Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Colorful Cotton Leads w/ Snap End

Item #18155
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Bring out your bright colors with these Amish made cotton lead ropes. Lead measures 1/2" x 6'. Chrome plated snap and clamp. Comes with snap.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Colorful Cotton Leads w/ Snap End is rated 3.4769 out of 5 by 65.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, handy lead These lead ropes are the best because they are short and narrow, so they are easy to tie and you don't feel tied up when holding them. And they come in great colors!
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke with Pressue I hate to leave a bad review, but one of the first times I used this, my horse was a bad boy and, as I threaded this lead through a loose ring to tie him, he backed up, put pressure on it (with me holding the other end) and the rope busted loose from the snap. Not too thrilled that he tried to get away, or that the lead broke! I loved the color of the lead (black and pink!), but I would only use it for leading around the barn/familiar situations or with a "I never behave badly" horse. I won't buy this again unless it's for a dog, but I have read some other reviews that say they would not even use for for a dog! Also, I didn't consider the length when purchasing, but it certainly feels too short. If your horse startled, you wouldn't have much time to react and stay with him without letting go of the lead. I hope SP either markets these for dogs or stops carrying this item.
    Date published: 2012-02-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from worse excuse for a lead ever This is wiithout a doubt the cheapes, most useless thing I have ever ordered for a horse. I have a golden retreiver dog and the hardware on this would not begin to hold HER much less a horse. Would not even last as a mini lead. This has destroyed the comfidence I used to have in Smart Pak. Please save your money.
    Date published: 2011-11-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from unbelievable poor quality..yuck I really CANNOT believe Smart Pak would sell something like this. Someone in quality control is alseep at the desk. This lead isn't even 5 1/2'... the hardware is a joke...the ends are wrapped with a puny piece of electrical tape. The snap isn't even large enough to hold my DOG at bay. Not worth a dime as a lead line. PLEASE SAVE YOUR MONEY. USELESS ITEM IF YOU HAVE A HORSE!
    Date published: 2011-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An overall good leadrope These are great leads, cheap in price, but they last for years. I love all the colors as well, a different one for each horse.
    Date published: 2011-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Great im a young rider an d i olny have a small pony so its hard to find shorter leadropes also they come in really cool colors
    Date published: 2011-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best lead in the barn! I use these leads all the time, they are my favorite. Just throw in the wash when they get dirty, last for quite a few years. Great all around lead rope!
    Date published: 2011-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lead I really like this lead rope. The colors are bright and fun. I love that it is shorter, thinner and lighter weight than most lead ropes because you don't have to carry around a handful of heavy rope. It is not really a practical lead rope to tie your horse with just because it is so short but it is great for leading for that reason.
    Date published: 2011-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these! It's a very short, very simple lead. It's not much longer than the distance from a 16hh horses chin to the ground which is why I buy them! If the horse gets of the lead, they don't get tangled! Also, its cotton and short so even if they yank on you, you're not getting rope burn! Clasp is good and solid. I had this on a pony who got loose and when they took of they stepped on it a few times and the ends frayed. Oh well. $7. I keep a safety supply on hand.
    Date published: 2011-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST LEAD EVER I have used this lead on a daily basis and it is great i have TB and i even have a 2yo stud that loves to try to pull and eat his lead and he broke a chain lead but not this I also have small hands and its hard for me to hold the thick leads but no issues with this i am 5'2 and use it on a 17H OTTB and he holds his head as high as he can and i still have alot of lead for him to spook and not take the lead out of my hand i will only buy this lead my first one i got 10 years ago and still in use today
    Date published: 2011-01-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cool colors, bad design I was very disappointed when I received this lead rope. It was very thin and too short, it hardly looked like it would withstand much use. I ended up returning it.
    Date published: 2010-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kind of Short I know it says in the description that its 6 feet, but I guess I'm used to a longer lead. Love that the black and hot pink matched her halter, though. Will use it until it wears out.
    Date published: 2010-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great. Loved all the color combo choices. Great length for moving my horses around the barn as well as going to shows.
    Date published: 2010-07-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK for the price not the best leadrope. It works great for my kids and their pony, but not what you want to lead a larger horse.
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I would not use this product for a lead rope. Very short and thin. Would make a great dog leash!!!
    Date published: 2010-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft And Comfotable I enjoy the feel of this lead rope very much! I love the variety of colors, my only complaint is I wish it was a little bit longer!
    Date published: 2010-05-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I like these lead ropes, they fit well in my smaller hands, but they are much shorter than other standard leads I have, which suprised me!
    Date published: 2010-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Lead Rope The lead ropes are very colorful and seem very sturdy. I prefer my lead ropes a little thicker and longer than these are. But the colors are fun, inexpensive and colorful. They match some rope halters I had very well.
    Date published: 2010-04-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kinda Short Lovely rope. Soft and easy on the hands, but a touch too short to tie with.
    Date published: 2010-04-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead Rope I was somewhat disappointed in this lead rope. It had what looked like masking tape wrapped around the end and up near the snap and I had ALOT of trouble getting it off; in fact I did not even try on the end of the rope. It is really short too (I probably did not read the description well). I like the color combination and I like the feel and thickness of the rope.
    Date published: 2010-04-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from a miniature lead rope i didn"t expect this to be so small. i can't really use it.
    Date published: 2010-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lead Rope for the price Pretty colors to choose from & seems durable enough for daily use.
    Date published: 2010-03-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from short and sweet This is a typical short cotton lead with a mediocre snap. This is perfect for the well behaved horse that doesn't require a strong lead. This lead is more along the lines of a dog leash than a lead line but I prefer the short length for my plod along 30 year old TB mare.
    Date published: 2010-03-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ok if you have a...... Love the colors and the price but its way to short to be a horse lead rope . If you have a dead broke to would work great . But for someone who has a spooky or hot headed horse I wouldn't recommend that you buy this lead rope .
    Date published: 2010-01-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not impressed This lead rope is cute, my daughter loves pink and lime green, but it looks more like a dog lead to me. The snap is small and doesn't seem very sturdy and the rope is not very substantial. I guess I am used to the thick cotton leads that are easy on the hands.
    Date published: 2010-01-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from So-so lead It's very colorful, but it's short and thin and generally doesn't seem very rugged. It seems less substantial than 1/2" x 6', but maybe I'm used to 5/8" rope. It's too thin to work well with the blocker tie ring FWIW. The price is right though.
    Date published: 2009-11-19
    • 2015-08-29T13:30CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_61
    • loc_en_US, sid_8155, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.