Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Charles Owen JR8 Junior Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #15418
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Introducing the new JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest level of protection!  Low profile design is covered with a microfiber suede material treated to protect against marking and scuffing. Brim is gently rounded to flatter the face.

Favorite Features

  • Metallic logo is positioned above the peak
  • Embroidered logo on the back of the helmet where a ribbon would traditionally be
  • Nylon harness coordinates to complete the finished look and offers additional strength, safety and security
  • The lining is interwoven with silver ions to provide anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors

**ASTM F-1163-15/SEI Certified

Sizing It Up

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a ...
    Description:
    The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a popular fiberglass jockey skull with a streamlined design. Lightweight and deep-fitting with a soft edged three point harness made from high strength nylon. Four discreet vents to keep you cool on course.  ...
    The Helmet Cleaner, by Charles Owen, digests any ...
    Description:
    The Helmet Cleaner, by Charles Owen, digests any dirt and grease from the inside of your hat, ensuring it remains clean and pleasant to wear. Imported Sizing It Up 200ml Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited ...
    The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmet is the ...
    Description:
    The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmet is the latest blend of tradition and technology. This low profile helmet combines fade resistant velvet side panels with a vented velvet center for maximum airflow. It's the perfect combination of classic and cool! ...
    The Custom Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a ...
    Description:
    The Custom Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic. Endless ...
    Just when you thought riding couldn't get any ...
    Description:
    Just when you thought riding couldn't get any "cooler." The Charles Owen Pro II has ventilation holes in the front and rear for maximum airflow and ultimate comfort. The removable cover has a visor and mesh front that will keep ...
    The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low ...
    Description:
    The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic. Developed for ...
    Add a little sparkle into your everyday life or ...
    Description:
    Add a little sparkle into your everyday life or in the show ring with the Charles Owen JR8 Sparkly Helmet!  Made of a special sparkle material, the black bling and shiny silver center seamlessly complement the black weather resistant microsuede side panels. Styled ...
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen JR8 Junior Helmet is rated 4.7643 out of 5 by 140.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value! I bought this helmet because I couldn't afford a higher end Charles Owen right now but I was pleasantly surprised. The helmet is nicely made and very comfortable. It also looks very good in the show ring. I feel like a fit right in but I didn't spend a ton of money.
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! I absolutely love this helmet. Most comfortable helmet I have ever had and it's a great price.
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! The helmet was a little snug at first, but I have had it for almost a month now and I love it! It will stretch out a little bit to conform to your head. Has nylon straps and a plastic buckle, but much less expensive than the GR8!
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GR8 Jr Great helmet for the price, great look, fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favourite helmet! I purchased this helmet as a helmet to use for showing only but I cannot help but use it for schooling rides. It is the most comfortable helmet I've ever used, even more so than the more expensive Charles Owens. I feel confident jumping high fences and galloping my OTTB in this helmet, knowing I am well protected. The only downside is that it can be a tad bit hot but the look and safety it provides are well worth it. The price is amazing too, I would honestly pay another 100-200 dollars for this helmet. It is highly recommended above any other helmet for schooling or showing.
    Date published: 2012-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charles Owen JR8, great price and value Bought this as a step up show helmet from Troxel and Ovation for my daughter. She absolutely loves it! So comfortable, she says it doesn't feel like she's wearing any helmet at all. Very cute, low profile, looks fantastic. Will buy another for schooling in the future.
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice helmet! Just recently got back into riding and looking at my old helmet, I decided I needed an upgrade. After doing my research this helmet seemed like the best choice for me. Little nervous ordering online, but since SmartPak has the free return shipping, I figured why not! Helmet seems true to size and fits me very well. Comfortable too. I would definitely recommend this helmet and when the time comes, I would more than likely buy another one :)
    Date published: 2012-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great!!! I love this helmet! It arrived quickly and fits well. I do agree with everyone else who posted about the harness, it could use some work. Love it otherwise! :)
    Date published: 2012-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I bought this helmet as a replacement show helmet for my daughter. When it arrived I had her try it on..."This is soooo comfortable, mom!". The following weekend after she had worn it several hours at a show I again asked how it felt and got the same response. If it is that comfy I know she will wear it.For those considering this helmet: When I measured her head with her very thick hair in "show position" I doubted I measured correctly, no way she wears the same size helmet I do. Hedging bets I ordered a size down, crossing fingers it wouldn't be making a return trip to SmartPak. I bet correctly and no return was necessary.
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Helmet! Tried the helmet on at a local tack store, but found it on-line at Smart Pak for a better price. Helmet fits like no other tried on, and love that it looks just as great as the more expensive one. Very, very happy with the purchase!
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helment for a Great Price I've only had this helment a few weeks, but so far I really like it. It fits great and is a great price. The only thing I don't like about is that the straps seem a little cheap compared to the quailty of the rest of helment.
    Date published: 2012-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great look The helmet looks and fits great. If looks could win my daughter would be champion every time. She is 8 and says it the helmet is comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! This helmet is great! It fits true to size and is comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a Beautiful Helmet! This is such a NICE helmet for the price. I was looking for a safe, comfortable helmet without having to pay 300+ dollars. In all reality, unless you look closely, it is difficult to tell the difference between this and the GR8. The fit is superb. And I honestly don't sweat as much in this helmet as I did in other, vented ones. Thank you CO for making an excellent, affordable helmet, and thank you SmartPak for carrying it!
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helment I ordered this helment for the up and coming show season. So far I love it! It fits really well, the style is great, and the price is affortable.
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I'm a dressage rider and I love this helmet. I have an oval shaped head (GPAs don't fit me well at all) and this helmet feels great on. I thought I would get sweaty and hot in the summer but it really isn't bad at all. Aesthetically, this helmet looks gorgeous on. Unless you are standing right next to me you cannot tell that it isn't the GR8, which is double the price. I would rebuy, no questions asked!
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Comfortable Helmet I've Owned I have just gotten back into riding after a 9 year hiatus and, lo and behold, I come to find out that - not only does everyone elect to ride in approved helmets now - you HAVE to. (I come from a time where we couldn't wait to turn 18 so we didn't have to wear a harness at shows or any helmet at all at home.) I purchased a Troxel show helmet (not sure the model name) and I noticed that it was wobbling around a lot when I rode and sweat was POURING down my face. I'm not sure if I had the wrong size or if it was just a bad fit, but a barn friend told me about the C.O. JR8. I decided to give it a shot and I am thrilled with my purchase! I had no idea a helmet could actually be COMFORTABLE! I love riding in this helmet. It's nice and secure but doesn't apply pressure to any part of my head. It doesn't move/bounce around at all while I ride. I still sweat in it, but I've noticed that I haven't been getting as much sweat in my eyes as with my Troxel. The helmet is easy to clean (just wipe off) and looks great. It's not the fancy Hampton but I will have no problem showing in it. Best of all? No mushroom head! If IRHs and GPAs don't fit you, try the Charles Owen. You won't be sorry!
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome helmet! Great helmet for the price!! Love the way it fits. Measured as instructed and it fit on the first try. Even came with a drawstring bag (the reusable grocery bag material). I have only been using it a short time but it was recommended to me and I'd definitely recommend it :-)
    Date published: 2012-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I use this for IHSA competition and I am no longer embarrased to walk into the ring like I was with my old helmet. I will be using this helmet for the open shows I compete in this summer and am looking foward to showing it off! I have a hard time finding helmets that fit in proportion to my head. I have a small head and a skinny face, but this helmet looks great!
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Since this cap was prchased durring my ski pro time of year I have not begun my testing .I wish I could find a low profile helmet that was effective and looked good too.
    Date published: 2012-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice helmet Very nice helmet, almost identical to the more expensive GR8. However I found (for my head anyways) that the helmet was tight front to back but loose side to side. So I returned it, only for fit reasons, quality was great. I did compare it to my Troxel Sierra helmet... as far as helmet low-profile and size, the 2 were identical. I thought with the rave reviews that the JR8 would be a more streamlined low profile but it was just as wide as the Troxel. Oh well. Someday safety material will be thin and helmets won't make me a bobble head haha.
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great helmet I finally replaced my old helmet with this charles owen. I am happy to report it is very comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet I am a dressage rider and I bought this helmet for the upcoming show season. The fit is great and the foam padding on the inside of the helmet make it very comfortable and secure. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a nice schooling or showing helmet. :)
    Date published: 2011-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Charles Owen JR8 This helmet fits Great! Very Comfortable and looks stylish. Most importantly I feel secure and I find the fit to be amazing.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality show helmet I love this helmet! The outside is made of a very nice material and it is well cushioned on the inside. I ordered a size bigger so my hair fits up under it. The harness fits nicely under my hair and ears. I think this helmet flatters the shape of my head because I have a skinny face and a lot of helmets look huge on my head. A very good helmet, worth the money but I wish it wasn't so expensive.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet. I bought this helmet for schooling, it fits great and looks beautiful. My only complaint it does tend to get HOT, especially in summer. I have an AYR8 for showing in the hot california sun.
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from totally AWESOME!! i would totally recommend this to a friend! its totally worth the $140!! though its not the best for in the heat its a very nice helmet.
    Date published: 2011-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute for Shows or Schooling! The JR8 looks lovely on and fits well on my rounder head. I am not sure how well the ultra suede will hold up over time but it has not faded and the color did not run when I wore it all day in the rain at a horse show. Love this helmet and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a helmet for showing or schooling!
    Date published: 2011-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product This hard hat fits me well, and is not bad looking. It was a bit heavier than the hh I was wearing, but didn't take long to get used to. My old one was not approved. I cannot comment on durability or quality as I haven't had it that long. It is warm, but I don't like the vented look. I wanted the Hampton, but the price is a bit much.
    Date published: 2011-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This helmet looks super nice on, fits great and is a great value for the money spent.
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    • 2016-05-01T17:18CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_121
    • loc_en_US, sid_5418, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders