Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Charles Owen JR8 Junior Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #15418
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Introducing the new JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest level of protection!  Low profile design is covered with a microfiber suede material treated to protect against marking and scuffing. Brim is gently rounded to flatter the face.

Favorite Features

  • Metallic logo is positioned above the peak
  • Embroidered logo on the back of the helmet where a ribbon would traditionally be
  • Nylon harness coordinates to complete the finished look and offers additional strength, safety and security
  • The lining is interwoven with silver ions to provide anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors

**ASTM F-1163-15/SEI Certified

Sizing It Up

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a ...
    Description:
    The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a popular fiberglass jockey skull with a streamlined design. Lightweight and deep-fitting with a soft edged three point harness made from high strength nylon. Four discreet vents to keep you cool on course.  ...
    The Helmet Cleaner, by Charles Owen, digests any ...
    Description:
    The Helmet Cleaner, by Charles Owen, digests any dirt and grease from the inside of your hat, ensuring it remains clean and pleasant to wear. Imported Sizing It Up 200ml Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited ...
    The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmetis the latest ...
    Description:
    The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmetis the latest blend of tradition and technology. This low profile helmet combines fade resistant velvet side panels with a vented velvet center for maximum airflow. It's the perfect combination of classic and cool! Stay-soft ...
    The Custom Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a ...
    Description:
    The Custom Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic. Endless ...
    Just when youthought riding couldn't get any "cooler." ...
    Description:
    Just when youthought riding couldn't get any "cooler." The Charles Owen Pro II has ventilation holes in the front and rear for maximum airflow and ultimate comfort. The removablecover has a visor andmesh frontthat willkeep air flowing.Favorite Features Soft headband ...
    TheCharles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile ...
    Description:
    TheCharles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet thatcombines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic. Developed for the equestrian ...
    Adda little sparkle into your everyday life or ...
    Description:
    Adda little sparkle into your everyday life or in the show ringwith the Charles Owen JR8 Sparkly Helmet! Made of a special sparkle material, the black bling and shiny silver center seamlessly complement the blackweather resistant microsuede side panels. Styled ...
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen JR8 Junior Helmet is rated 4.7606 out of 5 by 142.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I can see why this is so popular! After a massive fall that basically destroyed my old IRH, I decided to get a JR8 for shows. I'm quite happy with the helmet. I have a more round than oval head, and the first time I wore the JR8 I thought I had made a terrible mistake because of all the pressure on my head. However, after a few uses it has molded to my head and is not uncomfortable to wear for lessons. Also, I appreciate the extra "room" at the back from the oval shape to stuff my hair in for shows. If you have a more round head and are worried about fit, I'd recommend ordering a tiny little bit up from your usual size to make sure it fits on the sides, or just sticking with your regular size and hope it molds to your head as well as it did to mine.This is definitely a nice helmet for Eq shows.
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has been a GREAT starting helmet!!! This has been a great starting helmet for me. The first helmet I ever had was a plastic Troxel, but when I started jumping I decided I needed something with a little moreprotection. And hey, let's be real, the style factor never hurts either :) So I bought thisalmost a year ago and I have loved every minute of riding with it on my head. Thesmall visor is really flattering, it's very easy to adjust, and I love the stripe down themiddle because it adds a little extra flare (even in the black/black). It's also ridiculously easy to keep clean. As in a damp-cloth-wipe-down easy. The only reason I'm nolonger in this helmet is because I've started Eventing, so I werk a Skull Cap now. ButI find that Charles Owen's quality is unparalleled, so of course my new helmet is also a CO!
    Date published: 2014-03-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from If it only were better ventilated I love this helmet, but wish it were better ventilated. Thanks so much,
    Date published: 2014-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from As described, good quality, but not for me I am 5'7, 140 lb average adult female. Hat size 6 7/8 in the AYR8.  First ordered the JR8 in same size just to save money. It fit well except the chin strap was just a little too short to be comfortable and adjustable.  So it had to go back.  The second thing is as an eventer, I really like the gripx technology of the AYR8 versus the crossed straps of the JR8. While I think the JR8 is well made and is just fine for the purposes it is marketed for, I needed the AYR8 for the longer chin strap and more substantial head coverage- I will wear it xc too.  A side note: I felt the AYR8 and the JR8 are the same shape-  somewhat oval.  
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfortable I bought this helmet to replace a GR8 that I was wearing when I had a riding accident last year. As I have returned to riding  I really like the fit and look of this helmet just don't find the harness and closure of this one as comfortable as the GR8.
    Date published: 2013-12-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Weird Fitting I would not recommend this product for the price. My friend and I both bought this style for both of us it appeared to fit and looked great BUT when you hit the back it tossed forward. This happened for BOTH of us. It might be different if someone fits the helmet exactly to you but I still doubt it. If you plan on showing pleasure or something and only need it to look pretty then buy it but not if you actually want it to protect you. If you do decide to get this make sure you go to a store and have one fitted or else it is probably not going to fit properly. I am very surprised there are not more reviews like mine on here. It blew me away the difference between the CO and an IRH cheap version, I felt much more secure in the IRH. I think people just like the name and not the actual product. Other versions of CO might be better but I don't know.
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb quality Bought for my teenage daughter. Great style, quality and price. Very happy with grey/black style.
    Date published: 2013-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet On The Market! i absolutely love my Charles Owens JR8 helmet! i use it for showing and schooling. Super easy to clean. Fits perfectly according to size chart. A little pricey for the value but all together terrific! no ventilation so it gets a little hot but im perfectly fine with that. mine is getting a little small so i will definitely be buying another one of these soon!
    Date published: 2013-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet I think that this helmet is pretty nice. It's very comfortable, however there is no ventilation so it can get very hot!
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, slim lines This helmet does run a bit small, maybe because it fits exactly to the shape of your head. It seriously feels like a glove. I had to make one return for sizing and probably should have gone up one more size, but didn't want to wait any longer for my new helmet. I'm not crazy about the crisscross harness, it rubs on my ears. It is definitely the least bulky looking helmet I've ever worn and it looks good and is nicely padded.
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from jR8 review I started looking at COs when I finally ran out of patience with my ill fitting IRH helmet. I have a large head and my IRH was a model with the adjustable knob in the back.....no attractive and definitely not show worthy. I originally purchased the JR8 because I had heard such great things about COs and it was the most cost friendly.Smartpak delivered the JR8 earlier than expected, which was a welcome surprise! However, once I got the JR8 I found it did not fit. I could force it on, but the size was really snug even though I followed the sizing chart and measured my head several times.I also found that the JR8 is very oval in shape where I have a rounder head. The JR8 was very tight on the sides of my head.I had to return the JR8 (love Smartpak's return process...so easy!) and purchase the AYR8 by CO which was a much better fit. Even though it was much more expensive than the JR8, it was well worth the money.I love my CO AYR8 and I'm sure if the JR8 had fit I would have loved it just as much. CO is an awesome company with high quality helmets.
    Date published: 2013-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a fit This Charles Owen helmet fits my oval head with a hug. Feels secure and doesn't get off center like others. Don't know about durability yet, but Charles Owen is a well-respected brand.
    Date published: 2013-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this helmet! I have a small head and this fits perfectly. I have been riding for 20 years and this is the best helmet I have ever worn. It fits very snug so it does not shift around my head, but it is not tight enough to give me a headache. It looks stunning and is easy to clean.
    Date published: 2013-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy I have never purchased the "high end" Charles Owens helmet. But the 'low end" one is absolutely the most comfortable "rated" helmet I have ever purchased. It is well worth the money!!
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most comfortable helmet ever! This is the most comfortable helmet that I have ever worn! It perfectly fits my small narrow head. And it looks great.
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always Getting Charles Owen! I bought this helmet a few years ago to replace my IRH schooling helmet with velvet cover. This is the most comfortable helmet I have ever worn. The lining is moisture-wicking but soft, and it keeps your head cool! It cleans up really well too! I use a soft brush to get any fuzz off of it, and it is ready to go to a show! I even wore it in hail/snow/rain and it was soaking wet after! When I got home I left it by the air vent and it dried perfectly! The harness fits beautifully around my ears and is easy to adjust. My hair looks great in it with my hair net, and everything fits! I have had this for years, and will forever only buy Charles Owens. They fit me, look great, and have a superb design! They even sell a spray to clean the inside of the helmet! I have the deodorizer and it is a strong lemony scent but it dries to smell like nothing. It refreshes and maintains a great Charles Owen. It does not come with the helmet. Whether you are schooling or showing, Charles Owens are the best!
    Date published: 2013-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I absolutely love this helmet. I ordered it for jumping and to wear at polo practices. It looks really nice, and is really easy to keep clean. Dirt just wipes off with a damp rag. It's held up really well. I've gotten it pretty dusty from playing polo in an indoor arena, and it still looks like it did when I took it out of the box! It could easily be worn in the show ring, too.I just couldn't justify buying the GR8 for like twice the price when this one looks just as nice, and is great quality. The straps are nylon instead of leather like on the GR8, but I have no problem with them. They don't rub or anything.This helmet fits true to size. It stays on very well, even when playing a rough sport, like polo. My other helmet would fall down and get in my way, but this one doesn't.I got the grey/black color, and it looks really nice. The grey stripe breaks up the helmet a bit, so it doesn't look so large on your head.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't work for us. Beautiful hat but I had to return it because it didn't fit my son properly. It's well made but the straps are uncomfortable looking. The JR8 only comes with a plastic bag for storage. My son has a round head that is slightly square in back and the AYR8 fits perfectly. The JR8 and GR8 are for more long and oval heads.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Helmet This is the most comfortable helmet I have ever owned! It looks greats and I have already gotten a number of compliments. I would definitely recommend this helmet.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet We bought this helmet for one of our students. It fits him very well and he finds it to be quite comfortable. It looks very nice even though he often lets it lie in the ground. Most importantly, it has stood up well to his throwing it around.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable - great looking helmet We bought this for one of our therapeutic riding students. He loves riding and loves playing with his helmet. He is only eight and can be pretty hard on things while he is playing. He had good regular helmet of another brand with a plastic cover. It didn't take him long and his play resulted in the helmet being cracked completely in half. This helmet fits him better and is holding up better to his play. The mark against it is the price for the risk taken to outfit a boy who may break a second helmet. Our fingers are crossed.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet Helmet is a great product. Make sure you measure your head correctly before purchasing.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit I tried 6 different helmets and this one by far fit the best. It was on the pricier side, but I figure the extra is well worth having a well fit helmet if I come off. The padding makes it very comfortable to wear. I'm a little concerned about how hot it will be in South Florida in the summer, but its so hot anyway that I don't think it will matter much!
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet This is my daughter's second helmet of this model. No complaints whatsoever - fits great, looks great, high quality. Very happy with this purchase.
    Date published: 2013-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet!!!1 This helmet molds to your head the first 30 min your wear it!! I love how it comes in so many different sizes!
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the Money Haven't had it too long to really comment on the durability, but it seems like a great schooling helmet for the price!
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm hard to fit! The helmet is really nice, and I look forward to wearing it when I receive a smaller size. I tried on the GR8, but this one seems to run a little bigger, or I was too flustered trying the GR8 on in person to notice that it was too big. Smartpak has been fantastic, as usual, giving great customer service on the phone and understanding that not every helmet fits every person the same way. It is fantastic to talk to a customer service rep who KNOWS the products they are selling. Thank you - looking forward to receiving the smaller size!
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet for The Price This is a good hemlet for the price. Its comfortable and overall fit is good. My only complaint is that the chin strap seems to run a little small? I dont know if its just me! Otherwise very comfortable and doesn't move at all while I'm riding!
    Date published: 2012-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So comfy! Great fit and an excellent buy! I wish it were a bit sleeker and vented, but for this price, I can't complain.
    Date published: 2012-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Value!! Really, really like this helmet. It's super comfortable, looks classy, and very well made. While yes, it doesn't have the ventilation holes that other helmets have, in all honesty, I can rarely tell a difference. Excellent helmet for schooling and showing - from a distance you really can't tell the difference between this and the GR8 - and it is almost half the price. I did splurge and buy the CO AYR8 for my show helmet and while that helmet is certainly worth every penny - I still use my JR8 for schooling.
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    • 2016-05-24T16:20CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_122
    • loc_en_US, sid_5418, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders