Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Back on Track/ThinLine Contender II Saddle Pad

ThinLine
- Item #17036
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Top Manufacturers Join to Develop the “Ultimate Saddle Pad”

A joint effort of ThinLine® and Back on Track® has resulted in the Contender II Saddle Pad which is undeniably the most technically advanced saddle pad available in the world. The new shimable (shims sold separately) saddle pad delivers therapeutic thermal heat from the Back on Track fabric combined with the renowned shock absorbing properties made famous by ThinLine.

The technologically advanced Contender II Saddle Pad from ThinLine and Back On Track is available for Dressage and Jumping. ThinLine is very well known for their lightweight shock absorbing saddle pads.

The Ultra ThinLine is a popular item and the same technology is utilized in the Contender II saddle pad. Many top riders have ridden in the traditional Ultra ThinLine for years to absorb shock, distribute weight and stabilize the saddle by using a wonderful no-slip impact technology. The shock absorption is designed to help horses and riders reduce back pain. In addition top riders in a number of disciplines depend on Back on Track products to maintain their horses in the best condition possible. Back on Track products are made from a one-of-a-kind fabric that blends ceramic powder into polyester threads. The result is the horse’s body heat is reflected back in the form of a soothing thermal infrared ray that increases circulation. For horses, Back on Track manufactures a number of products including stable blankets, hock boots, saddle pads, and leg wraps. Each product has the ability to help reduce muscle soreness, inflammation, and stiffness. Back on Track products are recommended for both the treatment and prevention of stress related injuries.

Sizing It Up

Dressage Pads should fit most saddles up to 18.5" measures 22" spine and 21" drop at the center of the spine

All Purpose Pads should fit most saddles up to 18.5" measures 22" along the spine and 19.5" drop at the center of the spine



You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Back on Track/ThinLine Contender II Saddle Pad is rated 4.6667 out of 5 by 42.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! It absolutely works to heat up his back muscles and he is less sore when we ride. Only wish it came in more colors and was cheaper! It is a little hard to wash and after reading reviews I opted to hand wash it with Ivory soap (neutral pH) and a small scrub brush, then leave it draped in the sun to dry. It worked very well but was time consuming and took 36 hours to dry.
    Date published: 2014-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It just makes sense, AND it works!! I bought one of these in black a few years ago. I have tried many pads over the years, and this is the best I've found. It makes sense to join the shock absorption elements of the Thinline with the muscle warming elements of Back on Track. It is very durable, and I love the double billet keepers I don't want to have to stack multiple pads, which can compromise the fit of the saddle. This simplifies things. I ordered a white one just for showing. My mare's back is definitely more swingy when I use this pad. Great product!
    Date published: 2014-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is literally the best pad I have. I bought this pad based on the reviews of other Smart Pak customers. I am not disappointed. This pad is better than some that cost twice as much. I plan to by 3 more! Thank you, Smart Pak, for offering such a great product!
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product has performed very well-less slippage, cool back on horse.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All in one! I bought this for my new 6 yr old pony.  The thin line was recommended to use with my Custom Saddle. My pony will be developing with training and I want to allow her all the comfort she deserves. Plus I have had experience with the Back on Track with the 20 year old jumper I was riding(who can still beat all those in a jump off) The bonus of this pad is that is had two of my favorite tools put together allowing for optimal comfort, protection and therapy with less bulk as well. I plan to buy a dressage pad as well!
    Date published: 2014-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad! I bought this pad for my sensitive Morgan mare who can be cold-backed, hot, and hollow. This pad has worked wonders for her already. I noticed right away that she stood for mounting and didn't try to scoot out from under me like she sometimes does with other pads. She required much less warm-up time before she became round and obedient. I also bought the shims because she is asymmetrical, and the shim slid right in without a problem and I could tell right away that my stirrups were perfectly even.I read in some of the reviews that buyers thought this pad might be a little flimsy. I haven't found that to be true at all--in fact, I think the pad is very thick and extremely well-constructed. The Thinline part of the pad may make it a little stiffer than a regular Back On Track pad, so I would recommend washing in a front loader instead of a machine that has a central agitator.Overall, this was a fantastic purchase, and totally worth the money if your horse takes a long time to warm up and exhibits cold-backed tendencies. I had used a regular Back On Track pad before this one, and I can honestly say that this one works even better for my mare and is worth the extra money if you want to hit the ground running right when you get on your horse. It's worth paying the extra money to not have to lunge her every time I ride!
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems like an ordinary pad to me. I bought this because of the wonderful reviews. I guess I will just have to have faith that it is doing something beneficial for my horse. It seems like a high quality pad, but not sure if it is worth the high price tag. The fabric doesn't seem to be anything extraordinary.
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great pad! I've tried MANY pads on my sensitive OTTB who tends to get a little sore in the back (even though his saddle is properly fitted and we do lots of bodywork.) He improved when I changed to the plain BOT pad, but still wasn't entirely happy with the thought of tacking up -- so I read about the BOT with the Thinline pad, and decided to give it a try. We've had five rides in this new pad, and for the last two times we've tacked up, he finally did NOT pin his ears at the sight of the pad, or the feel of it going onto his back. In fact, he seemed to like it when the pad was placed on his back! He seems more relaxed in general, and I do think the pad made a difference! Haven't washed it yet so can't speak to durability, but at this point, I'm glad i decided to try it and will only use this pad from now on. Looks great, too, and I like the Thinline material being attached to the pad so I don't have to fuss with placement of a separate half-pad. If you have a sensitive horse with back issues, and have addressed any potential spinal or saddle fit causes, and whatever else might be amiss, then definitely try this pad.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from so far really love it! I've gone through many pads for my sensitive OTTB gelding who has a tendency to have a stiff back and what appear to be muscle spasms as we tack up. Makes him grumpy! Done everything -- saddle fit, chiro, accupuncture, xrays, bodywork. And while he improved, he still had issues. So I read that this pad with the thinline was great, and thought I'd try it. Only used for it about four rides so far, and today was the first day in months when he didn't seem to resent seeing me come out with the tack, or having the pad put on his back. I'm doing a few things to alleviate his discomfort and anticipation of some pain (like massaging with magnesium oil, and changing the location of where we tack up), but I think the pad is big part of his improved attitude -- if he doesn't like something, he tries to bite it, and from the start he just wanted to touch the pad gently. So I would recommend it. Also seems well made, and having the thin line pad attached to the normal BOT pad is really smart.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Be careful washing! I really love the close contact feel of the pad compared to using sheepskin. It is well made, and fits nicely. The only reason I put a low star for durability is because I washed it the first time on gentle cold cycle with Woolite and the machine unfortunately caught the Thinlite pad and ripped it. I will try to flip the pad around next time. Very disappointing for first time washing on such an expensive pad!
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This pad eliminated all back problems in my sensitive Thoroughbred. I had to buy shims of course, mostly for the extra padding. He has been introduced to new training that is really stressing his back muscles and this pad alleviates the pain. I love it.My only complaint is that it is really hard to clean. Really hard. The only way I foresee getting it clean is taking it to a dry cleaners or a laundry mat with a large machine.I also don't know how durable it is, so we'll see as time progresses.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Liked at first BUT impossible to get clean! Hi,Bought for a horse with back problems. I like that the pad stays in place, and horse seems fine with it. BUT it is impossible to clean. It's really big and the thinline pad part is really stiff, so if you put it in a pretty big washing machine (the top loader type), it doesn't agitate properly and is really hard to clean. Then eventually somehow the washing machine sliced through the thinline pad part, so I guess now it's trashed. Am thinking to rather buy separate back on track pad with separate thin-line pad, hopefully easier to clean.
    Date published: 2013-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad Just received my AP pad - Love It and my horse loves it even more. Have been a big fan of Back on Track products - this is a great combo. Even better it FIT my County jumping saddle just perfect!!
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Back on Track has our horses best interest in mind as obvious from using this product. It works!
    Date published: 2013-03-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Pad Well I do like how the pad fits under the saddle, and how easy it is to have the shims go right into the pad. It also washed really well! The only issue I have with it is some of the stitching where the billets of the saddle lie have come undone, and I have only had the pad a month. Luckily my mother is a seamstress and will fix it for me but otherwise I would have to get it repaired already.
    Date published: 2013-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this pad! I have a 17.1h warmblood with high withers. For years I have used a shearling half pad to protect his withers but have always struggled to get the two pads perfectly aligned. This pad does it all. It ensures that the saddle is off his withers (using the additional shims) and is very well made and handsome. Not to mention the Back on Track therapeautic qualities, which I strongly believe in.
    Date published: 2013-02-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warms up my horses back while grooming I do notice a difference in how quickly my older horse warms up with this pad so I am glad I purchased. I think I recommend that basic pad without the thinline pad because I'm not sure that addition is really worth the extra cost. The cost is why I only gave it 4 stars.
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horse seems to warm up more quickly I recently decided to make the rather large investment in this saddle pad on the recommendation of a trainer. While I can't say the results are very noticeable, I do think he warms up quicker and moves out better. I also really like the idea that you can purchase optional shims to slightly adjust the saddle fit.
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product I really like this saddle pad. I've tried it on several horses that have a tense back and it seems to have made them more comfortable. I've had the pad for about 6 months. Prior to this I had a thinline over a regular pad, but this is much better because I don't have to worry about getting it placed just right or the thinline slipping. The ability to use shims has come in handy when I had a horse I was getting back into shape after injury, as I was able to adjust the shims as he changed shape and got more fit. I hand wash it and let it air dry and it always comes out looking nice. The "thinline" imprint is starting to wear off, but that's not really an issue to me. The lettering on the strap that the girth goes through doesn't get as white as it was originally, though I imagine it might if you wash it more frequently... but no one can see it so it does not really matter to me.
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from this pad really helps my horse and I My horse was acting like something wasn't quite right so i bought this pad and shims . He moved better than he did in months. Next day the chiro worked on him and the poor hoses withers and back were out of alignment .i don't want To ride an injured horse again but it says alot about the pad
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful! My retired eventer TB turned trail horse came out of winter with a sore back. Everytime I got on he would roach his back and act ouchy, like he was "cold backed". I found this pad and read the reviews. I was sceptical because of the price, but got it based on the reviews. I have had three great rides with this pad. I ususally take my time tacking and do some light lunging to help with the warming effect of the pad. Overall: I am very happy with this pad and it has exceeded my expectations! Would certainly recommend this pad to others.
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the pricetag My WB gelding had some backsoreness issues this fall, so the saddlefitter recommended that I look into Back on Track or Thinline products to alieviate my horses pain issues. I came across the BOT Contender saddlepad and have used it ever since. As I groom his body, I already place the saddlepad on his back, to let the ceramic properties do their magic. Especially during our cold winter days in the NorthEast I feel confident that my horses back is already warming up, while I am still grooming. This saddlepad, while pricey, is definetely worth the money. My WB is back to his cheery self in the crossties and more relaxed and willing under saddle.
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad Looking for a pad that helped with slippageIn my treeless Ansur saddle, it's great
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money! I own a wonderful but very stiff WB mare. My trainer and I have been working on getting her supple now since I bought her a year ago. I've tried supplements, chiro, injections and accupuncture. I thought why not try the BOT products too! Well I've had this pad for about 1 month and absolutely LOVE it. My mare is really coming round under saddle and carrying herself beautifully without me even asking. I haven't tried anything new lately so I'm pretty sure I can contribute the change to this pad. Definitely worth the money and has even prompted me to try the mesh sheet!
    Date published: 2011-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every dime I was a bit uneasy purchasing this pad due to its high cost. After a few rides, I am completely sold. The first ride created a more rounded horse and a more stable riding position. I purchased the black due to uncertainty in keeping the white up to show standards and I hope to throw a white baby pad over it for actual shows. the quality is great and it is truly worth the money. I would buy a white one if I could afford it :) the ceramic fibers kept my horse completely cool under the saddle in the 90 degree heat while my friend's horse had a heat emanating, sweat covered back. try it!
    Date published: 2011-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase have had clients by the same product it was out of ths world to ride in
    Date published: 2011-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Pad! I have an ultra thin line pad that I use with my everyday dressage pads in the summer. This is ok but sometimes so hard to get the pads just right! I LOVE the combination of the ceramic in the "back on track" pad for warmth and cushion of the ultra thin line...and no worries about pad placement! Love it!!
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saddle pa Excellent saddle pad. I love the support this saddle pad gives to the saddle and to my horse and me. He really enjoys the extra room that it gives him with the saddle for his shoulders.
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Saddle Pad I bought this pad for starting my Friesian mare, and since she is just getting used to carrying a saddle I started bringing the pad to work with me. I am a therapeutic horseback riding instructor at a center where we have around 30 horses. I began putting the dressage pad under the normal western pads of some of our horses that have routinely sore backs and the change in their attitudes and work ethic has been so positive. Because of this pad our horses are more comfortable, our volunteers are saved from having to deal with a crabby horse, and the riders get a better experience. I wish we had one of these pads for each of our horses.
    Date published: 2011-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Back on Track products are great I have given this to my trainer to use when riding my horse who is coming back after injury. My thinking was that his saddle may or not fit my horse and this would decrease possiblle discomfort from being ridden in his saddle. Also, i thought that it would simplify things for the trainer, e.g. no baby pad or half pad etc, just one pad that covers several conncerns. Anyway, I am familier with Back on Track products and have been very pleased, I own the leg wraps and hock boots.I have not yet washed the pad, so can't comment on how well it washes up.
    Date published: 2011-03-16
    • 2015-08-29T12:52CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_40
    • loc_en_US, sid_7036, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.