Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Animalintex

Item #10614
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save 5% (Details)

days
You'll save $ per shipment, or $ per year!
(Discounted price will be reflected in your cart)
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Animalintex is a veterinary poultice dressing. Animalintex works effectively as a cold poultice to reduce swelling, stiffness and soreness and as a hot poultice to draw abscesses and infections. Animalintex can also use as an antiseptic dry dressing.


Made in the United Kingdom.

  • Made of cotton wool impregnated with an antiseptic to promote faster healing and a natural poulticing agent.
  • The backing helps retain moisture and warmth and also protects the wound from external contamination.
  • Use as a hot poultice for abscess, boils, infected  wounds, cracked heels, thorns, laminitis, seedy toe, corns.
  • Use as a cold poultice for strains, sprains, sore shins, splints, bruises, capped hocks/elbows.
  • Use as a dry dressing over open wounds or for pressure padding. 
  • Clean and easy to work with.

Sizing


8" x 16" Wrap 
5.5" x 5.5" Hoof Size

What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Banixx™ safely and effectively kills bacteria and fungus, ...
    Description:
    "Banixx™ safely and effectively kills bacteria and fungus, making it a great all-around addition to your first-aid kit! Its non-irritating formula works well on wounds, lacerations, post-surgical wound care, fungal infections, scratches, white-line disease, thrush, rain rot and more. Made ...
    "Find out what Veterinarians have known for years! ...
    Description:
    "Find out what Veterinarians have known for years! DERMAfas® Veterinary Wound Cream is great for treating cuts, abrasions, burns, ear plaque, and summer itch. The patented amino-acid vitamin complex formula has proven successful in supplementing and encouraging natural regeneration of ...
    "Magnesium is vitally important for the horse's systems ...
    Description:
    "Magnesium is vitally important for the horse's systems yet the benefits are hardly known. Topical magnesium can help to relax muscle and tendon strains, relive pain of inflammation, and provide and overall calming effect by providing maximum concentration to the ...
    "Epsom Salt Poultice is a topical gel designed ...
    Description:
    "Epsom Salt Poultice is a topical gel designed for external application for temporary relief of minor pains, bruises, and sprains associated with muscle and joint injuries. Apply directly to painful muscles, tendons, and joints. Repeat as needed for relief of ...
    "Tea-Pro Equine Wound Spray does just what its ...
    Description:
    "Tea-Pro Equine Wound Spray does just what its name states- it offers first aid healing in the treatment of open wounds, lacerations, cuts, sores in the mouth, puncture wounds, abscesses and other wounds involving the skin and underlying dermal tissue ...
    "Horseman's Dream Veterinary Cream is a skin-protectant formula ...
    Description:
    "Horseman's Dream Veterinary Cream is a skin-protectant formula which provides temporary protection of minor cuts, scrapes, burns and sunburns. Horseman's Dream Veterinary Cream helps prevent and temporarily protects chafed, chapped, cracked, or windburned skin. With Vitamins A, E, D and ...
    "No Rub frees from dandruff and relieves itching, ...
    Description:
    "No Rub frees from dandruff and relieves itching, thereby preventing frayed long hair, bald tail root and short, unsightly manes. With bio-sulphurous fluid and urea to normalise all biological processes, the hair thus becomes shiny and healthy! Made in Germany" ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Animalintex is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 57.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! This is easy to use and very effective at drawing a sole abscess out. Just used it with 2 gravels at the coronary band and it worked well there too.
    Date published: 2017-06-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Always have on hand Always have these on hand. Great for when a swelling or something pops up. I usually use them cold/wet for legs and have used them with hot water while waiting on an abscess. Super easy to use and not messy and I think they do a good job at drawing heat and swelling out. They're a little pricey but do the job and I keep buying them
    Date published: 2017-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommended by my vet-great product I was having trouble getting an abscess to completely drain and my vet said, to use this product for three days and it works great.
    Date published: 2016-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work great and easy to use These are so convenient as opposed to soaking. I just get them wet, slap them on, vet wrap them to the foot, and go. They work great and are so easy to use.
    Date published: 2016-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use , work great. Ordered these for our 29 year old half Arab with hoof abcess. We used them inside hoof boots and were very happy with the results.
    Date published: 2016-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff I use Animalintex for the frequent scrapes and cuts my young OTTB gets on his legs. It's very helpful under standing wraps over night to draw out any infection etc., or under polos and boots to keep them from getting blood and puss on them. Can be used wet (I dip it in hot water if I have access to it) or dry. Helps keep the cuts clean and prevents infection. I never go anywhere without it.
    Date published: 2016-02-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits hoof nice I haven't had any luck with an abcess coming out using these any more than anything else but they are easy to use and the hoof shape is better than trimming to fit.
    Date published: 2016-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy! I use these to draw out hoof abscesses. So much easier than all the soaking.
    Date published: 2016-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Easy! I used these at the recommendation of my vet to treat a hoof abscess. They were much easier to use that the old messy, epsom salt method.
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Abscesses My thoroughbred went through a long series of abscesses due to a large crack and subsequent hole in his hoof that had collected debris in his racing days. The hoof-shaped pads were convenient and really seemed to help draw out abscesses when they popped through his sole (at the white line). I would clean his hoof well and put one on under a diaper wrapped with vet wrap then duct tape, and when I took off the dressing there would be a big black spot right on the pad where the abscess was. I've tried a lot of different abscess remedies from commercially prepared to homemade, and this was my favorite because you don't have to use anything sticky or that discolors the hoof so it stays clean, doesn't attract barn aisle dust, and makes it easy to re-assess once the bandage is off.
    Date published: 2015-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have these! These hoof shaped pads have been a lifesaver for my horse who has been going through a period of chronic abscessing as he recovers from founder. It has been so nice to just drop one of these into a protective hoof boot and let him be turned out so he can keep moving. Love these and plan to always keep them in my arsenal of supplies. Thank you SmartPak for carrying these!
    Date published: 2015-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tack trunk staple! Last spring, my TB seemed to have an abscess every other week and he's NOT a fan of soaking his hoof. After he destroyed a set of cross ties, a friend recommended these hoof pads. What a difference! Just soak the pad, apply, wrap, and wait for it to work. Thankfully, we haven't had to deal with as many abscesses this year but when he did come in three-legged lame, these things had him sound again within a day.
    Date published: 2015-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Handy Product Bought this for a hoof poultice for just my horse's heel when she had an abscess and it worked quickly. I bought the sheet so in future I could use it for more than just hoof poultice. Avoided the mess of other methods of treatment and easily cut to size and applied.
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing stuff I live in a area we're we are prone to hoof abbesses my OTTB does not have the best so she tends to get bad ones. My vet was concerned about my mares abscess opening at the coronary band so he recommend this stuff and whoa was I amazed!!!! 3 days with this stuff and it opened!!! Instead of it leaving a huge hole a very tiny slit opened and this stuff is helping it drain. Best stuff ever!!!!
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BUY THESE!!! My TB gelding went from three-legged lame with an abscess to sound overnight after two rounds of these pads...very little fuss and so lean compared to soaking in Epsom salts or other goops. Definately a staple in my vet kit now!!!
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well Unfortunately Ive had to use these quite a bit for my horse with a few hoof abcess's. So, I bought these to restock my supply and to have on hand. I have always used these with the green epsom salt poultice and they hold up well.
    Date published: 2014-10-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't do anything I bought these for a horse suffering a hoof abcess. Followed the directions exactly, and it didn't do a thing. Epsom salt is cheaper to use, easier, and works better.
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have on hand at all times. Easy to use I keep this in my medical supplies at all times. Very easy to use for multiple purposes, mostly to treat an abscess.
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product Great product that makes poulticing for abcesses 100x easier!
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you! Product Works Great! My Horse had an abscess in her foot and she is not a foot soaker. This product saved us since she will not soak her foot. The vet found and opened the abscess, then recommended Animalintex poultice. I changed it every few days and we did not need to put her on an antibiotic. After the abscess was completely drained I continued to use it dry in the bottom of her boot for another week and a half until her shoe could go back on. My farrier was so surprised how tough and dry her foot was so soon. This product is wonderful and I have bought a few for on hand stock. Can also be used for other treatments. It's medicated so it helps prevent infection. Love this!
    Date published: 2013-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from not messy easy to use, no mess poultice- can be cut to size needed
    Date published: 2013-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for most hoof abscesses My TB was diagnosed with a hoof abscess so I soaked, and soaked, and soaked, then used the Animalintex with no results of an abscess rupture. My Vet, my farrier and I am still unsure what's going on, so I cannot fairly rate this product. I do believe it is an excellent product for most horses and would highly recommend trying this!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2013-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have in Tack Room Works great for drawing out absesses. Works quickly and much easier and effective than trying to soak a hoof.
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for stubborn abscesses! Love this product. Easy to use and works great for drawing abscesses out when they reach the surface. Very easy to use as well. Is a staple product in our barn for any foot emergencies.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful product This stuff can be used for anything! I put it on fungus, scratches, sore cuts, pack their feet with it, you name it. It is the most soothing thing I have used and really helps draw soreness out.
    Date published: 2013-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work well The hoof size works well. The price is not too bad. It does the job better than just salt soaking and waiting it out.
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Abcess killer. Our vet suggested we use the full square to wrap the entirety of the hoof. Worked wonders!!
    Date published: 2012-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Poultice Animalintex is an easy to use and very effective poultice. I have used it for bee stings, abcesses, and strained tendons and it really helps draw out the heat and swelling. Will definitely get more.
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Faster Drainage of Abscess The Animalintex hoof shaped pads are very convenient and much easier to use than cotton or other "home made" poultice alternatives. I always wrap the pad on securely with vet wrap. My horse shows improved comfort and draining with these pads and it is easy to identify when the abscess is fully drained because the pad stays in place and in contact with the hoof.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product Ever This product is the BEST ever to use if your horse is experiencing an abscess. My Percheron is known for having abscesses. Our most recent abscess was a blow out and crack at the Coronary Band all the way around to the back of the hoof. The Vet and my Equine Podiatrist did not agree on the proper treatment for his hoof. The hoof was wrapped every day to every other day depending on how the boot held up! this product was the best at drawing out the infection! I would recommend the use of this product over warm water and epsom salt soaks any day of the week! The price is GREAT and the Product speaks for itself! A wonder treatment for horses that abscess!!
    Date published: 2011-12-12
    • y_2018, m_1, d_23, h_9
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_54
    • loc_en_US, sid_614, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders