Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Cavallo Simple Boots

Cavallo Horse & Rider
- Item #16712
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Cavallo Simple Boots are multi-purpose hoof boots that are excellent for all-terrain hoof protection for the barefoot horse. Allows natural expansion of the hoof wall as well as increased blood circulation. Absorbs shock so your horse's legs don't need to! Also provides comfort for chronic pain, hoof sensitivity and helps with rehabilitation from injuries, abscesses, navicular disease, laminitis/founder, punctures, sole bruising and contracted heels. Adds protection during trailering and breeding and works great as a "spare tire" when a shoe is lost. Lightweight, simple to put on and remove, and stays securely on the hoof. Shaped for the natural hoof (needs no inserts or shims). Features:

  • Simple front fastening with industrial grade VELCRO® brand closures
  • Genuine leather upper
  • Mould-in back flap for bulb protection and abrasion resistance
  • Durable construction using waterproof thread, rustproof metal and high performance TPU outsole
  • Soft leather foam-filled collar
  • Outside tread pattern supports the hoof wall
  • All-terrain tread minimizes build-up of mud, sand and debris. Excellent traction while still allowing natural movement
  • Built-in sole relief: Raised inner rim takes pressure off sole, bar and frogs

Black.  Sold in pairs.  Sizes 1-6.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Cavallo Simple Boots is rated 4.5211 out of 5 by 71.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots, hard to fit The quality is great on these boots, but the sizing chart is a bit inaccurate.
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! I have a horse with sensitive feet. Even when shod he tends to tippy toe around. I thought about putting pads on him, but decided to try these boots instead. They're great! First off, they fit him very well. Second, they seem to be very well made (I'll see how well they wear over time) but, best of all, he's sounder than he's even been. I've ridden him over rocky terrain and through mud and have not had a single problem.
    Date published: 2012-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Real Life Saver! I truly cannot say enough about how great these boots are! My OTTB suffered from a terrible series of hoof abcesses (he's been off the track for over a year now and his hooves are just now healthy from having not been taken care of). One of the abcesses was so bad that it went from the coronet band all the way down his hoof and out the bottom. It hollowed out the space underneath his hoof wall and he lost a huge portion of the hoof wall. The vet wanted to leave the hole open for a while for cleaning purposes, but the farrier was worried that leaving it exposed would result in more hoof loss due to wear and tear on the edges of the hole. These boots were a PERFECT solution and I don't know what I would've done without them. Not only did they provide the protection he needed, but they also stood up to the wear and tear of my very hot OTTB once he started feeling good enough to gallop full-speed around the pasture again.
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use Easy to put on and remove; stays put. I would not recommend using it over long periods / long rides. Made the mistake of leaving it on overnight due to a missing shoe and hard ground. Rubbed horse's heel raw. Otherwise, works fine and has held up really well - we use them on occasions when shoe is missing.
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Careful of sizing Borrowed a set of size three's, slightly too big, sized using instructions and chart and bought a size 2. Have to admit got the size 2's put them in my trunk for when I might need them, pulled them out when my mare pulled shoe and NO WAY would a 2 work. I should have stuck with the slightly bigger 3. Advise - go size bigger than chart dictates.
    Date published: 2011-08-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Boot review The Cavallo Simple Boot is just that...simple to use. However, the two outside velcro straps caused me much concern and worry when I used them for the first time. We were riding in wet conditions and the outside straps kept coming loose. Several times I had to dismount to strap them up again and it became annoying. However, the boot did stay on and I stopped worrying about the outside straps. The inside velcro was strong enough to keep the boot on and the balance of the ride went well. I would recommend that the outside straps be redesigned to be one large velcro strap, however.
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT when missing a shoe! Bought these for a horse that continually pulls a shoe during turnout - stays on overnight to protect his bare hoof. Easy to put on / take off; no rubbing - love it!
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots! My horse was unable to wear shoes for about six weeks. I used these boots to protect his hooves, until I could ge shoes back on him.These boots stayed on and held up, even though my horse tried to take them off multiple times.
    Date published: 2011-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever My older appy mare injured herself this winter in the deep snow. She ended up on stall rest and consequently foundered. She couldn't even move but with the Cavallo boots and laminex, she is doing great! She hasn't walked so good in years. Thank-you Smartpak for saving my beloved friend.
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cavallo Boots I recently joined a mouted unit and my horse Rolex has never needed shoes. Since the terrain we would be riding on would be mostly asphalt and concrete he was going to need shoeing. I researched forever for an alternative to shoeing. A friend of mine recommended the cavallo shoes. I was very impressed with the perfect fit . They are easy to put on and off , there was no rubbing and my horse did not notice they were on. Well worth the money.
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for barefoot horses So with going barefoot, comes the issue of going on trail rides with stone paths, slick roads after rain etc. My thin-soled mare is a completely different horse once I get these boots on her. They are easy to put on too. The fit is the part that got me a little bit. After a trim she is a perfect size 2. Six weeks later though and she is a size 3 (her feet grow a lot!). So I needed to get the 2nd pair to get me through those last few rides until the trimmer arrived. You can buy studs for these now too but I have not tried them yet.
    Date published: 2010-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy With Boots My two horses are bare foot all the time as we live in an area where it is soft and sandy. Several times a year we go on week long rides in the mountains and in some rocky areas. Previously we had to shoe them prior to leaving and they always seemed sore for a day or two after removing shoes. The added cost of the shoeing was always a sore spot for me so we started looking for alternatives. Someone recomended getting boots. I was very skeptical and talked with several industry professionals, Ferriers, and read reviews until my eyes could stand it no more.We settled on the Cavallo Simple Boots We used them for the first time last week. It added about ten minutes per horse extra tackup time and about 20 minutes tack off time. (washing the boots and setting out to dry took the extra time). The boots worked very well, our horses were never bother by the rough terrain,the boots stayed on through the mud, swimming in the lake, steep hills and really protected their hoofs.The boots did not hinder the horses. they were able to walk, rack, pace, and canter as if they were bare foot. They were as sure foot as ever.I am very pleased with these boots.I would suggest having boots on hand to test fit. Proper boot fit was my biggest issue and went to great lengths to measure the hoofs, Had the ferrier come by and measure to double check, made tracings of hoofs.... we got it right on two and wrong on two. Luckily the Tack store we bought from (Black Bottom Stables and Tack)were really good about exchanging the boots for us.I would recommend the pasture raps that are sold by Cavallo. There was some minor rubbing on the rear feat at the back of the pastern.
    Date published: 2010-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great boots! These are great boots.. well made, durable and very easy to put on. I purchased them for protection after my mare's shoes needed to be pulled, and they are helping her make the adjustment. I agree the size is tricky, mine were also too large but still work fine for protection even in turnout. If I reorder I'll go down 1-2 sizes and use the ones I have for the rear.
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from If your horse has different sized feet.... I've been using these on my newly barefoot anglo-arab for a month and they are holding up great and are easy to get on and off as others have stated. My only complaint is that it was hard to get the right size. I measured using the print out ruler from the manufacturer web site and one of his feet was a size 1 and one was a size 2 but it was close. I was frustrated that I couldn't find any commentary anywhere on what to do in that circumstance. Some reviews on other sites said to buy a size smaller so I went with the size one - wrong choice, it would not go on his size 2 foot at all. I exchanged and got the size 2. The shape of his feet are more round than long and so the wrap around style of the velcro doesn't quite fit "square meaning the edges don't neatly line up. That said, they stay on well and he tolerates them (lots of stamping "take em off Mom!" after the ride is over). Overall, they seem to have taken care of the barefoot soreness and added little extra time to my tacking up/tacking off routine.
    Date published: 2010-05-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy On and Off I leave my event horses barefoot in the winter. In the spring, I hit the roads to leg up and they need protection from the wear caused by the pavement. I've used Boa boots in the past with good success, but they are tough to get on and off. The Cavallos are super quick and easy to put on and take off. My only criticism is the sizing. I measured and ordered and the boots are big. But so far no rubs or anything. My horse seems happy and is confident in them.
    Date published: 2010-03-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from functional like the fit / design of the boot and have watched for couple years - would caution that even with specific measurement from both myself and farrier, I still think the ones I ordered were big ... only quality component I would pick on is the velcro side straps, they cannot stay closed ... overall for the cost, these are not an everyday boot for pasture and would suspect the intermittent use for a barefooted trail ride would take some "accommodation" for the horse and its gait
    Date published: 2010-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saving Purchase My 20+ year old thoroughbred became severely lame and was diagnosed with a dropped and rotated coffin bone. His hoof walls were so bad he couldn't wear the corrective shoes ordered by the vet. We pulled his shoes hoping he would grow more foot. Unfortunately, he only became worse. A friend told me about the Simple Boot. I ordered a pair and within several days of wearing the boots he began putting weight on the foot. After wearing the boots for almost a year, whenever he is turned out, his foot has grown and new x-rays show the coffin bone has raised and is no longer rotated. He can now be ridden and is pain free. The boots have held up to rain, mud and daily ware. I can not say enough about these boots! They saved my horse's life!
    Date published: 2009-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great idea for the trail I have a barefoot horse and decided to purchase a pair of Cavallo boots for a 15 mile ride over rocky trails to keep his feet from getting all torn up. They worked great on the trail, and also kept him from being footsore at the end of the ride. I definitely recommend breaking them in well first - they rubbed a little and probably could have used more of a break-in than I gave them. They held up well on all sorts of terrain: rocks, sand, water, pavement. If you have sandy or rocky terrain, look into getting the pastern wraps that Cavallo makes. I did have to stop halfway through the ride to shake out sand and stones that got into the boot. Otherwise, a great alternative to shoeing my horse for the summer!
    Date published: 2009-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing boots I had the opportunity to sample these boots while fostering a foundered rescue mare last year. She wore her Cavallos on fronts only every day, sometimes over several days with removal only for pad replacement and to let her feet air out a bit. I was VERY impressed that I NEVER came home to missing boots.These boots were SUPER easy to slip on and off, to adjust, to tighten, and to clean. They never slipped off, even as the mare felt better and became more active.I have NO doubt that these could easily been used on trail rides and intend to invest in a set for each of my horses in the future. Buy with confidence.
    Date published: 2009-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from well made boots but sizing suspect Well made boots, easy to use but despite careful measuring of the hoof by myself and my farrier the boots were too large. I wish I had ordered a size smaller.
    Date published: 2009-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots These boots have been working out great, they don't hold water in, although the foot can stay overly moist in them, which is true of most boots. I found them very easy to put on , and they have not created any rubs or sore spots.
    Date published: 2009-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, Easy to Use Barefoot Protection This product has been invaluable in helping my new OTTB get around while he grows a healthier hoof! He came to us with terrible hoof quality and its been a vicious cycle of pulled shoes, torn up hoof wall, glue-ons, etc. The Cavallo's have allowed me to let him go barefoot while he grows a more healthy hoof with the help of a good diet and hoof supplements. And its saving me money because I no longer have to keep paying for super expensive glue on shoes!
    Date published: 2009-08-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Size does matter My horse measured for a size 4, but when I got the boots, his hoofs swam in them. Please make sure that you measure your horses hoof correctly before purchase. I loved the way these boots were made.
    Date published: 2009-05-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from not bad This is my first experience really using foot boots and not just for a poultice.The fit was good and the manufacturer suggested we use thick socks on her feet to make the boots more snug. That worked well only she did develop mild cankers on her frogs. Was that from too much heat from the socks? I do not know. I would recommend using the gel inserts for a perfect fit and not socks as sweaty frogs might prove unhealthy. All in all on snow, ice, pavement and frozen footing these boots were hugely important in our horses transition from shod to unshod.
    Date published: 2009-03-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally sound My daughter's PMU mare has always had soft soles, limiting her to certain terrains. I had to use her for a planned ride and was worried that she would go lame. I found a pair of Cavallo Simple Boots at the ride and, even though they were 1 size too big, we rode the whole weekend. I met lots of riders who love them and found out a little trick; you can use them with “people socks” to keep the terrain out!
    Date published: 2008-11-01
    • 2015-05-22T07:49CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_63
    • loc_en_US, sid_6712, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.