Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Antares Helmet

Antares
- Item #17550
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The creative designers at Antares Saddlery release "The Helmet" where tradition meets sport! Complete ventilation keeps air flowing through the vents, keeping you cool and comfortable.

Favorite Features

  • Innovative rubber shell finishing with leather accents.
  • Removable clip, leather harness with added cushioning at the nape of the neck
  • Washable inner pads customize the fit.
  • Silver Antares logo stud design accents. 
  • ENR1384 and SEI approved.

Imported

Sizing It Up

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Antares Helmet is rated 4.9474 out of 5 by 19.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! First of all I love the look of this helmet, it's just a little different but still classy. Like another review said too, it does come with the black antares symbol in the front, not silver like shown. It doesn't have a ton of padding but it is still really comfortable and it's so nice that you can adjust the size with the detachable pads. It stays put perfectly and is well ventilated. I've tried on the one k, CO, and gpa helmets and this is my favorite so far!
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this helmet!! I bought this helmet because I was sick of my speed air moving around on my head and I hate the way the CO looks on me (tried the gr8 and the ayr8). SO HAPPY with this purchase, I even bought another one just for schooling at home! It fits great, its lightweight, and super comfy. It lets your head "breath" but while fitting snugly. The different sizing pads are great and pretty easy to change. Definitely recommend this helmet!
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet Ever! Who hates helmets that reek after a few months of use... this girl, that's who! For those of us who ride hard and get nice and sweaty this is the helmet for you. No more wet helmet that never dries out and stinks. Cannot tell you how much money I spent previously trying to keep my CO fresh smelling with cleaners etc ect. I sweat in this and it beads down my face and my head stays nice and cool. It's a dream. Two years later I ride in it everyday, love it, and it still looks like new. Worth every penny.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable This has got to be the coolest helmet! I first ordered a small which you can fit from 54 to 56 I think. My CO was a 56 but I didn't even realize how much the padding around the sides had worn. With no questions asked and free return shipping, I got the medium within about 5 days! I've had it for a little over a week now and have shown in it. The ventilation is incredible. The helmet leaves like a half inch between your forehead and the helmet. It fits on the sides of your head not the front and back which is really neat but might take some getting used to. Even though there is not so much contact with your head and the helmet, it is very secure. At the show, I did three classes at 1.20m and it didn't budge unlike my old CO. I even wore it around all day. The only thing I can say is that you have to keep after cleaning it. It easily atracts finger prints and what not but don't worry, it's a breeze to clean. Oh and the other thing. The one I got has the black strip across the front not the silver one like in the picture. If that matters at all to you now you know...Hope this helps and if you get it welcome to the Antares experience!!!
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST, LIGHTEST Helmet Wore one of these in Spain from a Swiss friend (luggage, naturally misplaced) and couldn't believe I actually had a helmet on...it's that light and comfortable. Thought the M would be too small but the 7/4 padding is perfect for someone who usually wears at least a 7/5. It's not clunky looking and has kept me cool in this boiling weather. Will never buy another anything else besides an Antares!
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits as custom as their saddles Initially when I put this helmet on, I thought it would give me a headache because it was nice and snug. So I wore it around the house. I took it off hours later headache free. The inserts are very comfortable and are set in place with snaps so it feels more secure than the "other helmet" that replaces inserts with velcro. Ventilation is great and the leather chin strap is butter soft. I've only ridden in it 10 times or so now, but I really like it and would recommend it without hesitation.
    Date published: 2012-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE it Got this last summer at a horse show. I wanted the Speed Air, but they were sold out and I was dying in my old GPA but didn't like the First Lady so I got this one.It's pretty amazing, not gonna lie. It doesn't touch your forehead AT ALL but doesn't move in the slightest. No headache nonsense here, you can literally wear this thing all day. You can also adjust the size by buying different thickness of pads quite easily if you cut or grow your hair. Plus it looks pretty great too.Bottom line is, it's from Antares. And we all know how awesome Antares stuff is :)Buy this helmet. You'll love it. I love it.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Just got this helmet yesterday and all I can say is WOW! It fits great, it looks like a breeze to clean (say goodbye to helmet stink!), its super comfy, and looks AWESOME on! The inside is a sleek hard surface that you attach inserts to (to make it comfy) and it comes with all the different sizes from small to large so if you feel like putting your hair up you can just pop in a different insert! I wanted the black suede one but it was sold out :( the black and silver one is still pretty tho!
    Date published: 2011-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet, very pricey! Good helmets are quite expensive, but at least with this one there is a lot of quality for your dollar.With several fitted inserts included to choose from, sizing comes close to perfect. The air vents on top are helpful with cooling, the helmet is attractive (although unusual) in shape, and I rode for three hours yesterday with no headache!
    Date published: 2010-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antares Helmet My current Antares helmet is a custom, so my comments may/or may not be relevant. I LOVE this helmet except for one small detail. The harness' ear cut out is a little too small. The result is an irritation on the bottom of both ear lobes. I gently used a nail file to "trim" this area and make the open area slightly larger. This seems to have corrected the pressure, and hence, no more sore ear lobes.
    Date published: 2009-11-02
    • 2015-05-25T10:13CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_18
    • loc_en_US, sid_7550, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.