Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Ariat® Classic III Half Chap

Ariat International, Inc.
- Item #19409
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Ariat upgraded the Classic III Half Chaps with some desirable improvements. The leather has been changed to a softer, full-grain leather and the interior of the boot boasts a more breathable moisture-wicking lining. Also improved, is the inner panel design. The panel works alongside the stretch system which lays over the instep. When together, the two result in creating an elegantly refined half chap.

Favorite Features

  • Made from a soft, full-grain leather
  • Moisture wicking lining

Imported

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Ariat Devon III Kids feature 4LR&trade Technology for ...
    Description:
    Ariat Devon III Kids feature 4LR&trade Technology for all day comfort and support. As your child's feet continue to grow, just remove the Booster Bed&trade from beneath the footbed to give their feet some extra wiggle room. Composite shank is ...
    The Ariat Monaco Half Chap incorporates an elegant ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Monaco Half Chap incorporates an elegant high Spanish cut topline, an oiled leather panel for exceptional grip and durability, and a full-length stretch leather inner panel for fit. When paired together, the Monaco Paddock Boots and Half Chap ...
    The Ariat Scout Chap is a great performance ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Scout Chap is a great performance chap at a great price! Boasting quality and affordability, the Scout Chap is made with Ariat's signature craftsmanship. Favorite Features Constructed of full-grain leather with a suede inner panel for grip in ...
    The Ariat Close Contour Half Chap is built ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Close Contour Half Chap is built with thoughtful design, durable construction, and top-quality zippers. These half chaps are made from premium full-grain waxed leather with a hung leather lining and oiled leather inner calf panel. They have a ...
    The Ariat Terrain Half Chap is casual comfort ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Terrain Half Chap is casual comfort in a half chap! Favorite Features Suede with elastic back side panel for ultimate breathability A full length side zip makes it easy to take on and off. Imported Sizing It Up ...
    The Ariat Prix Classic Polo is a classic ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Prix Classic Polo is a classic look with a modern twist! The Ariat Prix Classic Polo is made of performance stretch pique fabric with Moisture Movement Technology (MMT) which wicks moisture away for quick evaporation to keep you ...
    The Ariat Kids Scout Chap is a great ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Kids Scout Chap is a great performance chap now available for kids! Favorite Features Made from full-grain leather Elastic gore, back and side panel for a custom fit Suede inner leg panel offers additional grip in the saddle ...
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ariat® Classic III Half Chap is rated 4.3929 out of 5 by 28.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I Expected This is my first pair of half chaps. Very happy with the purchase. High quality materials, very solid zipper, intelligent design. Ridden winter riding only thus far indoors, but so far so good.
    Date published: 2015-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I bought these used over a year ago and they were really well used when I bought them. They are in great shape and I have not had any issues at all. The fit is great, comfy no matter what the season. I don't see these falling apart any time soon even after years of use.
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too big, but quality product I ordered an XS as my calf is 13.5 and the height is 15.5, but these chaps were too tall. Very disapointing, as Ariat does not make them shorter. (children's sizes were too small) Very nice quality!
    Date published: 2014-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best chaps ever! I just had to replace my first pair that I have been wearing for many years! Perfect
    Date published: 2014-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like the fit, the lining and the fact that the zipper starts at the top and is easy to maneuver. I think they are attractive and have been comfortable. I just got them within the last month so can't really speak to durability yet. Ariat seems to have declined in quality in the last few years. So far though I really like these. I ordered a small/medium height and the fit is really good. (I am 5'7' and 130)
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for long skinny legs I bought these half chaps around a month ago in an XST size and I am very pleased with my purchase. I really like the look of the smooth leather and that there were no snaps that would just break on me! When you first get them the leather feels a little bit stiff so I was apprehensive to ride in them, but they were so comfortable. One thing about them is I find that they run a teensy bit large, so I would size down if possible (I couldn't because I needed the tall height, which the XXS didn't give) but if you can't size down it really isn't that big of an issue, especially since these are just schooling chaps. Another feature I really like about these was that the back of the half chaps has an almost cut-out like feature which makes getting spurs on so much easier, as I have to do this a lot since I ride multiple horses with different needs. I also really like the high Spanish top line as it helps add height to the half chaps for my long legs. The zip was a little stiff and hard when I first tried them on but as soon as I zipped them up and down a couple times it was fine (the zips on my old Ariats lasted forever so I have high expectations). Also I loved the super heavy duty strap that goes under your boots as it seemed like it was of a very high quality. I bought these half chaps to replace my old Ariat Oxford chaps which became too short and one of the snaps broke on me, plus they were a pain to button and unbutton. The only think that I'm not a huge fan of on these half chaps is the inside suede panel seems a little larger than the one on my old half chaps, which isn't a problem when riding but it doesn't look as put together when you are off of the horse. Overall I think that these are a great pair of half chaps and they seem to fit my long skinny legs quite well!
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Chaps I haven't owned these long at all, but I love the fit! I don't love the flap that covers the zipper on the outside and I really wish it had a more streamlined look, but it doesn't affect their function at all. The biggest issue I've had with them is that I was riding a very sweaty muddy horse, and the suede got filthy. I've tried everything including suede cleaner, and nothing has gotten it off. They are still usable, but the suede it stiff and not as grippy now.
    Date published: 2013-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Half Chaps I boiught these half chaps for my 14 year old daughter using her Ariat tall boot measurements. They fit very, very tightly when she first tried them on, to the point that we considered sending them back. I am glad we didn't, because just as the tags promised they relaxed when she began to ride in them and now they fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Last forever! I got my first pair of these half chaps over 10 (yes 10) years ago! The only reason I bought new ones is because I just got black paddock boots, and I felt weird riding in brown half chaps and black boots! These wear fantastically. They are super durable, and I have no complaints whatsoever. They really do last a long time even if you ride everyday. My new ones fit just right, and they were easier to get on the first time than the older version were. I am still waiting for the back part to drop under the knee (I have only ridden a handful of times since I got my new pair), but my riding schedule has picked up so I am sure they will drop soon. I love these half chaps and wouldn't buy any other brand. They are true to size, durable, and a great value.
    Date published: 2013-06-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Still A Favorite After The Update I have used the Ariat Classic Half Chap since 1997. This is my third pair. I have always been pleased with the updates to the item. This time the chap is thinner but in a good way. They are more streamlined and less bulky on the leg. This item still protects my leg with the nice suede panel against the stirrup leather and the smooth leather panel on facing outside.
    Date published: 2013-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good I've only had these 1/2 chaps for a little over a month and so far they are great! The leather is soft and they look really nice... the only thing I'm a little worried about is that instead of buttons these chaps have velcro... I'm a little worried that the velcro isn't going to hold up at long as snaps would... but other than that, these are great!
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great looking chaps These chaps are beautiful, they have a great grip and they're super comfortable! I love the suede that's on the inside of the calf, it sticks right to my saddle and there is a nice stitching detail on it. Only reason for 4 stars is the elastic in the back stretched way out. They were snug (as they should be) when I first got them, and I expexted the elastic to stretch when they were on but retain its shape when I took them off. After wearing them for a week, the elastic was permanetly stretched and now they're a bit more roomy than I'd like. Other than the elastic, the zipper is really durable, it seems like it will never break and they look great!
    Date published: 2012-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Chaps I like that they are the nearest chaps I could find to wear with Ariat paddock boots to simulate hunting dress boots. I have short thin legs but wide (bunionoid) feet so no long boots fit. They are of substantial shiny leather but the suede inside is hard to keep clean - if you gallop through a lot of mud! Can't speak for durability yet.So many fit options are great.
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product for the money First time I have purchased this product, but like the fit. I have only worn 3 times so do not know durability at this time. I like the lighter weight in hot weather and they are not bulky.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy so far Good fit for me. I bought them to resemble a dress boot with Ariat paddock boots - not bad. they do have a nice shiny finish. Have not had them long enough to test durability. Very quick purchase service. Smartpak must have an extensive inventory.
    Date published: 2012-10-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very dissapointing :( I had first bought these half chaps, a couple years ago when I first started riding. I thought the chaps were ok. When it was time to get a new pair of chaps, I ordered the same type. I didn't want to go on a quest for a new pair of chaps. So I bought these because I was familular with them. When I started riding in them, I never realized how slippery they were. My leg, which usually didn't move much was all over the place. They were also really hard to zip. Which I just blew off at first, assuming it was because they were not broken in yet. They continued to be that way, along with the velcro coming undone, and the chap itself unziping! I finally was upset and frustrated, and just resorted to wearing my tall boots. I do not recomend these.
    Date published: 2012-09-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I loved my Ariat half chaps I ordered about four years ago. They were high quality and lasted forever (I still have them). I ordered the new ones and am breaking them in but they are awesome too. The only thing I don't like about them is the suede patch on the insides of the legs. The suede allows a better grip but the leather looked nicer and took the beatings a lot better.
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have had these before. They fit well and really last - no broken zippers etc!
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality These are my first pair of half-chaps- I bought these to go with my Ariat Heritage III paddock boots, and they are a good match. They look nice on, and are made of really nice quality leather and suede. The sizing chart worked well for me, and they fit securely. Also, the suede inner panel is nice and provides a good grip. The only thing I've noticed is that the ankle area seems to be a bit looser and less fitted than other chaps I've seen on other riders. I couldn't go down a size (from SS to XS) to fit my ankle, however, or they wouldn't fit my leg. Overall, a high quality chap.
    Date published: 2011-10-27
    • 2016-05-04T16:29CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_24
    • loc_en_US, sid_9409, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders