Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

ColdFlex Vet Wrap

Item #12279

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

ColdFlex Vet Wrap is an innovative self-cooling compression bandage. No pre-planning necessary- the bandage cools by evaporation and does not require refrigeration! Exclusive formulation of gelled water embedded into an elastic foam material supports and compresses while providing penetrating cold therapy. Cooling effect of ColdFlex Vet Wrap can last for several hours after wrap removal with no danger of tissue damage from excessive cold. Flexible and conforming, ColdFlex Vet Wrap will not cause undesirable pressure.

Favorite Features

  • COLDFLEX® is reusable up to 25 times, making it extremely cost effective
  • Can be easily cut to size
  • Bio-degradable, non-toxic, and non-irritating
  • Each Coldflex Vet Wrap comes with one cotton sock that you can use between your horse's leg and the
  • ColdFlex Wrap or over the ColdFlex Wrap to keep it free of bedding, hay, etc.

Sizing It Up

3" X 72"

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    ColdFlex Vet Wrap is rated 4.2241 out of 5 by 58.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Technology! I just got these and tried them for the first time after a cross country run at a horse trial and WOW! So easy to use! I left them on for about an hour and after removing, legs were cold and tight with practically no effort. I love these things -- no bulky, irritating ice, no messy poultices. I wish they were not quite so expensive for product with a short life span, but they are definitely worth it and I will be buying more!
    Date published: 2010-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have for Shows! I love this product! It is fast and easy to use. Especially great for horse shows or when water is not available for cold hosing. Extremely convenient and very effective for reducing swelling after a hard workout. My horses actually like coldflex vet wrap better than cold hosing! I keep one in my trailer and one at the barn!
    Date published: 2010-04-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Very Cold This is a great idea, I just wish it worked better. The wrap is cold when you take it out of the container, but within a few minutes after applying, it gets warm. I have been using it on a horse with sore heels and after leaving it on for 20-30 minutes, the area is still warm when I take it off. It definitely does not have the same effect as ice or cold hosing. Also it tears easily if you pull it too hard while wrapping.
    Date published: 2009-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING LEG WRAP-Tendon Saver The coolflex wraps are fantastic and I advise getting the warmblood size even if you have any horse because you can cut them to be any size you want or need so get more for less price if you buy more then one !!! They are an excellent make and help a lot to keep horses cool and sound. The only problem I found is that they can rip but past that they are amazing and even if they do rip you can use both sides again cause they can be useful at any size. I LOVE this product and suggest others buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2009-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy Wrap this around your horse to make sure the muscle is cool, walk away and come back to see how this easy and cool vet wrap works absolutly amazing.
    Date published: 2009-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best wrap ever! this wrap is fantastic! for first-timers it will feel wierd, but it is working the way it is supposed to! Don't worry! Horses love it and can't get enough, I put it on my horses legs when they have sprains or select injuries. I am convinced that it helps the healing process.
    Date published: 2009-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Results These wraps worked great. My horse pulled a muscle near his tendon on both front legs. I cut the wraps in half and used them both at the same time. The swelling went down almost instantly and he's sound again!The only down side was the slimy gel from the wraps drying on my horses legs after I took them off, I had to scrub it off sometimes.
    Date published: 2009-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Injury Lifesaver! I have been struggling to keep minor swelling down with my horse for a while. She had a minor suspensory strain a year ago, and could only be jumped once a week to allow for natural swelling reduction. Now I use this wrap for 15 minutes after riding, while I am brushing her, and keep her wrapped in stall. The swelling has completely disappeared! This is a lifesaver product, and I have recommended it to several people at our barn.
    Date published: 2009-06-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice wrap I like that I can put this wrap on my horse immediately after a ride and leave it on her while I'm cooling her down. I ALWAYS ice her leg, but usually have to wait until I'm done hosing so I don't melt the ice. This wrap provided me with a solution. I put it on during hosing and cool-down, then when she's done she gets her ice boot. I'm not sure how cold it actually gets, but it's at least cool. And I have to tuck it into itself to keep it on, cuz it doesn't really stick to itself that well. Hard to roll it back up and keep it clean cuz it's so slippery. But I'm glad I bought it and I'm sure I'll buy again when this one wears out.
    Date published: 2009-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love This Wrap These wraps amaze me! My horse has a slight problem with stocking up, and it seemed to be getting worse lately. I had tried so many things to help him, and I was about to call a vet, as the only thing that helped at all was walking him (a lot!!) I decided to give this a try, not expecting a miracle. I used it for about 2 hours one day (it goes on and stays on quite nicely), took it off and left his legs unwrapped for the night. When I checked him the next morning, the swelling was almost completely gone. In a matter of two days, he was perfectly rideable. Actually he had A LOT of go =). And now my wonderful boy is pretty much completely normal again- no more swelling! I would reccommend these wraps to anyone and I owe so much to them for helping my best friend so much =)!!
    Date published: 2008-07-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Re-ordering! I found these wraps to be a wonderful addition to my trailer. I recently was out on a trail ride and a small mishaps caused some swelling in my horse's leg. These wraps were perfect to use during the trailer ride back to the barn. I've used them numerous times and they still chill nicely. I simply rinse with water and keep in the packaging they arrived in. I do agree with other reviews, they do not stick to themselves as well as I expected. A little vet wrap easily keeps them in place though.
    Date published: 2008-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love This Product!! I used it on my horse and it worked great in reducing the swelling. I love the fact that the horse can walk around rather than being stuck in one spot and not being allowed to move (like if you use a bucket of water or something). I'm also using it on myself. I had knee surgery and I'm supposed to ice my leg constantly. I really like the wrap, it's nice and cold and I can do stuff with it on. I don't just have to lay/sit in one spot and deal with the uneven coverage of the ice pack. I really like how it can cover a larger area more evenly than ice or water can.
    Date published: 2008-05-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not impressed. I didn't feel that these got very cold, I wrapped one on my arm to see. They are difficult to handle and they don't always stick to themselves the best. Trying to keep them clean is difficult. They do conform to the leg, but ice boots are easier and work better.
    Date published: 2007-12-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from ColdFlex Vet Wrap Was really happy with the inital performance of the product. However, after about 10 uses the product showed a clear reduced effectiveness. I bought 2 - one for each leg needed to treat, and at almost $40 of product I would like to see them last longer. They did stay on well and I like that they conform to the leg.
    Date published: 2007-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product What a great product. The horse can cool down, be walked, and wear this wrap at the same time. It heats up then cools down! I don't use water to soak; it really defeats the purpose while the horse is wearing the wrap. I don't use anything else to hold it on, as it adheres to itself.
    Date published: 2005-05-12
    • 2016-02-11T15:13CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_50
    • loc_en_US, sid_2279, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.