Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Antares Hunter Bridle

Antares
- Item #14725

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements.

Impeccably crafted, stylish hunter bridle suitable for the most discerning customers. Ultra soft and luxurious calfskin padding on the browband, noseband and along the contoured monocrown. Delicate off white fancy stitching on the browband and noseband. Stainless steel fittings. 1/2" cheeks, 3/4" browband, 1" noseband. Complete with a pair of  raised laced reins. Hook stud closures.

**Bridle shown oiled**

Favorite Features

  • Soft leather
  • Durable
  • Beautiful Contouring
  • Fancy Stitching
  • Stainless Steel Fittings

Sizing It Up

1 (Cob), 2 (Full) or 3 (O/S).

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Antares Hunter Bridle is rated 4.3333 out of 5 by 21.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely disappointed! I bought this bridle for my daughter and her beautiful new mare. My daughter has an Antares saddle and it's gorgeous, and I expected the bridle to be of similar quality, especially given the price. However, the bridle we received has some kind of finish on the leather (particularly the brow band and nose band) that prevent it from darkening properly. I showed the bridle to an Antares rep who offered to oil it for me, but now it looks worse than before! The reins and cheek pieces are VERY dark and oily but the rest of the bridle looks only a shade or two darker than when we purchased it. It seems as though the bridle is made from different types/finishes of leather so now none of it matches. Honestly, it's just awful. If I hadn't already had it oiled, I would return it. Very, very disappointed in this purchase.
    Date published: 2014-04-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice bridle The leather is beautiful and supple. However I am having a similar problem to the review below. It wont darken! I am on the 4 th coat of hydrophane darkening oil and its a few shades darker but I fear it'll never match my saddle. There is unfortunately no shows that will have an antares rep near me anytime soon that i know of. Im scared to keep oiling it and Im scared to use it in case it wont darken after. Very disappointing.
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Surprisingly, sadly, extremely disappointed! I don't think I've ever been more disappointed in a tack purchase in relation to the amount of money spent. I'm very familiar with Antares tack, as I have one of their custom saddles, their breastplate, girth and draw reins. I wanted the bridle of course to complete the set. Why not? I was leery of forking out the high price tag, especially since I already have perfectly lovely Edgewood, Exselle and Pariani bridles, but I'm a bit of a matchy matchy personality and a tack addict so after reading the reviews, I went for it. I REALLY wish I hadn't. What a disappointment. I guess the quality has changed in the past couple of years, as all but one of the reviews is from two years ago. The only good things I can say about this bridle are that the leather is indeed supple/soft and the stitching is beautiful. Now for the disappointing aspects: there is some kind of coating on the outside of the leather that keeps it from darkening properly. Hydrophane had little to no effect. I literally had to soak it (I know, bad idea) in order to slightly darken it, but it will never match my saddle. Ever. I've never had this experience with high quality tack before, the cheap stuff? Sure. But not the better brands. Next is the disappointing weight of the reins. They are really thin and light, the feel in hand is cheap. In addition, the martingale stops do not have the same coating as the rest of the bridle so they are already several shades darker than everything else. Next is the keeper on the noseband. It's sewn in place. If your horse has a small nose and you have to cinch the noseband on the last holes, the end of that strap is going to flap. Poor design in my opinion. And finally, where 'Antares' is stamped on the browband, whoever did it, didn't position it so that the entire word fits on the front side to be seen, so all that's visible is 'Antar' and half of the 'e', the 's' is on the end where the leather folds. All in all, just a sadly disappointing purchase for the money. If I hadn't gotten my name engraved on the crown, I would've returned it IMMEDIATELY. Smartpak did a BEAUTIFUL job on the engraving btw.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bridle You Can Purchase! This is the nicest bridle you could ever buy! The leather melts in your hands its so soft! I can not say enough good things about the leather quality! Yes it is expensive, but it's worth the money & will hold up to everyday use! The padded monocrown really stands out and is super comfortable for the horse! The noseband width is just right, not super thin but not super wide! While the stiching is subtle, it is very elegegant, tight and even. I also love that SmartPak can stamp your name into the crown! The script comes out lovely & adds a nice personal touch! The only thing I could pick out as a negative is that the noseband keeper does not move, so you might have some hang over. To fix that I use a brown braider's rubber band. Also, get the bridle oiled to the color you want before you use it because the pores in the leather will close once it is exposed to sweat & rain. The best way to darken it is to bring it to an Antares rep (at a show) & they will dip it free of charge!
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from USE this "Fine China" Everyday! Not only does this bridle rate with the outstanding quality and performance of my Antares Saddle, but it is the most beautiful bridle I've ever owned. My Edgewood is now second. The Antares is modern yet classic & chic in design. It simply looks great on all my horses and is durable enough to double as an everyday schooler (I know it's $$$) and still look like a gem at the rated shows. Buy the best, use the best, LOVE the BEST, LOOK the BEST!
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful buy! I got this for Christmas for my 17.1hh Warmblood and it fits him great and look amazing! He looks striking and gets tons of complements on it! The leather is wonderfully made and so soft with just a couple times conditioning it! I feel this bridle will hold up for years and I would buy another one in a heart beat! Even for the price! So worth it!!
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle, the fit is strange I purchased this bridle in horse size, as my mare normally wears horse size bridles. This was a funny fit on her though. the crown piece and brow band fit perfectly, but the nose band and cheek pieces were too long. I can't say enough about the quality and craftsmanship of this bridle though. It is gorgeous, with calfskin padding, perfect stitching and extremely soft right out of the box. If you are looking for a high end show bridle, I highly recommend it. I think the well padded monocrown may overwhelm more refined heads, though.
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! LOVE LOVE LOVE this bridle! The craftsmanship is beautiful, the leather is high quality and the stitching is perfect. I just cannot say enough good things about it! My horse loves it; the mono-crown can be a pain when it comes to cleaning and oiling the noseband but it’s such a nice bridle I am NOT complaining. It matches my other Antares pieces beautifully and gets compliments wherever I go!
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BACK AGAIN At first I was floored by the quality and craftsmanship of this bridle, then to my dismay the stitching in the reins started ripping :*( (tear face) so I called smartpak and THEY SENT ME A NEW ONE!! and this one is perfect I guess the first was just a dud! outstanding praise for outstanding customer service! Sure it was a pain to re oil it but I mean common ITS ANTARES!! don't settle for less!
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Though I did not get this bridle from smartpak ( actually got it on sale at another tack store ) I am absolutly satisfied. Very soft right out of the box. I have oiled it once making it even softer, I am waiting to do a second coat and I imagine the reins will just melt in my hands after that. Beautiful!
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a Truly Beautiful Show bridle WOW! is all I have to say about this puppy! Its gorgeous and it only gets better with the Antares oil and conditioner. My new Oldenburg loves this bridle He fights me to take it off! At first we were worried because he has a teeny head, even though he is almost 18 H! I blindly ordered an oversize not realizing my full Vespucci was too big. I almost sent this beauty back with out trying it on him. luckily I tried it on him on a whim, and since he has a long but narrow head it fit perfect! I love that the comfort crown still incorporates a movable nose band and I'm so happy I didn't have to return it! one could go crazy after seeing the Eden of bridles and then having to give it back!! :) This is the best bridle available, and although I haven't shown in it yet, when I do I cant wait to hear all the guaranteed compliments! Thanks SmartPack!
    Date published: 2011-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful But Tricky Fit I absolutely love this bridle, the details are amazing and the leather quality is superb. I have had other Antares products before and they never disappoint. The only problem I have had is the fit. My horse has a little bit of a TB head, even though he is a Polish Warmblood so getting things to fit him is a bit of a challenge. He is big in some places and then very dainty in others. The headstall and browband area fits great, but in the length of the cheekpieces and the noseband it is a little big. Luckily, it has not stretched hardly at all (maybe one hole, MAYBE) so at least that's good. The European sizing always seems to run a little large to me (my Cob size Antares figure-8 bridle fit my old Dutch Warmblood...) but who knows, it could just be my horse. It is still a wonderful bridle and I highly recommend Antares products for their high level of quality.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completes My Antares Saddle I just purchased the Antares jumping saddle and wanted a matching bridle for shows. I orderd this bridle with the Edwardian Script of my initials on the crown piece. This bridle is stunning and it will look even better after I add the recommended two coats of oil. The padding is well made and I am sure it will be comfortable for my horse. Love Antares leather. It is top of the class.
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing quality and craftsmanship Every year at HITS I drool over the quality of Antares tack. After having a chance to work in the tack I am officially hooked! Beautiful leather and craftsmanship coupled with great style and ergonomic designs for both horse and rider. I love it! Now if you would carry their halter and lead and replacement parts!
    Date published: 2010-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FLAWLESS!! I recently bought this bridle and had the Edwardian Script put on the crown piece and it looks amazing. Truly a quality product. I bought the Antares oil for breaking it in and it soaked it up and turned into a rich, gorgeous color. I love using this bridle because it is so padded I know my horse is comfortable and looks amazing. I get so many compliments. Not a bad thing to say about this bridle! If taken care of well should last a life time! Perfect!!!!
    Date published: 2010-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle For W/B not for refined TB heads I bought this bridle because I knew the quality of the leather would be excellent, and it looks beautiful in all the pictures I have seen. And it was beautiful and perfect for a warmblood. Unfortunately I have a Thoroughbred with a refined and Typey head and it made his head look boxy.I am saddened that I have to return it but would be perfect for any warmblood.
    Date published: 2010-01-25
    • 2016-02-11T15:33CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
    • loc_en_US, sid_4725, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.