Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Big D All American Blanket

Big D
- Item #16510
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The All American features the Big D Diamond Pattern and contoured design for added warmth, fit, and comfort. This stable blanket is a Big D classic! Open or closed front, forest w/ beige trim or navy w/ silver trim.


Favorite Features

  • 420 denier nylon shell
  • 275 gram fiber fill
  • Big D show coat liner, which lays the hair flat while continually polishing the horse's coat to show quality
  • Woven blanket liner to absorb body heat while allowing the blanket to breathe and reduce sweating
  • Machine washable.

Sizing It Up

Sizes 68-84.

How to measure a horse

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Big D All American Blanket is rated 4.875 out of 5 by 32.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's cold out there! I have been using Big D Blankets for over 20 years. They never disappoint in their quality. I own Quarter Horses and these blankets seem to fit them much better thanother blankets. Also I received my blanket very quickly. Both horse and owner are very happy!
    Date published: 2014-12-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Waterproof- more a sponge than a blanket The first time I put this blanket on my horse there was a light rain and it turned into a sponge, soaking my horse to the bone. I guess people keep their horses in the house these days. I bought it to replace a warn, $60 light blanket I bought 2 years ago that kept him warm and dry. I thought it would be better because I always bought Big D when I had show horses. Never again!
    Date published: 2014-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality! i bought this blanket a week ago. And i love it! the only thing i can say negative is it runs big. My horses turn out blanket is an 81, but Big D has either an 80 or 82, so i got the 82... my mistake lol, it isn't horrible length wise, but the drop goes down to his hock instead of his gaskin... and he's 16.2 so he doesn't lack leg length! haha Any way the embroidery is great and the blanket is amazing quality! i would just recommend sizing down, especially if you get it customized and cant take it back. :)
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Show Blanket I bought this horse before we went to the Congress and got his name on it. Nice quality sheet. I wouldnt use it for a turnout blanket though.
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy only Big D Glenn Drake makes a great product-----we have always bought direct from Glenn, but we needed a quick blanket for a yearling heading off for training and your price and quick ship got our order.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite blanket This blanket fits really well and stays in place. I got the closed-front, leaving less room for error when my kids are doing the blanketing, and it fits our welsh pony perfectly. The outer shell feels durable enough to hold up during turnout. I like this blanket so much that I just ordered a second one for my wb.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! I love this stable blanket. It fits my quarter horse perfectly, keeps his coat smooth and doesn't pull at the withers. He's nice and warm too.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These blankets are great! They fit quarter horses and thoroughbreds. They hold up well and are comfortable for the horse.
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Fits Great" I bought this blanket a couple of weeks ago but I haven't used it yet not cold enought. But I believe it will be great.
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket I had this blanket for my old mare and when I sold her and bought my new pony I was looking everywhere for It. I'm so glad I found it at smartpak and got it within a week of ordering it. And it fits him like a glove.
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit. This is the second Big D All American blanket I bought. Got another horse and tried a different, cheaper blanket but it didn't fit well and kept sliding back and then would get too snug... and my horse was shivering in the morning. We did have minus 10 deg that night and the blanket was lined but a much lighter weight than the Big D All American. Got another Big D for the new horse and it fits great, good contour, good quality and keeps him warm. My new horse is gaited and has a rather thick neck and I would suggest going a size larger than what they measure for this type of horse. I will stick with the Big D for winter blankets.
    Date published: 2014-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket Jo was so happy and gorgeous in the blanket. Will order this product again.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and true. Have Used These Blankets For Years And Know The Fit And Quality To expect.
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D blankets Awesome value and great looking . Add to the product SMARTPAKS' excellent and flawless customer service ...you cannot go wrong .LOEV SMARTPAK !!!!
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Stockier Horses I've always bought Rambo blankets and Baker blankets, but on one of my horses, they were always particularly tight on the chest. This blanket was perfect for him, as it has a completely different cut on the front of it that allows more room for the chest. I have the open front and love it. There is no velcro which means it takes a little more time to fasten, but it always works no matter how much fur or dirt gets on it.This runs very large - definitely order at least one size down than you usually do!This is a heavier stable blanket and is very well-insulated. It's very well-made!
    Date published: 2012-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always quality great fit, warmth without bulk, can easily be layered
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I always buy Big D blankets They fit arabs very well, they last decades and they are worth every penny!! They wash and wear easily.
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Blanket This is a perfect stable blanket. It provides just enough warm. It runs a little big. I prefer the closed front. Don't like the buckles on the open front. Overall this is a great blanket for the price.
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D Blankets are the BEST! I've owned Big D Blankets forever, they are by far the best fit and last and last! My last one also came in a really neat carrying case to store the blanket in when not in use.
    Date published: 2011-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Big D!! Bought this for my 17h appendix qh.. found it ran big in the hip area. Great for layering and quarter horses with big butts! Big D has great quality and will last years even with repairs! Only brand I'll buy. Totally worth the investment!
    Date published: 2011-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stable Blanket Very nice stable blanket with a Great fit. I have one for my Paint and one for my Half Arab. Nice fit!
    Date published: 2011-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice diamond quilt design Overall a very nice blanket. I bought the closed front which I love...simple. Runs a little big. Lots of room for big bodied quarter horses.
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D American Blanket This was one of the only blankets that actually fit my 19 mo colt with room to grow. I have used Big D blankets for years and have tried several other brands over time, but these blankets have held up the best and I always come back to them.
    Date published: 2010-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from big d blankets last I recently purchased another big d blanket. I still have a big d that i purchased at least 25 years ago. I haven't seen any other blanket come close to big d's quality.
    Date published: 2010-01-14
    • 2015-08-29T13:18CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_29
    • loc_en_US, sid_6510, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.