Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Big D All American Blanket

Big D
- Item #16510

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The All American features the Big D Diamond Pattern and contoured design for added warmth, fit, and comfort. This stable blanket is a Big D classic! Open or closed front, forest w/ beige trim or navy w/ silver trim.


Favorite Features

  • 420 denier nylon shell
  • 275 gram fiber fill
  • Big D show coat liner, which lays the hair flat while continually polishing the horse's coat to show quality
  • Woven blanket liner to absorb body heat while allowing the blanket to breathe and reduce sweating
  • Machine washable.

Sizing It Up

Sizes 68-84.

How to measure a horse

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Made to the same high standards as the ...
    Description:
    Made to the same high standards as the All American Blanket, this nine panel hood will provide a perfect contoured fit over your horse's head and neck.  Features a 420 denier nylon shell, Big D show coat lining, and 1000 ...
    Big D quality and features in this top ...
    Description:
    Big D quality and features in this top of the line turnout! Favorite Features Waterproof 2100 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor ...
    Save with a set! Includes the Rockin' SP ...
    Description:
    Save with a set! Includes the Rockin' SP Quilted Stable Blanket (220 g of fiber fill) and Rockin' SP Nylon Stable Sheet. Use individually or layer, depending on the temperature! Favorite Features Unique Rockin' SP cut with broader chest and ...
    Quality, fit and more features than you can ...
    Description:
    Quality, fit and more features than you can imagine, the Big D Sterling Turnout Blanket is sure to be your go-to blanket when the tempurature drops! Favorite Features Waterproof Tailored shoulder gussets are engineered to fit the natural curve of ...
    Specifically designed to fit the unique Quarter Horse ...
    Description:
    Specifically designed to fit the unique Quarter Horse build, this classic and versatile sheet is a perfect light layer on cool days or to keep your horse clean on show days. Imported. Favorite Features Unique cut with broader shoulders and ...
    Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, ...
    Description:
    Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, this stable blanket is cut to accomodate broader shoulders, chest, and hindquarters and features a slightly shorter drop and a cutback at the withers to provide the fit and features you need ...
    The Amigo Insulator Stable Blanket was designed to ...
    Description:
    The Amigo Insulator Stable Blanket was designed to keep your horse cozy and warm while in the barn. Made from durable 210D ripstop polyester with a smooth polyester lining, this blanket is perfect to use on its own in the ...
    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Big D All American Blanket is rated 4.8537 out of 5 by 41.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits the standard and smaller horses well I've purchased Big D blankets for years. They fit well and launder time after time.
    Date published: 2015-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BIG D BLANKET I PURCHASED THIS BLANKET ABOUT A MONTH AGO, I AM A BIG BLANKET USER, THIS BLANKET IS OF GREAT QUALITY FOR THE PRICE, I WOULD ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND TO MY FRIENDS, I BOUGHT THIS ALONG WITH THE HOOD, THIS KEEPS MY MARE WARM AND CLEAN THESE 2 PRODUCT WORK GREAT TOGETHER
    Date published: 2015-11-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fits great I just got a new horse & wasn't sure on the size he would need, the size chart was so helpful & the colors that I needed were an exact match,
    Date published: 2015-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These Blanekts Are Awesome! I love these blankets! Perfect for horses that are kept in a stable. All four of my quarter horses have them. For how light they are for being "heavy blankets", they keep the horses so warm! Not only do they keep the horses warm, but the blankets fit all of them perfectly. :)
    Date published: 2015-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blanket. What I expect from Big D :) An excellent stable blanket. Always excellent, durable quality from Big D and prompt shipping from Smartpak. This blanket fit my 15.3, APHA mare perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D All American Blanket I purchase 2 Big D All Amercan Blankets. Great fit, warmth and quality. I appreciate the rapid delivery. I have bought them in the past and will definitely purchase them again.
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, durable, warm and looks great. Smartpak is the best! I bought this blanket for my horse and love it so much that I bought another one for our pony. Unfortunately, the size I ordered didn't fit him, so Smartpak took it back despite it being monogrammed. They immediately sent another in a bigger size and it fits perfectly. It runs TTS; I ordered incorrectly.
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit for muscular horse I bought this a few weeks ago as my Arab gelding had muscled up so much over the summer that his more streamlined blanket was tight in the chest. I ordered the same size as his other blanket (72") but it was way too short along his back. The 76" replacement fit perfectly. He now has plenty of chest room and seems to enjoy the cutback wither.
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's cold out there! I have been using Big D Blankets for over 20 years. They never disappoint in their quality. I own Quarter Horses and these blankets seem to fit them much better thanother blankets. Also I received my blanket very quickly. Both horse and owner are very happy!
    Date published: 2014-12-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Waterproof- more a sponge than a blanket The first time I put this blanket on my horse there was a light rain and it turned into a sponge, soaking my horse to the bone. I guess people keep their horses in the house these days. I bought it to replace a warn, $60 light blanket I bought 2 years ago that kept him warm and dry. I thought it would be better because I always bought Big D when I had show horses. Never again!
    Date published: 2014-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality! i bought this blanket a week ago. And i love it! the only thing i can say negative is it runs big. My horses turn out blanket is an 81, but Big D has either an 80 or 82, so i got the 82... my mistake lol, it isn't horrible length wise, but the drop goes down to his hock instead of his gaskin... and he's 16.2 so he doesn't lack leg length! haha Any way the embroidery is great and the blanket is amazing quality! i would just recommend sizing down, especially if you get it customized and cant take it back. :)
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Show Blanket I bought this horse before we went to the Congress and got his name on it. Nice quality sheet. I wouldnt use it for a turnout blanket though.
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy only Big D Glenn Drake makes a great product-----we have always bought direct from Glenn, but we needed a quick blanket for a yearling heading off for training and your price and quick ship got our order.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite blanket This blanket fits really well and stays in place. I got the closed-front, leaving less room for error when my kids are doing the blanketing, and it fits our welsh pony perfectly. The outer shell feels durable enough to hold up during turnout. I like this blanket so much that I just ordered a second one for my wb.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! I love this stable blanket. It fits my quarter horse perfectly, keeps his coat smooth and doesn't pull at the withers. He's nice and warm too.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These blankets are great! They fit quarter horses and thoroughbreds. They hold up well and are comfortable for the horse.
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Fits Great" I bought this blanket a couple of weeks ago but I haven't used it yet not cold enought. But I believe it will be great.
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket I had this blanket for my old mare and when I sold her and bought my new pony I was looking everywhere for It. I'm so glad I found it at smartpak and got it within a week of ordering it. And it fits him like a glove.
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit. This is the second Big D All American blanket I bought. Got another horse and tried a different, cheaper blanket but it didn't fit well and kept sliding back and then would get too snug... and my horse was shivering in the morning. We did have minus 10 deg that night and the blanket was lined but a much lighter weight than the Big D All American. Got another Big D for the new horse and it fits great, good contour, good quality and keeps him warm. My new horse is gaited and has a rather thick neck and I would suggest going a size larger than what they measure for this type of horse. I will stick with the Big D for winter blankets.
    Date published: 2014-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket Jo was so happy and gorgeous in the blanket. Will order this product again.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and true. Have Used These Blankets For Years And Know The Fit And Quality To expect.
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D blankets Awesome value and great looking . Add to the product SMARTPAKS' excellent and flawless customer service ...you cannot go wrong .LOEV SMARTPAK !!!!
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Stockier Horses I've always bought Rambo blankets and Baker blankets, but on one of my horses, they were always particularly tight on the chest. This blanket was perfect for him, as it has a completely different cut on the front of it that allows more room for the chest. I have the open front and love it. There is no velcro which means it takes a little more time to fasten, but it always works no matter how much fur or dirt gets on it.This runs very large - definitely order at least one size down than you usually do!This is a heavier stable blanket and is very well-insulated. It's very well-made!
    Date published: 2012-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always quality great fit, warmth without bulk, can easily be layered
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I always buy Big D blankets They fit arabs very well, they last decades and they are worth every penny!! They wash and wear easily.
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Blanket This is a perfect stable blanket. It provides just enough warm. It runs a little big. I prefer the closed front. Don't like the buckles on the open front. Overall this is a great blanket for the price.
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D Blankets are the BEST! I've owned Big D Blankets forever, they are by far the best fit and last and last! My last one also came in a really neat carrying case to store the blanket in when not in use.
    Date published: 2011-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Big D!! Bought this for my 17h appendix qh.. found it ran big in the hip area. Great for layering and quarter horses with big butts! Big D has great quality and will last years even with repairs! Only brand I'll buy. Totally worth the investment!
    Date published: 2011-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stable Blanket Very nice stable blanket with a Great fit. I have one for my Paint and one for my Half Arab. Nice fit!
    Date published: 2011-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice diamond quilt design Overall a very nice blanket. I bought the closed front which I love...simple. Runs a little big. Lots of room for big bodied quarter horses.
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    • 2016-02-07T15:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_37
    • loc_en_US, sid_6510, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.