Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Bates Stirrup Leathers

Bates Saddles
- Item #16156
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Elegant, high quality leathers, made in the luxurious Bates leather to perfectly match the Bates saddles.

Riveted buckle design reduces the thickness of the leather under your leg, and the webbing core ensures that the leathers will not stretch.

Please note these stirrup leathers are not pre-punched with half-hole sizes.

Black - 54", 58" or 63". Havana Brown - 48" or 54".

Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
These stirrups offer a 6 Way Ultimate Movement ...
Description:
These stirrups offer a 6 Way Ultimate Movement System which allows movement in any direction. Favorite Features Extremely smooth technology offers forward, backward and side to side movement and impact resistance. Comes with rubber stirrup pads and "cheese grater" pads. ...
Why We Love ThisThe Antares Nylon Lined Calfskin ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Antares Nylon Lined Calfskin Leathers are beautifully crafted and live up to the Antarès name. Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France specializing in custom made saddles and fine ...
The Centaur Grated Stirrup Pads offer excellent traction, ...
Description:
The Centaur Grated Stirrup Pads offer excellent traction, giving you a solid grip that won't slip! These stainless steel grated pads are replacement pads for the Fillis Stirrup Irons. Pair
Now you see it, now you don't! MDC's ...
Description:
Now you see it, now you don't! MDC's newly patented 'S' Models provide 45 Forward Stirrup Positioning Technology that are invisible in the show ring. Forward facing design provides makes these stirrups 'Game Changers' for the future of riding while ...
The Wintec Slimline Stirrup Straps are exceptionally strong ...
Description:
The Wintec Slimline Stirrup Straps are exceptionally strong synthetic stirrup leathers can withstand the toughest of riding. The material used is non-stretch which prevents riding with uneven length stirrups. These synthetic stirrup leathers are weatherproof and easy to clean, providing ...
Why We Love ThisThe MDC Hunter Classic Stirrup ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe MDC Hunter Classic Stirrup provides high traction and greater support for the traditional or performance minded rider. The MDC Hunter Classic features an ultra-low profile tread and is practically invisible in the show ring, allowing all ...
From Royal Riders of Italy. Lightweight (only 10 ...
Description:
From Royal Riders of Italy. Lightweight (only 10 oz) Royal Rider Flexible Stirrups are made of the highest grade polymer composite to incorporate the advantages of shock absorption with superior strength. These stirrups are flexible- increasing shock absorption qualities even ...
out of 5
91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Bates Stirrup Leathers is rated 4.625 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very soft right out of the box These are made with very nice, soft leather that is so nice you can just slap the stirrups on without treating them first. They have enough holes to adjust for me, who is 5'10", and my trainer, who is 5'2", without wrapping. The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars is because I can't comment on their durability since I've only had them a few weeks.
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from jury's still out on this purchase still need more time in the saddle to see if i like these stirrups. every ride it feels like i need to adjust them and that's a bit frustrating.
Date published: 2014-08-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice and Soft But Showing Wear Already I bought these less than a month ago, based on the high ratings. They are definitely soft and flexible as described, but I am shocked that after less than a month, there is a lot of wear on them. For example, the numbers have already started rubbing off and there is what looks like peeling where the stirrups have big slid up or down. I liked that these have the stitching on the sides and the nylon centers because I thought they'd last for a long time. I'm not so sure now that I have used them 4 times a week for about 3 weeks and they are starting to look used. From a distance, the exposed parts looks great, but anything under the flaps is starting to look less than new. My only experience with leathers has always been with old, harder leather that has lasted a few lifetimes, so perhaps this is because these are soft and less durable?
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic quality, the name you can trust I have Bates stirrups, which I used closed to 10 years. But they finally fray, so decided to shop around. After much shopping around, I ended up getting this pair, and they are even better than before. I also got other very famous company's leathers, but with $20 more, I am so happy that I got this pair. Matches great with my buffalo leather saddle.
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality leathers These are beautiful quality leathers. One tip: I am 5'6", and I ordered the 63" length - which you will need if you want the end of the leather to tuck into the keeper on your saddle.
Date published: 2014-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality with affordable price tag! Love! The black 54'' were perfect for my black monoflap jump saddle. For lined leathers they remain pretty thin, I can pull them through the stirrup bar very easily, a problem I've had with other lined leathers. Highly recommend! Want another pair to replace the ones on my dressage saddle!
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrup leathers These stirrup leathers are not just beautiful, they have a no-strech feature --which is good if you have a tendency to put more pressure on one side. It keeps you better balanced. I would highly recommend them.
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Buckle I had a pair of Bates leathers for years, and when I got a new dressage saddle (Custom Advantage), I decided my Bates were too faded and bought a pair of Passier leathers. Unfortunately, the Passier leathers have a buckle that was small and they would get sucked into the opening where the buckle is supposed to sit. This was a major problem. I returned them and got another set of Bates, which have a big enough head on the buckle that they sit nicely on the bar. Problem solved.
Date published: 2013-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice leathers Bought these for my new saddle as the Passier lined leathers I have on my black saddle do not come in brown. Seem to be very nice quality and I expect they will wear well. Little higher price than the Passier, but am pleased with them.
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok, but kind of thick these leathers seem like they'll last awhile, but i'm not a huge fan. they don't exactly match my bates saddle (maybe becaue of discoloration from oiling? or because it's an older model?), which is not a huge deal for me... but they're kind of wide and slightly thicker than i'd like, they've caused rubs on my legs even through my half chaps. i'll use them because i don't want to buy another set of leathers right now, but i wouldn't buy these again.
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy These stirrups are great, they were supple and easy to work with right from the start. They are, however slightly thick, so adjusting the length from the saddle can take some muscle, but over all I am very pleased with this purchase
Date published: 2013-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best stirrup leathers ever These are the last stirrup leathers you will ever have to buy. I bought these for my Bates Innova dressage saddle, they were a bit hard to get on but. They haven't stretched like some of the other stirrup leathers that I have tried in the past. They are worth the money.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really good Quality for Price I had needed some new stirrup leathers for my Spooner by Antares saddle that I recently purchased. These stirrups were just right. They were a little wide but nothing that would get in the way. I overall think these are really good stirrup leathers for there price.
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! No bulk from either the leathers or buckles (easily attached to my Antares saddle as well!), buttery to the touch, and the half holes make finding the proper length easy!I highly recommend these to anyone who wants good quality leathers without dishing out tons of cash!
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A reasonable substitute for Prestige leathers These leathers are nice quality and have a similar low profile buckle to Prestige. They are thicker, so were a bit more difficult to slide under the stirrup bars. I can't comment on durability because I just purchased them, but they have big shoes to fill - my Prestige leathers lasted _9 years_ without stretching or changing before the leather wore through on the edge, exposing the nylon.
Date published: 2012-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice I've had these leathers for a few weeks, and so far, I am pleased. I have had any problems with the leather cracking, and I don't see it happening in the near future. They are very substantial. The buckle is noticeable when I am not in the saddle, and it's sort of bulky. I don't mind it, though.
Date published: 2012-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Favorite leathers I like these so much these are my 3rd pair of Bates leather. They really last, do not stretch (well, after years, one stretched under 1/2 inch), and are soft from the start. The price is reasonable too.
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STURDY STIRRUP LEATHERS These are good stirrup leathers, well made with a metal end where the stirrup meets the saddle so it allows for a flat fit, not bulky. They are attractive and I am sure will last for years due to the reinforcing.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality leather I love the half holes. These make it easy to find your exact length. And you can never go wrong with Bates leather. Worth the money to have a leather stirrup that last and is of excellent quality!
Date published: 2012-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love how they don't stretch! My trainer used to always pick on me for thinking my stirrups were even when they weren't. Now she never can again!
Date published: 2012-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice soft leather and non-stretch but not bulky. Only down side is they don't have half-holes.
Date published: 2012-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice Leathers. I have had several bates saddles and used their line for years back in Australia. I now ride Western but when I do ride in a English saddle these are what I use and have used for years on my AP, Jumping & Dressage Saddles. The leathers are awesome...sooooooo soft and really, really nice leather. They really do only use the best leather. They last and last and I have never had any problems with them at all. If you need a less expensive pair of leathers but still want really good quality look up Collegiate Leathers. I Love those as well.
Date published: 2011-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely soft stirrup leathers These are the first stirrup leathers I have ever purchased that were actually soft from Day 1! They are extremely high quality, in addition to being soft, so I have no worries about their longevity. It seems that usually one can find soft leathers or durable leathers but it appears I have made no comprimises here. They are on the thicker side, I believe that was necessary in order to pair leather of this quality with the thin nylon lining. They're beautiful and will probably improve in texture and color with age; I highly recommend them. Anything less on my new Bates saddle would not have looked as nice, either.
Date published: 2009-10-05
  • 2016-09-30T12:17CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_6156, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders