Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Charles Owen J3 Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #12423
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love It

The J3 Helmet is a favorite of the cross country rider!  The unsurpassed design and function of the J3 makes it Charles Owen's most popular jockey skull cap.  Low profile for a sleeker look and multiple vents keep you cooler so you can focus on the jump ahead of you!

Favorite Features

  • Low profile structure reduces bulk 
  • 4 ventilation holes provide a cooler ride
  • Suede lined leather harness extends to the nape of the neck and is soft to the ski
  • Headband is interwoven with silver ions throughout the lining, providing anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors
  • Adjustable rear padding permits the rider to customize the fit to their individual needs
  • Includes a matte silk cover embroidered with the Charles Owen logo
  • Kitemarked to PAS015 and BSEN1384 also certified by SEI to ASTM F1163

Sizing It Up


Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen J3 Helmet is rated 4.7241 out of 5 by 29.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I got this helmet in 2011, and I absolutely love it. I came from a Tipperary that started out fitting well, but the padding deteriorated over time and it eventually became way too large. This helmet fits like a glove. In the summer it keeps my head cool, and it still looks sharp.
    Date published: 2013-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good For A Skull Cap I am a dressage rider, with an unfortunately hard to fit head. I tried every dressage helmet under the sun and none fit just right. And when you're spending a lot of money on a helmet, you want it to fit. This is by far the most comfortable and well fitting helmet I have ever owned. I won't show in it, only because it's not for dressage, but I school in it everyday. I stuck a dressage cover on it and it was sufficient. I fell off with it and it protected my head very well. In most helmets you get a headache after, but in this one it was fine! Sad I have to buy a new one now.
    Date published: 2012-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good comfortable helmet I bought my first J3 because I wanted a good quality helmet with no brim. I'm replacing it with a second because it's been in use for several years, and endured a pretty hard fall. My head's fine, thanks to the helmet.If I lived in a hotter climate I might want more ventilation, and folks with a long oval head shape may find it too short front-to-back.
    Date published: 2012-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety First It was time to replace my older packed out IRH and I decided to try the J3. It is well made, light weight, comfortable with a secure fit, and meets multiple safety standards. I like the visibility offered by the skull cap.
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet I just recently bought this helmet and I love it! I like how it fits and its really comfortable defiantly worth the $$. It also looks really nice in a customized cover! So far 3 people at my barn have this helmet. LOVE IT!
    Date published: 2012-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it This helmet fits great. I would highly recommend this helmet.
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet love the snug fit-- feels very secure and is worth the extra $
    Date published: 2011-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charles Owen J3 I had an old troxel velvet helmet that I was competing dressage, stadium, and xc in, and had wanted this helmet for quite a while when I got it as my high school graduation present. I loved it from the moment I put it on. It was AMAZING! So lightweight, you would forget it was on your head. I have had it for 2 year now, I ride in it daily, and compete in it for jumping. I was slightly saddened by the durability. The lining is coming unglued from the inside, and the black cover is fading to a purpleish black, so I guess I'll have to replace it soon. I will definately be replacing it with another J3 or a Pro II though, I will never have anything other than Charles Owen after this helmet.
    Date published: 2011-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I purchased this helmet originally about three years ago and absolutely loved it. After a few hard falls, I recently replaced the J3 with another J3 - the new one actually feels lighter and more comfortable than the one I had before! Very comfortable, lightweight, great fit. The padded leather harness in the back is great for keeping your hair nice and tidy when in your helmet. I love Charles Owen helmets, they are simply the best.
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just make sure to go a size up these are wonderful helmets, however as sizing goes they run small, really recommend ordering a size up and if it's a last minute think a couple in different sizes, return the other, it's the easiest way to go.
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Forced purchase I needed to replace my old helmet in order to comply with KRC safety rules. The new helmet is neither as safe or as comfortable as my old one.
    Date published: 2010-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love this helmet!! This is my first charles owen helmet and I will be forever a fan now. I had an IRH prior to this helmet and it would "pop" off my head over fences, not all that secure!! The J3 fits me like a glove and it's so comfortable and light weight. I honestly forgot it was on my head when i finished riding. I have a big head for my small stature and this doesn't make me look like a bobble head. I have received a lot of compliments with this helmet and it stays secure on my head over fences :)
    Date published: 2010-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like none other The Charles Owen skull caps are a staple in the eventing world. The J3 has a leather padded harness which is not only comfortable but really does help keep the hair tucked up neatly inside. These pack down quite a bit, so make sure it's REALLY snug when you get it.The most comfortable helmet I've ever owned. Doesn't get hot, even on painfully hot summer days. Low profile and looks great, I will never buy another brand!
    Date published: 2009-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet I've ever owned As always, Charles Owen makes a wonderful product. This helmet is extremely well made, has great ventilation, and is very lightweight. I also like the leather on the harness. It doesn't move around on my head and headaches are never a problem. It's not only my every-day schooling helmet but I also compete in it. I love my J3! Once it's time to replace my current J3, I'm certainly coming back for another one.
    Date published: 2009-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super comfortable and stays in place! I used to ride in an international skull cap and it always moved around when I rode- especially after fences. The J3 is by far the most comfortable helmet I have ever owned. I often forget I have it on after dismounting. The fit is much tighter than other brands when they are new but then molds to your head after time. A great helmet!
    Date published: 2008-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from J3 The J3 Helmet is absolutely the best and most comfortable helmet, and it's the most protected I have felt in any helmet I have ever used. It was not until recently that I decided to purchase one, and I was amazed by the quality. I found it especially comfortable because of the way it "cradles" the back of my head. Even riding in summer, I did not find it uncomfortably warm. Now I will never ride a cross country course again without my J3!
    Date published: 2008-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Comfortable! Do you ever just feel like you can't wait to take your helmet off? Not with the Charles Owen J3 helmet. I love this helmet. I have owned so many different helmets in the past and the J3 is by far the best yet! It has to be absolutely the most comfortable helmet around. It's breathability surpasses my older Troxel and is much higher in quality as well. I would suggest this helmet to anyone for schooling regardless of discipline because of it's renowned safety. Great for XC!
    Date published: 2007-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe, comfortable, and good looking! I have been a fan of Charles Owen helmets ever since I tried on my first Hampton Helmet years ago. Unfortunately, an "unplanned dismount" a few weeks ago required that I replace my beloved, but now somewhat dented, Hampton. Since I'm getting back into eventing with my new horse, I decided try the J3 and am thrilled with my new purchase! The J3 has the same great fit and low profile as the Hampton with additional neck protection and a more comfortable, padded chin strap. No visor means better visibility and less chance of a broken nose during a fall and the textured surface of the helmet is sure to stand up to the nasty weather eventing inevitably seems to involve. Although I may purchase a new Hampton to use for showing dressage and stadium, my J3 will definitely be my new go-to helmet for schooling and XC!
    Date published: 2006-07-20
    • 2015-05-28T09:59CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_26
    • loc_en_US, sid_2423, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.