Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Ariat® Volant Vented Tall Boot

Ariat International, Inc.
- Item #19405
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Ultimate performance technology meets innovative design in the Ariat Volant Vented Tall Boot!  Using premium leathers and advanced materials and construction, the Ariat Volant Vented Tall Boots have a sleek-looking exterior with premium comfort in the footbed.  Designed to create a great looking, fitting and feeling boot that will ensure peak performance for all equestrian athletes. Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Made from premium European calf leather and breathable stretch mesh for an ergonomic and breathable fit
  • Cobalt Quantum technology provides superior support, control, and stability in the footbed
  • Reinforced Tec-Tuff heel counter and overlasted construction for added durability
  • Duratread outsole is highly resistant to barnyard acids, oils, and slips
  • Spur cradle with two height options

Sizing It Up

Field Boots Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
Beauty in every step! The Tredstep Medici Dress ...
Description:
Beauty in every step! The Tredstep Medici Dress Boot is expertly designed with artful flair and the utmost attention to detail. The Medici Tall boot epitomizes the allure of cutting edge heritage and handmade luxury. Impeccable craftsmanship using sumptuous hand ...
The Tredstep Medici Field Boot encompasses beauty in ...
Description:
The Tredstep Medici Field Boot encompasses beauty in every step. Expertly designed with artful flair and the utmost attention to detail, the Medici Tall boot epitomizes the allure of cutting edge heritage and handmade luxury. Meticulous craftsmanship using hand sourced ...
Ariat Westchester Zip Dress Boots feature traditional and ...
Description:
Ariat Westchester Zip Dress Boots feature traditional and refined styling for versatility across disciplines. Features include: Soft and shineable premium calf leather uppers Contoured fit through ankle High Spanish cut topline Elegant piping details in toe cap, topline, and swagger ...
The DeNiro Salento Dress Boot is a completely ...
Description:
The DeNiro Salento Dress Boot is a completely handmade riding boot that features DeNiro's superb performance and quality. Favorite Features Exquisite Italian calfskin WRAT leather preserves long-lasting color, durability, and water-resistantProtection Grain calfskin lining provides superior quality Full length ...
This elegant equestrian boot is crafted with ultra-soft ...
Description:
This elegant equestrian boot is crafted with ultra-soft leather and an elegant square toe design for a traditional look in the show ring.Favorite Features Leather grip panel on inside of calf Full length zipper and elastic gusset Snap closures at ...
Take your equestrian style to levels with the ...
Description:
Take your equestrian style to levels with the elegant Regal Patent Field Boot from TuffRider!Favorite Features Crafted with ultraSoft leather Grippy leather panel on inside of calf Full length zipper and elastic gusset Snap closures at both the ankle and ...
Why We Love ThisThe Mountain Horse Ice Rider ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall Boot has a tall, sleek look and elegant features. Upper boot is made from strong Duralon with heat insulating Thermolite lining to keep your legs warm. Durable elastic material inserts along ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Ariat® Volant Vented Tall Boot is rated 4.236363636363636 out of 5 by 55.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't wait - buy them today! I have worn paddock boots and half chaps for more than 25 years. I always thought they provided the comfort, control and security in the saddle I needed. The purchase of these marvelous tall boots has completely changed my mind. My feet, ankles and legs are much more secure and more correct than I ever thought was possible. I waited almost a year to actually purchase these boots because I just wasn't sure about the cost, style and fit. Now that they are here, they are PERFECT. If you are considering paddock boots/ half chaps - the difference in cost is negligible and the benefits of tall boots are phenomenal. And they look and feel GREAT!
Date published: 2012-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really loved them, but.... I purchased these a few days ago and fell in love with them. They fit very nicely right from the box, but...after wearing them for a couple days the feet stretched way out. I would definitely order a half size smaller then what you are used to, they will be snug for a few days, but it is better than having too big shoes. I will hopefully be purchasing a smaller pair to keep from tripping around the barn like I have been.
Date published: 2012-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Them This boot isn't for everyone as it is a very contemporary look. However, the foot (like all ariats) feels like a running shoe and the leg is awesome. I bought them to replace paddock boots and half chaps I wear every day. After 40+ years in the Hunters I am having the time of my life in the jumper ring and I just may wear them in the ring. I feels like a rebel! I love them and recommend them highly.
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I wanted! These boots are fantastic! I love them! I really wanted a pair of tall boots but needed to have ones that I could walk around in all day. I do Parelli so I spend alot of time on the ground and in the saddle. I wanted boots that I could go from saddle to playing on the ground and back to the saddle without missing a step. They needed to be super comfy and supportive but not tight like a vice grip on my leg. I love that these boots are not very traditional but are still subtle. They're like athletic shoes for equestrians! The best part is that they start to break in the minute you put them on!
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these boots I already have the front zip, red lining style and wanted to add the dressier ones. You kindly sent me 4 different sizes to try, and the 4th pair fits like a custom boot.Congratulations, Ariat! Thank you, SmartPak
Date published: 2012-06-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Couldn't handle the style I really, REALLY wanted to like these, but I just could not deal with the "style" of them when they arrived. The little vents in the front of the boot put me off completely, as did the overall plastic look of the heel and sole. Some of the stitching was coming out on side panels, but I'm sure that wasn't normal, probably just my pair. The boot in general seemed study (good zipper) and a the footbed was comfy... but, I sent it back mainly because I just couldn't deal with such a non-traditional looking boot. Just not for me!
Date published: 2012-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! I've purchased many boots in the past and I've always ended up returning them for a refund because they didn't fit well (either the boots were too big or the height of the boots would annoy the back of my knees). I decided to try the Volant Vented tall boot as the reviews were all favorable, I wore mine for the first time yesterday and I was impressed. It fit well (it is definitely true to size), the 16-1/2" height did not bother me (even though it is an inch higher than what I would have wanted it to be), it kept my lower legs in correct position, and was very comfortable as it had the "broken in" feel. I have arthritis in my feet and ankles, and normally I will experience much pain and/or bruising from whatever I wear at the end of a ride. Wearing these boots------no pain! Even my instructor and another rider in the arena, were amazed that I did not go out limping. They also like the looks of the boots and had a lot of questions as to comfort and fit. At the end of the day, I told them.......save up and buy a pair. They won't be disappointed. I simply LOVE mine!!
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot Great boot but very warm. The ankle is snug. I have normal size ankles and I do get rubs. They break in immediately and they are like a great pair of tennis shoes. They are easy to get your ankle down in and walk and bath and do all your chores in after a day of riding. They stay damp longer than most boots so air them out. I take a 7.5 in an Ariat and these are 7's. I could have gone comfortably into a 7.5. But they break in and stretch to fit your foot just like tennis shoes. I would say they are not narrow but not wide. THEY WILL STRETCH in the foot. They will be like a glove everywhere else. My biggest complaint is they are warm. But, they look custom.
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I really like these boots. I have been an Ariat boot buyer before. The Volants are much nicer for riding as the soles have better traction on the stirrups for your foot. Also the quality of the leather is excellent and they don't require the normal break in. These are good boots for warmer weather because they are vented. I have the water proof Volants for the frigid winter which are also a good boot. The boots fit true to size for Ariat.
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great every day boots I have only had these boots a few weeks and they are already broken in. If it is time to replace your paddock boots and half chaps, I recommend you consider pooling your funds and purchasing these super comfortable boots. A little pricey, but if they last as long as my Ariat paddock boots did, then they will be worth the investment. Easy to wear for long periods of time. Just wish we could wear them in the show ring!
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Money well spent I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVE these boots. They are even more comfortable than you can imagine. They are easy to keep clean. You need to only wear thin socks for they keep your feet very comfortable. They have a sneaker feel to them. You can wear them ALL day. I highly recommend them. They are true to size. I have long calves and thought I may need the "TALL" size but I measured in the "Medium" range and ordered the "medium" and they fit perfectly!
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Exceptional comfort but doesnt last I'm so disappointed with these boots but in love with them at the same time. They are the MOST comfortable boots I've ever ridden in but I have gone through 4 pair in just 6 months. All of the stitching came undone and always in a different spot, I hope Ariat figures it out at some point because I would love to have these again but this time expecting them not to fall apart.
Date published: 2012-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very comfortable boots I bought these a few months ago as schooling boots because they were just so darn comfortable. I have worn them 12+ hours several days in a row with no complaints! At first I thought the look was a little odd but when you're on the horse it's much less noticeable. I like them so much that I show my jumper in them! My other boots just don't seem nearly as appealing on long show days.
Date published: 2011-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonder Boots! My old ariats were finally falling apart on me (they were five years old and well used) and so in need for a new pair before my show this weekend I set out to find some. The Volants had caught my eye a while ago and I am so glad I tried them on first. I don't think I can ever go back to my old boots now, these ones are just TOO comfortable! They have broken in really nicely in less than a week and they really do look better in person. Going out for gallops is so nice because my feet still feel great at the end. I can get off my 17.2hh on pavement and not fall over thanks to the wonderful footbed! In my lesson on wednesday my trainer called them "wonder boots" because my leg was that much steadier even with a longer stirrup. Some of the stitching is doing a tiny bit of fraying but then again I have found that it always happens and then never goes beyond the slight fray.I can't wait to show in these boots and doubt I'll ever be able to go back!
Date published: 2011-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable! Tried these on at the Smartpak store and couldn't believe how comfortable they were. The boot is pretty high, they have an air panel for breathability (perfect for warmer weather) and they look great too. They are not the traditonal, stiff, uncomfortable dressage boots that dressage riders usually buy, but in my opinion, are better. My only concern is the longevity of the mesh panels. Otherwise, love these boots! Also, just have to say that the employees at Smartpak are so wonderful and helpful. Thanks Smartpak employees!
Date published: 2011-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable boots I bought these for my daughter for schooling and she says they are very comfortable and they fit her really well. They look like they will last but time will tell. I hope so because they are not inexpensive.
Date published: 2011-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I call them my Magic Boots! These boots are amazing. I hesitated a little bit with the price but once I rode in them, I forgot what I paid. They are unlike any tall boot I have ever worn. The footbed is stable and really helps absorb shock in both the sitting and rising trot. It facilitates suppleness in all the leg joints and I feel like I am sitting the trot more comfortably than in any other type of boot. The slightly "tacky" feeling of the inner panel helps stabilize the lower leg without too much "grip". These are "athletic shoes" for riders, wonderfully designed for function. I don't care if they don't look like a super traditional tall boot...they don't ride like them either!
Date published: 2011-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great boots these are great boots---very comfortable and easy to break in. The only feature I don't like are the snaps. They are sometimes hard to fasten and sometimes pop open. I ordered a full calf---pretty good fit but is a tiny bit full in the midcalf.
Date published: 2011-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Initial impression: Ugly but VERY comfortable! I normally never write reviews but I had to in this case. I went to Smart Pak yesterday determined to buy some tall Ariat Westchester boots. However, they didn't fit me well. After trying on every tall boot in the store (field and dressage), I couldn't find one pair from any brand that fit well and I don't ride enough to condone custom boots. I was extremely disappointed but I was given the Volant boot to try on as a last resort. I think they are kind of ugly but THEY ARE SO COMFORTABLE!!!! They had to be ordered so I am waiting for delivery at the moment. Considering all the issues I have with my feet and how sore they get it's worth the risk on the ugly factor to have comfy feet. Also, I have to commend the staff at SmartPak who are ALWAYS so helpful and patient!!!! They are the BEST!
Date published: 2011-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome boots! I waited almost a month for these boots to finally come in, and they were well worth the wait. I rode in them the first day they came and had no issue with them. I love the oiled leather on the inside of the leg which really helps to keep your leg on the saddle. This past weekend I wore them for two days straight, 12 hours a day each day at a little show I was helping out at to break them in. My ankles were a little sore after the weekend, but my feet never hurt at all! They are much more subtle looking then most people probably think too! The foot is different looking, but I do the jumpers so it doesn't matter. I love these boots!
Date published: 2011-03-28
  • 2016-09-29T12:26CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_9405, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders