Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Animalintex

Item #10614
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Animalintex is a veterinary poultice dressing. Animalintex works effectively as a cold poultice to reduce swelling, stiffness and soreness and as a hot poultice to draw abscesses and infections. Animalintex can also use as an antiseptic dry dressing.

Favorite Features

  • Made of cotton wool impregnated with an antiseptic to promote faster healing and a natural poulticing agent.
  • The backing helps retain moisture and warmth and also protects the wound from external contamination.
  • Use as a hot poultice for abscess, boils, infected  wounds, cracked heels, thorns, laminitis, seedy toe, corns.
  • Use as a cold poultice for strains, sprains, sore shins, splints, bruises, capped hocks/elbows.
  • Use as a dry dressing over open wounds or for pressure padding. 
  • Clean and easy to work with.

Sizing It Up

8" x 16" Wrap 
5.5" x 5.5" Hoof Size

Made in the United Kingdom.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Why We Love Magnesium is vitally important for ...
    Description:
    Why We Love Magnesium is vitally important for the horse's systems yet the benefits are hardly known. Topical magnesium can help to relax muscle and tendon strains, relive pain of inflammation, and provide and overall calming effect by providing maximum ...
    Magnesium is vitally important for the horse's systems ...
    Description:
    Magnesium is vitally important for the horse's systems yet the benefits are hardly known. Topical magnesium can help to relax muscle and tendon strains, relive pain of inflammation, and provide and overall calming effect by providing maximum concentration to the ...
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Animalintex is rated 4.8478 out of 5 by 46.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have these! These hoof shaped pads have been a lifesaver for my horse who has been going through a period of chronic abscessing as he recovers from founder. It has been so nice to just drop one of these into a protective hoof boot and let him be turned out so he can keep moving. Love these and plan to always keep them in my arsenal of supplies. Thank you SmartPak for carrying these!
    Date published: 2015-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tack trunk staple! Last spring, my TB seemed to have an abscess every other week and he's NOT a fan of soaking his hoof. After he destroyed a set of cross ties, a friend recommended these hoof pads. What a difference! Just soak the pad, apply, wrap, and wait for it to work. Thankfully, we haven't had to deal with as many abscesses this year but when he did come in three-legged lame, these things had him sound again within a day.
    Date published: 2015-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Handy Product Bought this for a hoof poultice for just my horse's heel when she had an abscess and it worked quickly. I bought the sheet so in future I could use it for more than just hoof poultice. Avoided the mess of other methods of treatment and easily cut to size and applied.
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing stuff I live in a area we're we are prone to hoof abbesses my OTTB does not have the best so she tends to get bad ones. My vet was concerned about my mares abscess opening at the coronary band so he recommend this stuff and whoa was I amazed!!!! 3 days with this stuff and it opened!!! Instead of it leaving a huge hole a very tiny slit opened and this stuff is helping it drain. Best stuff ever!!!!
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BUY THESE!!! My TB gelding went from three-legged lame with an abscess to sound overnight after two rounds of these pads...very little fuss and so lean compared to soaking in Epsom salts or other goops. Definately a staple in my vet kit now!!!
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well Unfortunately Ive had to use these quite a bit for my horse with a few hoof abcess's. So, I bought these to restock my supply and to have on hand. I have always used these with the green epsom salt poultice and they hold up well.
    Date published: 2014-10-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't do anything I bought these for a horse suffering a hoof abcess. Followed the directions exactly, and it didn't do a thing. Epsom salt is cheaper to use, easier, and works better.
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have on hand at all times. Easy to use I keep this in my medical supplies at all times. Very easy to use for multiple purposes, mostly to treat an abscess.
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product Great product that makes poulticing for abcesses 100x easier!
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you! Product Works Great! My Horse had an abscess in her foot and she is not a foot soaker. This product saved us since she will not soak her foot. The vet found and opened the abscess, then recommended Animalintex poultice. I changed it every few days and we did not need to put her on an antibiotic. After the abscess was completely drained I continued to use it dry in the bottom of her boot for another week and a half until her shoe could go back on. My farrier was so surprised how tough and dry her foot was so soon. This product is wonderful and I have bought a few for on hand stock. Can also be used for other treatments. It's medicated so it helps prevent infection. Love this!
    Date published: 2013-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from not messy easy to use, no mess poultice- can be cut to size needed
    Date published: 2013-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for most hoof abscesses My TB was diagnosed with a hoof abscess so I soaked, and soaked, and soaked, then used the Animalintex with no results of an abscess rupture. My Vet, my farrier and I am still unsure what's going on, so I cannot fairly rate this product. I do believe it is an excellent product for most horses and would highly recommend trying this!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2013-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have in Tack Room Works great for drawing out absesses. Works quickly and much easier and effective than trying to soak a hoof.
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for stubborn abscesses! Love this product. Easy to use and works great for drawing abscesses out when they reach the surface. Very easy to use as well. Is a staple product in our barn for any foot emergencies.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful product This stuff can be used for anything! I put it on fungus, scratches, sore cuts, pack their feet with it, you name it. It is the most soothing thing I have used and really helps draw soreness out.
    Date published: 2013-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work well The hoof size works well. The price is not too bad. It does the job better than just salt soaking and waiting it out.
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Abcess killer. Our vet suggested we use the full square to wrap the entirety of the hoof. Worked wonders!!
    Date published: 2012-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Poultice Animalintex is an easy to use and very effective poultice. I have used it for bee stings, abcesses, and strained tendons and it really helps draw out the heat and swelling. Will definitely get more.
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Faster Drainage of Abscess The Animalintex hoof shaped pads are very convenient and much easier to use than cotton or other "home made" poultice alternatives. I always wrap the pad on securely with vet wrap. My horse shows improved comfort and draining with these pads and it is easy to identify when the abscess is fully drained because the pad stays in place and in contact with the hoof.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product Ever This product is the BEST ever to use if your horse is experiencing an abscess. My Percheron is known for having abscesses. Our most recent abscess was a blow out and crack at the Coronary Band all the way around to the back of the hoof. The Vet and my Equine Podiatrist did not agree on the proper treatment for his hoof. The hoof was wrapped every day to every other day depending on how the boot held up! this product was the best at drawing out the infection! I would recommend the use of this product over warm water and epsom salt soaks any day of the week! The price is GREAT and the Product speaks for itself! A wonder treatment for horses that abscess!!
    Date published: 2011-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Waaaaay better than goopy poultices! For those of us in wet climates who battle hoof abscesses on a fairly routine basis, these fabulous innovations make the job MUCH easier! Just slap on the pad, wrap it with a baby diaper and some duct tape, and you're done! No poultices that turn hard in wet weather, no pouring iodine on epsom salts while balancing a hoof on your knee - well worth the money. I plan to buy in bulk before next winter!
    Date published: 2011-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100% WONDERFUL! When I first found this product: my friend's horse had been hit by a drunk driver. No one found the horse until it was too late to stitch up the wounds & my friend had been instructed to keep the wounds clean and moist. I got this product, took it to my friend's house & we wrapped it in the wound. THE POULTICE PULLED OUT AN INCREDIBLE AMOUNT OF GUNK! With repeated use of this product, the huge wound healed up-the only evidence left is a small scar. I immediately bought more to stock my own first aid kit with!
    Date published: 2011-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Draws out abcesses and then dry protects the hoof while healing
    Date published: 2011-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An amazing product! This poultice was recommended by my vet when my gelding had a sore front hoof. After flexing and xrays turned up negative and no sign of an abcess could be found, she recommended I hot pack and wrap him. The results were amazing - a few days later he was as good as new. Great as a dry packing for healing abcesses, too.
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from works well I have used these for bleeding injuries with good results.
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! I was dealing with a small but nagging puncture wound on my horse's fetlock that just would NOT heal, despite multiple vet visits and different treatment options. The wound wound get better for a week or two, then abscess, over and over again.I eventually heard about the Animalintex pads after a couple months of this... Wrapped as a warm poultice for 3 days straight (12 hours wrapped, 12 hours unwrapped), and finally, SUCCESS!!! It's been over a month and no return abscesses... I think the Animalintex poultice pads were what finally did the trick.
    Date published: 2011-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful for Emergencies or Occasional Wrapping I purchased both the wraps and the hoof pads, but only had to use the wraps recently. They worked really well, were far less messier than poultice and standing wraps, and were more sanitary than reusable cotton quilting. Because of the cost, if a horse needed to be wrapped consistently for a long period of time, it might be more cost efficient to use good ol' poultice and standing wraps. But I'm glad I had these in my first aid kit, considering my horse doesn't need to be wrapped consistently, and they worked very well to take down the initial swelling from a pasture kick.P.S. when wringing the water out, do so GENTLY otherwise the three layers that make it up will separate!
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Innovation at it's Best This is a great innovative product that is so convenient, easy to use and very effective. My vet used it first and recommended I keep a few. I hope I never need it but I'm ready if I do!
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from We all know it works I had a stubborn blood pocket in the hoof that required me to soak and wrap every day for 3 weeks. I normally use an epsom salt paste which we all know is messy and hard to deal with for everyday wrapping. After 2 weeks of using that, my vet recommended Animalintex. The Aminalintex is easy to use and it does work. If there was any negative at all, it would be that it really stinks and makes the hoof stink after use but that is a non issue when you have a horse that is traveling on 3 legs!
    Date published: 2010-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever for treating abscesses! No soaking required; easy to apply even on difficult horses.
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    • 2016-05-23T17:26CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_44
    • loc_en_US, sid_614, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders