasons.
    Date published: 2011-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from doesn't work for every horse I suggest finding a friend who has one to try it out first. I bought three (one each for my 2 PSSM horses and 1 cushing's horse). I returned one before using it because when I put it on the two PSSM horses they just came into the shed, looked sad and pathetic and "stalled" themselves (defeating the purpose, which was to get them to move around without getting late day, high sugar grass) It was very hard for them to breath in, and just annoyed them enough not to bother grazing at all. The quality is great, they couldn't get them off, but then again I didn't really give them a chance to try. Very expensive, but worth it if it works out for your horse.
    Date published: 2011-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product & Fits Great! At first I thought this muzzle was too large! But it fits great, it's comfortable for my horse & it stays on!!!! It is so well made, the quality is amazing! Well worth the price. My horse who loves to eat, he looks healthy & is maintainig a healthy weight now! I've recommended to all my friends at the barn!!!
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delux Grazing Muzzle Best of several we've tried.Mask itself lasts a long time until hole in bottom is so big, horse starts to get too much grass. Pls always supply at least 2 extra plastic throat latch clips-or sell extras by bag -they break quickly when horses rub trying to unseat muzzle and muzzle worthless without them (: A very good product overall and better than locking horses in dry lot where they are miserable Would be great if these came in brighter colors so easier to spot when rubbed off- maybe red or yellow?
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase ever I thought it was too large, but it fits great & is comfortable for my horse!! He looks great & fit!!
    Date published: 2011-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Workiing well... My mare, Arriba, became very overweight in an extended stall rest period for a check ligament injury. She now has Cushings and is Hypothyroid, so we can't take any chances that she'll founder. I recently moved her home, where the pastures had not been grazed for quite some time. The grazing muzzle is the only thing that is keeping her from over-eating - she is very food-motivated! So, thank you!
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product This is the second deluxe grazing muzzle I've purchased for my mare. First one lasted most of two seasons, the only wear was the rubber bottom wearing away too big of an opening. The new purchase seems to have thicker bottom--were manufacturers listening to the reviewers? I would suggest that the bucket circumference be given along with the sizes. I mistakenly purchased a cob size for my 15.2 horse and she was badly rubbed in one use. The description indicating that the sizes run large could be misleading. Overall, a good product.
    Date published: 2011-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for weight control Works well for keeping the weight off of my insulin-resistant Morgan
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hope quality remains good I have used this brand of grazing muzzle for several years and they have held up well. Tried a cheaper brand once and my horse tore it up with in a week. But the bottom of the muzzle is not as thick and durable as when I first bought them and I am concerned they will continue to cheapen the construction of this muzzle.
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from OK.... BUT The muzzle does what it is supposed to do, it cuts down on the amount of grass intake. But at what a cost!My horse has scabs all over his nose and absolutely hates the muzzle. I think it cuts down on his eating because he spends all day, every day trying to remove it. And his face and nose are raw and bleeding. And he can not breathe. The muzzle is so well constructed that there is almost no space available for air. My poor guy sounds like Darth Vader and everyone at the barn thinks I am a monster for making him wear this.There are other, new designs which seem to take breathing and the horses delicate facial structure. And if you are going to buy this product I recommend the Muzzle Protectors, which cost as much or more than the muzzle itself!The Best Friend Muzzle is no friend indeed!
    Date published: 2011-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deluxe Grazing Muzzle Has worked very well for my grass-belly pony that does not get ridden regularly. He doesn't seem to mind my putting it on him after his handful of morning grain before turning him out to pasture. It is lightweight and easy to install. I highly recommend it as an easy way to get off unwanted and unhealthy weight.
    Date published: 2011-04-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Grazing Muzzle - Not Impressed Poor fit: creates rub marks on sides of cheeks and sores under jaw where muzzle rubs when horse pushes against ground to grazePoor quality: the rubber 'nose' in the muzzle wears out quickly - with my pony it takes about a month to increase the size of the half dollar sized hole to a 3" wide oval. With my horse it took ONE DAY to do this!Unfortunately there aren't other options out there so I am forced to buy a few of these each summer to keep the horses from overgrazing.
    Date published: 2010-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great muzzle This is a durable muzzle. It is easy to adjust and horses don't mind it once they are used to it. They can easily still try to nibble and also can drink water.
    Date published: 2010-07-06
    • 2016-05-24T16:18CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_83
    • loc_en_US, sid_3693, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders