Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Charles Owen GR8 Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #12415
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The GR8 helmet by Charles Owen is at the cutting edge of equestrian fashion. This helmet is both sleek and sporty with its low profile design. Available in a variety of colors, the GR8 Helmet is covered with a microfibre suede material that has been treated to afford it protection against marking and scuffing so your helmet continues to look great for years to come.

Helmets Comparison Chart

Favorite Features

  • Low profile design and gently rounded brim for a flattering look
  • Press stamped metallic logo is positioned centrally above the peak with another discreet logo on the back of the helmet where a ribbon would traditionally be
  • Harness is reinforced with nylon for additional strength, safety and security
  • Silver ions are interwoven throughout the lining in the headband to provide anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors
  • Kitemarked to PAS015 and BSEN 1384. Certified by SEI to ASTM F1163-15.

Sizing

Charles Owen helmets are sized using metric measurements (Centimeters). We advise using Centimeters when determining size.

What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a popular fiberglass jockey skull with a streamlined design. Lightweight and deep-fitting with a soft edged three point harness made from high strength nylon. Four discreet vents to keep you cool on course. ...
    "GPA Speed Air 4S helmet from the Redline ...
    Description:
    "GPA Speed Air 4S helmet from the Redline Collection by GPA is filled with top notch safety features. With 50 years experience in the business and following a patented principle, the Reline generation of helmets allows for a new level ...
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmet is the ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmet is the latest blend of tradition and technology. This low profile helmet combines fade resistant velvet side panels with a vented velvet center for maximum airflow. It's the perfect combination of classic and cool! ...
    "The Samshield Shadow Mat Shimmer Leather Top Helmet ...
    Description:
    "The Samshield Shadow Mat Shimmer Leather Top Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption. ASTM/SEI F1163-15 approved. Helmets ...
    "The Samshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the ...
    Description:
    "The Samshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption. Swarovski crystals provide a show-ring sparkle; ...
    "Charles Owen Wellington Professional is the latest helmet ...
    Description:
    "Charles Owen Wellington Professional is the latest helmet in their extensive range, which continually evolves to provide riders with an ever increasing choice of headgear. Imported. Regarding safety, the Charles Owen Wellington Professional is certified by SEI to ASTM F1163-15." ...
    "Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the ...
    Description:
    "Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the Ayr8® Leather Look the latest choice in equestrian protective headwear. The Leather Look Ayr8® requires minimal care to maintain its brilliant appearance. The lining features interwoven silver ions, providing anti-microbial protection against ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen GR8 Helmet is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 85.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet out there I absolutly love my GR8 charles owen!! this is my second one and i still love it. its the black on charcoal, i get a lot of compliments at shows and my friend liked the colors so much she got the same helmet. It fits beautifully and if buying this helmet get the cleaner and disenfectant, my helmets relatively new but on my old GR8 the sprays saved me before shows. Its a great helmet and i would reccomend it to anyone.
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best out there I don't have enough good things to say about this helmet. The fit is terrific. I have never been more comfortable riding for long hours. Additionally, it's one of the few helmets that I don't think makes me look ridiculous with a bulbous head. It does ventilate well, especially outdoors, in the indoor if it's hot it gets a little toasty. I wish the outside of the helmet was a touch easier to clean.
    Date published: 2012-04-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from TOO HOT! I bought this helmet during the winter and really loved how it fits. However, there is not one single vent anywhere. Every time I ride my head is sweating and very hot, even when it is zero degrees out, my head is drenched in sweat when I take off the helmet. Forget about the summer months...it is painful to wear this helmet! Love the quality and style...but it is just way too hot!
    Date published: 2012-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! Worth the money! The only thing is, I ordered a 7 1/8 because my old IRH was that size, but it is a bit snug-Nothing bad just order one size up! :)
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Helmet!! I absolutely LOVE the GR8. If you are looking at Charles Owen's, go with this one. The JR8 fit my head wierd. The GR8 Is also really good for fitting alot of hair under which is a problem for alot of competing junior riders. Hands down, best helmet around.
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charles Owen is unsurpassed in quality I love every CO helmet I have ever owned! Fit is great, and they are stylish!
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from cool I love this helmet so much! At first I didn't think that is was worth all that money because I also have a IRH and it works really good and it was used... when I started to look into this helmet I really started to like it so I got it! It was a really nice helmet! I don't think I should've paid that much money for it though, like it really didn't do any thing special for me.
    Date published: 2012-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet Great helmet. Fits awesome. I ordered it 1 size bigger than my head measured so I could put my hair up. I have thin and long hair. It fits perfectly!
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Helmet! This helmet is gorgeous. Very sleek and stylish yet durable and strong. It doesn't make your head look funny like some other show helmets do. It was pretty true to size. I measured my exact size then ordered the next size up for when I put my hair up. I have long hair, thin-medium hair. The helmet has plenty of room but is still snug without cutting off any circulation!
    Date published: 2011-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet This helmut fits my head like a glove. Snug, and doesn't make me look like a bubblehead, especially as I have a very narrow face. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a very comfortable fit, and a professional look.
    Date published: 2011-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sharp helmet for the show ring This helmet is very attractive and looked incredibly sharp with my custom hunt coat. The fit is wonderful and the low profile keeps you from the dreaded "mushroom head" look :)
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It appears to sit high on your head (looks a little funny), but the quality of the helmat is very good.
    Date published: 2011-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Helmet After a fall from my horse, I had to replace my old helmet. I changed brands to buy the Charles Owen, but it's a better fit than my old, pricier helmet.
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GR8 Buy I bought tis during helmet safety week at a Great price. The harnes and chin strap are comfortable. The ample padding is a bit snug but is soft enough that I feel it will conform to mt head over time. If one has a lot of hair to tuck into a helmet consider going up a bit in size. Is is a professional polished look in the show ring.
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Mid-Range Helmet I've had a GPA Titium for years now, as a "show-only" helmet because of how expensive and high quality it is. My everyday, beaten-up helmet, however, has needed replacing for a few months now. I was looking to upgrade to something more affordable than another GPA, but would be similar in quality, as well as function as a back-up show helmet in an emergency. About a month ago, I got my new CO GR8.I'm very happy with the quality, fit (I have a very hard-to-fit and large head.), and comfort of the helmet. It is relatively breathable (for not having air vents), since it doesn't cover as much of the skull as other helmets.On the other hand, it makes me look a bit like a bobble-head. The biggest problem I have with the GR8 is that I have a difficult time putting my hair up. My hair is quite long, and, with the shallowness of the helmet, it is hard to look tidy in the back. Small things like these are acceptable when considering cost.
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I've had this helmet for 2 years & it looks great in the show ring & is durable enough to be worn everyday. Its extremely comfortable & easy to clean, highly recommended!
    Date published: 2011-07-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Helmets What can I say, it's a helmet. I ended up returning it because I didn't like the way it fit. It sat purched ontop of my head. It wasn't very low profile....
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I love this product! It fits great and feels awesome.
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable, durable show helmet Helmet is very comfortable but can be a little warm in the texas summers. I've rubbed and scuffed the helmet and marks have not shown so far. The low profile looks a lot better than more traditional styles. I've bought another one as a gift for a friend.
    Date published: 2011-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Helmet! I've always had trouble finding a helmet that fits. I have a narrow head and other helmets tend to slip side-to-side while I'm riding. I tried a friend's GR8 and it fit perfectly, so I bought one for myself. Not only does it fit nicely, it looks sharp and is very durable. When I first got it, I always kept it in a helmet bag and took really good care of it. After a while though I got lazy and knocked it around, got it dirty, etc. and it has held up to the wear and tear beautifully. Before shows, I take a damp tack sponge and wipe down the outside of the helmet .... every show someone asks me if I got a new helmet, because it looks brand new again. Definitely worth every penny!
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Comfy! I recieved this helmet as an early Christmas present as both my schooling and showing helmets were at/over five years old. I had my eye on the helmet for quite a while, and was thrilled to be able to purchase it during a very nice local sale.Once I found the correct size, I was easily able to enjoy its comfort. It's soft, squishy, and fits great. The harness isn't annoying in texture and doesn't get in my field of vision like the excess strap of my old schooling helmet's harness.The helmet is gorgeous, classic yet modern looking without being too "in the moment" of fashion. It has a look that will last, especially if you go with the more tradition black/black color.
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't live without it I am buying my third one in 7 years! I had an accident in the first one falling off my 17.3hh horse onto my head. I am positive I am alive today because of this helmet. I recently had another accident in my second helmet. My head never hit the ground, but I believe in replacing helmets after every major accident. I forgot how old the helmet was because it aged so well. It didn't get smelly or start too pack down too much over the years so I forgot how old it was until I fell and did the math. I love how it fits and its low profile. I trust its construction far more than other brands. I will definitely be buying it again!
    Date published: 2010-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved My Life!! Not only is this a gorgeous and well crafted helmet, it is very functional! I recently fell off a 16.5 hand horse directly on my head. As a nurse, I have no doubt that I would have been severely injured without my helmet (that I always wear and I ride dressage). The helmet looked no worse for the wear and my head was totally fine!Also looks very snazzy. Almost all the gals at my barn have this helmet or the other Charles Owen (Hampton)
    Date published: 2010-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from light weight - forgot it was there Old helmet is in the trash after I got back from my first ride in this helmet. It was so light weight and comfortable I forgot I had it on and it never moved on my head to remind me I was wearing a helmet. Good purchase.
    Date published: 2010-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money! The Charles Owen GR8 Helmet is definitely worth the money! For most eventers, function definitely trumps fashion, but that doesn't mean I want to look like a bobble-head in my dressage pictures. The GR8 offers subtle style without being obnoxious or trendy. The low profile is very flattering and it really looks awesome on a variety of riders. I also love that the harness is low and wide enough in back to cover any stray hairs that won't stay in the hair net.
    Date published: 2010-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great comfort Was hesitant to purchase because I was worried it would be too hot of a helmet to ride in, but surprisingly it is not. The comfort of this helmet is amazing. first time I have had a helmet that I can tolerate thru all 7 rides a day. Really love it
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value, but could breathe better You see this helmet all over the rated and unrated show circuits. While I feel that this helmet is comfortable, another brand "breathes" better on my head. By that, I mean I feel that it's sweatier under this helmet than under my other, regardless of the weather. But overall, would definitely recommend this helmet because it is well made, cleans easily between the schooling and show rings, and is more affordable than some other brands! I've found that I'm the same size in the GR8 and "another particular, more expensive brand."
    Date published: 2010-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this helmet! I recently bought this, and I am in love with it! This helmet is so comfortable and low profile. It is about half the size of my clunky IRH!
    Date published: 2010-05-19
    • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_4
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_79
    • loc_en_US, sid_2415, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders