Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Ariat® Volant Tall Boot Front Zip

Ariat Footwear
- Item #19412
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Ultimate performance technology meets innovative design in this brand new series of English riding footwear using premium leathers, advanced materials and construction. Not only do they have a sleek looking exterior, but the Ariat Volant Tall Boot Front Zip also feature Ariat's Cobalt Quantum technology plus stretch mesh and oiled leathers, plus a full length zipper. All designed to create a great looking, fitting and feeling boot that will ensure peak performance for all equestrian athletes.

Field Boots Comparison Chart
Key Specifications
  • Material: Premium European calf leather
  • Style: Field
  • Stretch Panels: Lateral breathable stretch mesh

Specifications

Material Premium European calf leather
Style Field
Type of Zipper Full length zipper
Zipper Placement Outside to front of foot
Stretch Panels Lateral breathable stretch mesh
Footbed Cobalt Quantum technology
Special Features Reinforced Tec-Tuff heel counter, duratread outsole, Spur cradle with two height options.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Ariat Bromont Pro Tall H20 Insulated Boot ...
    Description:
    "The Ariat Bromont Pro Tall H20 Insulated Boot is the boot you're in need of this season. This boot is crafted with durable waterproof, full-grain leather and has a suede inner leg panel. To ensure your feet stay warm, Ariat ...
    "The Ariat Women's Heritage Contour Dress Boot exudes ...
    Description:
    "The Ariat Women's Heritage Contour Dress Boot exudes quality. Made from a premium full-grain leather upper, the boot also has a full leather lining for an extra streamlined fit. Additionally, the boots feature a boot slide and a Duratread outsole." ...
    "A core performance boot with a little edge ...
    Description:
    "A core performance boot with a little edge to it! Punchy cross-stitched shaft with bug and wrinkle design, and a wide square toe give Ariat Men's Tombstone Performance Boot a true Texas feel. Imported."
    "Combining European elegance and style with Ariat's exclusive ...
    Description:
    "Combining European elegance and style with Ariat's exclusive ATS® technology, the Monaco series offers “A” Circuit and International Riders top of the line show boots with the chic sophistication, fit and craftsmanship previously only available in custom boots. With its ...
    "The culmination of superior innovation and craftsmanship in ...
    Description:
    "The culmination of superior innovation and craftsmanship in a truly elegant boot for the world's finest riders. French baby calf leather with a full length, elasticized panel creates a glove-like fit. The oiled inner leg panel provides a secure grip ...
    "Elegance combined with the finest materials, unmatched innovation, ...
    Description:
    "Elegance combined with the finest materials, unmatched innovation, and performance features. The Ariat Monaco LX Field Boot is made from French baby calf leather and features a full length, elasticized panel that offers outstanding feel and fit. The oiled inner ...
    "Ariat's integrated premium technology takes another step forward ...
    Description:
    "Ariat's integrated premium technology takes another step forward in Fit, performance, craftsmanship, and innovation -- this is the Ariat Quantum Crowne Pro's competitive advantage with a look of confident, elegant authority. Made with a integrated insole system combining honeycomb shank ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ariat® Volant Tall Boot Front Zip is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 56.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ariat Volant Front Zip These are the best everyday boot I have ever worn. Why Ariat has discontinued is unclear. Trying to find my size any where
    Date published: 2016-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots ever Love these boots have - now after 4 years I need new - WHY has Ariat discontinued???
    Date published: 2016-10-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not for me -- How many of you have, or know a rider who has, achilles tendon issues? After developing mine, I figured out it was caused by the rear zipper on my riding boots. As my boots' ankle area broke in, the zipper started to curve in also, pressing and rubbing the tendon. I started a lengthy search for a front or side zipper tall boot, and was hopeful that the Ariat Volant was it. I have worn Ariats for years, and have long appreciated their fit and durability. However, the Volant is, in my opinion, downright ... ugly. The plastic sole is more suitable for a rain boot, and the stitched welts flowing around the footbed look like a Vulcan's head veins. The front zipper was comfortable enough (like my zippered Ariat paddock boots), but the extremely narrow ankle area was too tight. It seems the Ariat designers have taken a very strange path toward what they think their customers want in a riding boot, as evidenced by all their fashion rain boot styles, and very narrow ankles. Needless to add, I'm sure, but these boots were returned. I implore riding boot manufacturers to look into all the riders complaining of achilles tendon problems (just check out all the various blogs), put the facts together, and start offering classic boots with front and side zippers.
    Date published: 2016-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable right away!No need to break in!Never had a pair of leather shoes I haven't had to break in
    Date published: 2016-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It feels like a gym shoe on! I bought the first run of these boots when they came out and fell in love with the feel! I instruct people on horses all day, so I needed something that wasn't going to kill my feet. The leather is very supple, unlike the feel I get from most boots. Also the inside of the boot actually has an insole!! They do sit a bit high on my leg until they drop, but that is the same with every boot. The new gray color of the inside of the boot doesn't bleed onto my breeches like the origional red ones did. They are worth every penny to me.
    Date published: 2016-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful boot
    Date published: 2016-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good boot! These boots are good but take a little to break in.
    Date published: 2016-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super Comfortable! This is probably the most comfortable boot I've ever bought! The footbed is like wearing a pair of sneakers and I find the front zip to be much more comfortable than traditional back zippers as well as easier to zip up. These hold up pretty well considering I ride multiple horses everyday in these year round. After roughly 3 years of wearing these I started to get holes in the inner calf (although not all the way through since they have the reinforced calf) and above the spur guard. You can contact Ariat for a credit if you have a problem with the boot. However, I feel I got my money’s worth and went ahead and purchased a second pair. If you are looking for a comfy alternative to schooling in half chaps everyday, this is the boot for you!
    Date published: 2016-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from NICE! SO I just got these boots in a few days ago and I am starting the painful process of breaking them in. I have two awesome heel blisters, but besides that the rest of the boot breaks in nicely. I'm 5'4 and my calf length is 15.5 inches. I was nervous getting these boots in the short length simply because Ariat says their short length in my boot size is 17.25 inches. These boots supposedly only drop about.5 inches. When I got them in they were a perfect fit! They came just about to the center on my knee cap, or slightly below the middle of it. After two rides they are just touching my knee cap. Riding in these boots is wonderful They help to hold a get leg position. The leather quality is very good. Considering I am just starting the break in process I cannot recommend these boots for all day wear yet, unless you like blood in your boots. However in a month or so I can see these boots being all day wear type of boots.
    Date published: 2015-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love These Boots! I love the details and the styling in these boots, especially the zipper being in the front vs. the back. Two features in one, now I do not have to wear my half-chaps!
    Date published: 2015-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a boot with comfort AND style for men Being a male in eventing, it is almost impossible to find boots that fit my large foot as well as my calf. In other boots, if it fits my foot but not the rest of my leg, I don't have any other options but buy one that only fits the foot even though its not the prettiest boot. However, with these, I don't have to sacrifice style for comfort! I love the super soft leather and the unique look! Wish I could afford a thousand more!
    Date published: 2015-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely worth the money I could not believe how comfortable these boots were
    Date published: 2015-06-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable, Short Lifespan I had my front zip Volants for about a year, and after a TON of use, they unfortunately finally broke down. I know many other people who have worn these and have similar experiences with them not lasting a very long time. But for those riders who don't ride every day, these will probably last much longer.
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I bought this item a few weeks ago and broke in no problem. Truly amazing boots with soft leather, and a remarkable look! They're very comfortable and worth every penny!
    Date published: 2015-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort and Style I got these about a month ago. Very comfortable.they broke in 2-3 rides. Love the ease of the zipers that go to the front. Feel like I am in tennis shoes. So far I love them. True to size.
    Date published: 2015-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rugged and practical This is my second pair of these Volant Front zip boots. I got the first pair when they came out originally. They lasted a couple of years before the stitching needed repair. That's the most I ever get out of tall boots. I wear then to ride and in the paddock etc. I beat them up. I really love the front zip because its easy to zip them up.Also the tread on the sole is great because you don't slip in a muddy paddock like the traditional style boot.The calf on these boots runs true to size but I found the foot length to run small by 1/2 size. I normally wear 6.5 or 7 in an Ariat boot but the 7 and 7.5 fit.
    Date published: 2015-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots Ever I tried many other brands for years and I always find it difficult to keep the boots on after a ride of 2 to 3 hours..then, I saw these Ariat Volant Tall Front Zip pairs at an equestrian shop and I just liked the design right a way..I put it on, and I knew that this is what I have been looking for, for years..it is just perfect elegant boots, very comfy, and even after a long ride I can still use them for hours without even thinking to take them off. I highly recommend them especially for those who need comfortable boots for long hours, and hey they look just amazing even for dressage.
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots Ever I tried many other brands for years and I always find it difficult to keep the boots on after a ride of 2 to 3 hours..then, I saw these Ariat Volant Tall Front Zip pairs at an equestrian shop and I just liked the design right a way..I put it on, and I knew that this is what I have been looking for, for years..it is just perfect elegant boots, very comfy, and even after a long ride I can still use them for hours without even thinking to take them off. I highly recommend them especially for those who need comfortable boots for long hours, and hey they look just amazing even for dressage.
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO COMFORTABLE I had read elsewhere that these boots run a full to 1/2 size small. I find them to be pretty true to size. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE them. So much more comfortable, feel like a tennis shoe!
    Date published: 2015-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Long Boots I always wanted a pair but they were always for ladies in all the tack shops in New Zealand and none in Hong Kong, finally I found them here! Prompt delivery and I cannot wait to try them out tomorrow!
    Date published: 2015-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Tall Boot I use these tall boots to school in at home. They are the most comfortable boots to ride in! I love the cobalt quantum footbeds Ariat has designed. The calf fits so well to my leg, does not pucker, and is sleek. The leather on the inside of the calf is a bit grippy helping to give a little more contact. Zips up very well. Has a little keeper for your spurs and the sole grips to the stirrups. Often I have trouble with too slippery of soles that slide off the stirrup when I put my heels down but these cling on and allow my leg to sit where it should.Fits true to size.Recommend.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO COMFY I bought these over the summer, they're my favorite boots to wear! I use them for everything. They fit great and make my leg look skinny! also bought a pair for my boyfriend (size 13 tall) and he loves them too! couldn't ask for a better boot
    Date published: 2014-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable boots! I ordered these as my second pair of Ariat Volant boots and unfortunately I had to send them back due to the fact that the ankle was not as slim as I needed. However, first pair was great!
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit, love the front zip, fantastic I've been wearing these to ride and at the barn. Even wearing them all day, they are comfortable. I had to put some inserts in them as they were a little loose in the heel area, but after that perfection. The front zip is a great idea too, the leather doesn't buckle on the back like with the back zip kind.
    Date published: 2014-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO GLAD THEY FIT I bought them for my fiance... he has a size 13 foot!!! he's also 6'5, so of course fitting was an issue. the 13 reg tall fit PERFECT. I'm so glad, money well spent! He also has a large ankle due to an accident, but they still fit comfortably. He thought the foot-bed was more comfortable than the shoes he wears all the time so yay!! Cannot contain my excitement.
    Date published: 2014-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boot! But over prised! I ordered these boots one month ago and they have broken in with in 3 rides! But the outer sole is starting to detach from the leather! But over all very soft and supple also very comfortable! Would not suggest to show in them even in the jumpers!
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from TOP OF THE LINE BOOT The fit is right on and the leather is super soft and supple. It took one ride to break in. It provides exceptional ankle support, I broke my ankle last summer and this is the first pair of boots that I can ride with ZERO pain! Well worth the money! Very fashionable, and super easy to clean!
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Grip and Comfort! These are the best riding boots, hands down. I feel like I stick to the saddle when I ride, the grip is terrific. I can always wear them for hours around the barn, it's like wearing running shoes. Great buy.
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hundreds of Miles I realize it wasn't the original intent, but the Volant has been an excellent Endurance boot. I've ridden hundreds of miles in it (and trust me, I'm off my horse walking in it frequently) and it has been a reliable, comfortable, DURABLE partner in my sport. I highly recommend.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! I bought my first pair about a year and a half ago as a practice boot and I am very satisfied. The breaking in process (which is about 2-4 weeks) is extremely painful unfortunately but in the end it is totally worth it. After that point, i have never worn a boot that is so comfortable. It's basically like wearing tennis shoes! I ride 6 days a week and about 4+ horses daily with a lot of walking in water (when I rinse/bathe) and these boots have held up wonderfully. I did get a hole about an inch above the spur holder where the leather had torn from the stitching but that wasn't until about a year of wear and I definitely don't take good care of these boots. A had a leather guy put a patch over it and had no problems since! I just bought a second pair so i can rotate boots from day to day. I suggest the equifit gel leg protectors to help make the break in process less painful!
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    • y_2017, m_5, d_19, h_8
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_55
    • loc_en_US, sid_9412, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders