Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Centaur Climate Control Polo Wraps

Centaur
- Item #19420

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Centaur Climate Control Polo Wraps feature moisture-wicking, temperature regulating properties. Comprised of 4 1/2 feet of moisture-wicking, highly ventilated cushioning material that optimizes air flow to keep legs cool and dry and 4 1/2 feet of stretchy supportive wrap with super-secure double hook & loop closure. A total of 9 feet of ultimate comfort and support!

One pair.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Everyone needs a little bit of sparkle in ...
    Description:
    Everyone needs a little bit of sparkle in their lives sometimes, right? Shimmer and shine with these fun pads and their coordinating polo wraps! Lettia pads are well constructed with piping around the edges to prevent fraying. A quilted finish ...
    The Lettia Sprakle Wraps add a little bit ...
    Description:
    The Lettia Sprakle Wraps add a little bit shimmer to your horse's look without sacrificing the quality Lettia Product are so well known for! Maximum protection makes these wraps a great choice for both strenuous workouts and everyday rides! Favorite ...
    The Eskadron Fleece Polo Wraps are hard wearing ...
    Description:
    The Eskadron Fleece Polo Wraps are hard wearing yet very soft for the ultimate training wrap! Made from elastic fleece material. VELCRO fastening. Helps to protect tendons and ligaments. 11 x 350 cm
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Centaur Climate Control Polo Wraps is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 40.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really good value, be careful washing These are a good value. They do what they say as far as keeping my horses legs cool and dry even when the rest of his body sweats during our ride. When I washed them the padded 1/2 at the end started to come apart at the end and the inner foam started coming out. I think a new pair will do the same. I am just going to sew up the part that freyed and wash in a delicates bag next time. They came as clean as new with regualr detergent and they were cruddy. I little different to put on but I got used to them. Not very expensive for there intended use.
    Date published: 2014-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Wraps! They keep my horses legs cool and dry. Have held up well to using 4-5x per week. Stay in place no slipping or coming undone, while longeing or practicing reining meneuvers. Highly recommend, especially in warm weather. Will be buying more!
    Date published: 2014-08-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality I bought these as a cheaper alternative to the Eskadron ones and that's definitely what I got. They began tearing within two uses of them. I returned them for a replacement in case they were defective, but the new pair did the same thing. They still work, but are full of runs and holes. One also lays much nice on my horse's leg than the other. The one "lifts" up on the edges making the wrap bulky and impossible to keep out wrinkles. Definitely won't be buying these again.
    Date published: 2014-06-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality I bought these at my local tack shop a few weeks ago and they began falling apart the next day. The velcro closure attaches itself to the elastic part of the wrap and begins to fray/rip at the wrap. My horse is injured so I am only doing a few minutes of lightlunging a day, yet after about a week of use they seemed stretched out. I don't darewash them because I don't think they would make it through.
    Date published: 2014-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice STRETCHY wrap! Not only are these good for keeping a leg cool, they're good and stretchy too.
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't go wrong for the money After reading mixed reviews on this product vs the Eskadron climate control polos, I decided to try the these first because they are cheaper. I have had no problems with them--they are durable and have not come unraveled after many usages, they wash well in the machine using a laundry bag, line dry in an afternoon, and best of all, keep my horse's legs protected and cool.
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like em, dont love em The fleece part of the wraps are a little difficult to get snug and the elastic has already stretched out some and frayed. I purchased these to use for everyday protection but think I will go back to regular polos. Think these would be more appropriate to use in place of standing wraps.
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I ordered these wraps and was excited to get them. After the first ride I was pleased but after a total of 3 rides I am very disappointed. The quality is very poor. There are strings pulling out, they are stretched out and picked around the edges. I haven't even washed them yet! I was going to order another pair but I won't be doing that.
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value!! I've always used the Eskadron Climate wraps with polos or climatex wraps on top and they are so much more expensive and these do the same thing! I'm happy that I found these, they are a must for the summer with my draft cross who needs the support without the extra heat!
    Date published: 2013-01-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Be careful washing them As I said in my previous review, I think they are excellent for the money. I have now washed them SEVERAL times. You have to put them in a LAUNDRY BAG and then wash. I then hang them dry and they are perfect after several washings. At the price you can have several pairs, so you can let them hang dry between washings.
    Date published: 2012-12-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Polo Wraps "stringing along" Was so excited getting these wraps for my reiner. She had strained a sesmoidal ligament and needed more than the "fluffy" wraps. Loved the concept of the absorbent padding with the elastic on the outside. Problem was after the first wearing there were pulls that left strings and "runs" in the elastic. They are still functional but I have to give them a haircut after each wearing!
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the money I also have Eskadron Climatex, but these are very good as well. I read other reviews and decided to give them a try. They seem very nice especially for the price. I am going to wash them in a laundry bag as I do the Eskadrons. I really think with these type of climate control wraps (both Eskadrons and Centaur) you need to be more careful than you are with fleece wraps. However I think it is well worth it.
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love(d) these but.. I bought a pair of these at the retail store a few months back and have recently started using them. When I took them out of the package like another review says they did not seem very well made. I used the polo wraps a few times and the little fuzzy parts that made it look cheap came off and they looked very nice and no longer cheaply made..seems like there was just some extra materials in the bag? They were an excellent length, provided a lot of support and I loved the material and how it looked. My horses legs didn't get hot, but I would not say they were cool. He has a little wind puff and it actually went down with these wraps. I LOVED these wraps so much I actually bought another pair, I took my first pair home to wash.. washed them and they came out terrible. The material fell apart and I lost a lot of the cushioning material. The black spandex feeling part then had a million little white fuzzys on them and they just looked like they had been through a tornado.. I used them regardless and the second time I used them after washing I realized that the material was getting holes and tearing. I loved these wraps, but if I can not wash them they are not going to last very long. I am now torn between buying more of these and just planning on having them only last 6 months, or investing in a more expensive pair that might not break down so easily.
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gets runners like stockings Upon first unwrapping the product I was very impressed by the interior quilting and the stretchy exterior. Provides great eveness for compression balance. However, on the first day of showing I noticed strings hanging from the wrap. Looks like a run in a stocking. Maybe the bell boot velcro caught it a little and pulled. Anyway, had to trim the threads to made it look presentable.
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bargain! Although these run a little small they are a great alternative to the Eskadron climate cool wraps and bandages that are almost 5 times the price when combined! I wish they came in other colours but black is classic.
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! These wraps were not at all what I was expecting but I love them! They are super padded on one half and a stretchy stable bandage type fabric on the other. They are like having two wraps in one! The Velcro closure is very nice and I do not have to worry about the Velcro coming loose during a ride. My mare's legs were completely dry and there was no sand inside after our ride in the arena and on the trails! I definitely recommend these and I am going to buy them in all of the colors!
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work These wraps were a little awkward the first time I used them. After that I got the hang of them. They appear to offer a lot of support and did keep his legs drier than my regular polos. I like them and plan to use them regularly.
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality- I bought these instead of the Eskadron Climatex wraps. They are decent quality, but the quilted portion of the wraps could be a bit longer. Not bad for the $$, and certainly better then paying 60$/pair for Eskadrons! At the same time, I bought the Smartpak Small Diamond Deluxe dressage pad. Definetly worth the money-better quality then the Canadian brand Shedrow from GreenHawk, and better price too!
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! These wraps are great. My horse's hind legs are very sensitive and even fleece lined boots will rub him raw. Even on warm days I have not had any issues with these. They also keep my horse's legs pretty dry. They seem to hold up pretty good so far but I haven't washed them yet.
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Price Point I was leery of these wraps because of the low price point, but decided to try them anyway. Here are my thoughts on how they work:* Do keep my horse's legs drier and slightly cooler than fleece polos. Seem to absorb much more sweat.* Are excellent for compression on my horse's arthritic ankles, keeping down fill in his windpuffs. This is a major point for me, and the real reason I use polo wraps for dressage schooling.* I did have to adjust the way I wrap slightly, and it does take some skill to keep even pressure in the wrap the whole way around.In short, worth the money, and I am pleased with the purchase. I can't compare them to Eskadron, as I've never used those, but they quality is just average on these. I can't imagine they'll last forever, but show no real signs of wear after being used hard for a month.
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW....GR8 Wraps I am using these on my Friesian who is deep and heavy in Dressage Training (6 days a week)...these wraps keep her legs cool and dry and clean easily. I wash them in cold water and hang dry, and Voila...like new ! The go on easy and are worth EVERY penny !!! 5 Stars from me...yayyyyyy !
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best overall wraps! Excellent wrap for support and wicks away moisture! LOVE the double velcro closure, so wrap NEVER unravels!!!! Best purchase!!!!!
    Date published: 2012-01-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Give Them a Try A few people at my barn had been raving about these wraps, so I decided to give them a try. I am very picky about wraps, and I like these so far. While they are more prone to slipping than fleece polos, by slightly modifying my technique I don't have this problem anymore (I usually wrap polos to 'cup' the fetlock- if I don't with these wraps, they don't slip. I also wrap these slightly tighter, and haven't had any problems). The stitching has come loose in spots, but I machine wash and dry, so that may be why. I like the double velcro, and I love the finished look of these wraps. They also don't hold footing like fleece polos do, which I love. For the price, I am willing to buy a few sets of these, instead of spending more than 3 times as much for the name-brand wraps.
    Date published: 2011-11-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me I usually always wrap with a pair of wraps I purchased years ago in New Zealand, I thought these would be great to replace to old ones. Wrong, they are bulky and hard to get right. The double velcro does not work well if your horse has smaller cannon bones, the "extra" that you must take up to get the wrap to hold sticks out and flaps. They did not keep my horse's legs any "cooler" then normal fleece. I was disappointed.
    Date published: 2011-10-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Eh... I had no problem with the length or fit of the wrap. I like the double velcro closure. I just don't believe they work AT ALL to keep the horse's legs. If anything, sweat builds up in the thick fabric.
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Wraps I thought these would be great but they are horrible. They constantly get loose on the back legs and another person at the barn bought them too and they have the same problems. It does not wick away moisture but it builds up sweat. My horse's legs are very moist when I take these off. Also only using them 5 times the stiching is fall apart and the stuffing is exposed. Absolutely the worst wraps! I wish I could return them :(
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from IDK... I'm just not sure how much I like these wraps. They seem difficult to apply evenly, but I do notice that I have a much easier time putting these on my friend's mare who has much shorter cannons than my boy. These are good quality for the money...just not sold on them.
    Date published: 2011-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the price! Love these wraps! They do keep my horse's legs considerably cooler than conventional polos. I thought the sizing is pretty dead on - there's enough of the climate control part to go down the leg and then the perfect amount of stretchy material to go back up and end in just the right spot. I've only used them for about 2 weeks so I can't talk much of the durability, but they feel like they'll last for quite a bit. Love the double velcro!
    Date published: 2011-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good summer wraps I've only used these wraps a few times, but the combination of absorbency and stretch seems to work and I'm looking forward to using them over the hot summer. Plenty of length, easy to use. Will order another pair in white so I can put them on all four legs. Overall, positive
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good product These wraps take a bit of getting used to as they are different from standard polo wraps. Once you get the hang of them, they are very good.
    Date published: 2011-04-28
    • 2016-02-07T15:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_39
    • loc_en_US, sid_9420, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.