Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Crusader Fly Mask - Long - With Ears

Cashel Company
- Item #21541
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!

Favorite Features

  • Designed for comfort with soft durable materials and fully lined seams
  • Provides UV protection for sensitive noses for horses that sunburn easily

Imported

Sizing It Up

Arab
Horse 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Crusader Fly Mask - Long - With Ears is rated 4.493 out of 5 by 71.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wow... I bought a horse size mask for my 16.2 OTTB and an arab size for my 14.2 APHA mare about a month ago. I had heard lots of good things about these masks and figured that since so many people swear by them they must be good.How wrong I was.The first thing I noticed with these masks was that my OTTB could get this mask off in less than five minutes. Rub his head on the fence and ta-da! No more mask. No matter how tight you make it the elastic still leaves some give and because it tightens in front of the jaw instead of behind it means you can slip off it off easier than you could a halter without a throat latch. I even tried leaving a halter on over the mask and in less than an hour he had the mask off- the halter was still on.Even better: my mare, who has never had a tendency to remove any of her "clothing" learned to take off this fly mask.I continued to put them on anyway, figuring the few minutes of relief would be worth it. I then started to notice that both my horses would look around curiously and take big sighs of relief when I took them off (if they managed to keep them on). I started watching them in the pasture and they seriously looked like they were blindfolded! If they had these masks on they would stumble over rocks, run into their feed tubs, bonk their noses on things if they weren't careful and slow about what they were doing. If I tried to lead them anywhere they were very hesitant and even if there was a step in a place they knew they would stumble over it with these masks on.Lastly: within a week of putting this mask on for 12 hours a day (or as many hours as he kept it on) my gelding managed to rip several holes in the mask: around the nostrils, at the tip of both eyes and in both ears.I would say that they only thing that I didn't have an issue was the size but the reality is that the width between the eyes was way too small for both horses while the chin strap was clearly too long (or lacking in proper placement).I guess there is a reason that the quiet ride masks guarantee that they won't interfere with vision and these don't!Definitely don't recommend, definitely won't buy again. If I could return them I would.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the mask Love Cashel and need little more protection for my horses nose too.
    Date published: 2015-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from allowing horse to be turned out. Mask is of the highest quality and is extremel ycomfortable. Perfect foran appys white face.
    Date published: 2015-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from White noses need these I have been using this product for more than 2 years to protect my 2 paints and grey; all of them have white noses.
    Date published: 2015-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love they havr an opening for the forelock. I ordered 2 fly masks, 1 the nose piece was slighly long, the other was too big for my quarter horse mare. I returned the one for an arab/cob size. Have not received it yet. I wish the web site would have said arab/small quarter horse instead of cob. I think there are more small quarter horses than cob horses.
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite flymask! I have a paint horse who is all pink on her nose and eyes. I need a fly mask that will provide the sun protection for eyes and nose. Plus I show her, so I get the one with the ears since I clip her ears. I use this fly mask daily and it holds up well considering the abuse it gets. They are priced reasonably enough that I can afford to replace it once or twice a year.
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps flies and gnats away Over time I've had a few of these -- and they work! They stay on well. I use the the draft size for my 17.2 Shire. It's quite large, but he has an enormous head. Order the draft size only if you know you really need it!
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get the embroidery! These masks are the best- this time I ordered the long nose because my girl is gray and probably susceptible to burn and UV damage (many masks don't offer UV protection- check the specs before you buy). I got the embroidery and it looks cute. These usually last a season or so for me.
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality Very nice quality mask that stays on, easy to remove, and my horse doesn't mind it at all. Thank you for adding his name to it as well, Looks great!
    Date published: 2015-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice durable mask! I bought this for my horse because he lives out 24/7, and he was getting sunburnt on his nose (has a stripe/snip.) He was also spending all day hiding in the shed instead of being out grazing because of the bugs. The material is STRONG, but the ears and forehead part are nice and soft for the more delicate areas of their face.He got mud on one side of it, and it came clean very easily. I just brushed it off with a hoof brush. The mask has a plastic-y feel, which is why it comes clean and holds up well. The darts keep the mask far away from his eyes--no flopping or "caving in."He's an average height, finer built OTTB gelding with a smaller head. He's barely a horse size in bridles but is just a hair too big for cob. He would've fit in a small horse/Arab size for this mask, but I wanted to make sure the long part covered his entire nose. I got him the horse size, and it's very roomy and fits great everywhere. I did have to trim the velcro strip so he wouldn't have a tab sticking out the size once it was tight enough under his jaw.He's also playful and is hard on his clothing, and this mask survived several days with him. Highly recommend this mask!!!
    Date published: 2015-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorites Always my go too for fly masks, love the ear and nose cover, great for face flies. Velcro strap under cheeks run large, but easy to cut to size and still keep mask closed. Previously has held up to gelding games, new horse required new purchase.
    Date published: 2015-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit and great coverage! Bought this for one of my horses who has recently been diagnosed a headshaker. I have bought the Crusader with ears for my horses for years now and was always happy with them, so I figured I would try this for my new guy since he needs coverage over his nose. Works like a charm and has held up great in a herd of boys who like to play!
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for pink noses This is my favorite fly mask, especially since my horse has a bald face and thus a pink and easily sunburned nose. I love that I don't need to worry about sunscreen or if he will be too hot while wearing this. He does typically only get a season out of each fly mask due to group turnout, so I do wish it was a little more durable, but I'm not sure how that would be achieved without making the material more abrasive which I wouldn't like. Overall it's my favorite fly mask and it's highly recommended.
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Comfortably & Stays On I purchased WB size for my 17 hh TB, with ears and nose guard. Fits well, holding up to use and he hasn't gotten it off yet!
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for total head protection I am very happy with this product. The best when the bugs are so bothersome. This is the first total head mask I have purchased and I'm pretty sure my horse smiled at me!
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this flymask! I purchased this mask for the 18 hand American Warmblood I lease. The draft size was way too big for him; the Warmblood size fits him perfectly. It seems to wash well and it air-dried quickly. I like that his eyes, ears, and muzzle are protected from flies. Very happy so far!
    Date published: 2015-05-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Totally bummed I purchased this fly mask because it was recommended by my trainer. After the third day the mask completely tore across the forehead seem. I was especially bummed because my pony is not rough on clothes etc.
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, so good Been using it for only a few weeks but it is doing it's job, seems to stay on when he rubs his fat head on trees, and the embroidery is super super cute
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't hold up I have had three of these masks within the last year. The first one ripped above the eye, the second one the velcro strap came off and the third mask the ear got ripped off of it. I am going to buy a Rambo mask this time. My boy may have some rowdy friends!
    Date published: 2015-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features Great fly mask. The ears and the nose protection are perfect for my gelding who has a big white blaze. Protects him from flies and sun!
    Date published: 2015-05-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Weird Size I bought a horse size for my 14 yr 14.3 H 1100 lb paint mare and had an odd size to it. It was too big everywhere but the eyes- chin, nose, ears, ect. I could tell that even with the fly mask, evidently, being a size too big, she was closing her eyes with the mask on. I could tell that the mask was very close to her eyes and that, due to it being a size over, wasn't going to stay on long. I can say the durability is great because the horses walked all over it after it came off and I just rinsed it and it looked like new. I tried the fly mask on my 13 yr 16.1 H 1200 lb OTTB and everything fit well except- again- the eyes. He didn't seem to have an issue with it but it sure seems to be awfully close to his eyes, more so than other masks I've tried. He couldn't, however, get it off, which was nice.Aside from the eye fit issue it otherwise seems like a great mask, maybe I just happen to have two horses with wide heads.
    Date published: 2015-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from really keeps the bugs away! Nice fit, comfortable and effective. It's a recommendation from my horse Phantom!!
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays on! Really protects the nose! The Crusader mask is very well made and stays on. It also protects pink noses that are so prone to chapping and sunburn. I like the little opening for the forelock too which I imagine is especially great for horses with long forelocks. My horse has used it almost everyday for about 4 weeks now and apart from a little pilling of the soft ear covers it has held up perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from lots of bugs We have so many bugs here in the low country and so far this fly mask seems to work best for my horses both for the bugs and the wear and tear that the horse give the masks with rubbing on fences and pulling them off each other!
    Date published: 2015-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product The only fly mask that I will put on my horses. The short fly masks do a great job around the eyes. I cannot stand to see a "bazillion" flies on their muzzles and the constant head tossing. These masks, combined with a fly sheet, let me look out the window and see my horses standing quietly.
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from IT FITS! I have a paint and he tends to burn on his nose. I had a hard time finding a mask that covered his nose. This one fits exactly like the picture. Also the ears and crown is so soft. I am a fan.
    Date published: 2015-04-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Straps fit well to size. Mask fits very well on my Arabian's head, however the long nose is too long! I cannot see anything under it. Just wish the nose piece was at least an inch shorter it looks like a gas mask on him. Lol!
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best quality flymask! Super high quality and the sizing is perfect on my horse! As you can see i added a monogram and it looks fantastic!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not hold up I bought 4 of these for my pink-nosed horses. I would put them on in the afternoon when the horses went out, and by morning (and sometimes it didn't even last until I got the last horse turned out that afternoon), all 4 masks were off and laying on the ground. After 2 weeks of this, I gave up. The masks were ripped up. I used to use these masks all the time and didn't have this problem. Maybe it's because they had the whole night to work on getting the masks off, or maybe those 4 horses are just very determined, but it just didn't work for me.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shape I'm very satisfied with this flymask. It has great shape and stands up to my busy in the pasture gelding. Rolling and romping are some of his favorite games.The velcro is very sturdy and secure. Other masks just didn't stand up to the abuse for more than a month before loosing it's shape the ears ripping and the nose guard gone missing. This one keeps the dirt out and the shavings off. We're both happy with this and I would buy another for him. This will actually save me money. I also had this mask personalized. Glad I did it should last him a long time.My boy is a warmblood. I ordered the warmblood size it was not to large not to small a perfect fit with plenty of room to adjust over a halter or bridal if I choose.
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    • 2015-08-30T15:08CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_66
    • loc_en_US, sid_11541, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.