Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Ariat® Heritage Contour Field Boot

Ariat International, Inc.
- Item #20859

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
The Ariat Heritage Contour Field Boot features a full grain leather upper and full leather lining.  This boot contains a full length elastic panel on lateral side for fit and comfort.

Favorite Features

  • Elastic gusset at inside knee for enhanced comfort and fit
  • Contoured fit at ankle for the perfect fit
  • Plain toe cap gives a timeless look
  • Full length back zipper makes this boot easy to get on and off
  • High Spanish cut topline with swagger tab adds a fashionable splash and gives the appearance of a long, elegant leg
  • Elasticized laces move with your boot
  • Duratread ™ outsole for long-lasting durability

Imported.

Sizing It Up

Field Boots Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Ariat Challenge Contour Field Boot features a ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Challenge Contour Field Boot features a premium European calf upper with full leather lining and a full length elasticized panel on lateral side for ultimate fit and comfort. Favorite Features Elastic gusset at inside knee for comfort Contoured ...
    Ariat Westchester Zip Dress Boots feature traditional and ...
    Description:
    Ariat Westchester Zip Dress Boots feature traditional and refined styling for versatility across disciplines.  Features include: Soft and shineable premium calf leather uppers Contoured fit through ankle High Spanish cut topline Elegant piping details in toe cap, topline, and swagger tab ...
    The Ariat Youth Heritage Contour Field Boot is ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Youth Heritage Contour Field Boot is designed specifically for young riders and offers long lasting performance and comfort. With the removable Ariat Booster Bed featured in all Ariat's kids' boots, a child can keep their favorite boots even ...
    Why We Love This Ariat's integrated premium technology ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Ariat's integrated premium technology takes another step forward in Fit, performance, craftsmanship, and innovation -- this is the Ariat Quantum Crowne Pro's competitive advantage with a look of confident, elegant authority. Made with a integrated insole system ...
    The Ariat Heritage Full Seat Breech offers exceptional ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Heritage Full Seat Breech offers exceptional Ariat quality in this classic-looking breech! For schooling, showing, or everyday riding, these full seat breeches deliver great performance. Favorite Features 4-way stretch cotton fabric allows excellent freedom of movement Patented V3 ...
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ariat® Heritage Contour Field Boot is rated 4.6373 out of 5 by 102.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent pair of boots I never write reviews but I love this pair of boots so much that I wanted to write one. It took done ride to break these boots in. They are very comfortable and look great! Ariat did a great job and at a great price. I bought this pair about 2 months ago and I'm still very happy.
    Date published: 2015-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Many size options This boot comes in many size options, which is great for my growing daughter. We have always been able to find a height and half width that looks like an almost custom fit. I cannot attest to the durability of this boot as my daughter has never worn a pair longer than 6 months, thought we have never had an issue with these boots.Overall we are very happy.
    Date published: 2015-10-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Width runs large I purchased these for my daughter. The width was easily 1" wider than what the size chart states. We had to order the next size down from another company because they were out of stock at SmartPak. Still a little roomy in the calf, but a much better fit. Overall, a very nice boot. She is very happy with them and I appreciate the no shipping price to try and return them.
    Date published: 2015-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice! These boots were very nice! The leather was good quality - thick but soft. The elastic down the back gave flexibility, and the elastic laces had just the right amount of give. I would recommend these!
    Date published: 2015-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Little Break In Time Bought these a month ago and they broke in very easily. They feel and look amazing too!
    Date published: 2015-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ariat vs Tredstep I ordered both Ariat & Tredstep boots, because I did not know know which boot I would like better (though I suspected the Ariat english boots would prevail as I have been wearing Ariat westren boots for more than 15 years, and love every pair I have).Hands down the Ariat , the Ariat footbed is way better (much better support), a thicker sole and the stretch fabric up the back of the boot zipper works easier. The Ariat fit me better in the calf than the Tredstep. The toe box is nice and roomy too.The Tredstep was a little more snug and prettier around the ankle, and the Tredstep had a little bit less gap at the top of the shaft. Because the Tredsteps are a little smaller in the calf than the Ariat - when I zipped them, I actually got my sock caught in the zipper. If there was a little more give next to the zipper I may not have had that experience. The thinner sole on this boot turned me off. I felt like I wasn't standing on anything substantial. The treads them selves were a little more ruggedI know they are for riding, but when I put pressure in my feet in the stirrups, I want good support there too.I kept the Ariats.I should also mention that the staff at SmartPak were very helpful, my orders were timely and they did not hesitate to send me three pairs of boots knowing that I was going to return two pair. Excellent customer service here.
    Date published: 2015-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! Bought these boots and showed in them immediately! They fit beautifully! Love them!
    Date published: 2015-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable boot Very happy with these boots for everyday schooling.
    Date published: 2015-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from As reviewed! Soft easy break in- comfy boot It is a given that ariat will be comfortableThese felt high at the knee but did let down after 2 ridesThey are true to size or maybe a tad generous ! I am well plesed. My old boots where over 5 years old- so much improved
    Date published: 2015-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great inexpensive boots! I am new to English riding and this is my first pair of tall boots, I tried on a few different brands and price range up to 500. These Ariat's ended up being the most comfortable, best fit and the cheapest pair! I highly recommend them to anyone looking for a cheaper option on tall boots.
    Date published: 2015-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality for price ratio is through the roof! I had originally bought a pair of Donatello dress boots which were nice, but they weren't very comfortable. My sister convinced me to return them and give these Ariats a try. They were about the same price, so I did, and I haven't regretted the decision at all! From the moment I put the boots on, they fit as if I had been wearing them for years. The quality is superb. My only concern is that they are a bit more difficult to clean since dirt can get in between the laces, but I'd much rather spend five more minutes on cleaning boots that fit and are well made.
    Date published: 2015-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing boot ! These ariat heritage contour boots have been my first purchase of English tall boots . I did a lot of research before buying and one thing I always seen was the dreaded break in time and the painful leg bends with other boots. So I finally made the purchase and bought these. they fit excellent right out of the box and the initial height was perfect for once the boot dropped . And to my surprise the break in period was so fast ! The leather is so soft and supple and I could wear them all day .
    Date published: 2015-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Boots! I bought these boots to replace my previous field boots (which were also Ariats), as they had dropped too much and were gapping at the top of the boot by my knee. When I first got them, I had to use a shoelace to help pull-up the zipper. I wore the boots to the grocery store, Target, etc. to help break them in. I wore them for my lesson about a week after I got them and I was surprised by how comfy they were for my first ride in them! I wore them to ride the next couple of days and I no longer have to use shoelaces to pull them up! They are super comfortable and were so easy to break in! The leather feels fantastic for a "low" cost boot. Ariat products never disappoint! I highly recommend these boots!
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Comfortable I've had these boots for 7 months now and absolutely LOVE them. I tried several other brands before biting the bullet and spending the extra money on the Ariats. Take it from me, don't waste your time or money on anything else! I am tall and average build, 5'7", and have big feet, 10, but it was hard to find a boot that fit my calf and ankle that wasn't gappy on top. From the moment I tried these on I was hooked! They fit like a glove and took only days to break in - never uncomfortable during that time. I ride 3 to 5 days a week and they are holding up very well. SO comfortable I forget I'm wearing them. If I ever need to replace them, it will only be with another pair of Ariats - Heritage if they still make them then!
    Date published: 2015-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot This is the boot I use for schooling at home and I love it. It is inexpensive for its quality, you won't find this good of a boot for cheaper. Super comfortable too, only took me 2 days to break in.
    Date published: 2015-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from In love!!! I purchased these a month ago and I fell in love with them as soon as I put them on! I barely had to break them in, and they fit perfectly! Also they are extremely comfy and flexible.
    Date published: 2015-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit! I bought these boots about a month ago and I absolutely love them! Perfect fit and they are breaking in nicely! I generally wear a size 10 but ordered a 9.5 after reading some reviews that they ran a little big. I highly recommend them!
    Date published: 2015-07-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots but didn't fit My room mate owned a pair of these boots and highly recommended them, but after trying them on I realized the calf and ankle fit very weird. I'm 5'3 and have large calves so I measured and assumed the full calf would fit. Unfortunately the full calf was too big but the regular calf was too tight, and both didn't fit my ankles properly. Decided to purchase the tredsteps and love them!
    Date published: 2015-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Boots! Everyone has been in the position of hoping your old tall boots last a little longer because you are dreading working in new boots. These are amazing out of the box the leather is gorgeous and soft. My first ride in them was great no pinching or awkward stiffness. Stunning boots for the price! I would recommend them to anyone!
    Date published: 2015-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots! I love these boots! They broke in well and they're comfortable to walk in. I would definitely recommend them!
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slim attractive profile Fit well through foot and ankle, a bit tight at top of calf and zipper, considering that I have a slim leg. But should break in to a comfy fit. Nice sleek look, flex well at ankle already. Only worn a few times so I can't say much about durability yet. Leather has nice finish to it without being too thick or stiff.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Comfortable but Quality is Not There I've had these boots for almost 2 years now and I'm sad to see that the quality of materials used by Ariat isn't what it used to be. The Good: These boots are very comfortable and easy to break in. When they're new they look very nice on and I like the elastic inserts which give them a closer more "custom" fit for a fairly low price. It is also nice to be able to get different calf sizes and heights. I have a very slim calf and I am short so it was nice to find a boot that fit my height and leg. The Bad: They do run a bit big in the foot, I usually wear a 9 1/2 but a 9 in these is a little too big still. The worst thing about them is the material quality. After about 6 months the calves of the boots started to wear out. The leather feels thinner there and even with frequent treatment with leather conditioner the leather appears worn out and discolored. The elastic lace also recently snapped on one of the boots the night before a show and I had to sew it back together. Now that I've had them for 2 years the calves are really worn out and the boots don't look very nice anymore despite me taking excellent care of them. Overall I don't think these are quite worth the money. I will probably keep them for schooling but will be buying new boots to use for shows and clinics.
    Date published: 2015-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boots I'm on my second pair of these, and I've been really happy with both pairs! I accidentally ruined my first pair by putting boot trees in them before they were completely dry, so be careful of that. Zippers are good and they break in VERY quickly and painlessly! Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good deal for the money Took longer than any of the Ariats I've had in the past, but after a few weeks they fit nicely. I have really long calfs and tall boots are always short on me but these ones fit great. Odds are they will almost be too tight when you first get them. My calf was almost an inch bigger than the circumference of the boots but they do stretch. The leather is very soft so they do scuff a little too easily. Over all I think they're a good buy
    Date published: 2015-05-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Super Soft, fit is tricky I was looking for something to use as an everyday schooling boot. These are nice enough I might even show in them. They were so soft that the break in time was fast. The only down fall for me is actually the added elastic in the back, now that they are broken in they are huge on my calf and there are actually wrinkles down that back because they're now too big. I measure a regular calf and currently own and have owned several pairs of ariat boots and have always been a regular calf. I think the added elastic was a great idea, I would just size down in the calf if you can. With how soft the leather is I'm a little worried that I will wear through them quickly but honestly for the price its ok. I've been riding in them almost daily for about 3 weeks and they are holding up well so far.
    Date published: 2015-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to break in! I've always loved Ariats, but haven't bought a new pair of boots in 10 years. I was pleasantly surprised to find that they are even nicer now. The elastic panel down the side makes it possible to have the boots nice and snug on your calves without cutting off all circulation to your feet. They come with elastic laces, which also give a snug fit through the ankle while allowing for movement. The footbed is very comfortable and the leather is soft and supple, and broke in right away.I had only had these boots for a week and a half, and had only ridden in them a handful of times, when my barn went XC schooling in a large group. We ended up spending almost 3 hours out on the course, waiting for everyone to finish. When I got off my horse, I couldn't feel my butt, but amazingly my feet didn't have any blisters on them! And they clean up very nice for the show ring.
    Date published: 2015-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable from Day 1! These boots were supple and comfortable right out of the box. There was a big gap between boot sizes (heights) so I picked the taller size and it seems to have worked out just fine. The boot foot size seemed to run large and I had to send back the first pair to get a smaller size. I am not sure that these boots will last as long as my old pair which took a long time to break in, but time will tell.
    Date published: 2015-04-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sad I've had these boots for 8 months and when I went to used them again after a long winter I noticed they are stained! The dye on the leather is literally gone leaving splotchy light marks all over the toes and foot of my "show boots". I'm very disappointed because these boots are not cheap. Hoping Smartpak is going to work with me here, because I feel like I've wasted a ton of money.
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect first pair of tall boots for me :), and i love them. carefully read some reviews and these were the most affordable for me. I am so happy to have them! I ordered the wrong size at first because I measured my calf wrong, but Smartpak is awesome and it was really easy to exchange them. shipping was speedy, and when I tried the right size on they fit like a glove. they were tight at first but that's normal. sometimes you just need to physically try something on to know, you know? and I am a tactile person, so that helped me out a lot. we are all so unique, trying to guess on sizing can be a challenge. One thing: I think it's safe to say you can go with a smaller calf than you think you need. as they break in and soften, they will drop and loosen slightly and be super-comfortable. they have a stretch panel running up the back of the entire leg that is strong and secure and that actually STRETCHES. I have ridden in these for 3 weeks now for dressage lessons and they are still in perfect condition so far. i expect that they will hold up nicely if i take good care of them.they are just so pretty! hope this helps if you're considering investing in tall bootsgood luck!
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ariat Boots I bought these about a month ago and love them so much! They are surprisingly easy to brake in. For the price they meet the quality and I truly have no complaints. Would definitely repurchase.
    Date published: 2015-03-26
    • 2016-02-08T14:10CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_94
    • loc_en_US, sid_10859, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.