Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #16857
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic.

Developed for the equestrian athlete the slimline helmet uses advanced modern materials and incorporates the latest in thermoregulation for helmets to keep your head cool. The leather harness incorporates the revolutionary Grpx™ technology. The harness is coordinated to the specific colors within the range to give that complete finished look.

The brim is gently rounded to flatter the face and a press stamped metallic logo is positioned centrally above the peak. Another embroidered logo features on the back of the helmet to replace the traditional ribbon. The super soft headband is embedded with high tech silver ions, providing built-in antimicrobial protection, helping to keep the helmet hygienic and free from smells. 

Favorite Features

  • Microfiber suede side panels
  • Mesh centre for maximum air flow
  • Grpx™ technology to create snug and secure fit using scientifically designed grippers
  • Antimicrobial headband to keep helmet hygienic and free of smells
  • Certified by SEI to ASTM F1163-15
  • Kitemarked to PAS015 and BSEN1384

Sizing It Up


Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Helmet not smelling too "fresh"? The Helmet Deodorizer ...
    Description:
    Helmet not smelling too "fresh"? The Helmet Deodorizer by Charles Owen kills odors and bacteria in the lining and leaves a pleasant citrus fragrance. 150 ml. Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to ...
    The Helmet Cleaner, by Charles Owen, digests any ...
    Description:
    The Helmet Cleaner, by Charles Owen, digests any dirt and grease from the inside of your hat, ensuring it remains clean and pleasant to wear. Imported Sizing It Up 200ml Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited ...
    The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked ...
    Description:
    The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked velveteen and has a rounded removable breakaway visor and coolmax lining. Easily adjustable dial ensures a snug fit while high flow vents keep you cool. YKK adjuster clip and buckle are positioned ...
    Equi-Lite Helmets are the highest quality schooling helmet. ...
    Description:
    Equi-Lite Helmets are the highest quality schooling helmet. Dial Fit System accommodates your ponytail, hugs the back of your head, and reduces the tendency of your helmet to shift forward or backwards when you ride. Total of 9 venting ports ...
    The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low ...
    Description:
    The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low profile design created for the performance-oriented rider. Favorite Features Woven honeycomb mesh keeps debris out of strategically placed vents while channeling fresh air throughout the helmet interior Dri-Lex adding maximizes moisture diffusion ...
    Add a little sparkle into your everyday life or ...
    Description:
    Add a little sparkle into your everyday life or in the show ring with the Charles Owen JR8 Sparkly Helmet!  Made of a special sparkle material, the black bling and shiny silver center seamlessly complement the black weather resistant microsuede side panels. Styled ...
    out of 5
    99% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is rated 4.7319 out of 5 by 138.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great buy I love my ayr8! Not sure how we'll t works but it looks great after 2 years of use! Fits great and is very comfortable.
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from High Tech! I love this helmet! I have had It for about a year now and it looks absolutely wonderful. I would not recommend it for people who live in extremely hot places. Although it seems very ventilated it stall makes your head sweat extremely bad. Other than that it is a wonderful buy!
    Date published: 2013-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great! This helmet is very comfortable, looks great, and is suitable for all English disciplines. The vents don't give great airflow, but it's much better than the ones without any.
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of the Best A helmet won't work if you don't want to wear it. This one feels like you have loads of protection and you hardly know you have it on.  I've had many helmets and given them away - too hot, too heavy, gives me a headache. Like the goldilocks story, this one is just perfect.  I have a slightly oval head and having a helmet that matches my head shape made all the difference.  I had to return the first helmet they sent because the outer shell was attached off-center - strictly cosmetic. Took a photo, sent it to the company and they immediately exchanged the helmet.
    Date published: 2013-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this helmet! I've have a collection of helmets in the past and this is by far my favorite! I love the light feel and how it doesn't feel like my head is being crushed. It's a little bulky, by it has a sleek look to it. I was reluctant to get it because of the price, but now that I have it, I know that I have finally found the helmet that it right for me!
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful in Brown We have found the AYR8 to be the best fitting helmet for our rider. She has an "oval" head and could not find a GPA to fit her. We tried the AYR8 and ... PERFECT! We recently did a USDF dressage show using all brown (rather than the typical black). Everyone loved it!
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my AYR8 I bought my first AYR8 after a fall 4 years ago, I was wearing the helmet every day, on multiple horses and I just retired it due to the fact that it has been dropped and banged around quite a bit in the last 4 years--that's an understatement, I beat the everloving tar out of it, and with a wet rag it still cleans up pretty well. I loved the helmet so much that when I went shopping for a new one, I went right back to it. I do find that I still sweat in it, but probably not as much as I would in a helmet with less ventilation. It is as comfortable as a helmet can be and fits very well. I have a very oval shaped head, so some brands are hard for me to fit, but the AYR8 is great. I don't get the headaches that I used to.
    Date published: 2013-08-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice helmet I needed a navy helmet to match my navy Pikeur shadbelly, and the Charles Owen AYR8 is a perfect match. My usual 6 7/8" size was perfect. I have not ridden in it yet, so don't know how I will like the cooling features.
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AYR8 Review Love this helmet! I have a large, round head and the AYR8 is the perfect fit. I have struggled ever since I first started riding trying to find a comfortable, yet stylish helmet for my large head (im a 7 3/4 with my hair up) but the AYR8 is the perfect fit and still is flattering.The AYR8 is breathable and it keeps my head cooler than my old IRH did.Can't truly rate durability since I just got the AYR8 a few weeks ago, but so far it has stayed nice and clean, even in a sometimes dusty riding ring.Can't say enough about the AYR8. Well worth the price and I will definitely buy again.Special thanks to Martha with Smartpak customer service for helping me chose the AYR8. She was so helpful!!
    Date published: 2013-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breathable, Attractive, and Comfy This product is wonderful. I got this helmet because of its great reviews and style. I am very impressed with it. Even in the intense humidity I still stay cool and comfortable. Great product if you are looking for a helmet.. Buy this.
    Date published: 2013-07-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Classic Looking Helmet I have had several ARY8s and they do fit an array of head shapes I would also say. It's a great helmet if you're looking for an approved helmet with a classic look. I do have to shelf the helmet and switch to one that vents better for warmer months. Good that many other reviewers don't have this problem but I don't find that mine vented at all.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful but... For the six months I have been riding in the helmet, I have really enjoyed it. It seems to warm up and form to the individual shape of my head, and it's been very comfortable. It still looks like brand new after being ridden in 5 times a week for half a year, however I do have one concern. My head gets really hot under this helmet, and the vents don't seem to do much. Although I love the way it looks and it was worth the price, I probably won't buy another one due to how sweaty my head gets on hot days.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good! I recently purchased this helmet, and it looks ten times better on me than my IRH Elite. Even still, I feel like my head looks like a mushroom no matter what helmet I try on! It does smell slightly funky after only a few days of use, though. Let it air out properly after each ride or get a fragrance satchet to keep in it.
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I have always had IRH helmets, but their style changed. I called the Customer Service, as always they were so helpful and suggested the AYR8. I LOVE IT! It fits like a glove, looks nice, and is definitely worth the price. I have had it for about 3 weeks, so can't rate durability yet. Thanks again, SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second is a good as the first Love the helmet and just purchased a second to show in. Wears well and keeps nicely using Charles Owen Cleaner and freshener.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as great the second time around This is the second AYR8 helmet that I've purchased and I love it just as much as the first time. The fit is great, cleans and wears well.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Helmet I absolutely love this helmet. It fits really, really well and is so comfortable. My favorite thing about this helmet is the harness. It has some padding in the back and has a string that you can tie either a little looser or tighter so the helmet gives a custom fit. I use this helmet not only as my schooling helmet but also as my show helmet. When I show, I put my hair up under the helmet and it still feels like it fits perfectly. The ONLY thing I don't like is if I touch my helmet with even slightly dirty/dusty fingers I get dirty finger marks on it. But, it has always cleaned up easily and looks great again within 30 seconds. Would I recommend it to a friend? Absolutely. Would I buy another one if something happened to this helmet? Absolutely.
    Date published: 2012-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite helmet I use one for everyday schooling and another for show.
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet I don't like wearing helmets. But with that said, this helmet lets you forget you are wearing one. The fit is true and the helmet is indeed light and has great ventilation. The appearance is also more flattering. I would definately recommend the AYR8!
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good for me I am new to riding and all the paraphernalia that goes along with it. I bought this helmet because of the other reviews and kept it because of the soft yet firm headband – I think it sits a bit low and pushes my ears a little. It is better than any school helmet I have used; But I expected that for the price.I can't speak to durability just yet.
    Date published: 2012-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet Ever I really love this helmet. If you know your head size then this helmet fits perfectly. I made sure that i knew it before I purchased. if unsure then go and try one on. I love how easy it cleans up with the charles owen cleaner and how well it dries after riding in hot humid weather. I wish I owned more. Wouldn't trade my AYR8 for anything. very happy to own one.
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice vented helmet I love this helmet. It is great for showing here in Georgia where it is hot and humid. The vents really help to keep my head cooler. It has the same classic Charles Owens design and quality. I would recommend this to others.
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Won't Fit Everythings Great but the helmet is very narrow on the side whereas, my head is rounder so the charles owen didn't fit.
    Date published: 2012-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing helmet! I absolutely love my Charles Owen AYR8 helmet. It fits me perfectly and doesn't "suffocate" my head like some others have in the past. I can fit all of thick long hair into it without it being too tight, and it is so comfortable. I have only had it for a couple of weeks so I cannot attest to its durability quite yet but I have heard from other riders that it is very durable! I would recommend this helmet to everyone who is searching for one. It is amazing!
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! This helmet is great! I love the easy to snap harness and it is much better ventilated than the GR8 helmet. It is comfy and looks very nice in the ring.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! It fits perfectly and looks great. What more could you ask? After a long hiatus from riding, I had to replace my old velvet covered helmet, which had attained that lovely ancient-looking purple sheen and probably did not meet any kind of safety standards. I measured my noggin and used the size chart to determine my helmet size, ordered it, and have been a happy camper (or rider) ever since. The price is on the high side, but I consider premium comfort and safety to be worth it.
    Date published: 2012-08-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality Helmet As expected, very nice quality. The rounded shape/narrow visor combination of the helmet makes it look larger on my head than some others. I am returning it because it is not shaped inside to fit my long oval head as well as other helmets (it's a bit loose on the sides, and too tight in front on my forehead).
    Date published: 2012-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fit ever I have always owned IRH helmets and have never felt the "perfect fit" until this one!!! I love it! The fit and style is comfortable, cool, and looks great.
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow!! What an incredible helmet. AMAZINGLY comfortable, impeccable quality, and just a joy to have on my head. After buying it, my barn friends started teasing me because I started wearing it everywhere! I would literally forget it was on my head it was that comfy. I've tried nearly every brand of helmet and Charles Owen always trumps them all. I also have the JR8 for schooling, which is also really nice for the price, but my AYR8 is, so far, the very best investment I've ever made.
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it :) I love this helmet! It was a perfect fit and keeps good air flow. I used to take my helmet off to sweaty hair, now my hair is dry as can be.
    Date published: 2012-07-24
    • 2016-04-29T16:34CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_127
    • loc_en_US, sid_6857, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders