Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Centaur Pull on Bell Boots

Centaur
- Item #17946

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Is your horse one the ones who is a master at ripping up bell boots in turn out? If so the Centaur Pull on Bell Boots may be your solution! They are heavy duty premium rubber pull on bell boots with a double thick bottom, making them extra tear resistant! Flexible yet extremely durable.

Sold as a pair.

Favorite Features

  •  Durable
  • Tear resistant
  • Great for turnout
  • Easy to take on and off

Sizing It Up

M - XL

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Centaur Pull on Bell Boots is rated 4.1867 out of 5 by 166.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Run Small I bought these for my mare after she pulled a shoe and my farrier reccomended I put bell boots on her. Like other reviews said, they run really small. I have a 16.2hh thoroughbred with small feet and the large is almost too small. I would order a size or two up from what your horse usually wears. Other than the size issue I love them! They are very durable and my mare hasn't pulled any shoes since I put them on and she hasn't gotten them off yet!
    Date published: 2014-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality but fit tighter than KL Selects .... Super durable, but I needed to go up a size for my mare.
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse can go through bell boots in no time. These are extremely sturdy. One pair has lasted a year! They are a little tough to stretch to get on, but correlates with durability.
    Date published: 2014-06-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Second pair purchased, still good quality This is my second pair of boots and second review. I've uploaded some photos this time so you can see the sizing on two different horses. Both are wearing size large, one in black, one in white. The black boots are stretchier than the white boots and easier to put on, even though I've had the white boots for several months now. The quality is great but they're still pretty difficult to put on and pull off. The benefit of this is that I have yet to have them come off while playing polo, whereas other style bells would get ripped off in 30 seconds and I'd have to scour the field looking for them later. I agree with other reviewers that these run small. As you can see, my 15.3 hh and 15.2 hh mares are not big boned and the large fits them snugly. I definitely wouldn't go down a size for either horse.
    Date published: 2014-05-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good and Sturdy but small I love the durability these bell boots feel they have. I just got them, but I like how they are thick on the bottom and stretchy on the top. They seem to run a little small though. My 16.2 mostly quarter horse appendix's little twinkletoes barely fit into a size large! So if you have a big hoofed warmblood or draft, you better buy the draft size! My friend had to help me get them on but the fact that it's too small might have something to do with that!
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable They are definitely durable I've had them on my TB 24-7 for 4 months and they're still going strong. The rubber is super thick on the bottom it has a few nicks in it now but since it's so thick the boots haven't lost their integrity. They are a pain to put on but they all seem to be and huge plus they haven't caused any rubs.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Run small These are nice. Need major muscles to get them on but they look like they will last forever. I gave them four stars because they run smaller than most other bell boots.
    Date published: 2014-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easier to pull on than most My horse is wearing these 24/7 for a few weeks now and they seem to be holding up quite well. Pretty standard double thick bell boots, but I did find these a little easier to pull on than some other brands.
    Date published: 2014-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from heavy duty bell boots My horse is wearing these 24/7 for a few weeks now and they seem to be holding up quite well. Pretty standard double thick bell boots, but I did find these a little easier to pull on than some other brands.
    Date published: 2014-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to pull on! I love these bell boots, they are easy to pull on! I also love how they are thicker on the bottom!
    Date published: 2014-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like them so far! I read the other reviews so I got XL instead of L for my 16.3 TB (he has big feet for a TB too). They pulled on easy and have been holding up pretty good so far. Only have had them on for a month or so, but he destroys the velcro ones so fast!!
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very strong, stays on So i finally got sick of replacing bell boots because the Velcro ripped off. I think I've gone through ten pairs of bells that way, all different brands. None of them hold up because of the Velcro issue. These Centaurs would probably stay on if your horse's leg fell off. :) That said, they're not a full star rating because they are the hardest things to get on and off that you will ever experience. I have a 15.2 hh Appaloosa mare and the large size fits fine when they are on her feet, but when I'm putting them on or taking them off people think I'm giving birth or something. If she wasn't shod it'd probably be easier. Getting them over the ends of her shoe and her heel bulb is the hardest part. I have the white ones, so I don't know if they are stretchier in other colors or not, or if they'll get easier to stretch over time once they're not so new. If you're in a hurry, you'll definitely be late to whatever you're doing trying to apply these. On the other hand, they offer full protection even if they turn (same all around) and there is no way you're losing them. I'm not sure I'd leave them on my horse in turnout as they might rub after a while, but my horse plays 7 minute polo chukkers and they don't rub her during the plays. It honestly takes me longer than 7 minutes just to get them off her. I marked the value of the boots as average only because I've seen cheaper bell boots elsewhere that look the same (different brand, however).
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable They run a bit small, but have held up to my TB gelding's play in the field with his buddies. He destroyed 3 other brands of bell boot in a matter of weeks before I bought him these. He has been wearing them 24/7 for several months now and they are still completely intact.
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value, my horse goes through bell boots quickly.Theypull on easy, a feature I was looking for.
    Date published: 2013-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them!:) I bought these for my gelding when my farrier recommended bell boots to help keep his special shoes on (Eponas). They are identical to the Italian ones at half the price!:) They do run a size small though, so order the next size up from what your horse normally wears:)
    Date published: 2013-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bell boots Look no further for the best bell boots!These hold up over time and look as goodAs they work! I was intimidated aboutPutting them on cuz no Velcro, but justFlip 'em inside out, pull 'em on and go!They are awesome
    Date published: 2013-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great boots These boots are durable and stand up to my horse's play time I would hardly tell my friends to buy them
    Date published: 2013-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from too small for my horse The boots were to small for my horse. They fit around but were too short to cover his hoofs. They were a good quality.
    Date published: 2013-09-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs very small but appears to be well made I bought these for my 17hh Warmblood mare. She has pretty averaged size feet for a warmblood. I ordered the size large, not wanting to have them too loose so she would pull them off (as she often does with the velcro type) in turnout. The boots went on easily, but came up almost an inch from the bottom of her hoof in the back. I have re-ordered an extra large and hopefully those will fit. Size large in other brands have fit her well. Otherwise, the product went on easily and looks to be made of thick, durable rubber that I am hoping will last longer then her old pairs where she ripped the velcro off!
    Date published: 2013-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bell boots I had my doubts about these but I tried them anyways. After a bit of a struggle to get the right one on ( the left slid right on) I'm pleased with the purchase. They do not rub his ankles as most other bell boots have done, and have yet to lose a shoe with these! I found using a hoofpick to get the right boot on helped immensely. Hope I don't have to take them off anytime soon! They're nice thick rubber.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bell boots This is actually the second pair of these that I've ordered. The first pair lasted me a year (11.5 months longer than anything else I've tried). They are very durable and I like how that are very wide at the bottom - it really covers his whole hoof.I have an OTTB with rather petite feet. The first time I ordered larges but my farrier suggested going up a size (so when his foot is in the air the boot still covers). I will say he has been able to get the XLs off a few times playing in the pasture, but overall I'm very happy. I would much rather see him pull off a bell boot than a shoe :)
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pull on bell boots run small I bought XL bell boots and they fit like M or L. Fortunately I have another, smaller horse on which I can use them. Won't buy again for a larger horse.
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Runs very small!! I bought these for a 14 hand pony who wears size 0 shoes to help keep the shoes on. Size large barely fit around his hoof and did not come close to touching the ground. To make matters worse the gum color stained his socks and his white hooves. Not my best purchase.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from just bell boots they're ok, they're nothing spectacular. i've had these for about three months, my mare wears them 24/7. no rubs, but i'm about to have to trash the pair i have. they're fairly easy to get on and off and have kept her feet protected, no rubs on her pasterns. again, if you're just looking for a sacrificial pair of bell boots, then these would work. seem true to size.
    Date published: 2013-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Longest Lasting I have tried many bell boots and have found these last better than any others, including the more expensive Italian ones. Definitely needed a size larger than most other bell boots.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Durable!! My gelding decided he needed to start pawing and wore his toes down to nothing, so now he has shoes on the fronts. these boots were super easy to put on but not quite as easy to take off. He wears them 24/7 and they have yet to come off or even rip. He is wearing St. Croix Surefits size 0 shoes and I had to order him the black in the Large size. he normally wears the mediums in the Davis velcro bell boots. But overall I love these bell boots.
    Date published: 2013-05-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect I was worried about the size, I have a large boned thoroughbred mare, 16'2 with different size feet. They pulled on easily, and have stayed on with no issues. I went with the extra large.
    Date published: 2013-04-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great - if they stay on I have a 16.3 hand thoroughbred with really nice, large feet. He normally wears a large in bell boots, but since a lot of the reviews said that the boots ran small, I ordered a pair of L and XL to see. Large fit him perfectly. The boots are nice and thick - I got many compliments on them. They aren't too hard to put on - it took me an average of 3-4 minutes per foot of inching each bell boot on, but I didn't mind. After all - if it takes me a while to get them on, they should be hard to get off, right? Wrong. My horse went a week before losing one. My Trainer told me she saw him running and that it just flew off, so she grabbed it. I put it back on, two days later it was off again, but found. About a week later the other one got lost, permanently (I can't find it!) and so now I only have one of them. My horse pulls shoes like crazy, but I can't afford to put out money on these boots if they won't stay on. I'm trying a pair of $10 pull ons that took me a good 10 minutes each, so we'll see how they go.However, these Centaur boots did not rub and the quality is nice - my horse just can't keep them on. I seriously don't know how he gets them off!
    Date published: 2013-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible bell boots! These bell boots are amazing! My horse has worn them outside 24/7 for 8 months and they have held up perfectly, there isn't one little tear on them! He steps on himself constantly, and they have only slipped off once or twice when it was super muddy outside, but they weren't damaged at all. They're a bit hard to get on the first time, but they get easier after a while, and they stay on. I would absolutely recommend investing in these, they're on the pricier side, but they're so worth it! They also run small, I made the right choice in ordering a size XL for my TB.
    Date published: 2013-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bell boots! I got these in a medium, large and x-large since I wasn't sure which would fit my mare. She wears a 0 shoe and is fine-boned and generally petite and the mediums were too small for her. The large fit and cover down to the ground so she can't grab a shoe. These are the thickest I have seen at the bottom and seem very sturdy. I've had them on about a month, and I leave them on her 24/7 and she hasn't taken one off yet. It's only been a month, but these seem pretty durable. I ended up keeping the x-larges for my cousin's horse and exchanging the mediums for larges for another horse in the barn. I highly recommend these!
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    • 2016-02-10T14:39CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_152
    • loc_en_US, sid_7946, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.