Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Charles Owen JR8 Junior Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #15418
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Introducing the new JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest level of protection!  Low profile design is covered with a microfiber suede material treated to protect against marking and scuffing. Brim is gently rounded to flatter the face.

**ASTM F-1163-15/SEI Certified

Helmets Comparison Chart

Favorite Features

  • Metallic logo is positioned above the peak
  • Embroidered logo on the back of the helmet where a ribbon would traditionally be
  • Nylon harness coordinates to complete the finished look and offers additional strength, safety and security
  • The lining is interwoven with silver ions to provide anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmet is the ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmet is the latest blend of tradition and technology. This low profile helmet combines fade resistant velvet side panels with a vented velvet center for maximum airflow. It's the perfect combination of classic and cool! ...
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic. Developed for ...
    "Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the ...
    Description:
    "Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the Ayr8® Leather Look the latest choice in equestrian protective headwear. The Leather Look Ayr8® requires minimal care to maintain its brilliant appearance. The lining features interwoven silver ions, providing anti-microbial protection against ...
    "The Charles Owen AyrBrush Helmet blends the latest ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen AyrBrush Helmet blends the latest technology with sophisticated design to create the ultimate in equestrian fashion! This helmet features a smooth, matte finish created with an exclusive mark-resistant paint made specially in Britain for easy maintenance. With ...
    "Add a little sparkle into your everyday life ...
    Description:
    "Add a little sparkle into your everyday life or in the show ring with the Charles Owen JR8 Sparkly Helmet! Made of a special sparkle material, the black bling and shiny silver center seamlessly complement the black weather resistant microsuede ...
    "Just when you thought riding couldn’t get any ...
    Description:
    "Just when you thought riding couldn’t get any “cooler.” The Charles Owen Pro II has ventilation holes in the front and rear for maximum airflow and ultimate comfort. The removable cover has a visor and mesh front that will keep ...
    "The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a popular fiberglass jockey skull with a streamlined design. Lightweight and deep-fitting with a soft edged three point harness made from high strength nylon. Four discreet vents to keep you cool on course. ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen JR8 Junior Helmet is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 155.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this helmet! I have a small head and this fits perfectly. I have been riding for 20 years and this is the best helmet I have ever worn. It fits very snug so it does not shift around my head, but it is not tight enough to give me a headache. It looks stunning and is easy to clean.
    Date published: 2013-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy I have never purchased the "high end" Charles Owens helmet. But the 'low end" one is absolutely the most comfortable "rated" helmet I have ever purchased. It is well worth the money!!
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most comfortable helmet ever! This is the most comfortable helmet that I have ever worn! It perfectly fits my small narrow head. And it looks great.
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always Getting Charles Owen! I bought this helmet a few years ago to replace my IRH schooling helmet with velvet cover. This is the most comfortable helmet I have ever worn. The lining is moisture-wicking but soft, and it keeps your head cool! It cleans up really well too! I use a soft brush to get any fuzz off of it, and it is ready to go to a show! I even wore it in hail/snow/rain and it was soaking wet after! When I got home I left it by the air vent and it dried perfectly! The harness fits beautifully around my ears and is easy to adjust. My hair looks great in it with my hair net, and everything fits! I have had this for years, and will forever only buy Charles Owens. They fit me, look great, and have a superb design! They even sell a spray to clean the inside of the helmet! I have the deodorizer and it is a strong lemony scent but it dries to smell like nothing. It refreshes and maintains a great Charles Owen. It does not come with the helmet. Whether you are schooling or showing, Charles Owens are the best!
    Date published: 2013-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I absolutely love this helmet. I ordered it for jumping and to wear at polo practices. It looks really nice, and is really easy to keep clean. Dirt just wipes off with a damp rag. It's held up really well. I've gotten it pretty dusty from playing polo in an indoor arena, and it still looks like it did when I took it out of the box! It could easily be worn in the show ring, too.I just couldn't justify buying the GR8 for like twice the price when this one looks just as nice, and is great quality. The straps are nylon instead of leather like on the GR8, but I have no problem with them. They don't rub or anything.This helmet fits true to size. It stays on very well, even when playing a rough sport, like polo. My other helmet would fall down and get in my way, but this one doesn't.I got the grey/black color, and it looks really nice. The grey stripe breaks up the helmet a bit, so it doesn't look so large on your head.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't work for us. Beautiful hat but I had to return it because it didn't fit my son properly. It's well made but the straps are uncomfortable looking. The JR8 only comes with a plastic bag for storage. My son has a round head that is slightly square in back and the AYR8 fits perfectly. The JR8 and GR8 are for more long and oval heads.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Helmet This is the most comfortable helmet I have ever owned! It looks greats and I have already gotten a number of compliments. I would definitely recommend this helmet.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet We bought this helmet for one of our students. It fits him very well and he finds it to be quite comfortable. It looks very nice even though he often lets it lie in the ground. Most importantly, it has stood up well to his throwing it around.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable - great looking helmet We bought this for one of our therapeutic riding students. He loves riding and loves playing with his helmet. He is only eight and can be pretty hard on things while he is playing. He had good regular helmet of another brand with a plastic cover. It didn't take him long and his play resulted in the helmet being cracked completely in half. This helmet fits him better and is holding up better to his play. The mark against it is the price for the risk taken to outfit a boy who may break a second helmet. Our fingers are crossed.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet Helmet is a great product. Make sure you measure your head correctly before purchasing.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit I tried 6 different helmets and this one by far fit the best. It was on the pricier side, but I figure the extra is well worth having a well fit helmet if I come off. The padding makes it very comfortable to wear. I'm a little concerned about how hot it will be in South Florida in the summer, but its so hot anyway that I don't think it will matter much!
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet This is my daughter's second helmet of this model. No complaints whatsoever - fits great, looks great, high quality. Very happy with this purchase.
    Date published: 2013-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet!!!1 This helmet molds to your head the first 30 min your wear it!! I love how it comes in so many different sizes!
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the Money Haven't had it too long to really comment on the durability, but it seems like a great schooling helmet for the price!
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value!
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm hard to fit! The helmet is really nice, and I look forward to wearing it when I receive a smaller size. I tried on the GR8, but this one seems to run a little bigger, or I was too flustered trying the GR8 on in person to notice that it was too big. Smartpak has been fantastic, as usual, giving great customer service on the phone and understanding that not every helmet fits every person the same way. It is fantastic to talk to a customer service rep who KNOWS the products they are selling. Thank you - looking forward to receiving the smaller size!
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet for The Price This is a good hemlet for the price. Its comfortable and overall fit is good. My only complaint is that the chin strap seems to run a little small? I dont know if its just me! Otherwise very comfortable and doesn't move at all while I'm riding!
    Date published: 2012-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So comfy! Great fit and an excellent buy! I wish it were a bit sleeker and vented, but for this price, I can't complain.
    Date published: 2012-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Value!! Really, really like this helmet. It's super comfortable, looks classy, and very well made. While yes, it doesn't have the ventilation holes that other helmets have, in all honesty, I can rarely tell a difference. Excellent helmet for schooling and showing - from a distance you really can't tell the difference between this and the GR8 - and it is almost half the price. I did splurge and buy the CO AYR8 for my show helmet and while that helmet is certainly worth every penny - I still use my JR8 for schooling.
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turns out I love it! I bought this helmet to replace my old, bulky show helmet. I was a little scared because I had to pay for it myself (its a lot when you're 13!) but it turns out that it was SOOOOO worth it! I received it right in time for the show. It really looks great, and my head shape can be hard to flatter. I sized 1/8 of an inch up so I could put my hair up in it, and it fits fine with my hair down as well! I haven't used it for too long (but believe me, I will!), however it is lightweight, and seems to be well made. When I bought it, I intended to use it for showing purposes only, but I've fallen in love, and use it for schooling too! Overall, SUPER happy with it!
    Date published: 2012-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value! I bought this helmet because I couldn't afford a higher end Charles Owen right now but I was pleasantly surprised. The helmet is nicely made and very comfortable. It also looks very good in the show ring. I feel like a fit right in but I didn't spend a ton of money.
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! I absolutely love this helmet. Most comfortable helmet I have ever had and it's a great price.
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! The helmet was a little snug at first, but I have had it for almost a month now and I love it! It will stretch out a little bit to conform to your head. Has nylon straps and a plastic buckle, but much less expensive than the GR8!
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GR8 Jr Great helmet for the price, great look, fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favourite helmet! I purchased this helmet as a helmet to use for showing only but I cannot help but use it for schooling rides. It is the most comfortable helmet I've ever used, even more so than the more expensive Charles Owens. I feel confident jumping high fences and galloping my OTTB in this helmet, knowing I am well protected. The only downside is that it can be a tad bit hot but the look and safety it provides are well worth it. The price is amazing too, I would honestly pay another 100-200 dollars for this helmet. It is highly recommended above any other helmet for schooling or showing.
    Date published: 2012-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charles Owen JR8, great price and value Bought this as a step up show helmet from Troxel and Ovation for my daughter. She absolutely loves it! So comfortable, she says it doesn't feel like she's wearing any helmet at all. Very cute, low profile, looks fantastic. Will buy another for schooling in the future.
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice helmet! Just recently got back into riding and looking at my old helmet, I decided I needed an upgrade. After doing my research this helmet seemed like the best choice for me. Little nervous ordering online, but since SmartPak has the free return shipping, I figured why not! Helmet seems true to size and fits me very well. Comfortable too. I would definitely recommend this helmet and when the time comes, I would more than likely buy another one :)
    Date published: 2012-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great!!! I love this helmet! It arrived quickly and fits well. I do agree with everyone else who posted about the harness, it could use some work. Love it otherwise! :)
    Date published: 2012-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I bought this helmet as a replacement show helmet for my daughter. When it arrived I had her try it on..."This is soooo comfortable, mom!". The following weekend after she had worn it several hours at a show I again asked how it felt and got the same response. If it is that comfy I know she will wear it.For those considering this helmet: When I measured her head with her very thick hair in "show position" I doubted I measured correctly, no way she wears the same size helmet I do. Hedging bets I ordered a size down, crossing fingers it wouldn't be making a return trip to SmartPak. I bet correctly and no return was necessary.
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Helmet! Tried the helmet on at a local tack store, but found it on-line at Smart Pak for a better price. Helmet fits like no other tried on, and love that it looks just as great as the more expensive one. Very, very happy with the purchase!
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_133
    • loc_en_US, sid_5418, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders