Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Back on Track Western Pad

Back on Track
- Item #20171
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Give your cold-backed horse (or any horse, for that matter) the edge with Back on Track's western pad. Top riders worldwide have found that using this thin pad under their regular pad greatly improves their horse's performance.

Favorite Features

  • Made of polypropylene combined with Back on Track's state-of-the-art Weltex fabric, which is infused with ceramic powder to reflect your horse’s natural body warmth, creating a soothing infrared thermal heat
  • Speeds up warm-up time
  • Provides relief for tired muscles by increasing blood flow
  • Great for training or competing

Imported.

Sizing It Up

29" spine
16" drop

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Built to last, this saddle pad is an ...
    Description:
    Built to last, this saddle pad is an investment in your horse's comfort. It contains 100% virgin wool which offers superior quality, wicking, cooling, and compression protection. The cut of the pad is specifically designed for horses with flatter or ...
    The Cashel Western Cushion is engineered to provide ...
    Description:
    The Cashel Western Cushion is engineered to provide outstanding back protection and shock absorbency. Unique closed cell foam originally designed for the aero-space industry will not collapse, absorb, or add unnecessary weight the way liquid gel pads do. Conforming to ...
    Protect your valuable show pads and saddles with ...
    Description:
    Protect your valuable show pads and saddles with the Professional Choice Saddle Pad Liner. 1/4" needle punch felt is composed of a long lasting 80% wool/20% poly blend. The perfect complement to your SMx Air Ride&trade saddle pad, or any ...
    This colorful Herculon saddle pad is lightweight with ...
    Description:
    This colorful Herculon saddle pad is lightweight with a ½" orthopedic felt inside to absorb shock. Favorite Features A futurity front for wither relief Features Tacky-Too bottom Contoured to fit the shape of the horse's back Sizing it Up 29" ...
    This pad features Tacky Too Material and weighs ...
    Description:
    This pad features Tacky Too Material and weighs 40% less than traditional pads making it ideal for trail or barrel riders. Favorite Features Non-slip, breathable material Lightweight, moisture management felt Reduces heat build-up and wicks moisture from horses back Dries ...
    Built to last, this saddle pad is an ...
    Description:
    Built to last, this saddle pad is an investment in your horse's comfort. It contains 100% virgin wool which offers superior quality, wicking, cooling, and compression protection. The cut of the pad, a French curve back line with wither slope, ...
    Built to last, this square skirted saddle pad ...
    Description:
    Built to last, this square skirted saddle pad with gullet hole is an investment in your horse's comfort. It contains 100% virgin wool which offers superior quality, wicking, cooling, and compression protection. The cut of the pad, a French curve ...
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Back on Track Western Pad is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 44.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Shows under pads This is advertised as an under-saddle-pad pad. However, it is larger than my western pad and sticks out looking unsightly.There are standard pad sizes and this should be made and inch or two smaller width and length wise to be concealed by the regular pad.I was VERY pleased that I was able to return it easily to SmartPak!Since I did not use it, I can't comment on its value, efficacy or durability.
    Date published: 2015-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Complete wet saddle pad sign
    Date published: 2015-06-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice but slips out from under my every day pad I like the idea of this item and when it stays in place it really helps keep a nice even sweat mark on my mares back... The only downfall is that it is made for a horse with extremely high withers and slides out from under my work pad and saddle after about 20-30 minutes of ride time. I have to get off, re-position or just pull it off completely...
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast service, great product I was glad to find you had this product. I received it about 2 weeks ago and love it!
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love your Horse, This will show it! I was a sceptic, but Back on Track products work! This was the third item we purchased for our show horse. We ride her in it for her training. She is never sore.
    Date published: 2015-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great aid! Seems to help keep my cutting horse's back from getting stiff/sore. Helps keep muscles warm, limber and ready!
    Date published: 2015-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cold backed horse Just got a new horse whoes cold backed I put this pad on her while grooming and getting ready fits great under my reg pad makes a world of a difference
    Date published: 2015-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for cold backs I have used a few other back on track products, so I went for the western pad for my filly who takes a longer time to warm up, the pad has made her much much more comfortable.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS I used my friend's pad until my mom bought me one for christmas for myself, I'm so excited. great for my cold backed grumpy mare!!
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase! I bought this to try out. My trainer has the leg wraps, hock boots and I love the results. My horse loves this pad.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad! This is a great saddle pad for Western saddles; however, one glitch. It slips backward while I'm riding. I'm going to look at the reviews and see if anyone else is experiencing this and try to resolve it. By the end of the ride the pad has slipped back considerably. It's a good thickness for saddles like mine that don't need a thick pad under (it's a Crates saddle).
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I think these products really work ! Really well built
    Date published: 2014-10-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from too long for short backed Arabs Wanted to try this as my gelding has had a sore shoulder and trouble taking his right lead. Unfortunately, the pad only comes in one size and was way too long for him. Wish I could have used it on him - I use the back on track shirts and they do make a difference for humans. Pad was nicely made, good quality. Most likely a good product for average to larger horses, (QH, TB)
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad I'm in love with this pad. My horse's back sweat is even and it does not move under my saddle pad. It's much easier to take this pad and clean it than to clean my whole pad. I've used it about a month now and have found no faults to it. I love BOT products and was glad to add this one to them.
    Date published: 2014-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfied! Ive been using this pad for about a month now and love it! I was hesitant about switching from a thick felt pad to such a thin pad but the therapeutic effects have greatly helped my horse with her lower back soreness!!
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great! I bought this blanket over a month ago, wasn't sure about it but thought I would give it a try!! I love it, my horse was always stiff and with the blanket it really loosens his muscles up!! So happy I got it!!
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I received this under pad about 2 weeks ago. I am extremely happy I bought it. A friend loaned me one and i I wanted one right away. My horses run barrels and work hard. The back on track pad gives them some back therapy every time I ride. I feel they are more comfortable working while wearing it. Very happy I made the purchase. Plus I received free back on track wraps with my pad, that was an extra bonus as I use them regularly as well.
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great My horse tends to get body sore, but after a week of using this pad, it has been noticeably better. I ride mostly in an English saddle and bought this pad to cover the length along his back, rather than the standard English pad.
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad! Bought this for my reining horse who doesn't have issues but thought it wouldnt hurt to give him some soothing comfort and keep him happy and supple. He seems to enjoy it i put it on before wrapping his legs and he starts licking and lowering his head.
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pad doesn't stay in place I was very excited to get this BoT pad. I placed my order when they were giving a set of leg wraps with the pad - I didn't get the wraps and no one was able to explain why except "BoT only sent so many." I placed the order the day I received my email with the offer from SmartPak . OK...very disappointed in SmartPak but that is the first time they have ever let me down. I kept the pad. It does what it's supposed to do - it nicely warmed my 17 yr old's back and she appeared very comfortable ---while the pad was in place. It's not thick enough to use without another western pad and it definitely did not stay where it was supposed to. After about 10 minutes of light work I finally removed the pad. Plan B: I tried the pad under my English saddle where it stayed somewhat better. I thought about using a no slip pad under this pad but wouldn't that defeat the purpose? Knowing what I know now, would I buy this pad? Probably not for Western but maybe for English.
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I purchased two of the Back On Track Western Pads to use as awards at a recent horse show. The recipients were very interested to try this product. It was a reined cow horse event and these horses do get sore backs from the twisting and hard stops they do while working a cow. Anything we can do to make them more comfortable is worth trying. I had heard excellent reviews of some other Back on Track Products and decided to try these pads.
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bought this rode in it a few times and I returned it because it slides around under my pad
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad! I purchased this pad for my husbands rope horse that has a sensitive back. I love how thin and SOFT it is. The shape of the pad is just perfect, I love that it has a shaped spine so as not to add extra wither pressure. An added benefit is its a great pad liner and is super easy to wash. It certainly helps him not get stiff and back sore the day after the ropings. It keeps him loose and warm. I was usure at first about adding extra "heat" as I live in already warm climate but as other reviewers have said it really does have a deep soothing warmth, not the "sweat pouring down the sides" kind of heat. Now I just need to get another one for MY horse!
    Date published: 2014-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad I purchased this pad for my 24yr old who doesn't really have any back issues but in the winter months needs just a bit extra time to warm up. This pad was just enough to warm his back up while I groomed and tacked up so when I got on he was ready to go! As just a side note be warned the underside of this pad is like felt and if your horse is going through shedding season this pad is a hair magnet.
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it says! We barrel race and I have friends who use and love Back on Track products. I have used magnets in the past but was willing to try this type of therapy saddle pad as a liner under my regular pad. It is thin enough and gives big benefits. The pad does everything is says it does. I am very very happy I purchased this back on track pad.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased with this pad on my TN Walker It sets really well under my regular pad and endurance saddle. I've noticed a big difference within the first few rides and so has Ranger. He is 16.1hh and about 1300lbs. He will throw a fit if it's not on him for riding. I just recently took him to Land Between the Lakes in KY and this pad was very durable in the woods just as it is in the arena. I just started using this pad on my Rocky Mtn horse whom is always spooky and nervous and put it on my Spotted Saddle Horse which we are just now starting under saddle. It fit all 3 horses fine.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really makes a difference I was very skeptical of this pad when I first purchased it. From the moment that I pulled it out of the packaging though it has not stopped amazing me. It is thin like a normal quilted english pad and fits perfectly beneath my western pad. I put it on my horse the moment that I am done grooming his back and let it sit on him while I finish grooming the rest of him. There is a obvious difference in heat from his shoulder to under the pad. It is mid summer where we are and I was really worried that he would be sweaty before we even began riding but he was fine. The heat beneath the pad was very soothing. I have really noticed a difference after the ride and the next day. He no longer is stiff when we start riding and stays loose after the ride. I find that there is no swelling around an old injury that would normally swell the next day.I have used this pad beneath my english saddle and it reaches far enough back that it provides soothing heat everywhere that I want. I have felt the difference in his stride and his ability to bend. His muscles are definitely not as tense as they were.I have washed it now and it did tend to hold on to the hair but it came out looking very nice. The back did not fade. It dried in the same shape that it was in when I put it in the washer. So as far as quality is concerned the fabric seems very durable and held up to washing with a very mild detergent. I followed the directions that were sent with the pad, just be sure never to dry it. I plan on purchasing several of the other back on track products for the future.This pad was well worth it.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Being kind to me horse. Feel like I'm doing right by my horse when I ride him with this pad. Well worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back on Track Western Pad The countour shape fits the horse's back nicely.After 30+ minutes of training the horse had broke a sweat but was dry where the back on track pad was. My horse never showed signs of soreness afterwards and seemed more content.Easy to clean.
    Date published: 2013-03-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jury is still out. I acquired a very cold-backed and cinchy mare. We take approximately 20 minutes to saddle and she still feels obligated to try and bite or to buck after she is saddled. I have used this pad 3x now and she has not bucked once saddled and moving which is a great improvement. It is thin and easily fits beneath her regular pad. I have some concern that during the hot and humid summer her back may overheat but time will tell on that - I usually use 100% wool blankets/pads.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    • 2016-05-03T15:47CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_41
    • loc_en_US, sid_10171, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders