Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Back on Track/ThinLine Contender II Saddle Pad

- Item #17036
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Top Manufacturers Join to Develop the “Ultimate Saddle Pad”

A joint effort of ThinLine® and Back on Track® has resulted in the Contender II Saddle Pad which is undeniably the most technically advanced saddle pad available in the world. The new shimable (shims sold separately) saddle pad delivers therapeutic thermal heat from the Back on Track fabric combined with the renowned shock absorbing properties made famous by ThinLine.

The technologically advanced Contender II Saddle Pad from ThinLine and Back On Track is available for Dressage and Jumping. ThinLine is very well known for their lightweight shock absorbing saddle pads.

The Ultra ThinLine is a popular item and the same technology is utilized in the Contender II saddle pad. Many top riders have ridden in the traditional Ultra ThinLine for years to absorb shock, distribute weight and stabilize the saddle by using a wonderful no-slip impact technology. The shock absorption is designed to help horses and riders reduce back pain. In addition top riders in a number of disciplines depend on Back on Track products to maintain their horses in the best condition possible. Back on Track products are made from a one-of-a-kind fabric that blends ceramic powder into polyester threads. The result is the horse’s body heat is reflected back in the form of a soothing thermal infrared ray that increases circulation. For horses, Back on Track manufactures a number of products including stable blankets, hock boots, saddle pads, and leg wraps. Each product has the ability to help reduce muscle soreness, inflammation, and stiffness. Back on Track products are recommended for both the treatment and prevention of stress related injuries.

Sizing It Up

Dressage Pads should fit most saddles up to 18.5" measures 22" spine and 21" drop at the center of the spine

All Purpose Pads should fit most saddles up to 18.5" measures 22" along the spine and 19.5" drop at the center of the spine

Customers Also Shopped For
A top seller, this cotton base design gives ...
A top seller, this cotton base design gives your Ultra ThinLine a whole level of performance. As an added benefit, this pad is also shimmable. Favorite Features Improves rider equitation Maximum rider and saddle stability Contoured wither profile creates a ...
A must have pad perfect for schooling or ...
A must have pad perfect for schooling or for showing made more unique because of its wicking lining! Girth loops and billet straps keep pad in place even during the most rigorous rides. 100% cotton with a wicking 100% polyester ...
We thought about what we want, as riders, ...
We thought about what we want, as riders, when we're shopping for saddle pads. Then we brought it to life. Outstanding quality, classic styling, and unbeatable prices. Perfect for schooling. Favorite Features Lightweight Breathable Quilted Poly/cotton blend. Imported.Sizing It Up ...
The Equine Comfort Products Sheepskin Contour Pad is ...
The Equine Comfort Products Sheepskin Contour Pad is lightweight and breathable to regulate temperature and wick moisture away. Made from genuine sheepskin. Favorite Features Open channel design alleviates pressure on the spine for a more comfortable fit Designed to fit ...
Mattes Pads are known worldwide for their quality ...
Mattes Pads are known worldwide for their quality and design innovations. Following this tradition of excellence, Mattes is proud to present the E.A. Mattes Couture Collection. The Couture Collection offers a multitude of quilt, sheepskin, and binding colors, allowing you ...
Tired of schooling in a plain white saddle ...
Tired of schooling in a plain white saddle pad?The SmartPak Pattern AP Saddle Pad is just what you need! This pad is elegantly styled in classic colors with lovely coordinating two-tone rope trim. This pad is perfect for schooling due ...
out of 5
92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Back on Track/ThinLine Contender II Saddle Pad is rated 4.679245283018868 out of 5 by 53.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing combination product I bought this when Smart Pak was offering additional savings because they never go on sale. Love back on track products, especially the saddle pads and combining it with the thin line keeps my saddle right where I put it! White for shows...black for training!
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it Have been using the Back on Track saddle pad with a Thin Line half pad. This is so much better
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! I Have an older model. This one has good wither relief plus non slip thinline feature.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whoa! I Love this Pad! I was just hoping that this pad might, over time, help my guy's back to be a little less sore. I never would have expected to feel such a huge difference, from the very first trot step. My Thoroughbred's bouncy trot was so much easier to sit, even with the stormy weather making him tense and spooky. I could even feel a major increase in throughness at the walk! I can't wait to try this pad on every other horse I ride.
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Pad Ever! My horse loved this pad from the minute I put it on him! He is so, so sensitive that even the slightest wrinkle in a pad or tiny bit of slippage bothers him. This unified pad works so well as we don't have to worry about a baby pad and half pad. Plus, I have also noticed that he warms up much more quickly, which I credit to the back-on-track material. Plus, it actually fits him--he is 17hh with a huge wither and widens out fast; every other pad I've tried on him winds up with the bottom at a diagonal, but not this one! Washes great but does tend to be like velcro for shedding hair. Inconsequential to me with how much we love this pad--I cannot say enough good things about it!!
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent pad for a sensitive back! My aging gelding has a somewhat sensitive back, and I wanted to provide him with a pad that would offer some relief - but since he is a wider draft cross, I didn't want a lot of excess padding under my saddle. This did the trick. He is more comfortable in this pad and is not displaying the same level of sensitivity as before.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the combination! I'm a loyal Back on Track saddle pad gal. Recently I had to purchase a Thinline half pad. When I saw that the company combined the two, I was sold! As an event rider, there's so much to pack and carry. Combining equipment makes my life easier!!
Date published: 2015-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feature for my horses back I love this one because, my horse has had issues with his back and hind end.. When I am riding him it seems like his back is not sore as much....
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing pad! I never thought a saddle pad can make such difference. The horse I am currently riding is out of shape and need to learn how to balance again. We had issues before with a cold, sore back after riding. He is very hard to sit since he has a hard time giving his back. Now, with this pad, he is willing and trying more to give his back. Best part, his back is not sore anymore. I can sit much quieter and I need less muscle force to accomplish that. It is easier on my back. I am more relaxed while riding and I also don't have a sore back anymore. Love this pad! When I take it off his back is so warm but not sweaty. It feels like he had a heating pad on.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this! My high withered OTTB loves this pad! Absorbs more shock for me as well. Both our backs are very happy! The pad has resulted in Jack using his back muscles more. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad! Bought this pad for my thoroughbred and it's great for his back. He was starting to get rubbed on the top of his withers - this alleviated it! Plus, I had you guys embroider it and it turned out fabulous!!
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! It absolutely works to heat up his back muscles and he is less sore when we ride. Only wish it came in more colors and was cheaper! It is a little hard to wash and after reading reviews I opted to hand wash it with Ivory soap (neutral pH) and a small scrub brush, then leave it draped in the sun to dry. It worked very well but was time consuming and took 36 hours to dry.
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It just makes sense, AND it works!! I bought one of these in black a few years ago. I have tried many pads over the years, and this is the best I've found. It makes sense to join the shock absorption elements of the Thinline with the muscle warming elements of Back on Track. It is very durable, and I love the double billet keepers I don't want to have to stack multiple pads, which can compromise the fit of the saddle. This simplifies things. I ordered a white one just for showing. My mare's back is definitely more swingy when I use this pad. Great product!
Date published: 2014-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is literally the best pad I have. I bought this pad based on the reviews of other Smart Pak customers. I am not disappointed. This pad is better than some that cost twice as much. I plan to by 3 more! Thank you, Smart Pak, for offering such a great product!
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product has performed very well-less slippage, cool back on horse.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All in one! I bought this for my new 6 yr old pony.  The thin line was recommended to use with my Custom Saddle. My pony will be developing with training and I want to allow her all the comfort she deserves. Plus I have had experience with the Back on Track with the 20 year old jumper I was riding(who can still beat all those in a jump off) The bonus of this pad is that is had two of my favorite tools put together allowing for optimal comfort, protection and therapy with less bulk as well. I plan to buy a dressage pad as well!
Date published: 2014-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad! I bought this pad for my sensitive Morgan mare who can be cold-backed, hot, and hollow. This pad has worked wonders for her already. I noticed right away that she stood for mounting and didn't try to scoot out from under me like she sometimes does with other pads. She required much less warm-up time before she became round and obedient. I also bought the shims because she is asymmetrical, and the shim slid right in without a problem and I could tell right away that my stirrups were perfectly even.I read in some of the reviews that buyers thought this pad might be a little flimsy. I haven't found that to be true at all--in fact, I think the pad is very thick and extremely well-constructed. The Thinline part of the pad may make it a little stiffer than a regular Back On Track pad, so I would recommend washing in a front loader instead of a machine that has a central agitator.Overall, this was a fantastic purchase, and totally worth the money if your horse takes a long time to warm up and exhibits cold-backed tendencies. I had used a regular Back On Track pad before this one, and I can honestly say that this one works even better for my mare and is worth the extra money if you want to hit the ground running right when you get on your horse. It's worth paying the extra money to not have to lunge her every time I ride!
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems like an ordinary pad to me. I bought this because of the wonderful reviews. I guess I will just have to have faith that it is doing something beneficial for my horse. It seems like a high quality pad, but not sure if it is worth the high price tag. The fabric doesn't seem to be anything extraordinary.
Date published: 2013-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great pad! I've tried MANY pads on my sensitive OTTB who tends to get a little sore in the back (even though his saddle is properly fitted and we do lots of bodywork.) He improved when I changed to the plain BOT pad, but still wasn't entirely happy with the thought of tacking up -- so I read about the BOT with the Thinline pad, and decided to give it a try. We've had five rides in this new pad, and for the last two times we've tacked up, he finally did NOT pin his ears at the sight of the pad, or the feel of it going onto his back. In fact, he seemed to like it when the pad was placed on his back! He seems more relaxed in general, and I do think the pad made a difference! Haven't washed it yet so can't speak to durability, but at this point, I'm glad i decided to try it and will only use this pad from now on. Looks great, too, and I like the Thinline material being attached to the pad so I don't have to fuss with placement of a separate half-pad. If you have a sensitive horse with back issues, and have addressed any potential spinal or saddle fit causes, and whatever else might be amiss, then definitely try this pad.
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so far really love it! I've gone through many pads for my sensitive OTTB gelding who has a tendency to have a stiff back and what appear to be muscle spasms as we tack up. Makes him grumpy! Done everything -- saddle fit, chiro, accupuncture, xrays, bodywork. And while he improved, he still had issues. So I read that this pad with the thinline was great, and thought I'd try it. Only used for it about four rides so far, and today was the first day in months when he didn't seem to resent seeing me come out with the tack, or having the pad put on his back. I'm doing a few things to alleviate his discomfort and anticipation of some pain (like massaging with magnesium oil, and changing the location of where we tack up), but I think the pad is big part of his improved attitude -- if he doesn't like something, he tries to bite it, and from the start he just wanted to touch the pad gently. So I would recommend it. Also seems well made, and having the thin line pad attached to the normal BOT pad is really smart.
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Be careful washing! I really love the close contact feel of the pad compared to using sheepskin. It is well made, and fits nicely. The only reason I put a low star for durability is because I washed it the first time on gentle cold cycle with Woolite and the machine unfortunately caught the Thinlite pad and ripped it. I will try to flip the pad around next time. Very disappointing for first time washing on such an expensive pad!
Date published: 2013-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This pad eliminated all back problems in my sensitive Thoroughbred. I had to buy shims of course, mostly for the extra padding. He has been introduced to new training that is really stressing his back muscles and this pad alleviates the pain. I love it.My only complaint is that it is really hard to clean. Really hard. The only way I foresee getting it clean is taking it to a dry cleaners or a laundry mat with a large machine.I also don't know how durable it is, so we'll see as time progresses.
Date published: 2013-06-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Liked at first BUT impossible to get clean! Hi,Bought for a horse with back problems. I like that the pad stays in place, and horse seems fine with it. BUT it is impossible to clean. It's really big and the thinline pad part is really stiff, so if you put it in a pretty big washing machine (the top loader type), it doesn't agitate properly and is really hard to clean. Then eventually somehow the washing machine sliced through the thinline pad part, so I guess now it's trashed. Am thinking to rather buy separate back on track pad with separate thin-line pad, hopefully easier to clean.
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad Just received my AP pad - Love It and my horse loves it even more. Have been a big fan of Back on Track products - this is a great combo. Even better it FIT my County jumping saddle just perfect!!
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Back on Track has our horses best interest in mind as obvious from using this product. It works!
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Pad Well I do like how the pad fits under the saddle, and how easy it is to have the shims go right into the pad. It also washed really well! The only issue I have with it is some of the stitching where the billets of the saddle lie have come undone, and I have only had the pad a month. Luckily my mother is a seamstress and will fix it for me but otherwise I would have to get it repaired already.
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this pad! I have a 17.1h warmblood with high withers. For years I have used a shearling half pad to protect his withers but have always struggled to get the two pads perfectly aligned. This pad does it all. It ensures that the saddle is off his withers (using the additional shims) and is very well made and handsome. Not to mention the Back on Track therapeautic qualities, which I strongly believe in.
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warms up my horses back while grooming I do notice a difference in how quickly my older horse warms up with this pad so I am glad I purchased. I think I recommend that basic pad without the thinline pad because I'm not sure that addition is really worth the extra cost. The cost is why I only gave it 4 stars.
Date published: 2012-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horse seems to warm up more quickly I recently decided to make the rather large investment in this saddle pad on the recommendation of a trainer. While I can't say the results are very noticeable, I do think he warms up quicker and moves out better. I also really like the idea that you can purchase optional shims to slightly adjust the saddle fit.
Date published: 2012-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product I really like this saddle pad. I've tried it on several horses that have a tense back and it seems to have made them more comfortable. I've had the pad for about 6 months. Prior to this I had a thinline over a regular pad, but this is much better because I don't have to worry about getting it placed just right or the thinline slipping. The ability to use shims has come in handy when I had a horse I was getting back into shape after injury, as I was able to adjust the shims as he changed shape and got more fit. I hand wash it and let it air dry and it always comes out looking nice. The "thinline" imprint is starting to wear off, but that's not really an issue to me. The lettering on the strap that the girth goes through doesn't get as white as it was originally, though I imagine it might if you wash it more frequently... but no one can see it so it does not really matter to me.
Date published: 2012-10-08
  • 2016-10-20T12:42CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_7036, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders