Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Amigo® Bug Buster® Vamoose with No-Fly Zone™

Horseware Ireland
- Item #14569
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly sheets! The Amigo BugBuster provides No-Fly Zone™ protection from flies, mosquitoes, ticks and fleas. Unlike many conventional insect repellents, which can have a strong odor and other unfavorable characteristics, No-Fly Zone™ insect protection is odorless, dry and tightly bonded to the fibers of the fly sheet fabric.

Favorite Features

  • The repellency of the Amigo BugBuster fly sheet remains effective through 35 washings
  • 95% UV protection
  • Built in belly band for added protection 
  • Removable neck cover 

Imported.

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Amigo® Bug Buster® Vamoose with No-Fly Zone™ is rated 4.1412 out of 5 by 85.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is THE solution I have been using these fly sheets for my horses for three summer now.I no longer buy fly spray.Who knows what sort of harm breathing that stuff in when you spray it does to a person and your horse.Most of the bottles say you shouldn't get it on your skin either but you know you do.These fly repellent sheets are easy to use and reduce your toxic exposure.You don't need to keep buying expensive bottles of toxic spray.The horses love wearing them. No more being dragged by your steed fleeing from the spray bottle.Mine seem to last two summers so I feel I break even on the cost.
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet! Very durable as our gelding wears this 24/7 in the pasture. He has worn it for more than 2 months now without any damages. It does look dirty very qickly, but it is worth leaving it on for the protection. Love the extra leg protection as well. UV rated and works well as our palomino is a golden color again. Definitely recommend and it stays put and doesnt shift.
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not happy with this fly sheet, and had to alter it Within a couple of days, the fly sheet (a) had torn inside lining around the shoulders on both sides (b) had rubbed the point of shoulder on one side of my horse, which in all of the 11 years I've had him, has never happened (c) needed washing, as it was filthy. The belly band is miles too big---seriously, by about a foot. The velcro needs to be moved a foot. I looked at my old fly sheet and found that it had darts around the neckline to give room around the shoulders, so I stitched darts into this sheet, then stitched fleece over that area to soften it up. So far so good, but they really need to rethink the way this sheet fits. My horse is a TB, but his neighbor (who wears the same sheet) is a WB, and the sheet pulls on her point of shoulders as well. Because she's a bit plumper, it doesn't seem to bother her. However, she has the same issue with the belly band---too big. My advice would be to buy at least one size smaller than your usual sheets, and be prepared to do some alterations.
    Date published: 2014-07-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice and Light. Weird belly band I love how light this fly sheet is and it never shifts which is great. I gave it three stars because it isn't very durable (the hardware is nice though) and the belly band is really badly designed.
    Date published: 2014-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a big mare that plays a lot in a big pasture & wanted something that would fit her well & not slip to one side or the other. The Amigo Bug Buster stays square on her even when she plays.
    Date published: 2014-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fly sheet This is a nice, well made, well fitting fly sheet. It is holding up well on a horse that's been hard on his clothes. My only complaint would be that it's hard to get the belly band part to stay close enough to his body and he pees on it.
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fit! The sheet fits great and seems comfortable for the horse. I often do not use it on days where it is super hot as I think it can make the horse sweat more then being naked. I have seen bugs stuck in the fabric dead so it seems to kill them like advertised.
    Date published: 2014-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! I purchased this fly sheet a few week ago and love if. My mare hates flies and can not be sprayed with fly spray it makes her break out she did not like being turned out . Since the purchase of her new fly sheet she is so happy to stay out and graze peacefully. It also help keep her coat from bleaching out.
    Date published: 2014-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! I bought this last summer because the fly's were so bad! I bought 4 different flysheets all different styles and brands(started a lower price and went up) and the first three looked like they choked my horse. Every time my horse would go down to graze, the sheets would be so tight on the neck/chest area where the buckles were that it had to be uncomfortable. But this one did not have that problem! Fit my horse like a glove and has been very durable so far. The 'Bug Buster' part worked well, never found any ticks, the occasional fly but honestly this keeps away most of those pesky fly's and especially horse fly's. My horse lives outside so it was on 24/7. Even sometimes in the unexpected rain, so it would come in soaked and dirty and I would hose it off and it would be good as new! I really like how this sheet hangs down lower over the legs, gives so much extra coverage. This is worth every penny!! Highly recommend!!
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet out there I purchase a new Amigo Bug Buster each year for each of my horses. The permethrin doesn't keep all the bugs away, but does seem to keep some at bay. The horses are very hard on them; they roll, play, mutual groom, and the mare often bites the pony just to show him who's boss. In addition, I use them pretty much year-round, as I live in Seacoast NH (buggiest place in the world!) in the Spring/Summer/Fall and Florida in the winter. They hold up well.
    Date published: 2013-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love it Ritz Blade my 15 hand TWH, loves his Amigo Bug Buster. He wears it proudly with his name monogramed on the left hip. He has worn it all summer. I have only washed it once. It held up great. I have not see a fly on him. The legs are long enough on him to cover to his knees. I liked it so much I purchased a spare for him to wear while this one was being washed. I generally just hang it on the fence and hose it off. The material is soft and has not rubbed his shoulders. LOVE IT! and so does all the other boarders at my barn
    Date published: 2013-08-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bug Protection = A+, Fit = C- Our poor guy is hypersensitive to bugs and thankfully this gives him some relief, until our N TX weather heats up and then this sheet is just too warm. The fit is kind of odd, to get the length right it really hangs around his belly, and he's halter bred and not exactly light-boned. It actually fits our Appy better widthwise--although she's not as long as him, she's wider through the barrel--ok, she's a tank--and it doesn't gap as much on her. The drop is very long on him even though he's over 15 hands, but I don't mind because it helps minimize the bugs. Has held up well through the years with no rips in sight, which I can't say for his turnout blankets :(. Just wondering how many washes before the bug repellent wears off.
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bug sheet! If you're looking for 'full coverage', this is the sheet for your horse. My chestnut gelding is a typical 'red head' and gets very agitated with any kind of bug. Between the Amigo bug buster, with neck cover, and his full size 'bug bonnet', there was no place a bug could even get near him! He's in heaven!!
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best Fly Sheet for the narrower horse I really liked the idea of the repellent infused fabric, but when the blanket showed up it was far to big for my thoroughbred. It fit him well length-wise, but there is not enough ability for the blanket to be tightened through the bellyband, or the neck cover to be tightened- so this may not fit the light boned horse. There are no leg straps, only the tail band, and strap. We made due with it, but after only 1.5 months the blanket rotated on him during turnout and was destroyed. I will stick with the heavier duty fly sheets that have leg straps and the ability to tighten the blanket on the horse better.
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fly Sheet for Quarter Horse This fly sheet is one of the softest I've ever purchased. My daughter's QH mare is quite sensitive and she does not complain about wearing this sheet. The only reason I marked it a 4 on durability is haven't had it that long. The size runs true on length, but because she's only 14.3h, it's a bit long on her, although not enough to be a safety issue.
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet This is the 6th one we have purchased over the last 2 years. They fit true to blanket size, are sturdy and hold up well. All six get turned out all night, they stay in correct position. Excellent!!
    Date published: 2012-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Fly Sheet I have been very skeptical of claims of breathablity in a fly sheet. This one is great! It is light weight, but is holding up fine so far during turnout. The fit just what my 18 hand warmblood needed. The leg arches allow for much more freedom of movement than any blanket or sheet I've ever tried. I hope they start putting those in winter blankets too. Best fly sheet I've seen!
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ideal flysheet. Size 75 for a 15.2 hh Appendix - fits great, keeps the bugs off, and I do think the fly repellent woven into the fabric is working. I'm super satisfied.
    Date published: 2012-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps my horse with bug allergies! My new horse developed terrible bug allergies last year so I decided to purchase this sheet. There were varying reviews but I didn't want to spend the extra money for the Rambo. I'm glad I didn't! This sheet works great and has held up just fine. So far no allergies and my horse is very comfortable out in the pasture.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT I love these fly sheets they fit my two morgans like a glove and so far do not seem to rub. Even with rolling in the mud they rinse off real easy.
    Date published: 2012-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This sheet saved my horse's turnout time This fly sheet is the best ever. My 23 year old Arab has been harrassed by flies for the last 2 years and the fly sprays, ointments and regular sheets weren't doing enough to prevent serious irritation. Since receiving the Fly Buster, she loves wearing it and is much more comfortable in fly season. It's easy to use and fits perfectly. Her main area is tummy and teets, so I was worried it wouldn't cover enough, but because it hangs down quite far, the repellent in the material is enough to keep the flies from getting to her tender areas as well as those actually covered by the material. I haven't found any damage or issues even though she wears it from dawn to dusk every day. I make sure to re-adhere the velcro when storing it so it doesn't "stick" to the mesh. She looks like an armoured horse ready to fight the flies and I feel so much better with her protected and comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed! With the tick population exploding, a good investment.
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from so far so good got this for a horse that has the worst bug allergies that I have ever seen. so far I have tried it on him and it fits him good. now waiting on the rain to go away and the bugs to show up to see how well it holds up to our mischievous little gelding. if it works it will be worth its weight in gold. Feels like it is durable, neck piece fits a little weird but it looks like it will lay flat once it relaxes.
    Date published: 2012-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's great Love it - it flaps around, scaring bugs away; it's light; it seems to work. My horses are big and they are a bit tight in the chest and shoulder but nothing they can't live with. It takes some getting used to in putting it on because it has lots of parts, so to speak. But so far it's the best fly sheet I've owned. I like how you can add or remove the neck, too. p.s. I'm always careful not to put this in the dryer after washing, as per the instructions... then again, I only wash it once or twice a summer (unless it gets super muddy or dirty).
    Date published: 2011-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from looks silly, but it works! I have a 24yr old Reinlander mare who has bad reactions to bug bites. The hives were bad enough but last year a bite on her belly got infected & she ended up with cellulitis. She has been pretty much bite free since I put this on her so even though it wasn't cheap it will be well worth it if we can avoid that again.
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of all blankets tried! I have tried several fly/bug sheets; this is now my second purchase of a Bug Buster, and I bought two...because it is the only sheet that allows my horse to breathe in the hottest of weather, and still does a reasonable job of keeping bugs away. I don't think anything is completely bug-proof; but she seems to have alot fewer bites/welts on her body than any of her stablemates. She is newly retired, and outside about 8-9 hours/day (stays in at night and blanketless). Unlike some other reviewers, it has held up even though she does roll and rub on the fence--she must not be as active as others. I am a believer.
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tears and Runs easily Great mosquito and fly repellant properties ever! But plan on buying several sheets to get through the summer. I have already gone through two, and they are both unusable now due to how easily it tears and runs. It is only July. Company sent me my second one, very nice. I am repairing it twice weekly. Now I am looking for a new brand of fly sheet. Apparently the bug repellant chemical compromises the material strength, and that is why it so easily runs when a little snag occurs.
    Date published: 2011-07-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Jury is still out I ordered this to be shipped with my supplement order.I like the fabric and it appears to fit my horse very well.There are two belly flaps, both with velcro but the way they attach results in the fabric bunching under the straps.I called and spoke with "Liz" who said she would call me back when she had time to go to the warehouse and check the fit......I called on Tuesday, today is Friday and I have yet to recieve a return call from "Liz".It will probably be returned as the grooms will never be able to figure it out either.Perhaps Horseware Ireland should consider having their products made somewhere else but China.
    Date published: 2011-06-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from truly insect repellant, but torn after 2 weeks I was raving about these sheets and would love to rate the Bug Busters higher for I bought two of these, one for each of my mares. They are truly insect repellant, even working on ticks, BUT after only two weeks, the Bug Busters both have big rips in them. The insect repellancy is good enough that I've been trying to repair the sheets nightly. They are definitely a disappointment. I've been using Horseware products for twelve years and have never had such a problem with their turn-outs before.
    Date published: 2011-06-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works, if it stays in one piece The Amigo Bug Buster fly sheet is made better than others I have seen, but it still ripped after only 5 days. The horse that wears it is NOT hard on blankets or sheets, so I am pretty disappointed that it is already 'damaged.' It really does repel flys, even the small biting flies that make my mare incredibly itchy. I also do not like that the front chest buckles are not adjustable. That part hangs too low on her and it would be nice to snug it up some to fit her chest better. Overall, it's OK, it works, but I won't buy another after this one is beyond repair.
    Date published: 2011-05-25
    • 2015-05-25T10:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_81
    • loc_en_US, sid_4569, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.