Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Centaur Grated Stirrup Pads

Centaur
- Item #18968
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Centaur Grated Stirrup Pads offer excellent traction, giving you a solid grip that won't slip!

These stainless steel grated pads are replacement pads for the Fillis Stirrup Irons. Pair

Customers Also Shopped For
Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup ensures improved leg ...
Description:
Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup ensures improved leg position. Changing the weight ratio on the Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrups results in perfect balance and great comfort for the rider. Shock absorbing grip is achieved by a widened tread made ...
Lorenzini Stirrups are the only ones in the ...
Description:
Lorenzini Stirrups are the only ones in the world patented and made of aluminum and titanium, two extremely light materials. These innovative stirrups feature a wide, titanium footbed with a high densityNeoprene to provide extra grip. The unique design of ...
Saddles crafted by renowned leather goods maker, Henri ...
Description:
Saddles crafted by renowned leather goods maker, Henri de Rivel, give you world-class European designs in the finest Imported leather-all at a reasonable price. And Henri de Rivel riding saddles and leather goods are not built on a massive assembly ...
The Wintec Pro Dressage with Contourbloc Saddle is ...
Description:
The Wintec Pro Dressage with Contourbloc Saddle is a cutting edge, deep seat dressage saddle that includes top performance features. Ideal for use in all levels of competition and training. Facilitates a well balanced position and contact between horse and ...
The Ovation Child's English Leather Stirrup Leathers are ...
Description:
The Ovation Child's English Leather Stirrup Leathers are made from top quality English Leather.Favorite Features Competition design White contrast stitching Leathers are 3/4" wideSizing It Up Choose from Australian Nut in the 36", 42", 48" length or Black in the ...
Herm Sprenger System 4 Stirrups offer security, flexibility, ...
Description:
Herm Sprenger System 4 Stirrups offer security, flexibility, strength and comfort! This international, patent-pending style consists of four links allowing for movement in four directions at the same time, enabling immediate release in case of emergency. Favorite Features The Herm ...
Stirrup Leathers to match the Toulouse saddles, and ...
Description:
Stirrup Leathers to match the Toulouse saddles, and designed by Marcel Toulouse, Master French Saddler. Tripled and sewn, these leathers are made of fine calfskin. Buckle end is riveted in a metal sleeve to reduce bulk under your leg for ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Centaur Grated Stirrup Pads is rated 3.466666666666667 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ok quality Definitely do not buy these if you are trying to fit them into a stirrup that is not the exact stirrup that is meant for this. When I tried to put them into my Herm Sprenger Stirrups the spot welding broke. Luckily I have access to advanced tools but even after the welding was fixed they did not fit into the stirrup and broke again. I would definitely reccomend buying the stirrups that go with these if you plan on using them.
Date published: 2015-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great at grip i have had these for a while and I love them my feet never move.
Date published: 2015-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the grip, but these are noisey! I bought these to find out if I would enjoy the extra grip of a metal stirrup pad before investing in a pair of MDC Irons. They are fantastic for jumping! I wouldn't recommend them for flat riding as they can get a little pokey/irritating on the sole of your foot after a while in the saddle. They are also VERY noisey during no stirrup work! Make sure you clamp them in tight if you have a spooky horse!
Date published: 2015-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Takes some getting used to! I've had these on for a few weeks now. Going from the rubber pad to this, at first I felt like there was nothing under my feet and no cushion. But I did get used to them, and they work great as far as holding your stirrups in place! P.s. they are SUPER hard to get in, but they definitely aren't falling out anytime soon!
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wanted to like these! I've ridden in saddles with these pads and like them very much, but I ordered them with Fillis stirrups and they just don't fit. They don't seem formed correctly for this particular stirrup. I tried a size smaller and they didn't fit either so back they went. My friend ordered them for her jointed stirrups but had to get 2 sizes smaller and those fit. Strange sizing, I guess!
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good product These stirrup pads were quite difficult to install, but once I got them in--with the help of my handy dad--they were very secure and gave me great grip in the irons.
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does mot fit properly Would not purchase again. Poor quality. Did not fit any stirrups we have.
Date published: 2014-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luv these They work nicely. Really keeps your boot in the stirrup.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Grip! I go through rubber stirrup pads quickly, and can't stand when my feet start to slip out. With these pads, I can sink all of my weight into my heels and my feet stay put! As for fitting them into the irons, you will need to use pliers to bend and secure the bottoms.
Date published: 2014-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pads Bought it a few weeks ago for my daughter. She loves them. She had no problems with it. It pop right in and fits securely. No tools, no problems. Was somewhat concerned about buying it after reading the reviews but happy I did.
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, once the are in the irons I bought these a few months ago because my feet were always slipping out of my stirrups and they help a lot, but getting them to fit in my stirrups is a whole mother story. I was using a hoof pick, hammer and my foot to get these in. Once in though, I am happy with them. Also, because of the battle to get these in, I now know that they won't fall out!
Date published: 2014-07-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Need a redesign! I really love the grip and security these give you in the saddle but it is almost impossible to fit them in the irons! I tried them in four different sets of irons and they either wouldn't go in at all or they would go in but not stay. My boyfriend literally had to shave off part of the metal (they are the correct size for the irons technically) and then bend the bottom around the iron. I dont think they are ever coming out now! :-) But if you can get them to stay in they really are nice to ride in!
Date published: 2014-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cheap import item I bought these pads in spite of the many negative reviews because I needed cheese grator pads in a hurry. These are NOT "pop in" pads. The metal pieces that hold the pads into the irons are not pre-bent, they are perfectly straight. Upside is that they go into the iron easily. Downside is there is nothing to hold them in the irons because the side pieces are perfectly straight. I had my husband install them - he slid the pads in, then used pliers to bend the steel at a 90 degree angle underneath the iron to hold the pad in. It did not take hurculean strength, but it was a pain in the rear to bend the steel without scratching the irons or scratching knuckles on the cheese grater surface. My husband's comment was "if you ever want to replace these, you're on your own!" I would not buy these again - these are cheap, and definitely a case of "get what you pay for"!
Date published: 2013-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Both my kids have these graters and really like them...keep their feet in place esp. in 2-pt and jumping. No slipping and readjusting. One pair scraped her saddle and needed to be grinded down so they would not stick out over edge of stirrups. Dad needed to insert them.
Date published: 2012-08-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Impossible to fit in irons I bought these because my trainer recommended the cheese grater style. The rubber ones and sandpaper ones wear out after less than 4 months for me. I thought these would be a deal and knew they would be hard to get into my irons, but figured it was worth it to try. Well I have had them for a couple weeks now and I was able to get one of them to stay in my irons. The other fell out after i banged and bent them to try and fit. The one that is in isn't flush with the iron and squeaks when I ride. The grip is good, so I am going to keep trying to get the other in and add some WD40 to the one that is in. I may upgrade to a more expensive version though if I can't get these both in and to stop squeaking.
Date published: 2012-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent grip! I have a pair of these on every stirrup in the barn- the grip is superb, and allows you to relax your foot in the stirrup, as the pad keeps your foot from slipping. These can be a bit tricky putting in the stirrup, but they will fit.
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very grippy I have these and am very impressed with the grip offered by them. Super grippy! Downside? The other reviewers are correct; they are a challange to fit correctly. I am lucky to have a very strong, and strong-minded, husband who manhandled them onto my irons. Yes, they squeaked. Solution was a dot or two of clear caulking. Kept them secure, squeakless and yet easily removable. Oh, and I'm careful with my leather around them knowing the potential for scrapes.
Date published: 2012-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grated Stirrup Pads The Centaur Grated Stirrup Pads are awesome. Although they look like a cheese grater and are a little hard to put in the stirrups, they really lock your foot in place. No slipping at all.
Date published: 2011-12-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't Like the Product It takes a very strong person w/vice grips to bend the stirrup pads, as the part that goes through the iron is steel too, then bend the bottom back so they won't come out of the iron. They scratched my saddle at one point. Out hunting, I actually lost my irons once, which never happens. They don't have as much grip as the rubber ones, in my opinion.
Date published: 2011-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for grip I have a beginner rider leasing my gelding, and when she was learning to canter, she started to have trouble with her feet slipping out of the stirrups. Brainstorming horse problems for me usually involves the Smart Pak website, and I found these little do-dads and ordered them for her. They did the trick! She is now cantering and jumping and just bought her first jumping saddle of her own, and promptly bought these pads for her stirrups.
Date published: 2011-07-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I couldn't get the stirrup pads to fit on my stirrup irons at all. I forced them on, and then they would just pop off again.
Date published: 2011-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent product for the price These stirrup pads get the job done. It took a hammer and a hoofpick for them to click into place, but after a few rides they are finally getting comfortable. They are definitely NOT as nice as the Herm Sprenger grated irons/stirrups, but for the price they are great! For anyone looking for low cost grated stirrup pads I would definitely recommend them. Just make sure you get the correct size.
Date published: 2011-02-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the best These do a great job of holding your foot in the iron, however they were extremely difficult to put in. It took me several days of riding in them before they actually clicked into place. I get severe ankle pain when using them, however that may just be me.
Date published: 2010-11-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Couldn't Use These don't fit in the peacock safety stirrups. Would cost more to ship back than product itself.
Date published: 2010-11-04
  • 2016-09-29T12:26CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_8968, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders