Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Centaur Grated Stirrup Pads

Centaur
- Item #18968
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Centaur Grated Stirrup Pads offer excellent traction, giving you a solid grip that won't slip!

These stainless steel grated pads are replacement pads for the Fillis Stirrup Irons. Pair

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Centaur Grated Stirrup Pads is rated 3.4211 out of 5 by 19.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Impossible to fit in irons I bought these because my trainer recommended the cheese grater style. The rubber ones and sandpaper ones wear out after less than 4 months for me. I thought these would be a deal and knew they would be hard to get into my irons, but figured it was worth it to try. Well I have had them for a couple weeks now and I was able to get one of them to stay in my irons. The other fell out after i banged and bent them to try and fit. The one that is in isn't flush with the iron and squeaks when I ride. The grip is good, so I am going to keep trying to get the other in and add some WD40 to the one that is in. I may upgrade to a more expensive version though if I can't get these both in and to stop squeaking.
    Date published: 2012-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent grip! I have a pair of these on every stirrup in the barn- the grip is superb, and allows you to relax your foot in the stirrup, as the pad keeps your foot from slipping. These can be a bit tricky putting in the stirrup, but they will fit.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very grippy I have these and am very impressed with the grip offered by them. Super grippy! Downside? The other reviewers are correct; they are a challange to fit correctly. I am lucky to have a very strong, and strong-minded, husband who manhandled them onto my irons. Yes, they squeaked. Solution was a dot or two of clear caulking. Kept them secure, squeakless and yet easily removable. Oh, and I'm careful with my leather around them knowing the potential for scrapes.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grated Stirrup Pads The Centaur Grated Stirrup Pads are awesome. Although they look like a cheese grater and are a little hard to put in the stirrups, they really lock your foot in place. No slipping at all.
    Date published: 2011-12-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't Like the Product It takes a very strong person w/vice grips to bend the stirrup pads, as the part that goes through the iron is steel too, then bend the bottom back so they won't come out of the iron. They scratched my saddle at one point. Out hunting, I actually lost my irons once, which never happens. They don't have as much grip as the rubber ones, in my opinion.
    Date published: 2011-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for grip I have a beginner rider leasing my gelding, and when she was learning to canter, she started to have trouble with her feet slipping out of the stirrups. Brainstorming horse problems for me usually involves the Smart Pak website, and I found these little do-dads and ordered them for her. They did the trick! She is now cantering and jumping and just bought her first jumping saddle of her own, and promptly bought these pads for her stirrups.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I couldn't get the stirrup pads to fit on my stirrup irons at all. I forced them on, and then they would just pop off again.
    Date published: 2011-02-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent product for the price These stirrup pads get the job done. It took a hammer and a hoofpick for them to click into place, but after a few rides they are finally getting comfortable. They are definitely NOT as nice as the Herm Sprenger grated irons/stirrups, but for the price they are great! For anyone looking for low cost grated stirrup pads I would definitely recommend them. Just make sure you get the correct size.
    Date published: 2011-02-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the best These do a great job of holding your foot in the iron, however they were extremely difficult to put in. It took me several days of riding in them before they actually clicked into place. I get severe ankle pain when using them, however that may just be me.
    Date published: 2010-11-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Couldn't Use These don't fit in the peacock safety stirrups. Would cost more to ship back than product itself.
    Date published: 2010-11-04
    • 2015-05-22T07:47CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_18
    • loc_en_US, sid_8968, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.