Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

ColdFlex Vet Wrap

Item #12279

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

ColdFlex Vet Wrap is an innovative self-cooling compression bandage. No pre-planning necessary- the bandage cools by evaporation and does not require refrigeration! Exclusive formulation of gelled water embedded into an elastic foam material supports and compresses while providing penetrating cold therapy. Cooling effect of ColdFlex Vet Wrap can last for several hours after wrap removal with no danger of tissue damage from excessive cold. Flexible and conforming, ColdFlex Vet Wrap will not cause undesirable pressure.

Favorite Features

  • COLDFLEX® is reusable up to 25 times, making it extremely cost effective
  • Can be easily cut to size
  • Bio-degradable, non-toxic, and non-irritating
  • Each Coldflex Vet Wrap comes with one cotton sock that you can use between your horse's leg and the
  • ColdFlex Wrap or over the ColdFlex Wrap to keep it free of bedding, hay, etc.

Sizing It Up

3" X 72"

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    ColdFlex Vet Wrap is rated 4.2241 out of 5 by 58.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than ice No worries about how long has the cold been on, no danger of it getting too cold. Really brings the swelling down and can be left on for long periods of time.
    Date published: 2015-02-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product The product is useful and easy to maintain. Not as bulky as the ice wraps nor as difficult to use. However, the wraps are a bit too narrow and the ends should be re-inforced in some way. Overall great.
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cold wrap Good to use for wrapping hard to wrap body parts. But wish it would get colder.
    Date published: 2014-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use I found this very easy to apply to the horse leg & did help with the swelling.
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This is a great product. It is easy to use and it works. I put my in the fridge to be extra cool. My pony thinks is feels great and I believe it is helping. He is around 40 years old and still gets around good on most days
    Date published: 2014-09-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does exactly what it says it does! Just put on the sock, wrap it up and it pulls the heat out. The reason for only 4 stars is because it only draws heat out and I really needed it to cool the leg like he title says cool wrap. But, all-in-all great product!
    Date published: 2014-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from lifesaver Wonderful product! The first day I got it I dropped a bucket on my own leg and decided to try them on myself, it worked great. It stayed in place and felt good. There was no heat to my bruised leg- but FYI the wrap didn't feel extremely cold on the outside of it. I use it when I don't feel like lugging ice boots around. I have never had an issue with them disintegrating- the only thing I could think of is if your horse will mess with them, they won't stay on! (But neither will anything else). Will continue to keep on hand for any issue that may come up (for my horse or myself)!
    Date published: 2014-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good concept! I have a barrel horse with a tendon injury on the front side of her knee. This wrap makes it easy to apply cold before and after excercise, although it doesn't seem to get very cold, but I guess that's how it works. It's not messy and I wrap a polo wrap around it to help keep it in place and free of dirt.
    Date published: 2014-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So convenient! These wraps are amazing! So convenient and so easy rather than ice boots. I really like these at shows at the fact I can see if a leg has swollen plus they're more practical than lugging ice boots to a show.
    Date published: 2014-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Arrived without damage before expected. I have a Physical Therapist that recommended this product in for my legs after running. It does the trick. After running the LA Marathon the wraps were a welcome relief. If it's good enough for horses its good enough for me!
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great substitute for cold hosing! It does a nice job giving consistent cold compression. It's a great substitute for cold hosing especially during cold winter months. The last one I had lasted way more than 20 uses. Including being kicked off a couple times. The only complaint I have is that it doesn't stick to itself. You have to tuck it in. Also I don't use the sock because dirt washes off super easily and the sock is a hassle. 
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! I found this product after my horse got kicked in the trailer. I couldn't be happier with it! Easy to use did everything it was supposed to and I have been able to re-use the product many times now. I make sure to keep these wraps in my barn, truck, and trailer, I will never touch an ice pack again :)
    Date published: 2013-10-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Huge Disappointment When something seems too good to be true, it probably is. This was the worst horse related purchase I've ever made. Did it cool, yes. Did it stick to its self, yes. Did I use the nice little included sleeve to protect it from horse hair and barn dirt, yes. Did it survive more than 10 minutes, no. I monitored my horse closely for five minutes to make sure it wasn't going to slip or cause problems. Then I turned my back. It disintegrated. I was picking pieces of it out of the straw for thirty minutes. The wrap was shredded. If I could give it zero stars I would. If you're willing to stand there and keep your horse immobilized for twenty minutes, just use real ice and a bucket, it’s cheaper.
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Messy and cumbersome. I was hoping for a wrap to cool the tendons after long training rides and endurance rides, without having to haul ice packs around. These wraps were quite cumbersome to use. The sock provided did keep the wrap clean, but it got so caked with the gel after a single use, that I couldn't use it again (even after washing it). I had to put another layer on the outside to keep the dirt off, as the wrap really attracts dirt, hair, and shavings. I didn't really feel a significant cooling effect either.Overall, I don't think this is worth the high cost.
    Date published: 2013-06-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from useful product Horse had pulled some muscles in turnout and figured I'd give this a shot. Being January in Chicago I really wasn't wanting to cold hose him. Product does a great job taking care of swelling,so easy to use and conveinent to use, and is a great price. There were a few things I didn't like abut the product though-Gel gets stuck to the horse and is like glue trying to get it off. Does not stick to itself very well I always have to tuck it into itself to actually make it stay. The sock is a great idea to keep the shavings off of it, but I have a 17.3h horse and getting that over his hoof was a joke.
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy icing I was a little hestitant when I first purchased this, but for less than $20, why not? My mare has some issues with her hind legs and I originally got the wrap to help reduce swelling on days she didn't get worked, etc. She ended up pulling a check ligament on a front leg and these came in really handy for daily icing. I prefer refrigerating for maximum chill, but they worked fine when they were at room temperature as well. They held up well and I hit the suggested number of uses plus a couple. I did care for them as the packaging suggested. I did not wet them a whole lot and they did get a tiny bit dry by the end. I have re-ordered the wrap and keep it in my tack trunk.
    Date published: 2012-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome wrap I bought this wrap for my horse to ease swelling from getting caught up in a fence, it worked great! And I love that it is reusable :)
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Great for reducing swelling/heat and awesome for hard to wrap areas ie knees, hocks. Yes, they don't last forever, but for the convenience and price (personally, I do not believe it is overpriced for a "disposable" item) - still a great purchase!
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Works I bought these to use on my 27 year old gelding who battles with laminitis. He has wood shoes that keep him comfortable but they can not get wet so when it gets really hot and he has a little laminitis flare up I can't run cold water on his legs so I wrapped them with the ColdFlex wraps and they worked great! Kept his legs nice and cold easing his laminitis without getting his wood shoes wet.They are super easy to use and I keep them in the fridge for extra cold.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Falling apart I purchased several of these hoping they would work well for a suspensory injury. I think the idea is fabulous but they do not hold up. Even using the sock they get very dirty and can't be cleaned. They start falling apart after about 8 uses. They are too expensive to last only a week.
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Waste of Money My friend bought this for me, and I used it on my horse's fetlock. Admittedly the swelling did go down, but as I was taking it off it completely crumbled into multiple pieces causing me to have to throw it out versus use it again. I wouldn't recommend buying it, $20 for a one time thing isn't worth it.
    Date published: 2011-11-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected Tears very easily and was not easily reusable when you had already applied it.
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Product Easy to use and love the idea, would be great for people too
    Date published: 2011-10-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neat product I keep a pair of these in the fridge and use it on my son's little roping gelding. He has a tendancy to swell from time to time. They are very handy & are reusable. They don't stay cold as long as I'd hoped but I think they work well to take the initial heat out. I'm happy with them :)
    Date published: 2011-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great & it's easy to use I train Thoroughbred racehorses and we stand a lot of them in ice boots. We have a few that just don't like them and stomp them down all the time. I saw the ColdFlex Vet Wrap and figured it was worth a try. Wow - they fit great on the legs, and our "fussy" horses didn't mind it a bit. No stomping and great results. I went back and bought more. I would certainly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2011-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from helps I got this cold wrap because back in Dec. my horse hurt her leg and it was too cold to cold hose it. It did help some, i found that it helped more if i put the wrap in the fridge for a few hours before useing it. the wrap itself will not feel very cold to the touch, but it does help pull some of the heat and swelling out of the leg. it does take a few hours of being on the leg for it to work. I still feel good old fashion cold hosing is the best way to go however if your in a pinch, no hose or too cold to use a hose this product is good to have on hand for those times. it really is reusable as well witch i really liked.
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not as expected sticky and leaves a residue that I suspect increased swelling on the hind legs after work. I don't feel as if it got cold enough for long enough.
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value The only problem I've had is that I can't really get it to stick to itself like it says it should, to secure it.
    Date published: 2011-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. This is a real time saver. It works to cool the leg and is easy to apply. I did find that it does not maintain the cool temperature for a very long time. My horse does not have a great deal of heat in his leg and the wrap gets warm after about 15-20 minutes. This is enough time for his injury but might not be enough for others.I have reused the wrap and it worked good after 3 applications if I did not freeze it and kept sealed to maintain the moisture.
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I bought this product a few weeks ago and used it for the first time today. I have to say, it is worth the buy!! The second I took it out of the bags, it was cold... it adhered to it's self almost better then vet wrap! It stayed in place without a problem and did it's job. I will be buying a lot more of this product!! It is a life saver if your in the trailer, on the trail, or can't use ice packs. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2010-10-11
    • 2016-02-08T13:52CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_50
    • loc_en_US, sid_2279, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.