Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Baker™ Breast and Butt Bar Covers

5/A Baker Products, Inc.
- Item #13167
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Baker Breast and Butt Bar Covers are constructed with proven rain sheeting fabric and available in long (30"-32") and short (21") length to accommodate a range of trailer designs. Simply hose off to clean! Baker Breast and Butt Bar Covers add an element of style to your trailer. Trailering has never looked so stylish. Original Plaid fabric. Pair includes 1 breast bar cover and 1 butt bar cover (no padding included).

Made in the USA

out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Baker™ Breast and Butt Bar Covers is rated 3.95 out of 5 by 20.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great solution This worked very well to add padding and a cover to the butt and chest bars of my trailer. I used a pool noodle, cut down one side, placed over the butt bar, and then covered with the Baker cover. The covers are generously sized--could have used thicker padding. This was a very quick, easy solution to unpadded butt and chest bars!
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't believe I found them I bought a new trailer that was used and did not have breast and butt bar covers. I searched the internet and could not find them anywhere then Smart Pak came up with Baker covers. I bought them with the matching trailer ties, hay nets and tire cover and now my used trailer looks new! If anyone is wondering, pipe insulation at the local plumbing store works great to put over the bars.
Date published: 2012-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product The covers are really super!They were easy to install,I just put them overthe foam. They are super easy to cleanWhen I first saw the material I was worriedbut they are easy to hose off
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice look These butt bar covers are very nice. They give the trailer a nice finished look. I agree with some of the other reviewers in that they don't just hose clean, but they are easy to remove and wash. I installed them right over my old covers, which was much easier than removing the old cover and installing these directly over the foam.
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Look Very Nice While these covers look very nice, they are quite difficult to put on properly. I ended up sliding them over my old covers so I didn't have to deal directly with the foam, which worked great. They did not hold the foam in place so it would drop off the bars. I simply taped the old cover onto the bar and covered with these. Easy fix and well worth it.
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice breast bar covers. I love the Baker plaid and it dresses up the inside of my trailer. I ordered the long size and they are a little too long for the breast bars in my 2-horse Hawk trailer but I just tucked the excess length under the padding and they look great. I haven't used the covers on the butt bars yet because I am not sure how well they will wash up. The covers are very snug and it is alot of working getting them on and off.
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not quite what I was expecting As expected, quality Baker product, but, a little disappointed as the covers were not what I was expecting based on the description ("rain sheeting fabric ... simply hose off to clean"). I guess I was expecting something along the lines of a water/stain resistant fabric. The covers, however, are the original baker sheet material, which while nice, is neither water or stain proof and is not a simple hose off to clean; real cleaning will require machine washing.Sizing - was a little worried about ordering the long covers, as my butt bars measure 28" but with the amount of foam I have under them, they fit just fine.As long as you are ok with these covers being the original baker sheet material and not something easy to clean they are Baker quality and really do add a classy touch to the inside of your trailer.
Date published: 2011-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Functional AND Pretty This is my second set. I now have covers for both breast bars and butt bars in the trailer. These pieces are strong and I love the fact that I can wash them when needed. They make the inside of the trailer look pretty and finished. A bit of a "luxury purchase" but they do serve a purpose. Glad I bought them.
Date published: 2011-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are great! I sold my last trailer to a friend and had to agree to send the Baker covers with the trailer! The Breast and Butt Bar covers are everything you would expect from Baker. They wash well and take the abuse of my horses. These wear like iron!
Date published: 2010-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Butt Bar Covers! Purchased these covers as replacements for the originals that came with my trailer. They fit my 4 Star straight-load trailer perfectly and have held up well thus far. I'm very happy with them.
Date published: 2010-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too short.. I wished I had measured first. Although I ordered the longest cover sold, it was too short.
Date published: 2009-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product We purchased our horse trailer in the Spring, and didnt' have any padded covers on the breastplate or butt bar. We are very happy with the Baker covers, quality material, exactly what I would expect from Baker, and they look great!
Date published: 2009-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing I purchased the butt bar covers for use in my two horse straight load trailer. These covers were not nearly long enough though I did purchase the longest length available. I pulled them out of the bag, tried them on and ended up stashing them somewhere in the trailer. I should have returned them but didn't. My advice would be to measure the length of your butt/breast bars and make sure these will fit.
Date published: 2009-03-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good For Making Home Made Trailer Covers These Baker Breast and Butt covers are very elegant. They can turn an ordinary trailer into something very professional. They are also a great tool it you want to pad your unpadded butt and chest bars. Since the covers do not come with padding and are simply slip covers you could easily go to the local hardware store or hobby store and buy foam or padding. Then tape or secure the padding, in some way, on the bars, then slip the baker covers over the padding, and all of the sudden you have padded bars that look like they have been there all along. The covers are machine washable and this is an added bonus as most padded bars aren’t. The only thing to keep in mind is that they are sold in a pair so you get 2 for the $29.95, not 4. However, that is still a great price for a very well made and helpful product.
Date published: 2005-12-30
  • 2016-10-28T12:16CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_19
  • loc_en_US, sid_3167, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders