Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Braided Spur Strap

Item #12148

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Braided Spur Strap is durable and appropriate for showing or schooling. The Braided Spur Strap is very adjustable. 1 Pair. Nylon.  5/8 inch x 19.5 inches.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Strap on your spurs with style! The Spur ...
    Description:
    Strap on your spurs with style! The Spur Strap with Rawhide Ends are made from supple latigo leather with rawhide-reinforced ends. The brass buckles plated with nickel make these straps essential.
    The Ultra Fit Stainless Steel Spur was developed ...
    Description:
    The Ultra Fit Stainless Steel Spur was developed by a close partnership between Herm Spenger and Klaus Balkenhol, trainer of the US Dressage Team. Unique fit and design of the Ultra Fit Stainless Steel Spur eliminates pressure and movement thus ...
    The Original" The plastic rollers roll along the ...
    Description:
    The Original" The plastic rollers roll along the horse's body without causing any pain. Impuls Spurs give a fresh impetus to let the horse feel a soft rider's aid. The horse is more willing and performance is enhanced. Impuls Spurs ...
    This feminine spur will look great on any ...
    Description:
    This feminine spur will look great on any boot! The Ladies Engraved Clover Leaf Spur features an engraved silver scrollwork on a black steel band. It also has a small clover leaf rowel. Shank: 1 3/4" Band: 5/8" Black stainless ...
    Sturdy and flexible, these spur straps are perfect ...
    Description:
    Sturdy and flexible, these spur straps are perfect for schooling. Quality at a great price, the Herm Sprenger Braided Spur Straps are nylon spur straps featuring stainless steel buckles. 5/8'' wide x 17.5'' long. Nylon. Made in Germany
    Add a little style to your spurs! The ...
    Description:
    Add a little style to your spurs! The Basket Weave Spur Straps are made from natural skirting leather with a crisp basket weave pattern and stainless steel buckles.
    A great spur for performance events! The Performance ...
    Description:
    A great spur for performance events! The Performance Series 5/8" Band Spur features a shank long enough to allow the rider to contact the horse, but short enough to not allow accidental contact if the rider is out of position. ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Braided Spur Strap is rated 3.2558 out of 5 by 43.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great strap for the price I almost didn't buy these based on some of the reviews. I am glad I did. Yes, the buckles are cheap but these straps last me about three years of regular use where the leather straps last about one year. Don't abuse the buckle and the strap itself will last a long time. I rated a five because of what you get for the price.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from cheap price--cheap spur stap Cheap price--cheap spur strap. Should have known--but smartpak has done suprising things before--so I decided to try. This time it didn't work.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really horrible... These spur straps are very, very poor. I cannot believe that SmartPak vetted and allowed them to be promoted and sold through their website. The inexpensive price is irrelevant, because these straps are not worth the time and trouble to order them or even attach them to your spurs. What a huge inconvenience to think you have ordered and received everything you need to be prepared for showing, training, etc., only to realize the multiple pairs of spur straps you ordered were all no good. Cheap buckles that fall apart when you look at them, flimsy narrow nylon, etc. Shame!
    Date published: 2012-12-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional and economical The braided spur strap is practical. It is long and will probably require shortening. The buckle is made of rather thin metal, that would probably bend if treated roughly. However, the strap is doing a fine job of keeping my spurs in place, and the price cannot be beat.
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good deal I think these spur straps are great. They are inexpensive, you can buckle them at any tightness that you like, and they seem to be holding up fine for me on the trails. No problem with the buckle (like some others have mentioned). I can buy about 8 pairs of these for the price of one pair of leather straps!! I'd buy them again.
    Date published: 2012-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheap but look decent Inexpensive and don't look bad. Yes, they are woven nylon, but look good for woven nylon. The buckes are nice looking too. Very happy with these.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Low Quality I can pick up much better quality nylon spur straps at my local tack store for just a few dollars more. These might last a week. I can bend the buckles in half with my fingers!
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheaper than I expected I had a pair of these for years and they held up beautifully, but then I got a new pair and the first time I wore them the buckles broke. I will not be buying these ever again. From now on I will be putting in the money for something with a bit more quality.
    Date published: 2012-04-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Straps are too narrow and the buckle is very cheaply made. Not what I thought I was getting.
    Date published: 2011-12-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cheap These spur straps are very cheaply made, but they are useable. One of mine is not put together right, and the metal piece does not come all the way through the nylon band, so it's always loose and allows my spur to move somewhat. I have had this type of strap before and liked it because it's so easy to get a nice, tight fit since you can buckle it wherever you want. But this pair is not made as well as the other brand I used to have.
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than leather I got these to replace my leather spur straps, which continue to stretch. These allow me to put the spurs exactly as tight as I want and will never stretch.
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Price is right These braided nylon stirrup straps are inexpensive. No holes; you poke your own each time you use them. They won't last a long time, but for the cost they are a very reasonable way to go.
    Date published: 2011-10-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not fab I love smartpak, but these spur straps aren't great. The buckle is thin and doesn't really work when you put them on. I say spend a little more and get leather ones.
    Date published: 2011-08-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Got me by There are way better quality nylon braided spur straps out there. this is not the one! Buckle is that thin cheap metal. The nunn finer ones are much nicer but smart pak does not sell them.
    Date published: 2011-06-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buckle broke the first use Cheap spur straps are poorly made. One of the buckles broke the first time I put them on. The piece that slides into the nylon to hold it in place slid and no longer reaches to hold the strap. The strap is really long so i am knotting it to get it to hold. More expensive straps are more worth the money. I'll have to get a different pair before the next show anyway.
    Date published: 2011-05-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from You get exactly what you pay for! I should have known, buying a $3 pair of nylon spur straps, but I wanted nylon straps for a pair that I don't wear that often. These straps are VERY cheap, but I can't complain because they were cheap! The buckles bend easily and the metal is sharp on the edges. The nylon stretches easily, basically defeating the purpose of keeping your spur in place. But I got what I paid for! :)
    Date published: 2011-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheap, simple, and they work These spur straps are great! I don't care how cheap they feel or look because no one judges you on your spur straps whether you're schooling or showing! I can easily clean them for shows, they hold my spurs on my feet, they fit anyone because you aren't limited by holes, and they cost next to nothing. Not sure how you could go wrong!
    Date published: 2010-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and cheap Nice spur straps for the price. Buy the leather ones if you care all that much about looks, though these look fine. My only problem with them is that they are incredibly long. I end up having to wrap the excess tail around the side of the spur.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Normally I love everything I buy from Smartpak but this is the exception. Had I known how cheap, skinny and flimsy they are I wouldn't have taken them even if they were free. I have a number of braided spur straps of "normal" width, heft, and solid buckles that are nothing like these things. This is some new cheesy strap. I don't care about cost, but am irritated because I now need to hunt somewhere else for the "real" braided straps.
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheap! Not sure what I was expecting at such a low price point, but these are really awful. They are too long and very difficult to buckle, the prong does not fit through the braided strap easily. Flimsy. Not worthy of Smartpak.
    Date published: 2010-07-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fine. These spur straps are okay. The buckles are stiff and the nylon isn't sturdy. Wouldn't dare show in these.
    Date published: 2010-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the Price They are cheap in price and also cheap in quality. Buckles are not the best and its a bit hard to get thru the braid without marring the nylon BUT they are cheap and definately do the trick. Nothing really wrong with them and a good value for the money.
    Date published: 2010-05-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheap Granted, they only cost a couple of dollars, but these spur straps are not very good. Dispite being woven, I find them very hard to buckle. Good to keep around for an emergency pair of straps, but if looking for everyday or show equipment you can do better.
    Date published: 2010-05-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Thin and Floppy These straps are too thin and floppy. They are hard to thread into the buckle on a daily basis. I have a thicker heavier pair that i like much better.
    Date published: 2010-04-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from The buckles weren't the greatest quality, but for my purposes, they did the trick.
    Date published: 2010-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have These straps are great! I hate leather straps that are stiff and have to be oiled just to break. The nylon makes it adjustable - you can just put holes wherever you want with no effort. The straps are long but I just cut off what was extra. You really cant tell the difference from the ground whether the rider is using nylon or leather so save yourself the headache and get these!
    Date published: 2010-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I ride western, but when I ride daily I dont like wearing boots and heavy spurs. I purchased these to use with english spurs and over my Ariat leather shoes with 1/2 chaps. Work like a charm, I have a high instep and there is plenty of room. Easy to care for and really a good buy.
    Date published: 2010-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these I think the braided spur strap is a must for spurs!! The braided spur strap allows you to adjust the strap to whatever length you want allowing for the perfect fit!
    Date published: 2009-10-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better quality The strap is not as wide as I would like it to be. Also, the buckle is curved in the way that it can be caught bythe stirrup irons. A little thicker strap would be nice.
    Date published: 2009-09-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what I expected I have several braided spur straps and these were not the quality I was used too. They are thinner, narrower and of much lower quality. I can't use them.
    Date published: 2009-08-12
    • 2016-02-12T15:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_39
    • loc_en_US, sid_2148, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.