Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Cribbing/Free to Eat Muzzle

Item #14213
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Looking for a muzzle that is lightweight and humane, yet allows your horse to eat freely?

The Cribbing/Free to Eat Muzzle Limits unwanted behavior, such as cribbing and biting, not eating and drinking.

Ultra-lightweight aluminum grill and nylon webbing is resistant to rust, rot and mildew. The Cribbing/Free to Eat Muzzle has a comfortable padded noseband with four-point attachments to prevent pivoting and rotating. Muzzles fit most halters.

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    TheOriginal Grazing Muzzle is a great tool to ...
    Description:
    TheOriginal Grazing Muzzle is a great tool to help with weight management for the easy keeper. The Grazing Muzzle attaches to your own leather or breakaway halterand includesfour adjustable hook-and-loop straps. To attach the grazing muzzle to your halter just ...
    TheFrench Style Cribbing collar isthe highest quality at ...
    Description:
    TheFrench Style Cribbing collar isthe highest quality at an affordable price. The French Style Cribbing collar is an effective deterrent against cribbing. If selected, engraving will be on the crown. Please allow an additional 1-2 days for engraving.
    The Deluxe Grazing Muzzle is a combination grazing ...
    Description:
    The Deluxe Grazing Muzzle is a combination grazing muzzle and breakaway halter all-in-one. Favorite Features Unique design of the Deluxe Grazing Muzzle utilizes a plastic side-release buckle as its breakaway feature Durable rubber bottom with small opening limits grass intake ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Cribbing/Free to Eat Muzzle is rated 3.5938 out of 5 by 32.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, so good. Bought this just a week ago as an alternative to the Miracle Collar because my horse was getting rubs. I use this when he gets turned out, and it's worked great! My gelding is still figuring out how to eat hay with it, but he doesn't even try to crib. Overall, happy with this product! A nice alternative to a collar.
    Date published: 2016-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks weird but does the job! I know this looks weird, but my horse had colicked for the first time in over a year and half of having him. He was cribbing at night, and hadn't been ridden in a couple of days, so he wasn't good. The cribbing collar wasn't working, so we decided to try this. He is more than willing to put it on, as he can still eat, but does fling it around a bit when it is on. He has been well ever since, knock on wood, and it stays on him well.
    Date published: 2015-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gives my mare at break My mare is a heavy duty cribber. She wears her cribbing collar 24/7 and when she goes outside because she won't leave the fence alone, we tighten it then loosen it when she comes in. Being a TB she has worn the hair off her neck so I put fleece on the collar. That was good in the winter but with spring rain it go soaked and in the few days between visits to the barn she got rubbed raw with what can be described as hot spots. So to give her a break I decided to try this muzzle. Because there are hay feeders in the paddocks I have been afraid that she would get stuck so we use the muzzle when she is inside and the collar when she is out. It has worked out well. The hair has grown back, she is more flexible when I ride her. It did not take her long to figure out how to eat hay and drink with it but grain has been more difficult so we just remove it long enough for her to eat. It was easy to attach to her halter which is a break away crown for more safety. I would recommend this muzzle to anyone with a cribber, you just may have to adjust times when they wear it.
    Date published: 2015-06-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't last I bought the muzzle because my horse decided his winter blues was too boring and his brother's blankets needed adjustments (aka tears.) The muzzle worked great but was abused quickly and 2 of the 4 straps fell off or were removed by him in about 14 days. I wish it was structurally more sturdy because otherwise it would be prefect!
    Date published: 2015-02-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wish it was more durable My horse has unfortunately gone through 2 of these in 2 weeks. The stitching on the first muzzle fell apart within 2 days of my horse wearing it. The bar on the second muzzle broke winthin 5 days of the muzzle arriving. This product would work extremely well if it wasn't so poorly built. Thank goodness for Smartpak's great customer service!
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great muzzle just needs stronger Velcro I have a mild cribber who can't wear a miracle collar or a nutcracker, and ate right through the Dare collar. This allows her to eat and drink freely but stops the cribbing. My biggest criticism is that the velcro is very weak. They need to either use stronger velcro or switch to a different design where the 2 sides and bottom attachment are clips of some sort to halter and the top nose attachment be similar to what it is now, just with a stronger attachment (with comfort in mind). I find I need to buy 1 per year as the single loop that attaches to the halter just becomes weak and wears away.
    Date published: 2014-10-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horse figured it out within 36 hours of wearing it My horse is a ridiculous cribber and always tries, even when he has a tight collar on. My trainer suggested a muzzle, so I ordered this one and received it in the mail a couple days later. I love the shipping, and love SmartPak, but my horse managed to pull down three boards within the 36 hours he had it on. Granted, he is a very smart horse, but this product shouldn't be that easy to crib with.
    Date published: 2014-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely can't Crib! I purchased this product wanting my horse to have a bigger eating area yet stop him from cribbing. This does the trick. It's a little heavy but not too bad. I recommend you buying fleece for the halter and such... It will rub. A little hanibal lecter like, but hey, it works!
    Date published: 2014-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed! I bought this because my horse is boarded in a group turnout situation. When it was him and the 2-year-old, things were fine. Upon adding a new pony to the mix, my very large gelding began charging at the other two and biting them severely. He caused some pretty ugly skin wounds and destroyed a blanket. We tried another muzzle, which did not fit well and seemed to bother my horse. This new muzzle came in a large enough size to fit well, allows my horse to eat his normal hay ration, and completely prevents his aggression toward the other horses. Peace reigns once again in his paddock, and I have not had to replace any more blankets!
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my horse can still eat Sky can still eat and drink. Now she cannot suck wind. She has been confined to her stall for 9 months, but is doing much better.
    Date published: 2014-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my horse can still eat Sky can still eat and drink. Now she cannot suck wind. She has been confined to her stall for 9 months, but is doing much better.
    Date published: 2014-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Muzzle that stays on My chunky gelding doesn't like being separated from his chums, so we pop this over his head and off he goes. Though he plays, it stays. No worries.
    Date published: 2013-10-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fell apart within a couple of weeks Bought this for my horse to wear when he is turned out in a small paddock during inclement weather. Even with hay, he gets bored and will start to chew. Since he only wears it for short periods of time, I thought it would hold up okay. Needless to say, it was not at all durable. The velcro straps broke and even baling twine could not hold it together. I would not recommend this product.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Couldn't ask for a better product! LOVE the break away and the removable anti-grazing feature. We have only been using it for about 2 wks. now so durability is unknown at this point.
    Date published: 2012-05-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wouldn't Recommend It My horse can still crib through the muzzle. I have gone through 2 of them in the last 2 months, they only last about a week before my horse finds some way to destruct it. The first one he busted the metal bars out of it. The 2nd one he ripped the velco straps off. I wouldn't recommend this product because it is expensive, does not last, and the horse can still crib through it. I've tried everything with my cribber, but this is definitely not the answer.
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy it My mare is allergic to oak and acorns (along with nearly everything else). My pasture has gorgeous oak trees and I was unable to turn her out with the other horses because she would eat the acorns, leaves, and play with the bark. Now she grazes happily alongside her barn mates. Fit well too. She is part draft so I bought the largest size. She can't get her lips around the bad stuff, but the grass is easily grazed through the slats. Thank you Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2011-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best alternative we have found. We have used this muzzle for about 3 years & find that it works better than anything else that we have tried for a difficult, smart horse who can crib no matter what is used. We do replace it 3-4 times per year (he wears out the bars!), but it's far less expensive that the colics we were treating when he was able to crib through the straps. We have two going at all times so we can keep them clean. He has a breakaway nylon halter for each of them and a nice halter for being groomed and trailering, etc. We also tape the velcro straps which helps to keep the stitches from being rubbed loose. I wish the stitching would hold up better and that they would make the bars replaceable or stronger. Our horse has no trouble eating through the muzzle, but I usually take it off for him to eat his grain and replace it as soon as he's finished.
    Date published: 2010-10-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lasted a week Very expensive and only lasted a week , he rubbed it till he tore it apart all the nylom was worn from rubbing . aluminium grill got stepped on and honestly I wouldn't buy somthing so expensive again.
    Date published: 2010-01-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works but not durable This is the best cribbing deterrent we have used so far. Sadly, the velcro and stitching holding it on are already ripped. He can still crib but not as badly, and can't get enough force to pull fence boards down. Not entirely thrilled with the lack of durability and effectiveness, especially considering the price. Will try to repair it and keep using it.
    Date published: 2009-11-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best Comfortable Muzzle I recently purchased the Cribbing/Free to Eat Muzzle for my Foundation Qtr Horse. It fits & works much better then the old metal cage model I was using. This one is nicely padded & did not rub the hair off his face or create open wounds. It fits well & allows him to easily eat & drink. I would definately recommend this style to anyone. If I need use of a muzzle I will use this humane model.
    Date published: 2009-09-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from My horse stilll cribs! My horse figured out how to crib with this thing on. I had it pulled up as snug as it could go and he still was able to flip it on ledges and crib. He also had a very difficult time eating his grain and even his hay with this. It worked for about a day... it's also fairly heavy... would probably work best as a grazing muzzle, but even for that i wouldn't want my horse having to wear it all day. It's pretty ridiculous looking too. Another cribbing bust! although I did purchase cribox after this muzzle failed thats also offered on this site for my cribber and it works awesome. Highly recommend it!
    Date published: 2009-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well as a grazing muzzle I bought this muzzle to be used as a grazing muzzle. The grill at the bottom of the muzzle allows my horse to still graze a little bit and not be so frustrated. So far, its working great.
    Date published: 2009-08-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cribbing Muzzle I bought the cribbing muzzle/free to eat because I was worried about my barrel horse. He would stand in one place and crib all day (even with the miracle collar, nutcracker, etc) I was at my wits end with him and wanted him to do other things, like enjoy being with the other horses in the pasture. Well it worked for about a 3 days and then he discovered how to hook the bottom part over a corner pole and crib anyway. So, alas I am back to watching him stand and crib anyway. Maybe it would work on a horse that is not as smart as mine, but I feel that cribbers are exceptionally intelligent!!!
    Date published: 2009-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Solution So Far! My 17hand Thoroughbred windsucks when he's bored... and given his personality, that occurs often. I tried the nylon/web halter version of this mask, and between Huey and his pasturemates, it was torn apart within a few weeks. This mask, however, is still in pretty good shape two months later.My only complaints are that the bars are starting to bend recently and that I ended up having to duct tape the velcro attachments to prevent Huey's pasturemates from helping him remove it.Really, overall, a great, effective product. Definitely the best solution so far.
    Date published: 2009-06-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work for MY horse My horse (Boomer) nearly destroyed the nylon webbing on his muzzle in less than 2 weeks. He turns his head side-ways and grabs / cribs on the side of our run-in shed through the webbing. Also, Boomer is unable to get to the food around the edges of his corner mount feed bucket, and gets extremely frustrated trying to grab hay from his hay rack. The manufacturer needs to go back to the drawing board. I'd be happy to let them test new models on Boomer!
    Date published: 2008-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works The cribbing/free to eat muzzle works. The horse was able to eat his grain and hay through muzzle without problems. He could also graze in paddock without cribbing on the fense post. It works perfectly for a cribber who needs to add weight. It's been on for four days and so far no rub marks like a cribbing strap or collar. The only negative thing about the muzzle is it takes time to velcro it onto the halter but once on it stays and fits well using a regular halter.
    Date published: 2007-08-04
    • 2016-05-31T15:44CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_31
    • loc_en_US, sid_4213, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders