Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Braided Spur Strap

Item #12148
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Braided Spur Strap is durable and appropriate for showing or schooling. The Braided Spur Strap is very adjustable. 1 Pair. Nylon.  5/8 inch x 19.5 inches.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Original" The plastic rollers roll along the ...
    Description:
    The Original" The plastic rollers roll along the horse's body without causing any pain. Impuls Spurs give a fresh impetus to let the horse feel a soft rider's aid. The horse is more willing and performance is enhanced. Impuls Spurs ...
    The Ultra Fit Stainless Steel Spur was developed ...
    Description:
    The Ultra Fit Stainless Steel Spur was developed by a close partnership between Herm Spenger and Klaus Balkenhol, trainer of the US Dressage Team. Unique fit and design of the Ultra Fit Stainless Steel Spur eliminates pressure and movement thus ...
    Feminine elegance! The Ladies Antiqued Show Spur with ...
    Description:
    Feminine elegance! The Ladies Antiqued Show Spur with Engraved German Silver features German silver engraved floral pattern atop an antiqued steel band. The flowers of the band are accented with Aurora Borealis Swarovski crystals in their centers for an equisite ...
    A subtle, elegant touch where you'd least expect ...
    Description:
    A subtle, elegant touch where you'd least expect it - your spur straps! These exquisite Spur Straps by Browbands with Bling are carefully hand-crafted in the USA of the finest black leather, with colorful stone detailing on the buckles. Stainless ...
    The Herm Sprenger Ultra Fit Extra Grip are ...
    Description:
    The Herm Sprenger Ultra Fit Extra Grip are a spur that fits perfectly on your riding boots. It's unique fit and design eliminates pressure and movement thus providing correct spur performance and protection of the boot leather. Favorite Features The ...
    A lovely and affordable black spur option.  Favorite Features Stainless ...
    Description:
    A lovely and affordable black spur option.  Favorite Features Stainless steel spurs Black powder coated finish provides a matte finish Clean look against black boots minimizes the appearance of leg movement Sizing It Up 1" neck Imported.
    Add some bling to your daily riding attire! ...
    Description:
    Add some bling to your daily riding attire! This bit of bling is a perfect personalization piece, but not too distracting. Favorite Features Small jewels close to the spur strap buckle. Imported Sizing It Up 19
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Braided Spur Strap is rated 3.2558 out of 5 by 43.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great strap for the price I almost didn't buy these based on some of the reviews. I am glad I did. Yes, the buckles are cheap but these straps last me about three years of regular use where the leather straps last about one year. Don't abuse the buckle and the strap itself will last a long time. I rated a five because of what you get for the price.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from cheap price--cheap spur stap Cheap price--cheap spur strap. Should have known--but smartpak has done suprising things before--so I decided to try. This time it didn't work.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really horrible... These spur straps are very, very poor. I cannot believe that SmartPak vetted and allowed them to be promoted and sold through their website. The inexpensive price is irrelevant, because these straps are not worth the time and trouble to order them or even attach them to your spurs. What a huge inconvenience to think you have ordered and received everything you need to be prepared for showing, training, etc., only to realize the multiple pairs of spur straps you ordered were all no good. Cheap buckles that fall apart when you look at them, flimsy narrow nylon, etc. Shame!
    Date published: 2012-12-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional and economical The braided spur strap is practical. It is long and will probably require shortening. The buckle is made of rather thin metal, that would probably bend if treated roughly. However, the strap is doing a fine job of keeping my spurs in place, and the price cannot be beat.
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good deal I think these spur straps are great. They are inexpensive, you can buckle them at any tightness that you like, and they seem to be holding up fine for me on the trails. No problem with the buckle (like some others have mentioned). I can buy about 8 pairs of these for the price of one pair of leather straps!! I'd buy them again.
    Date published: 2012-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheap but look decent Inexpensive and don't look bad. Yes, they are woven nylon, but look good for woven nylon. The buckes are nice looking too. Very happy with these.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Low Quality I can pick up much better quality nylon spur straps at my local tack store for just a few dollars more. These might last a week. I can bend the buckles in half with my fingers!
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheaper than I expected I had a pair of these for years and they held up beautifully, but then I got a new pair and the first time I wore them the buckles broke. I will not be buying these ever again. From now on I will be putting in the money for something with a bit more quality.
    Date published: 2012-04-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Straps are too narrow and the buckle is very cheaply made. Not what I thought I was getting.
    Date published: 2011-12-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cheap These spur straps are very cheaply made, but they are useable. One of mine is not put together right, and the metal piece does not come all the way through the nylon band, so it's always loose and allows my spur to move somewhat. I have had this type of strap before and liked it because it's so easy to get a nice, tight fit since you can buckle it wherever you want. But this pair is not made as well as the other brand I used to have.
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than leather I got these to replace my leather spur straps, which continue to stretch. These allow me to put the spurs exactly as tight as I want and will never stretch.
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Price is right These braided nylon stirrup straps are inexpensive. No holes; you poke your own each time you use them. They won't last a long time, but for the cost they are a very reasonable way to go.
    Date published: 2011-10-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not fab I love smartpak, but these spur straps aren't great. The buckle is thin and doesn't really work when you put them on. I say spend a little more and get leather ones.
    Date published: 2011-08-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Got me by There are way better quality nylon braided spur straps out there. this is not the one! Buckle is that thin cheap metal. The nunn finer ones are much nicer but smart pak does not sell them.
    Date published: 2011-06-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buckle broke the first use Cheap spur straps are poorly made. One of the buckles broke the first time I put them on. The piece that slides into the nylon to hold it in place slid and no longer reaches to hold the strap. The strap is really long so i am knotting it to get it to hold. More expensive straps are more worth the money. I'll have to get a different pair before the next show anyway.
    Date published: 2011-05-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from You get exactly what you pay for! I should have known, buying a $3 pair of nylon spur straps, but I wanted nylon straps for a pair that I don't wear that often. These straps are VERY cheap, but I can't complain because they were cheap! The buckles bend easily and the metal is sharp on the edges. The nylon stretches easily, basically defeating the purpose of keeping your spur in place. But I got what I paid for! :)
    Date published: 2011-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheap, simple, and they work These spur straps are great! I don't care how cheap they feel or look because no one judges you on your spur straps whether you're schooling or showing! I can easily clean them for shows, they hold my spurs on my feet, they fit anyone because you aren't limited by holes, and they cost next to nothing. Not sure how you could go wrong!
    Date published: 2010-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and cheap Nice spur straps for the price. Buy the leather ones if you care all that much about looks, though these look fine. My only problem with them is that they are incredibly long. I end up having to wrap the excess tail around the side of the spur.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Normally I love everything I buy from Smartpak but this is the exception. Had I known how cheap, skinny and flimsy they are I wouldn't have taken them even if they were free. I have a number of braided spur straps of "normal" width, heft, and solid buckles that are nothing like these things. This is some new cheesy strap. I don't care about cost, but am irritated because I now need to hunt somewhere else for the "real" braided straps.
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheap! Not sure what I was expecting at such a low price point, but these are really awful. They are too long and very difficult to buckle, the prong does not fit through the braided strap easily. Flimsy. Not worthy of Smartpak.
    Date published: 2010-07-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fine. These spur straps are okay. The buckles are stiff and the nylon isn't sturdy. Wouldn't dare show in these.
    Date published: 2010-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the Price They are cheap in price and also cheap in quality. Buckles are not the best and its a bit hard to get thru the braid without marring the nylon BUT they are cheap and definately do the trick. Nothing really wrong with them and a good value for the money.
    Date published: 2010-05-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheap Granted, they only cost a couple of dollars, but these spur straps are not very good. Dispite being woven, I find them very hard to buckle. Good to keep around for an emergency pair of straps, but if looking for everyday or show equipment you can do better.
    Date published: 2010-05-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Thin and Floppy These straps are too thin and floppy. They are hard to thread into the buckle on a daily basis. I have a thicker heavier pair that i like much better.
    Date published: 2010-04-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from The buckles weren't the greatest quality, but for my purposes, they did the trick.
    Date published: 2010-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have These straps are great! I hate leather straps that are stiff and have to be oiled just to break. The nylon makes it adjustable - you can just put holes wherever you want with no effort. The straps are long but I just cut off what was extra. You really cant tell the difference from the ground whether the rider is using nylon or leather so save yourself the headache and get these!
    Date published: 2010-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I ride western, but when I ride daily I dont like wearing boots and heavy spurs. I purchased these to use with english spurs and over my Ariat leather shoes with 1/2 chaps. Work like a charm, I have a high instep and there is plenty of room. Easy to care for and really a good buy.
    Date published: 2010-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these I think the braided spur strap is a must for spurs!! The braided spur strap allows you to adjust the strap to whatever length you want allowing for the perfect fit!
    Date published: 2009-10-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better quality The strap is not as wide as I would like it to be. Also, the buckle is curved in the way that it can be caught bythe stirrup irons. A little thicker strap would be nice.
    Date published: 2009-09-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what I expected I have several braided spur straps and these were not the quality I was used too. They are thinner, narrower and of much lower quality. I can't use them.
    Date published: 2009-08-12
    • 2016-05-04T16:44CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_39
    • loc_en_US, sid_2148, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders