Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Crusader Fly Mask - Long - Without Ears

Cashel Company
- Item #11206

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!

Favorite Features

  • Designed for comfort with soft durable materials and fully lined seams
  • Provides UV protection for sensitive noses for horses that sunburn easily

Imported

Sizing It Up

Small Pony/Weanling
Large Pony/Yearling
Arab
Horse
Warmblood
Draft

Please note: These fly masks no longer come with fringe on the inside.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Kavalkade Rhinestone Fly Veil features two rows ...
    Description:
    The Kavalkade Rhinestone Fly Veil features two rows of rhinestones and a decorative diamonte design that is sure to turn heads! Imported. Favorite Features This handmade cotton fly veil offers a perfect fit due to special elastic material on the ...
    A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece ...
    Description:
    A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece Fly Mask is constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene fabric, a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable. It's made to withstand tough outdoor use. The densely woven ...
    The SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is just what ...
    Description:
    The SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is just what your horse needs to keep summer's pests at bay at a price you'll love! Favorite Features Durable PVC mesh that holds its shape and keeps flys off your horse's sensitive face Soft ...
    Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader ...
    Description:
    Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader Quiet Ride protecting his tender eyes and face. Eliminate insect-driven head tossing, with a much quieter (and safer!) ride. Favorite Features Same design and quality of the Cashel Crusader&trade pasture fly mask ...
    The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features ...
    Description:
    The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features double fastening VELCRO Brand closure with heavy elastic neck strap for safety and double eye darts for maximum room in the eye area. Favorite Features Full mesh coverage of the ears, lined ...
    New SuperMask II Fly Mask is built to ...
    Description:
    New SuperMask II Fly Mask is built to fit, last and stay on! The SuperMask II keeps flies, dust, dirt and debris away from your horse's eyes. It protects your horse's eyes and face from harmful UV Rays and aids ...
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Crusader Fly Mask - Long - Without Ears is rated 4.6406 out of 5 by 256.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for my Horse!! :) Tried this a couple of weeks ago, and my horse hasn't ripped it off...yet!! It seems to be working. He was kind of freaked out by it initally, but got used to looking thru it..And works best without the ears being covered. Covers his snout and helps to cut down on the sweet itch!!
    Date published: 2015-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long nose protects white markings sun & flies I have used these fly masks for years and am very satisfied with the quality and the coverage. I use the ones with ears when I am having gnat problems, but otherwise just use the long nose ones. It keeps the flies and sun off their noses which is especially helpful with horses with white on their faces.
    Date published: 2015-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Defends against flies and sun! I have been using these fly masks for years. Each mask usually lasts for at least two summers. If you find the size that best fits your horse (I use a cob size for my more delicate 16'2 TB, and a horse size for my tank of a warmblood), the mask stays secure and does not rub. Very durable and easily cleaned. Perfect for protecting the white noses of my blaze-faced bays.
    Date published: 2015-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flies/Sun I've used this product for the last few years. Replace it as necessary. My horse has pink skin on lower portion of face, so I buy the longer fly mask to also help shield from direct sun rays.
    Date published: 2015-07-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse said no ... This is a well-made, well-intentioned fly mask. However, my horse did not care for the ear openings. He "slipped out of it" several days in a row; tried one without the nose protection & he removed that one as well.
    Date published: 2015-07-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice fly mask, but it runs big! This is a really nice fly mask. My only complaint is that it dwarfs my poor mare's head! I have a medium sized pony, so I got the large pony sized (she usually fits yearling sized things). The ear holes are comically large and the long piece is too big too. I probably would have returned for a smaller size if she hadn't gotten it so dirty trying it on (ponies!!). But the long nose has saved her pink muzzle, so I can't be too upset.
    Date published: 2015-06-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Made well, runs large Nice materials but the nose piece is way to long for my horses. the first day I had it on it was covered in mud and snot from being drug in the ground irritating my mare's nose. The Kensington mask I bought at the same time has much better function and fit
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always use these masks I have been using these masks for years both to keep the flies off and to keep the sun off my white horse's nose. They work really well and they last a long time.
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the long nose flies were driving my horse nuts, this mask helps keep them off of her nose.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cashel is always great Good quality, not easily taken off in pasture play. Maybe runs a tiny bit big. I haven't had it all that long (3 weeks) so I can't talk of its durability yet, but is well made.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD PROTECTION I USE THESE MASKS ON MY BOLD FACED PAINT MARE TPO KEEP HER FROM BURNING DURING TURN OUT INT HE SUMMER. I LIVE IN FLORIDA AND OUR SUN FRIES HER SENSITIVE SKIN FAST WITHOUT PROTECTION. THESE MASKS WORK WELL AND LAST FOR A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME.
    Date published: 2015-04-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works well, but could use some improvement I wanted to try this mask for my Arabian gelding since the Supermasks were so short on his face. The mask sticks way up behind his ears and Zell is able to pull it off within minutes just by hooking it on a branch. The mask does not conform to his face so flies are able to get under the mask, and it rubs on his cheeks when it is tightened. I have an ultra destructive guy-this mask doesn't even last the full fly season with him. With a few changes, this could be a really great product, but I think I'll go back to the Supermasks.
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask but Needs to Be Sized Better I think these are the best fly masks on the market. However the sizing needs to be changed. Both my horses are Warmbloods. The gelding I bought the fly mask for is a big 16.3 oldenburg with a big head. I bought the warmblood size and it fit like it should have been on a draft horse. I sent the WB size back and got the horse size which fits perfectly. In nearly every other brand, a horse size would be too small. Make sure you go down a size based on your horse.
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best mask ever! Love the embroidery! This flymask is a must-have for any horse with a blaze living in a sunny climate. The long nose on this mask prevents my horse from getting sunburn on her sensitive white skin. I am so glad I spend a little extra money on the embroidery as well. It turned out very nicely, and now there is no question which mask belongs to my horse.
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like the features on this style mask Bought this for my horse because she has a pink nose and wanted something that would shade her nose from the sun while also keeping the flies off her face.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs LARGE Seems like a sturdy, well made product but it does run large. Ordered the horse size for my 15.1hh gelding (average horse size head ) and the mask was far too big. Looked like it would fit a draft. We had to return it.
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask This is the 2nd Crusader Fly Mask I have had over the years and I love it. It gives good coverage, especially since my mare is a paint and has a white nose. Keeps the sun off those sensitive areas. This mask is sturdy and a good buy. I think the mask runs a little large. But it definitely does the job in keeping the flies off her face and the sun rays.
    Date published: 2014-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good design My mare had figured out how to get her old fly mask off. The individual ear holes make that task impossible. Her mask stays on and her nose doesn't get sunburned
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from My horses don't like it... I bought these masks for my paint mares who have a lot of pink skin on their muzzles in hopes that I wouldn't have to use as much sunscreen on them this year. Unfortunately, although the coverage of these masks is GREAT - both mares HATE these masks. I've always used Absorbine's Super Masks in the past & they've never had any problem with them & will stand very patiently for us to apply them. However, with the long nose Cashel masks they would see me coming & immediately turn tail & run. The mesh over the nostrils plugs up very quickly with dirt & snot & the mesh is a bit stiff, so possibly causes some rubbing they don't like is my guess. Unfortunately, I will not be using these masks & have dug out their old masks which are still in good shape.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fly mask I had the short mask previously, and I noticed flies congregating on my horse's nose. I ordered the long mask and it is great. No flies on his face now, and this mask also provides protection for his snip, which can get pretty pink in the summer.
    Date published: 2014-07-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does the job. The nose piece is too long and rubbed on my horse's nose and I will be making sewing adjustments. But overall I like the mask.
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great Our horse is very happy with the mask and tries to help in putting it on. We spray the nose part with insect repellant (nothing on the eye area) and that helps to keep the flies away.
    Date published: 2014-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice mask but runs big Great mask, good material, but it runs big. I used what I got because I needed it desperately for a horse with a sunburned nose, but next year I will order down a size. It has helped keep his pink nose healthy, though, and kept the flies out! The horse definitely enjoys his mask!!
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits nicely I bought this long version to help prevent sunburn and combat allergies in our dry dusty summer this year in CA. It's too soon to know if it is really working, but it sure looks cute with the name embroidery! I've bought the short version before and these masks hold up great and fit great. Always my brand of choice!
    Date published: 2014-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I bought this mask for my Paint yearling last summer and he did great in it. He kept it on all the time (unlike the Kensington Bug Eye fly mask which he could somehow get off in 1 minute flat, even when severely tightened) and the fit was perfect. I like the no ears option and the space for the forelock (other masks made my colt's forelock get all bunched up and started making him rub-he never rubbed in this mask). Best yet he didn't get a burnt face as his face is mostly white!As for durability-he rubs on everything and is very active but there is not a single rip in his mask!I liked this mask so much that I bought my Warmblood the same one but with ears and without the long nose. I will be buying him this fly mask in a bigger size this year :)
    Date published: 2014-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crusader Fly Mask - with nose - Great I love this mask I ordered two - I have a horse with a pink nose and this keeps it covered all summer and in the AZ sun so he doesn't get sunburn. Before I found this mask I was using ones with Velcro bottoms - of course they got ripped off. and before that slathering on Sun Screen. I love the absolute easy of this mask to keep flys off dust out of his eyes and the Burn off his tender little nose...it is VERY Durable
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from UV protection even thouh it's not really fly season right now, here in sunny So Calif, where the sun always shines, my horse with a large blaze on her face needs to be protected from the burning UV rays.It also works great for fly protection too. The size seems to be pretty trune. Serra is a warm blood and is 6.1 hands but has a smallish femine head, she wears a Horse size.
    Date published: 2014-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT ITEM Great masks for keeping flies out of eyes and nose.Fits well.
    Date published: 2013-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice durable fly mask This is a very durable nice fly mask. While I would prefer for my horse to wear the fly mask all the time, he has decided that it is more fun to let other horses pull the fly mask off and go running around with it in the field. Despite this alternative purpose, it has not ripped or torn. So, I think it is fairly hardy.The fly mask itself is a nice light grey color and fairly standard in thickness of materials. I like the ears out option and the hole for the forelock.
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and Priced Right Several of the horses at my boarding barn have this fly mask and it holds up to a lot of beatings. My horse (thankfully) likes having his on and has not rubbed it off at all. It looks nice too. His name is on the front but i picked a light color that got dirty and faded easy, so if you are getting writing, I recommend a darker color. It keeps his nose from getting sun burned. I decided to get a fly mask this year instead of using the kelp to save on the budget.
    Date published: 2013-08-16
    • 2016-02-13T15:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_238
    • loc_en_US, sid_1206, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.